Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you like to live in a mansion?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,174 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Ya can’t beat an aga.

Woman is obsessed with Agas. As far as I'm concerned an Aga is a big pig-iron box with a coal fire under it. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Well this is a little awkward.....

That's actually my house for sale in the OP.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

How can a house that big only have 4 bedrooms??? My 4 bed house is probably less than half the size.

I have this possibly weird, dislike for wasted space. If a room is way bigger than it needs to be I feel uncomfortable. I hate large bedrooms (possibly a consequence of growing up in a 1950s box room) like the one pictured. That kitchen isn't a bad size but the styling wouldn't be to my taste.

Every week I see the kinds of properties below listed on the Journal, and commenters below praising how wonderful they are, and I just can't get my head around why anyone would want to live in such an enormous abomination, unless you're a character in Dallas?

https://www.thejournal.ie/the-paddocks-east-cork-5234066-Oct2020/

What are the advantages of living in a massive house like this? It must be a nightmare to keep clean! And why would you want a lawn that big? It's a bit pointless really, surely a few trees wouldn't go amiss.
    You also have to drive to get anywhere. These are all over Ireland, including not too far from me in North County Dublin there are loads. I understand you might like the peace of being in the middle of nowhere, but why would a house ever need to be that big?

I just don't get the appeal, is it just me?

I’d hate a big cold soulless hole like that. One more bedroom than you need, a utility room, a good big shed, and no garden. Perfection.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭JustAThought

I’d hate a big cold soulless hole like that. One more bedroom than you need, a utility room, a good big shed, and no garden. Perfection.

Mountjoy - precision designed for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭Jaysus Christ.

I could see myself holding midweek soirée there.
    And swinger parties at the weekends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭cannotlogin

I'll take it if no one else wants it but won't be paying the amount to live in any house in Cork.

• Registered Users Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Frankie Machine

Lots of spite filled begrudgers here- I wonder where you all live that you are so bitter and angry about this house?

Well, some of us live in the countryside, where so much of this architectural inappropriateness abides like sore thumbs.

I wonder where you live that you are so spiteful about people who may simply be more sympathetic to their surroundings than yourself, or may simply have different taste ?

Fwiw, I live in a five-bed house in the country, with amazing views across the surrounding hillsides, on an acre whose levels my better half has landscaped very pleasingly indeed.

So it doesn't look like that, and it didn't cost that either. Or anything like it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

I'll take it if no one else wants it but won't be paying the amount to live in any house in Cork.

You couldn't pay me to live there either.

I could see myself holding midweek soirée there.
    And swinger parties at the weekends.

I have a sheet with holes in it, and a fruitbowl for car keys.

Count me in.

For the weekends.

I have a sheet with holes in it, and a fruitbowl for car keys.

Count me in.

For the weekends.

The sheet with holes in it is for the kkk meetings.
    Tuesdays 7.30pm.

The sheet with holes in it is for the kkk meetings.
    Tuesdays 7.30pm.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

I know a builder and a farmer who are 460000 and 525000 euros in debt respectively with houses like that one so I am not really surprised to see this kind of a house for sale.

It is nearly always the same end result with these newer built houses from ''owners'' with big ideas who probably couldn't really afford it in the first place.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,941 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Well yeah but so many people seem to aspire to that, I just don't get it. Ireland is peppered with these in every county.

I know a guy who is as tight as you can get, he built a house like this one though, apparently he built it so big because his in laws have a big house, so he had to build a bigger one. very sad to be like that in fairness. he doesn't seem to have any money now because the house cost him so much to build, he is literally living on bread and water now it seems.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Every week I see the kinds of properties below listed on the Journal, and commenters below praising how wonderful they are, and I just can't get my head around why anyone would want to live in such an enormous abomination, unless you're a character in Dallas?

What are the advantages of living in a massive house like this? It must be a nightmare to keep clean! And why would you want a lawn that big? It's a bit pointless really, surely a few trees wouldn't go amiss.
    You also have to drive to get anywhere. These are all over Ireland, including not too far from me in North County Dublin there are loads. I understand you might like the peace of being in the middle of nowhere, but why would a house ever need to be that big?

Peasant ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,040 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Fecking sure I would. More room to shoot pornos.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭bb1234567

What bothers me most about these developments is the aversion to forming any kind of coherent streetline or contributing towards creation of any kind of urban community for people to rely on and partake in.

Set back a ****in mile from the road (so you can praise it in all it;s beauty on your trek up the front door), set so far back they don't even have room for a garden in the example in the OP and instead a useless enormous sterile front garden. I dont get it but irrational planning and design logic is what defines these kind of housing developments so no surprise

Howver the interior of the particular example posted is not the worst. At least it's not cluttered with crap nor does it have an overly deep floor plan, it is pretty bright and feels generous in the room proportions without being overwhelmingly large and lost in space

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

Watched Dermot Bannon in Canada last night, I have little interest in seeing the houses of the rich and famous. Most of the houses on last night did little for me except the setting of the first one and the log cabin with the extension at the end of the programme. On an earlier trip to Sweden he was introduced to the concept of "Lagom" (just enough) which resonated with me a lot, it's all about not going over the top building a house bigger or flashier than needed but with emphasis on comfort and cosiness.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,941 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Not a tree or shrub plated on this huge site, shows you the kind of muck savage that lives there. no appreciation for nature.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,824 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

bluewolf wrote: »
    If i have someone to do the cleaning and lawn mowing then maybe

Exactly If you have staff which you could do if you could afford that gaff then you wouldn’t have to lift a finger.

I’d just have them in on say Mondays and Thursday to do a deep clean inside... it’s happy days. Everything else and in between I’d do...

Garden I’d take care of myself, ride on mower. Kill an hour.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,774 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Hate to break it to you OP but that's not a mansion.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,776 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

mfceiling wrote: »
    Hate to break it to you OP but that's not a mansion.

To me it is, it's a monster of a thing like JR's house. I just don't get the desire to have a house that big.

Bigger the house.
    Smaller your willy.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,585 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

It's no where near a been a mansion nor is it Vulger looking. Sure my Parents old house had 6 bedrooms in it and it was built in the 70s there new one has 7 bedrooms and 6 bathrooms well had they made changes since then. My own house has 3 bathrooms and that enough. If I won the lotto sure I would live in a big house with cleaners too but it would look very different to an ordinary boring house. I think I would hire a Canadian architect to design it and it would be out of this world cool and a passive design too so warm in winter cool in summer.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users Posts: 148 ✭✭Wolftown

The spite, jealously and begrudgery is surprising in this thread! Going by the majority of replies we should all be living in sheds, driving the cheapest/crappiest cars and wearing rags. Coming from a semi-d owner, I would love to have the space offered in that house. Anyone running it down is just downright jealous, it's kind of laughable and sad at the same time. Sure why would you want space for more than 2 chairs in your garden? Why would you ever want space for more than 2 cars in the driveway? Why have more than 1 bathroom? Because it's nice to have, that's why!

Wolftown wrote: »
    The spite, jealously and begrudgery is surprising in this thread! Going by the majority of replies we should all be living in sheds, driving the cheapest/crappiest cars and wearing rags. Coming from a semi-d owner, I would love to have the space offered in that house. Anyone running it down is just downright jealous, it's kind of laughable and sad at the same time. Sure why would you want space for more than 2 chairs in your garden? Why would you ever want space for more than 2 cars in the driveway? Why have more than 1 bathroom? Because it's nice to have, that's why!

Didn't see any spite and jealousy? I'm just trying to understand the mindset of owning such an enormous house, when something much smaller that takes up less land would suffice. I'm more of a less is more person so I'm just wondering why anyone would want something so big.

• Registered Users Posts: 814 ✭✭✭3d4life

I wouldn't fancy it.

Looks could easily be improved with some shrubs & climbers

I would have use for a much larger garden area ( OP broaden your horizons - take a look at the gardening forum)

Seems to lack a greenhouse

There are many people paying much more for terraced / semi detached houses in the suburbs of Dublin. I bet a lot of them wish they could figure out how to work from east Cork :D.

Its not a mansion

If you want to see something that approaches a modern day mansion look up Fingal planning ref F17A/0182

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭JimToken

Skeetur wrote: »
    Exactly. And sure why would you need a roof when you can just carry an umbrella around with ya?

And sure why you need a door when you can just have an opening?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭A2LUE42

I misread it, thinking it was 7 Acres, It is on a .7 Acre site. That is tiny for out in the country.

3d4life wrote: »
    There are many people paying much more for terraced / semi detached houses in the suburbs of Dublin. I bet a lot of them wish they could figure out how to work from east Cork :D.

Why do people have this belief that everyone in Dublin and other cities wants to live in a house this big?!