Gemma not taking enforced retirement too well

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,322 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

PhoneMain wrote: »
    those Big Pharma people are so evil, making people live longer and healthier lives. they're so bad.

They're playing the long con. The longer they keep you alive, the more drugs and medication you need. If we all died at 40 big pharma would make less money. Evil fúckers making us live longer to feed their own greed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,370 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

They're playing the long con. The longer they keep you alive, the more drugs and medication you need. If we all died at 40 big pharma would make less money. Evil fúckers making us live longer to feed their own greed.

Jokes asides, there is in theory at least a framework to hold them accountable. It's imperfection means that it's only partially effective but I don't see how unaccountable grifters are an improvement.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Nokia6230i wrote: »
    I see Dee wasn't at Andys court case today; she was too busy in Antrim pottering about the hosptial where the ambulances were lined up; live-streaming it all of course.......on site with no permission.......if I ever see someone live-streaming I'll go over & whip that phone out of their paw & suffer the legal consequences.
    https://twitter.com/NHSCTrust/status/1339906529961631745

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,294 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Nice bit of shade in that tweet.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 35 Eamon_

El Weirdo wrote: »

Why the big deal about being over capacity now?

Our health service is over capacity every flu season and no one cares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,352 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,078 ✭✭✭dasdog

Looper

Dee's supporters were comparing her to Maud Gonne during the week. I'm awaiting a reply after challenging that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,458 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

dasdog wrote: »
    Dee's supporters were comparing her to Maud Gonne during the week. I'm awaiting a reply after challenging that.

Dont think she'll be inspiring any great poetry from great poets any time soon.

Down by the Remembrance Gardens
    Our heroine did stand
    And from her lived streamed ranting
    She earned herself a grand.....

No, not quite Yeats, is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,214 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

In fairness to them, they've got the "-aud" part right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭brightspark

Sardonicat wrote: »
    Dont think she'll be inspiring any great poetry from great poets any time soon.

Down by the Remembrance Gardens
    Our heroine did stand
    And from her lived streamed ranting
    She earned herself a grand.....

No, not quite Yeats, is it?

"Earned"? that is pushing poetic licence to the limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,446 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Grifted wouldn't fit the meter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,503 ✭✭✭Be right back

El Weirdo wrote: »

How is she able to travel to another jurisdiction with no consequence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭blueythebear

You spelt "mad" wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,458 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

I'm trying to be romantic here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,294 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Sardonicat wrote: »
    I'm trying to be romantic here!

Romantic Ireland's dead and gone,
    It's with O'Leary in the grave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,117 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Gone mad more like, a terrible beauty is born innit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭doublejobbing 2

Billy Mays wrote: »
    You think most people with left wing views don't or never will work?

To go bac to this, here's a profile of the Stansted 15, a group of the wacky and weird who invaded the airport to stop 60 people being deported- 6 of whom were convicted of crimes including murder and, one I'm sure at least some of the protestors were particularly sympathetic to, child rape.

Nathan Clack, 30. Born in Newcastle but now a London activist.
    Edward Thacker, 29. The son of a West End theatre director.
    Benjamin Smoke, 27. A freelance journalist.
    Nicholas Sigsworth, 29. Electronic musician with the stage name Klaus.
    Helen Brewer, 29. A London artist and film-maker.
    Emma Hughes, 38. Member of Switched On London, an energy campaign group.
    May MacKeith, 33. From an activist family that leads immigration protests.
    Jyotsna Ram, 33. Holds a PhD in planning and sustainable design.
    Joseph McGahan, 35. The co-founder of Hempden, a hemp and CBD company.
    Ruth Potts, 44. A lecturer in alternative economics and an anarchist baker.
    Lyndsay Burtonshaw, 28. Works for Quakers In Britain.
    Alistair Tamlit, 30. Member of Plane Stupid, a climate campaign group.
    Laura Clayson, 28. Previously arrested for protesting against fracking.
    Melanie Evans, 35. A climate activist

Of the 14 listed

- 7 appear to have no full time job beyond full time activist
    - 3 are what I believe are today referred to as "creators"- self styled musicians, artists and so forth. If any of you watched Peep Show you will recall the perenially unemployed Jez was a musician- not a remotely talented or profit making musician, but a musician nonetheless.
    - 1 holds a rather fancy sounding degree, but there is no indication thy actually work full time in that field.
    - 1 works for Quakers in Britain. I'm going to hazard a guess they're a chugger.
    - 1 is an entrepreneur of a company of unknown success
    - 1, finally, is a lecturer who prpbably makes a nice few quid.

So there you have it. Of 14 listed protestors

- 7 appear to be unemployed
    - 3 are artistes of unknown, probably minimal profitability
    - 1 is a chugger
    - 1 is possibly an eternal student
    - 1, at most 2, are relatively successful earners

Somewhere between 7 and 12 of this group aged between 27 and 44, are unemployed, semi employed or working jobs nobody of their age should still be working at.

Says it all really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,235 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

To go bac to this, here's a profile of the Stansted 15, a group of the wacky and weird who invaded the airport to stop 60 people being deported- 6 of whom were convicted of crimes including murder and, one I'm sure at least some of the protestors were particularly sympathetic to, child rape.

Of the 14 listed

- 7 appear to have no full time job beyond full time activist
    - 3 are what I believe are today referred to as "creators"- self styled musicians, artists and so forth. If any of you watched Peep Show you will recall the perenially unemployed Jez was a musician- not a remotely talented or profit making musician, but a musician nonetheless.
    - 1 holds a rather fancy sounding degree, but there is no indication thy actually work full time in that field.
    - 1 works for Quakers in Britain. I'm going to hazard a guess they're a chugger.
    - 1 is an entrepreneur of a company of unknown success
    - 1, finally, is a lecturer who prpbably makes a nice few quid.

So there you have it. Of 14 listed protestors

- 7 appear to be unemployed
    - 3 are artistes of unknown, probably minimal profitability
    - 1 is a chugger
    - 1 is possibly an eternal student
    - 1, at most 2, are relatively successful earners

Somewhere between 7 and 12 of this group aged between 27 and 44, are unemployed, semi employed or working jobs nobody of their age should still be working at.

Says it all really.

It says nothing. Because someone says they are an activist doesnt mean they are unemployed. All I see here is your assumptions and judgement.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

It says nothing. Because someone says they are an activist doesnt mean they are unemployed. All I see here is your assumptions and judgement.

If someone is listing their title as ‘activist’ the safe assumption is that they are unemployed as thats it in 95% of cases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,446 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

If someone is listing their title as ‘activist’ the safe assumption is that they are unemployed as thats it in 95% of cases

Do you think Gemma or Grand Torino's crew have jobs? They don't have the wherewithal to refer to themselves as activists but by jaysus, they're some motley crew, guarantee you 90% receiving disability or some other form of social welfare.

2 can play this game.

But if they weren't white, I'm sure you'd have something to say Eric, right?

Ruth Potts, 44. A lecturer in alternative economics and an anarchist baker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,907 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Anarchist baker-refuses to follow recipes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

F*ck you I won't measure my recipe!
    Ahhhhhhh!
    Mother****er!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭NovemberWren

@doublejobbing2. at the moment firms are being closed by ...... the group-load. Did most of these firms have bank loans? And have their bank loans been fully paid back? Someone should publish a paper outlining these considerations.

By... the group-load then, will they all magically start-up again? Will the banks speckle magical money (again?) to them? The pious and pompous employees will continue to pay their mortgages.... with, basically, some bank's money?

And those same 'workers' will continue to sneer at very many customers.

Wot-ever about activists. In this financial scamdemic the problem is: Banks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭BnB

@NovemberWren:; the kids left the shower on again....... of course colgate and cotton buds... why not;;.... charcoal when you burnt
    sasuages in the frying scam.....

:hitherto..... 26
    0k each...... there pie herring Board you like the funky one and all the best hon night for the rest well..... :;

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭NovemberWren

<snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,974 ✭✭✭Penfailed

This thread appears to have gone full hatstand.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Sprints, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar, The Scratch

Gigs '26 - Deftones, Sleaford Mods, Stereolab, Sugar, Clutch, Big Thief, The Cure, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, IDLES, Electric Picnic, Public Service Broadcasting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭TheBMG

BnB wrote: »
    @NovemberWren:; the kids left the shower on again....... of course colgate and cotton buds... why not;;.... charcoal when you burnt
    sasuages in the frying scam.....

:hitherto..... 26
    0k each...... there pie herring Board you like the funky one and all the best hon night for the rest well..... :;

Purple monkey dishwasher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,121 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Penfailed wrote: »
    This thread appears to have gone full hatstand.
    Post of the day for me :D
    Made me properly LOL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,317 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

PhoneMain wrote: »
    those Big Pharma people are so evil, making people live longer and healthier lives. they're so bad.

Hardly healthier if you're relying on artificial means in the body?
    Though I'm not complaining, hopefully I see at least 2 centuries.

You could always put on the the old tin foil hat and say that it suits Pharma that we live longer as it's more years of buying their products, especially in old age when you need them most...

Save boards.ie by subscribing: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/