Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Like working out, hate going to the gym - just me?

• 09-11-2020 6:55pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭

I don't think that requires an explanation.

I guess that's why historically it's been thought of as such a luxury to have your own gym at home, cause you don't have to put up with these ego maniacs whilst getting your pump on.

Am I alone in this?

I had wondered what it would be like to open my own gym, and basically cherry pick what members I'd allow in.

I see myself telling at least 50% of applicants, "sorry mate, not accepting new members currently".

• Registered Users Posts: 8,693 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

I also hate going to the gym but I also hate working out

• Registered Users Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Man with broke phone

I love going the gym but hate working out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭bo0li5eumx12kp

I love going the gym but hate working out.

Yeah I've heard about dudes like that.

"You know I spend so much time in the gym, but mostly just talking to other people.....".

Like it's a badge of honor?

Assuming this post is serious, what exactly is the thinking behind that?

Whatever about the gym, actual sports clubs of whatever incarnation that are meant to be serious training, but end up packed with the "after work and socializing" mob, are my own personal idea of a living nightmare.

I puke at those people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

I've never been to - and will never go to - a gym, because I don't like any form of deliberate physical exercise.

Yeah I've heard about dudes like that.

"You know I spend so much time in the gym, but mostly just talking to other people.....".

Like it's a badge of honor?

Assuming this post is serious, what exactly is the thinking behind that?

I sell steroids.

Poor effort bruh.

Yes sterouds help people with poor effort.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,565 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I guess that's why historically it's been thought of as such a luxury to have your own gym at home, cause you don't have to put up with these ego maniacs whilst getting your pump on.

Am I alone in this?

I had wondered what it would be like to open my own gym, and basically cherry pick what members I'd allow in.

I see myself telling at least 50% of applicants, "sorry mate, not accepting new members currently".

In what way do you have to 'put up with' people?

Having to acknowledge their existence so I'm not thought of as being "rude"...?

Having to be in their presence?

Having to listen to their attention seeking drivel?

Having to put up with their envious stares, as the sweat glistens over my finely sculpted physique?

I guess gyms are competitive environments in the sense that, everyone wants to look better or appear healthier than the next person.

It's a total cop out and hypocrisy.

I HATE it.

Having to put up with their envious stares, as the sweat glistens over my finely sculpted physique?

I guess gyms are competitive environments in the sense that, everyone wants to look better or appear healthier than the next person.

I HATE it.

Yep.

Sounds like you're the problem here.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,987 ✭✭✭pgj2015

if I had a home gym I would use it, I will set one up some day. but for now I run by myself and play football. I have never been in a gym in my life, i know I wouldn't like it if there was other people there.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,927 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I got into the gym years ago and tbh I'm enjoying them being closed as I don't feel that same pressure to go all the time and I think I've always had ridiculous standards for myself when it came to how in shape I am, where I watch everything I eat so I stay trim and toned etc.
    I've taken up jogging this year and am really enjoying it. Between that and a doorframe pull up bar I've managed to stay in good nick during all this.
    My gym is now full of really young girls taking selfies of themselves for instagram or whatever. You didn't see them there 10 years ago, so they must be under real pressure to look certain ways, and they never seem to look like they know what they're doing. Awful form for squats, deadlifts etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,176 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

You need to be a high end gym :P

Charge so much you can do that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭WhenPigsCry

Gym totally make sense—all the fancy equipment in a controlled environment, not exposed to the elements, with staff on hand to provide guidance—but they’re just boring environments. And they always have crappy pulsating music. I want to give my local one a shot for resistance training when covid is over, but for cardio I prefer to be out in the fresh air.

Honestly I think we just hate people.

The introvert in me is starting to hate the internet too. Too many people.

Honestly I think we just hate people.

The introvert in me is starting to hate the internet too. Too many people.

You think? a big part of the reason I prefer being single is I dont have to hang around people I don't like, her friends, family etc there is bound to be some of them who are twats.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Gyms bore me. It's a hassle going there and not much fun being there. Run outside is my preferred choice, you roll out of bed pull up some clothes and you are back under the shower after 30 minutes. Dog gets a run and some company if neighbour's ball of fleas decides to follow us home. I like cycling too but that's more hassle. Otherwise rowing machine in the house, I find weights totally boring.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

In the early 2000s, the number of people in work who had access to the internet was limited, but I was one of them who did. One day, one of the long term contractors asked if I could check out a website for him, and he handed me a piece of paper with www.asteroids.com on it. I didn't think he was into astronomy and he didn't seem impressed by what appeared on the site.

Then he said "Oh, I think there's supposed to be a dash after the 'a'.". It should have been a-steroids.com. Yer man was mad into doing weights in the gym and obviously wanted a bit of extra help. He wasn't a particularly nice person, and 2 or 3 years later shot himself in the head, no doubt influenced by side-effects from steroid use.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Don't like going to the gym or working out. I like cake and crips. Yes crips.

pgj2015 wrote: »
    You think? a big part of the reason I prefer being single is I dont have to hang around people I don't like, her friends, family etc there is bound to be some of them who are twats.
    Smart man.

I hate having to introduce a bf to family and friends. Its so awkward.

Its actually best in the long run not to ...it only causes fights.

And you need your own friends to be your own.

Smart man.

I hate having to introduce a bf to family and friends. Its so awkward.

Its actually best in the long run not to ...it only causes fights.

And you need your own friends to be your own.

I would feel sorry for the woman as well because no woman is good enough for an Irish mother's son, fact. ;)

Thread turned into an episode of The Undateables fairly quickly.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,614 ✭✭✭Feisar

Yes sterouds help people with poor effort.

actually the opposite is often true. The really obsessed take steroids while yes it does help a lot in the gainz department but it also means they recover quicker so they can train more, lift heavier etc.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 20,038 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I HATE it.

All that stuff is optional and you only need to take part if you want to.

If there are people in my gym like that, I don’t see them because I’m not looking for them.

If I go to the gym I’d have my earphones in and do my own thing, on my own. The only time I need to chat in the gym is to say “excuse me, are you using this?”. End of story.

Fair play if you enjoy making it a competition and fanaticising about other people watching you work out, but that’s all your own business

• Registered Users Posts: 467 ✭✭nj27

Running and cycling along with a decent home weights set up made my gym membership redundant, although I am hanging on to it for the occasional swim. I don't like working out with people crowded around me and having to wait to use bars/machines. Also I think for cardio jogging is about as good as it gets anyway, and being out in the fresh air is a big plus as long as it's not pissing rain.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,929 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Much prefer the gym to at home.

Mainly because of the greater variety of equipment and first hand expertise and experience of staff...

At home I just have a good bike, resistance bands, weights and a suspension trainer... which is decent and enabled my continued fitness and health improvements / goals during lockdown... hopefully adding a treadmill soon.

But I seriously just enjoy being at the gym more than exercising at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭JasonStatham

Am I alone in this?

I run on the road. It's dangerous but I don't have to put up woth posers. Though i got honked by a few bollox women. Bollixes.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,381 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

always do my run along the forest trail that is a few minutes up the road at about 5pm, no worries about meeting anyone of being hit with a car.

Gym ain't an option for me because lifting weights gave me a hernia, tbh i prefer the run so might never go back lifting again.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I have never used a gym in my life. I was once a member of a gym but the one day I plucked up the courage to go, I couldn't find the changing room and nobody was at reception. I walked around looking for them and people were staring at me so I left and never returned :pac:

I have an exercise bike at home for when the weather is too rubbish to cycle outside (like today). And a couple of light dumbbells for Upper body stuff. That's all I need. I don't like running and I cycle a lot, so having a lot of upper body muscle is detrimental.

Ultimately, I will never attend a gym.

always do my run along the forest trail that is a few minutes up the road at about 5pm, no worries about meeting anyone of being hit with a car.

Gym ain't an option for me because lifting weights gave me a hernia, tbh i prefer the run so might never go back lifting again.

You mean a disc herniation?

Most overlooked information in weight lifting (spinal posture), you know why?

Too many ego lifters - it's why I hate gyms.