Gemma not taking enforced retirement too well

As much as I despise afreeing with dee or gemma, this did happen and was a cultural abomination that should never have been allowed.

Spewing rubbish like that, the username is fitting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,459 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

Nokia6230i wrote: »
    Normal Prayers (5 Times Daily) are conducted at home; to my knowledge but I can chase this up with a local Imam if needs be?

The normal prayers can be, and are, conducted anywhere - you certainly don't need to go to a mosque to pray. I've had colleagues in the past (pre-Covid) who'd use a meeting room if one was free.

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,913 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

The thing I still can’t understand, well the main thing, is the defence of your man Aaron Brady. Why were they outside court abusing the media and the victims family? I’ve never really gotten that to be honest.

I can understand, not condone, the rest of the sh*t as it’s all standard loon-ball playbook stuff.

Anti vax, anti Semitic, George Soros is backing everything, anti immigrant- it’s all the same crap by every similar group in every western country.

However I just can’t grasp the Brady stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,647 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The thing I still can’t understand, well the main thing, is the defence of your man Aaron Brady. Why were they outside court abusing the media and the victims family? I’ve never really gotten that to be honest.

I can understand, not condone, the rest of the sh*t as it’s all standard loon-ball playbook stuff.

Anti vax, anti Semitic, George Soros is backing everything, anti immigrant- it’s all the same crap by every similar group in every western country.

However I just can’t grasp the Brady stuff

Anti anything decent. These are not nice human beings.

I know that but why him?
    Just seems like such a random thing to be defending/arguing.

Usually these right wing loon balls are pro law enforcement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,285 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I know that but why him?

they are pro enforcing the laws they agree with. they have no problem giving abuse to gardai.

But why Aaron Brady? What differentiates him from any other murdering scumbag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,285 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

trying to understand their reasoning is a little beyond me today.

I know that but why him?

Gemma is very anti -garda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭Nokia6230i

Here's the thing about Gemma & her lot; they're mouthy when in company, like @ GPO, Bray Courthouse, RTE etc.

But on their own? Not a peep out of them.

Perfect example is one of her proteges Flange in Carlow; she doesn't go round doing anything like what Dee or Gemma or Graham etc. do.

The anti-maskers haven't reached here (where I live) in any great numbers thankfully; few bits of anti Covid graffiti, bit of anti Semitic, anti LGBT & anti black people graffiti has appeared in last few months but has been nipped in the bud very quickly.

So it appears to be very a much a travelling s***t show; together they mouth off, alone the don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,264 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Nokia6230i wrote: »
    So it appears to be very a much a travelling s***t show; together they mouth off, alone the don't.

They're cowards. Not one of them would do a 1 on 1 interview with anyone who doesn't share their "beliefs" because they would be torn apart.

They just like echo chambers and attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,078 ✭✭✭dasdog

A poster on p dot ie summed it up.
    I made a mistake and looked into why she thinks this.

Basically she doesn't know why Drew Harris murdered Aidan O'Donoghue (5 years before he took the Garda commissioner job no less) but he did because he must have done 'because AOD had to die' and a completely innocent man was framed

And that seems to be the case. I also learnt from Gemma and Uisce today the people of Ireland are embracing the Covid lockdown as they need a sense of belonging for passing the abortion referendum. I stopped there, slightly angry.

Imagine actually believing this is commonplace. Let me guess, you're one of these people who blindly believes they get a single potato and some sauce for dinner because an anonymous Twitter photo claimed they did.

These people are treated like royalty. If they don't like it they should have went to a country that treats them even more royally like Sweden or Germany.

Royalty indeed

https://twitter.com/GrainneClose/status/1342822865276727297?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭fantaiscool

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 192 ✭✭Deshawn

Soup and a sandwich. What is wrong here?

Deshawn wrote: »

Nothing, but you have to nit pick for faux outrage sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,264 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Our ancestors got a better meal in Castle Clinton 170 years ago.

Actually, some of our ancestors would have gotten a better meal in Van Diemen's Land 170 years ago.

The Nal wrote: »

Actually, some of our ancestors would have gotten a better meal in Van Diemen's Land 170 years ago.

I had soup and a sandwich for my lunch today. I have it most days especially in winter

What did you have? Wild guinea fowl or perhaps duck à l'òrange?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,446 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Blatantly misrepresenting the reality there.

For a change

The Nal wrote: »

Jaysus some people really are stuck up snobs. Imagine being outraged that folk were given soup & a sandwich.

Do you even realise the numbers of people who would actually kill someone to eat that?

Really shows how privileged someone is that they’d turn their nose up at it. :rolleyes:

I had soup and a sandwich for my lunch today. I have it most days especially in winter

Did you have more than a single slice of tomato in your sandwich? What size was your soup serving?

I just had buttered bread for dipping.
    Twas about a mug size of soup.

For all you know that person may be a Muslim and didn't want the on offer ham or may have been a vegan and didn't want the on offer cheese or maybe a vegetarian and didn't want any of the on offer meat.

If it's bothering you that much why not make up some meals and drop it into them. The outrage about nothing is beyond ridiculous at this stage. Go and do something about it instead of whining on line.

Il donate a smoked Atlantic salmon if that's acceptable. If not il try locate some wild pheasant.

Bore off

You didn't have a cup-a-soup and a sandwich for your Christmas Day lunch, though, did you.

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

You didn't have a cup-a-soup and a sandwich for your Christmas Day lunch, though, did you.

I'm not waiting for an asylum application decision either.

Good for you. Doesn't change the fact that people who can't cook for themselves (whether in DP, hospitals, nursing homes, prisons, barracks, etc.) deserve a decent meal - especially when companies are contracted and paid to provide them with one.

===

Good for you. Doesn't change the fact that people who can't cook for themselves (whether in DP, hospitals, nursing homes, prisons, barracks, etc.) deserve a decent meal - especially when companies are contracted and paid to provide them with one.

Soup and sandwiches is a decent lunch. People eat it every day. Myself included.

Remember bringing sandwiches to school when I was young. I didn't die of malnutrition.

Not to worry as they will all be receiving their own apartments with subsidised food vouchers in the new year.

Presumably you chose to have that for lunch, and if you wanted something after, you could make it yourself, in your kitchen?

Presume you also decided what to have for breakfast and dinner, and could make whatever you wanted yourself?

Soup and sandwiches is a decent lunch. People eat it every day. Myself included.

Remember bringing sandwiches to school when I was young. I didn't die of malnutrition.

Not to worry as they will all be receiving their own apartments with subsidised food vouchers in the new year.

Grand. Hopefully it doesn't stick in your craw that your taxes will be paying for whatever systems replaces DP, but given your evident empathy-ectomy, I fear the worst. Happy Christmas!

===

Grand. Hopefully it doesn't stick in your craw that your taxes will be paying for whatever systems replaces DP, but given your evident empathy-ectomy, I fear the worst. Happy Christmas!

Not at all. The tax payers money is there as is the housing.
    In fact I hope own door accommodation and full welfare rights actually become a draw and tens of thousands begin to arrive here.
    We can help everyone.

Many happy returns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,078 ✭✭✭dasdog

Every single asylum seeker will be receiving apartments with subsidised food vouchers in the New Year. Okay, report back in a couple of weeks with details.