Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'No-platforming' at Trinity College.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,619 ✭✭✭Feisar

I've read a lot of ****e on boards over the years, but that's the first time I've seen anything resembling diarrhoea in print.

So is it only drunken girls who deserve your cold logic, is crime against anyone who is drunk deserved, after all if you were not drunk your safe from crime.

No not at all re the drunken girls. It applies to anyone that doesn't look out for themselves. The rape one is where people will scream "victim blaming" should anyone suggest that the victim put themselves in an unsafe position.

Anyway, your "rebuttle" doesn't deserve a response. It's very easy say someone is talking shíte. You weren't able to address the point though.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Can anyone go to those talks or is it students only?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭paw patrol

Can anyone go to those talks or is it students only?

i wasn't in trinity but my mate was and he brought me in the late 1990s.
    Sad to see how pathetic they have become.

I met Spike Milligan there and went to the pub with him. I still am chuffed about that.

He'd probably piss on them all now.

funny back then there was grief cos they invited a page 3 girl / galmour model (whose name escapes me) to speak..there was disquiet in the media about lack of morals etc...
    how times have changed :(

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

How do you know someone went to Trinity?
    They tell you!

Usually daddy didn't buy them cop on

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

racism+in+irish+education.jpg

So irelands black left answer to Gemma Odoherty is allowed speak but not dawkins... got it

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Afrocarribean ? Would I be right in saying none of them are afrocarribean and more just Africans

• Registered Users Posts: 40,312 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Gatling wrote: »
    Usually daddy didn't buy them cop on

you dont know many people who went to Trinity, do you?

I do , their da’s income is directly proportional to how left wing theyll become and how proud theyll be to tell people theyre in trinners.

that must explain why i'm a raving fascist then

• Registered Users Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭mohawk

I've read a lot of ****e on boards over the years, but that's the first time I've seen anything resembling diarrhoea in print.

So is it only drunken girls who deserve your cold logic, is crime against anyone who is drunk deserved, after all if you were not drunk your safe from crime.

Obviously your not safe from crime by being sober. It’s about minimising risk. Back in my youth we never let one of our drunk friends off by herself. We made sure she got home safe. If she was really drunk we would clear off any guy trying to hit on her. In my late teens early twenties there were times I was way too drunk and luckily I had friends who watched my back.
    Sometimes there is victim blaming especially around clothes but no harm in telling young women to be careful and watch out for each other.

• Registered Users Posts: 363 ✭✭Pronto63

paw patrol wrote: »
    I met Spike Milligan there and went to the pub with him. I still am chuffed about that.

He'd probably piss on them all now.
    :(

So jealous!
    Was he good crack?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Utterly pathetic carry on by TCD HistSoc but entirely in keeping with the direction of travel in Academia.

that must explain why i'm a raving fascist then

I never said the scale starts at the right and works its way left. It starts at social democrats and goes all the way to stalin. Trinity is not a campus that welcomes anyone with conservative ideas.

If you actually grew up in a working class house and needed grant aid to attend trinity etc.. then fair play to you for getting there and presumably graduating, but its definitely the university with the highest average household incomes of parents but also the campus with the most open vitriol against wealth.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭mohawk

John Doe1 wrote: »
    As a former member if the historical society, im absolutely digusted by this decision.

A big point of going to University and especially in the arts is confronting views from people which challenge your presuppositions and coming to your own conclusions.

She should step down from her position as her stance is completely antithetical to the values of academia.

The line about valuing comfort of the members above all else....seriously. One reason I still come on boards is that there are posters with completely opposing views to me on various topics and it can lead me to learning more about a topic. I might not change my mind but I will be more informed.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    I didnt take anything from the thread.

I just said it would be interesting to know the gender balance of the people on this thread, given the prevailing view here that he should be offerred a platform on the one hand, and his track record of commentary on sexual assault on the other.

Jxsus in a Bucket. You fellas seem a bit touchy.

That's the point. You failed to engage in the discussion rather waded in with a pointy stick.

The inferred aspersions of other posters were hardly subtle

And no no-one is touchy. Sorry you feel that way

May I suggest.

Engage with posters actual opinions and pov
    Don't try to assume any posters race gender or age
    Don't infer that because you disagree with someone's pov that they are somehow misogynists (see first point)

I never said the scale starts at the right and works its way left. It starts at social democrats and goes all the way to stalin. Trinity is not a campus that welcomes anyone with conservative ideas.

If you actually grew up in a working class house and needed grant aid to attend trinity etc.. then fair play to you for getting there and presumably graduating, but its definitely the university with the highest average household incomes of parents but also the campus with the most open vitriol against wealth.

well its a long time since I was there so things have obviously changed.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭paw patrol

Pronto63 wrote: »
    So jealous!
    Was he good crack?

it was the best craic ever - he told anecdotes and jokes all night.
    he was pretty old too (had a nurse type minder with him) but full of energy he went on for a decent while and we were all in snitches laughing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Invidious

paw patrol wrote: »
    funny back then there was grief cos they invited a page 3 girl / galmour model (whose name escapes me) to speak..there was disquiet in the media about lack of morals etc...
    how times have changed :(

Her name was Claire Tully. She had a first-class honours degree in biochemistry from Trinity and went on to get a PhD from Oxford. But the only thing people could focus on was the fact that she once posed topless in a newspaper.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

They misspelled Caribbean...

sabat wrote: »
    They misspelled Caribbean...

I suspect that's a pisstake. Or at least I hope it is ...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭growleaves

ronivek wrote: »
    https://twitter.com/RichardDawkins/status/1310945424648343552

Personally I never found that the Phil or the Hist were actually representative of the majority of students who attend TCD. It is however representative of a certain type who tend to populate the elected positions within such societies.

I disagree with Professor Dawkins and yourself here.

The general trend is towards intellectually brittle, autocratic institutions across the US and Europe.

If there are students with Voltairean attitudes towards open discourse who feel strongly where are they?

In the US university administrators will often take the side of students who demand the punishment of wrongspeech. These students have backing from media and government in a lot of cases. Sometimes it is covert.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Biker79

The university system has been indecline for decades.

There was a time when only the top 20% of the country got it. Now anyone seeking status with some money can do it.

Problem is these people are effectively useless and some are causing more harm than anything else.

There's an excellent presentation on this by Edward Dutton called ' Rise of the Midwit ' , where status seeking above average intelligent people are crowding out work by smarter people...at the expense of truth.

Would put anyone off education outside of the STEM and Classic fields. But even then the university administration is still weakening under this strange new religion..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

gozunda wrote: »
    I suspect that's a pisstake. Or at least I hope it is ...

No it's real. Going live in half an hour if anyone wants to listen in.

Biker79 wrote: »
    The university system has been indecline for decades.

There was a time when only the top 20% of the country got it. Now anyone seeking status with some money can do it.

Problem is these people are effectively useless and some are causing more harm than anything else.

There's an excellent presentation on this by Edrward Dutton called ' Rise of the Midwit ' , where status seeking above average intelligent people are crowding out work by smarter people...at the expense of truth.

Would put anyone off education outside of the STEM and Classic fields. But even then the university administration is still weakening under this strange new religion..

It was once said that students went to university to learn how to think

Now it seems less about learning to think and more about telling people what they are allowed to think ...

TLDR
    , white people are bad, boo white people, white people are all racists, Ireland is racist and heres the proof : plays video from US police beating a black criminal, gief more money to black people plz , black students should get free college.

*White student women in crowd applaud*

Ive been Dr Ebun Joseph and this is my hist talk, hate yourselves white people.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,208 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

gozunda wrote: »
    It was once said that students went to university to learn how to think

Now it seems less about learning to think and more about telling people what they are allowed to think ...

The irony is that some people on here are insisting that the students should have Dawkins over

Demanding that they should have a specific person over is the same as demanding that they should not have a specific person over.

Let the students decide for themselves. It's their choice

• Registered Users Posts: 15,949 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Naw. You're grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Had a look at some of their upcoming talks, 'Vote Biden' and 'Free the Nipple' are some highlights.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

One would assume a person working for a society at a university would know a lot about philosophers, i.e. be academically inclined.

I asked why and what the relevance is. You don't seem to have anything for either other than an "assumption" now. Leading on from your assumption has shown that they were originally unfamiliar with Richard Dawkins. What weight do you expect it to carry and what relevance does it have to the position? To me it just reads like you are nothing more than a shock merchant and getting everyone else here riled up.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭growleaves

The irony is that some people on here are insisting that the students should have Dawkins over

Demanding that they should have a specific person over is the same as demanding that they should not have a specific person over.

Let the students decide for themselves. It's their choice

It's the reasoning that people object to.

It was the students who wanted to have Richard Dawkins over. I don't rate Dawkins at all.

These students then decided to disqualify their own speaker after discovering one-off statements he made they consider impolite.

The implication is a heavily corralled, politicised intellectual culture - rather than a commitment to learning and openness.

People with interesting ideas will, in time, go outside of and around rigid institutions. Academia will be a training ground for dull bureaucrats.