Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

I don't know where we're going, but it can only be 5K away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Morning all :) Had a great nights sleep and decided to head to the beach :) Nothing like listening and watching the ocean :) Going to venture to Maxi zoo on the way home to pick up more wild bird supplies :)

Happy Saturday!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭The Crazy Cat Lady

happy Saturday guys

feeling much better today I'm glad to say, had an awful headache and sick stomach yesterday though :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,807 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Deskside with a cupan tae and avocado on sour dough toast.

Very posh

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,856 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

I just love my office view. If you look closely at the mountains you can see a road that goes from 7000 feet down to sea level. Have driven it once and it’s as scary as .....

528206.jpeg

528207.jpeg

ONLY ONE DAY LEFT UNTIL HOLLYDAYS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Am very excite :D

Just back from shops where I did my usual
    "I just need toothpaste and cotton pads but oh I now have two jumpers, shower gel and makeup as well". Sure look. As mammy always said 'you can't take it with you' :)

smurfjed wrote: »
    I just love my office view. If you look closely at the mountains you can see a road that goes from 7000 feet down to sea level. Have driven it once and it’s as scary as .....

528206.jpeg

528207.jpeg
    Highway to Heaven!

Do you remember that show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,326 ✭✭✭thomil

Highway to Heaven!

Reminds me of some of the roads my dad used to drive when I was still in school in Austria. Narrower, with steeper gradients and less safety infrastructure, but generally similar.

Oh, did I mention that he regularly hit 120 on these roads? Pretty exhilarating experience

Good luck trying to figure me out. I haven't managed that myself yet!

Do you remember that show?

Of course!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 61,905 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

A stalwart of rte weekend viewing!

Getting ready for work dum dee dum

Of course!

Saturday nights I think it was. Mammy and me in the sitting room. She would be in the armchair pulled in to the fire and I'd be on the sofa pulled in near her. Good memories.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 61,905 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Ah yes, he was in little house on the prarie too. A weekend with michael landon :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭NewRed2

Saturday nights I think it was. Mammy and me in the sitting room. She would be in the armchair pulled in to the fire and I'd be on the sofa pulled in near her. Good memories.

Nice memories mate, that's the stuff you cherish. :)
    I remember Highway to heaven myself too, like you said it brings back memories.
    It was often on when visiting my Granny, as soon as I hear mention of it now I'm transported back in time to my Granny's house, it's weird how certain songs/shows/etc can send you back in time.
    Catchphase used to be on a lot on Sundays too and again sends me back to my Granny's house and I have vivid memories of my parents and my Uncles/Aunts all sitting round with hangovers reluctantly shouting at the telly Sunday afternoon. Say what you see!
    As a kid the huge one for me was the music from BBC Grandstand, it was on Saturday mornings and the theme tune was brilliant, as soon as I'd hear that music I was flying down the stairs and that made the weekend for me.
    Then the other side of the coin was Glenroe.
    God you'd hear that dreary monotonous Glenroe music of a Sunday evening and it would send a shiver down yer spine. It signalled weekend over, school tomorrow and whatever Biddey and Miley were about to get up to was largely irrelevant and paled into insignificance compared to thoughts of Monday at school and homework you hadn't done.
    The weird thing about all thee memories is that most of us would swap adulthood in a heart beat to be back there again for a day, I know I would anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,446 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

I thought I was the only one who associated the Glenroe theme with the dread of no homework done! It seems everyone was as bold as I was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,480 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Sardonicat wrote: »
    I thought I was the only one who associated the Glenroe theme with the dread of no homework done! It seems everyone was as bold as I was.

That and the antiques roadshow theme.

I remember saying it to himself (who is a nerd) and the look of pure horror on his face :D.... Eh sorry, I'd better things to be doing.... Grand though as he now doesn't trust me with anything educational for the kids so he deals with the school stuff :D:D

Ah yes, he was in little house on the prarie too. A weekend with michael landon :pac:

Nelly Olsen was on the six o clock show during the week, well worth a watch.

I just walked to the shop and for the 30 mins I was out there was only about 10 cars passed by ,there was one car in the carpark and the shop was empty apart from myself, the shop assistant and the other customer, so unusual for any night but particularly a Saturday night. Normally its non stop traffic and you wouldn't get a parking space and the shop would be packed mainly people buying drink. It's like a full lockdown, even now there's hardly a car passing, it kind of freaked me out, it's very eerie.
    Couchside, waiting for the troops to come back from a match, heating on,having a glass and watching Succession..boring tbh.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 13,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Relaxing at home after doing the Chair of an online AA meeting.

That was my 5th time chairing an AA meeting - I have come such a long long way in the past three years. Happy, healthy and sober. :)

Evening all :) Couchside watching tv :)

Nelly Olsen was on the six o clock show during the week, well worth a watch.

I just walked to the shop and for the 30 mins I was out there was only about 10 cars passed by ,there was one car in the carpark and the shop was empty apart from myself, the shop assistant and the other customer, so unusual for any night but particularly a Saturday night. Normally its non stop traffic and you wouldn't get a parking space and the shop would be packed mainly people buying drink. It's like a full lockdown, even now there's hardly a car passing, it kind of freaked me out, it's very eerie.
    Couchside, waiting for the troops to come back from a match, heating on,having a glass and watching Succession..boring tbh.

I'm delighted it's quiet whereever you are, hope the same can be said around the country.

Now, what's the six o clock show, irish, english, merrycan?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,968 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Jupiterkid, well done to you and continued success in your sobriety in the years ahead :)

Home , where else , things I could be doing but just can't be ***** tbh .

https://forumofgames.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Watching Carry on Camping here with Mrs G. The stuff ya find online.:D The Smart TV is a saviour!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭NewRed2

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Relaxing at home after doing the Chair of an online AA meeting.

That was my 5th time chairing an AA meeting - I have come such a long long way in the past three years. Happy, healthy and sober. :)

That's brilliant. Congrats!!! I work with a fella who's been through a long journey and similarly successful and jesus its lovely to see the change in a person when they come out the other side.
    Takes serious guts, well done!

To tea or not to tea...

Silly question

No to tea :D Yes to Coffee :D

Autosport wrote: »
    Silly question

No to tea :D Yes to Coffee :D

I'm on my coffee limit, too much gives my gizzard the goolies :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,446 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Watching "Inside I'm Dancing' on TG4 and getting all nostalgic for Dublin in the noughties....

Jupiter, well done to you. You've every reason to feel proud of yourself and it's good to see you take stock and acknowledge your achievement, too.

I'm delighted it's quiet whereever you are, hope the same can be said around the country.

Now, what's the six o clock show, irish, english, merrycan?.

I think that's what its called, it's Irish and it's on at six o clock 😂

I think that's what its called, it's Irish and it's on at six o clock ��

I'm not used to anything but the ding dongs and cartoons on the two channels at six :D:D:pac:

The errors are back :(