Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,402 ✭✭✭naughto

BENDYBINN wrote: »
    And what type of weather would you like for the Galway Cork semi.......?

It will make no difference as there will be no galway cork game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Heraldoffreeent

naughto wrote: »
    It will make no difference as there will be no galway cork game

Bold prediction, Tipp to beat cork, I salute you Sir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭muddle84

BENDYBINN wrote: »
    And what type of weather would you like for the Galway Cork semi.......?

I don't think that's fair how quickly you have written off Tipperary there. I think they have a decent chance!

If Galway beat us, which i think is a 50 50 game based on Galways form earlier in the year and their recent history with us, I don't really care who gets to the final as none of them will beat Dublin in a final.

I just look forward to seeing how Donegal will fair out in the semi final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭flasher0030

yes that's correct but Galway didn't get into the game at all. They were stone cold and got done for some basic marking up errors with runners. I cannot see that happening again so this will be alot tighter. They will be gunning for us after the league game and with a winner takes all, the stakes are high so it focuses the head.

But isn't it the same going into the game on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

You'd have to be off the opinion that Galway are waiting in the tall grass waiting for the ambush. They've been preparing for the Connaught final since they went back to training, no disrespect to Sligo.

Whether the 4 weekends in a row is a benefit or hindrance to us will only be revealed on Sunday. We could be overcooked or indeed we could be fully tuned up.

I know as a player and manager I prefer games than training.

In our local underage championship (not in Mayo), we ended up in a county final after coming through the group of death. The lads we came up against had steamed rolled through their group and hadn't played in the three weeks prior to the final whereas we came into it after 7 games on the bounce. We destroyed them as they weren't anywhere near the level required.
    Same hopefully happens with Galway.
    I know they played two league games but they had nothing to invest in them against either Dublin or ourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

But isn't it the same going into the game on Sunday.

Not really. They had their last game 3 weeks ago. It was a few months before that back in March and they thought they were in a real good place up until us.
    We gave them a reality check!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

Not really. They had their last game 3 weeks ago. It was a few months before that back in March and they thought they were in a real good place up until us.
    We gave them a reality check!!

I don't buy that Galway will be cold this weekend. They had 2 tough league games and now a 3 week lead in to a Connacht final. That would be fairly standard in other years.

Since our league game they'll have Shane Walsh back along with changes to their midfield and full back line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

Has moran being dropped from the panel ??

For posting shome sh1te on social media

naughto wrote: »
    Has moran being dropped from the panel ??

For posting shome sh1te on social media

First I heard.

What is he meant to have posted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭freddie_

First I heard.

What is he meant to have posted?

Its a Tiktok video where he tells a few jokes, the jokes wouldnt be very PC but can't see it being true that it got him off the panel.

Where is it being rumoured that he's gone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭mjp

Video of his post doing the rounds in WhatsApp groups all day. Distasteful joke regarding underage girls which mayo are right to throw the book at him.

Those tik toks were all posted before he got his debut against Galway. So why would he be dropped now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭freddie_

muddle84 wrote: »
    Those tik toks were all posted before he got his debut against Galway. So why would he be dropped now?
    Ya I can't see it being true and its just a joke, poor taste admittedly but you would hear worse in the pub.
    I think its more of sign of his age and probably not expecting the sudden interest in his social media.

freddie_ wrote: »
    Ya I can't see it being true and its just a joke, poor taste admittedly but you would hear worse in the pub.
    I think its more of sign of his age and probably not expecting the sudden interest in his social media.

Or he has put the rumour out himself in a move to gain more followers on tik tok. In which case that's genius!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,429 ✭✭✭✭km79

He comes across an big of a moron on it
    “Boys “
    The joke about the underage girls was ridiculously poorly judged

km79 wrote: »
    He comes across an big of a moron on it
    “Boys “
    The joke about the underage girls was ridiculously poorly judged

No cop on
    The boys sh1ite is pure look at me swinging my d1ick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

freddie_ wrote: »

I don't know if him being dropped is true or not, but to be fair it's one thing for a random person to say something in a pub and quite another for a known person to say it on social media in front of potentially thousands of people, including and especially young people. There are certain standards around public behaviour that need to be followed when you're part of an intercounty squad tbh and I'm sure players are given some "advice" on how to handle their social media accounts. Might be no harm for him to let the tik tok go quiet for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

PressRun wrote: »
    I don't know if him being dropped is true or not, but to be fair it's one thing for a random person to say something in a pub and quite another for a known person to say it on social media in front of potentially thousands of people, including and especially young people. There are certain standards around public behaviour that need to be followed when you're part of an intercounty squad tbh and I'm sure players are given some "advice" on how to handle their social media accounts. Might be no harm for him to let the tik tok go quiet for a while.

Hw hasn't posted on it in months and deleted all the videos before he made the mayo team, someone had the video saved and shared it. The video doesn't reference girls at any stage

Fair enough. I don't really use social media and I'm certainly past the age of hanging about on tik tok tbh! :pac:

Again, where is the rumour that he is gone being referenced?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

Exactly that, a rumour with no foundation. Have a bit of cop on and stop adding fuel to the fire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭Higgins5473

Just saw this video. Public domain or not, this is without doubt the biggest idiot I have ever seen on any platform ever. Cringeworthy doesn't come close to describing this fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Just saw this video. Public domain or not, this is without doubt the biggest idiot I have ever seen on any platform ever. Cringeworthy doesn't come close to describing this fella.

Some of his other videos were funny, some a bit crude tbf, age group on tiktok is 14~24, probably twice that on here:O

Yeah, just saw it there. Those jokes are as old as the hills, but it's still not a good look. Very dumb.

See some twat has put it up on twitter.

If this did happen before the last galway game I presume horan has delt with it and has moved on from it.
    So let's do that ourselves what time is the team named

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,659 ✭✭✭Blackjack

I'd honestly rather be caught on a zoom meeting where I've left the camera on found pulling the skeleton out of myself rather than have the content of that video out.

Well sure just make certain you keep Keep your video camera switched off when your deciding to tug yourself, lest you get caught by your fellow zoom callers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Mayo v Galway live on RTE 2 @ 13.30.