Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 'I've successfully ordered a PS5' thread

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Penn wrote: »

Anyone able to tell me what this says? I cant see twitter in work :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,915 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Kimbot wrote: »

Here it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Markitron

Kimbot wrote: »

They said they are working on a solution for in-store pre-orders.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

lertsnim wrote: »
    Here it is

Thank you :) I will have to call into them after work as they have my old mobile number to contact me for xbox and ps5 even after changing my number on their system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,591 ✭✭✭bennyl10

dan786 wrote: »
    Smyths dont even charge a delivery free for these so its not like they would have had to spend extra.

Didnt do delivery as they ship with DPD and they are not the most reliable courier so didnt want it delayed till after the weekend.

I have 2 for collection in Smyths so will be getting them launch day. My local is only 5kms away but even it was further wouldnt have been an issue as working in the healthcare sector.

you would assume they ship direct from warehouse and some others to shops

and the ability for shops to send individual orders would be a huge hassle.

also if the accounts system is separate form online and instore collection, this may well be the only way for it to manage on an internal level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,522 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Bit concerned about the gamestop statement. The fact they said SOMETHING is good, but we were told to expect phonecalls 2 weeks ago if we were getting stock or not. Saying "a solution is in the works" is not that dissimilar to "hang on till we figure out what we're doing"

RedXIV wrote: »
    Bit concerned about the gamestop statement. The fact they said SOMETHING is good, but we were told to expect phonecalls 2 weeks ago if we were getting stock or not. Saying "a solution is in the works" is not that dissimilar to "hang on till we figure out what we're doing"

True, if I get some more news in my local I will post it around 6 this evening :)

If Gamestop can't even tell people that pre-ordered months ago whether or not they are actually getting a PS5 this year, I wouldn't have much faith in them solving this logistical problem in a timely and satisfying manner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Kremin

I was told the 5km limit is only for exercise and not shopping is this wrong?

In any case the Smyth's I ordered from is 4.9km from my house so if I do get stopped every guard is gonna think I'm taking the piss and chose an address exactly on the edge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭WhenPigsCry

Kremin wrote: »
    I was told the 5km limit is only for exercise and not shopping is this wrong?

In any case the Smyth's I ordered from is 4.9km from my house so if I do get stopped every guard is gonna think I'm taking the piss and chose an address exactly on the edge

That was my understanding, but reading the press release is confusing.

https://www.gov.ie/en/press-release/66269-ireland-placed-on-level-5-of-the-plan-for-living-with-covid/
    Placing the country at Level 5 Restrictions will have the following implications:
    • people are asked to stay at home. People should work from home unless providing an essential service for which their physical presence is required (see below for essential services)
    • people will be permitted to exercise within a radius of 5 km of their home
    • there will be a penalty for movement outside 5km of home, with exemptions to this for essential work and essential purposes (see notes to editors*)
    • essential retail and essential services will remain open (see below)

*they keep updating this, and now the Notes to Editors section is gone, even though the bullet points still reference it.
    Essential purposes for travel (permitted outside 5km limit)
    • to shop for essential items

Elsewhere, any shop with click and collect facilities is deemed "essential" and allowed to open. https://www.gov.ie/en/publication/60ecc-essential-retail-outlets-for-level-4/

Unless I see anything contradicting my interpretation, I plan to go pick my order up on the day of release. If any retailer that has click and collect is deemed an essential retailer then I assume anything they sell is essential, because there is nothing in Smyth's that really is essential but it's still allowed to operate.

Reportedly it could be a €60 on the spot fine for violating the 5km.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Liamo_mu

Welp I've no way of getting my pre order it seems. And to think the only reason I went for store collection was because their site was useless and would crash if I tried to change to home delivery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭Lord Spence

Liamo_mu wrote: »
    Welp I've no way of getting my pre order it seems. And to think the only reason I went for store collection was because their site was useless and would crash if I tried to change to home delivery.

Your allowed to go outside 5km for grocery shopping, people are being a bit dramatic, just go collect your console if guards stop ya sure just tell them your getting pet food or groceries or something.

Liamo_mu wrote: »
    From the Smyth's site.

"We will hold your pre-order for two days after the lockdown period ends, if you are unable to travel to our stores due to the 5km rule. Customers do not need to notify us if they are unable to collect their pre-order, we will automatically hold it for two days after the lockdown period ends."

So we just have to wait till December?

They’ve taking out the 5K line

“If you are unable to arrange collection of your Pre-Order during the lockdown period, we will hold your pre-order until close of business on Thursday 3rd December. If not collected by that stage, your pre-order will be cancelled. We would strongly advise that where possible you collect or arrange someone to collect your Pre-Order on the release date.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,498 ✭✭✭brianregan09

I dunno lads I'm in a rural area everything is outside my 5km range , work (Which i still have to go to) shops etc I'll be 100% going to collect my ps5 (and xbox) on there release days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭GhostyMcGhost

This might actually help me slightly

Miles Morales out on 12th but if smyths hold it until the 19th, then I only have to make one trip

Well the lads in gamestop were none the wiser, head office will let them know as soon as possible apparently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,174 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Email in from Smyths, seems to have changed from yesterday, now you must collect by the close of business on the 2nd December, the lockdown itself is only lifted on the 2nd December. Also note they will charge your card on the release day even if you don't pick it up until the 2nd December.
    Dear Customer,

Just a quick update on your Pre-Order which is scheduled to be released for collection at your selected store during the lockdown period (currently from Thursday 22nd October until Tuesday 1st December).

Your Pre-Order will be released on the due date and you will receive your ready for collection email. Once you receive this email, you can collect your Pre-Order at your selected store. The store will be open for collections throughout the lockdown period.

If you are unable to collect your Pre-Order, you can arrange to have someone else collect it for you if you wish. In all cases, you (or the person collecting for you) must have photo identification (of the person who placed the order) and a copy of your ready for collection email when you come to collect your order.

If you cannot travel to a store and do not have anyone to collect for you, we will hold your Pre-Order for you to collect at your nominated store until close of business on Wednesday 2nd December 2020.

Please note that the value of your Pre-Order will be pre-authorised on your card on the release date. If your card has expired since you placed your order, you will automatically receive instructions to update your details. It is important that you action any prompts on payment within 24 hours to secure your Pre-Order. You can also manage your Pre-Order payment details on your Smyths Toys account or by clicking here.

If there is any change to the release date for your Pre-Order, we will be in touch with you.

Best wishes,

Smyths Toys Superstores

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭Mr.Fantastic

Does anyone know the craic with travelling to get this.

The smyths in cork near the kinsale roundabout is roughly 10km on the link, its like a ten minute drive from where myself and my housemate live.

Want to get it launch day but don't want to be hit with a 70 fine for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 675 ✭✭✭Paul MCM

Does anyone know the craic with travelling to get this.

The smyths in cork near the kinsale roundabout is roughly 10km on the link, its like a ten minute drive from where myself and my housemate live.

Want to get it launch day but don't want to be hit with a 70 fine for it.

If you are stopped at checkpoint just say you are going shopping. See if a Tesco, Supervalu etc or Chemist is near your Smyths and just say that is where you are going.

So I see that Woodies is classed as an Essential retail stores, next door to my Smyths. There is my excuse so, "I need to buy toilet roll in woodies Garda and also because the missus will sh*t herself when the €499 hits the credit card"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,375 ✭✭✭madmoe

Berty wrote: »
    So I see that Woodies is classed as an Essential retail stores, next door to my Smyths. There is my excuse so, "I need to buy toilet roll in woodies Garda and also because the missus will sh*t herself when the €499 hits the credit card"

:D:D:D

Berty wrote: »
    Email in from Smyths, seems to have changed from yesterday, now you must collect by the close of business on the 2nd December, the lockdown itself is only lifted on the 2nd December. Also note they will charge your card on the release day even if you don't pick it up until the 2nd December.

Lockdown ends the 1st doesn’t it?

So this is next day.

Charging when is in stock is not the greatest look

bennyl10 wrote: »

So this is next day.

Doesn't begin till Midnight tonight so if you take it the 22nd 6 weeks you get the 3rd but then again there are 30 days in November so is it the 2nd? I don't know.

bennyl10 wrote: »

So this is next day.

This is how they have always done pre-orders, they charge you the day before release and hold it for 2 days, if you haven't collected they refund you.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,546 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

It’s December 1st, as confirmed in the announcement on Monday.

There’s talk of a review if numbers are low after four weeks, but yeah almost certainly going to be December given the current situation.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,133 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Is there anyway to switch your pre order from collection to delivery with smyths? very unlikely I'll be able get into the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 675 ✭✭✭Paul MCM

Is there anyway to switch your pre order from collection to delivery with smyths? very unlikely I'll be able get into the city.

No, they had on their website you can not change from click and collect to home delivery.
    Not sure why they won’t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,607 ✭✭✭WarZoneBrother

I've my pre order with Amazon, sending it to PM. PM recently lost my mates 500euro phone...

Just wondering can I get this instantly shipped to my home address straight away or do I have to wait to see if they can fit it in the lockers? Also is insurance easy to get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,404 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Lads, what's all the panic?

Do you really think any guard is going to turn you around if you say you're picking up something from a toy store a few weeks before Christmas? Not a hope!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,534 ✭✭✭xtal191

I've my pre order with Amazon, sending it to PM. PM recently lost my mates 500euro phone...

Just wondering can I get this instantly shipped to my home address straight away or do I have to wait to see if they can fit it in the lockers? Also is insurance easy to get?

Use Parcel Wizard instead, should be able to change delivery address