Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Zero grazing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

You'll have to get out the calculator and see if the extra possible income in various scenarios would be worth the level of work associated with it. Calving at home and moving to the 80 acres post first round would have a busy spring so it would be at that time you would need a bit of extra labour but once they are out there it would be more straight forward. You could even put the maidens out there early while you are calving to graze some of the ground to set up for the cow's rotation. Having silage closer to home would be less travelling with slurry as well.
    100 cows + followers would be very comfortable feed wise on the 140 acres and there would be much less work milking them on the 80 acres than drawing in grass or mixing silage all summer. Maxhinery/ contractor costs of the more indoor system would go a very long way to cover the cost of a parlour/ tank on the outfarm.
    If you could find a few lads that are doing similar you could chat with them, discussion group may know of someone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,505 ✭✭✭Grueller

Mooooo wrote: »
    You'll have to get out the calculator and see if the extra possible income in various scenarios would be worth the level of work associated with it. Calving at home and moving to the 80 acres post first round would have a busy spring so it would be at that time you would need a bit of extra labour but once they are out there it would be more straight forward. You could even put the maidens out there early while you are calving to graze some of the ground to set up for the cow's rotation. Having silage closer to home would be less travelling with slurry as well.
    100 cows + followers would be very comfortable feed wise on the 140 acres and there would be much less work milking them on the 80 acres than drawing in grass or mixing silage all summer. Maxhinery/ contractor costs of the more indoor system would go a very long way to cover the cost of a parlour/ tank on the outfarm.
    If you could find a few lads that are doing similar you could chat with them, discussion group may know of someone?

I think long term Mooo, and I am thinking about nothing else for the last month, I will probably have to go with your plan as above. In the meantime however I think that I will try get to 72 cows with a lot of buffer feeding. The 18 acres up the road should provide this by multiple cuts of silage. Use the outfarm for the winter silage and young stock.
    This allows my herd to mature so in 3 years or so if, and I think I probably will, I decide to put a parlour out there I have a fairly mature herd that is delivering the milk to pay for the development work rather than a herd of heifers and struggling with cashflow.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,594 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Grueller wrote: »
    I think long term Mooo, and I am thinking about nothing else for the last month, I will probably have to go with your plan as above. In the meantime however I think that I will try get to 72 cows with a lot of buffer feeding. The 18 acres up the road should provide this by multiple cuts of silage. Use the outfarm for the winter silage and young stock.
    This allows my herd to mature so in 3 years or so if, and I think I probably will, I decide to put a parlour out there I have a fairly mature herd that is delivering the milk to pay for the development work rather than a herd of heifers and struggling with cashflow.

Very sensible.am i correct insaying your not long milking.just one other thing , it looks like you are well stocked and you would be amazed how much work you d save in a lower stocking rate and with drystock it may be even more profitable. Good thread by the way

K.G. wrote: »
    Very sensible.am i correct insaying your not long milking.just one other thing , it looks like you are well stocked and you would be amazed how much work you d save in a lower stocking rate and with drystock it may be even more profitable. Good thread by the way

No only milking this year. I absolutely love it so far. The lockdown gave me the taste of full time farming and I am destroyed ever since. Nothing else will do now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

No only milking this year. I absolutely love it so far. The lockdown gave me the taste of full time farming and I am destroyed ever since. Nothing else will do now.

3 things destroyed many a good young man.

Drink.
    Women.
    And farming:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,793 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

When poverty comes in the window love flies out the door

Slava Ukrainii

Contractor here had a good job, left it and put the contracting business together. I asked him how it was going and he said " I have never been as poor, nor as happy"

To be fair on 140 acres, milking 70 cows and a dry stock operation alongside I shouldn't be exactly impoverished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,793 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

To be fair on 140 acres, milking 70 cows and a dry stock operation alongside I shouldn't be exactly impoverished.

And with that in mind you questions why you opt to increase to 100+ and spend 5-6 hours extra week travelling to and from. Milking 30-50 extra cows

Slava Ukrainii

Just on the 18acres about a mile away from you. I see a neighbour milking about 55 cows on a platform of 35 acres he has another block about the same distance away as you. He recently bought a small zero grazer second hand. It doesn't seem much of a chore to bring a load of grass nearly every day at present. He carries out a small bit of contracting as well. He makes all bale silage and really works on quality of it. He has switched between maize and crimped barley over the years but has moved away from the maize and stuck with the barley as he can do this himself on another block of land he has. He seems to be happy enough with the system at present

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

Moving the herd to the 80 acres is the only option imo, if you're going dairy only. My main reasoning would be, as others have touched on, the slurry problem.

If you are harvesting feed from the 80 acres, be it by zero grazing/maize/wholecrop whatever, then all your slurry will have to be going to the 80 acres. Your home farm would be very, very highly stocked so you shouldn't really be spreading anything bar parlour washings at home. Drawing all your slurry a 14 mile round trip would be an eye-watering cost, I'd guess it'd be at least 5 times the cost of spreading in land adjoining the yard.

Harvesting your winter feed at the home farm where all your slurry is stored would be a much simpler setup.

On the other side of the coin, I'm guessing not much slurry has been drawn to the outfarm in a while, so what are the indexes like? Also what is the infrastructure like? People are talking about the cost of a cheap parlour/washings tank. But if you have to sort out roadways, fencing, water, soil indexes as well then you're talking a different story.

Moving the herd to the 80 acres is the only option imo, if you're going dairy only. My main reasoning would be, as others have touched on, the slurry problem.

If you are harvesting feed from the 80 acres, be it by zero grazing/maize/wholecrop whatever, then all your slurry will have to be going to the 80 acres. Your home farm would be very, very highly stocked so you shouldn't really be spreading anything bar parlour washings at home. Drawing all your slurry a 14 mile round trip would be an eye-watering cost, I'd guess it'd be at least 5 times the cost of spreading in land adjoining the yard.

Harvesting your winter feed at the home farm where all your slurry is stored would be a much simpler setup.

On the other side of the coin, I'm guessing not much slurry has been drawn to the outfarm in a while, so what are the indexes like? Also what is the infrastructure like? People are talking about the cost of a cheap parlour/washings tank. But if you have to sort out roadways, fencing, water, soil indexes as well then you're talking a different story.

No matter what way you go there are costs and time involved. The place a mile away would take a good bit of the slurry. I'd expect you spread some there. The 18 acres would need 4-5k gallons of slurry/acre/year. As the 80acres would have a drystock, rearing replacement's etc it might not be required for massive amounts of slurry.

The only reason he need to move the milking platform is if he goes beyond 70 cows the economics are marginal when costs and time are taken into account. Install roadways, paddock it for dairying, install extra water troughs etc and costs coin fast. For slurry being carried to it install a cheap storage lagoon to hold 50k gallons. Pig farmers use tanker trucks to move slurry. I think the cost is about 60/ hour. A truck would do that return in about 40 minutes. You have to spread it straight away but it would be an option vis a via moving herd

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭lalababa

I'd get rid of the sucklers, and just maybe rear your dairy calfs(to beef?). I'd try the zero grazing and see how that works.
    If it becomes a pain or there is some problem, I'd change to good silage.
    Best of luck, you really can't go too far wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

No matter what way you go there are costs and time involved. The place a mile away would take a good bit of the slurry. I'd expect you spread some there. The 18 acres would need 4-5k gallons of slurry/acre/year. As the 80acres would have a drystock, rearing replacement's etc it might not be required for massive amounts of slurry.

The only reason he need to move the milking platform is if he goes beyond 70 cows the economics are marginal when costs and time are taken into account. Install roadways, paddock it for dairying, install extra water troughs etc and costs coin fast. For slurry being carried to it install a cheap storage lagoon to hold 50k gallons. Pig farmers use tanker trucks to move slurry. I think the cost is about 60/ hour. A truck would do that return in about 40 minutes. You have to spread it straight away but it would be an option vis a via moving herd

I think you may not have read a few posts. OP would like to go farming full time. Dairying only is his only viable option to make a living at his scale. He has said he'd like to end up with 100-110ish milkers plus followers. No point spending money getting to 70 cows that will be redundant if you want to go further in time.

I would see the 18 acre block as somewhere for the followers.

I think you may not have read a few posts. OP would like to go farming full time. Dairying only is his only viable option to make a living at his scale. He has said he'd like to end up with 100-110ish milkers plus followers. No point spending money getting to 70 cows that will be redundant if you want to go further in time.

I would see the 18 acre block as somewhere for the followers.

I think if for 6-8 months if the year you will have to get up and leave your own yard to milk cows makes farming little different from an ordinary working job. If the cows are on a milking platform 7 miles away it makes the farming lifestyle totally different to what you might imagine.

As I posted earlier in the thread it totally different to milking cows in your own yard. You will be end up over and back from your own yard twice a day at least. While the economics may seem simple you have to factor in maybe not being able to drop your children to school what ever about collecting them. Maybe making Saturday and Sunday totally useless from a family viewpoint.

Whatever other options I looked at if I was in OP's position I would not be moving cows to a platform away from the house if there was any way I could avoid it. IMO moving the herd to another platform for the summer negates the margin on the 30-40 extra cows compared to drystock.

I maximise the home platform what ever about at I could and keep drystock on the rest.

Slava Ukrainii

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

Personally i'd still go with rearing the calves from 65 cows - I'm a firm believe in KISS

BUT if you want to get to a 100 cows or more then give serious consideration to 2 things for the 80 acre farm - OAD milking on both the home place and the 80 acres - or a robot on the 80 acres. Thing to think about here then is where to calf your cows

Speaking from experience there is no fun in having 1 block overstocked with cows - we spend the winter drawing in bales and the summer drawing out slurry - it gets tiresome after a couple of years, and there is the added cost of wear and tear on tractors etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,372 ✭✭✭✭Water John

The home farm plus the 18 acres gets you close to 90 cows. That 18 acres is the grass to zero graze.
    As another poster said use the outfarm for high quality silage/bales, and whatever other crops it could grow, maize, crimp crops along with replacement heifers and some bullocks.
    You could occasionally, twice a week, bring home a load of zero graze from the out farm and take your cow numbers over 100.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Jaysus Gruller. You are getting your monies worth in this thread. Fair play all. A mine of knowledge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

What would be the correct commute time each way to the 80 acres? By car and by tractor? Bass is quoting times of less than thirty miles an hour. Even if the eighty acres was just across the road or at the other end of your home block it would have a commute time.

By car I can do it in 15 minutes at any time except for school collections and drop offs.
    By tractor it is 25-30 minutes.

Go out the door hop into your car drive to the other farm through a few yield right away etc, arrive open the gate drive up through the pothold to yard. Get out get you few things. Maybe a lock on the gate or ina shed in the yard needing to be opened.15 minutes each way minimum on a good day. But not every day will be that fast. Early morning may be but you may unlucky to hit people going to work if you are coming out onto a main road.

I am about 12 miles from the house to the farm, most times it's 21/22 minutes on a good day. Having to travel a back road at the moment because of road works so another 2-3 minutes.

It will also mean probably no pints during milking season or very limited even at weekends it might be possible to milk cows with a hangover but driving a car early in the morning is not a option

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭farmer lad

Doing a bit of zero grazing here at present to stretch rotation length in home block, got offered grass a neighbour doesn’t want, zero graze load is around 4.5/5 ton fresh weight just wondering would anyone know a reasonable price for the load of grass???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭jaymla627

farmer lad wrote: »
    Doing a bit of zero grazing here at present to stretch rotation length in home block, got offered grass a neighbour doesn’t want, zero graze load is around 4.5/5 ton fresh weight just wondering would anyone know a reasonable price for the load of grass???

At 15% dm for the load of grass as a average you'll have approx 700kgs dm of feed, 130 euro a load delivered would be the max the grass is worth

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,594 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

farmer lad wrote: »

A neighbour here buys grass at 50 a load to land owner plus contractor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,646 ✭✭✭DBK1

K.G. wrote: »
    A neighbour here buys grass at 50 a load to land owner plus contractor
    Used to be €50 a load around here (midlands) and contractor on top of that. It’s down to €40 now, not as many lads zero grazing and more grass available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭visatorro

A good operator I know says zero grazing is a good job for cows , a good job for grass and a bad job for farmer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,372 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Some farmers are more animal people others are fond (some too fond) of machinery. Even some of those and contractors who are fond of machinery, aren't too fond of the grease gun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭Mf310

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Multi cut silage and maize ,far more bang for your buck and no need to buy z grazed and give countless hours sitting in a tractor cutting loads of grass

Just came across this thread while searching zerograzing, not sure how I completely missed it in September, a lot of knowledge in it. Done a nice bit of zerograzing this year from the contractor , stocked on milking platform here at 3.5/HA and will be at 4/HA next year. The Cost of getting zero grazing done by contractor has drove me to the decision of buying something myself next year or changing system to multicut silage as MJ says. 75€ inc vat per load came just under €4000, for 50 loads of grass I felt it was steep and would make a fair repayment on a zerograzer or as Im doing so few loads even a good second hand at 15000€ would be value. Ive also buffer fed throughout the year with high dmd quality bales and felt cows performed better on it and it definitely helped keep yields up rather than drawing wet loads of grass in August/September.
    My only thing against the multi cut silage system is residuals in paddocks , id be thinking it would be impossible to get cows to graze out paddocks when id be buffer feeding with the quality silage? Would be interested to hear about your system MJ and Jaymla would I be right in saying your both heavily stocked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Alot of tb around a few areas not so far from the farm, seems it's more prevalent among herds that zgraze alot. Obviously these herds are higher stocked and possibly less space in the shed, but I'm thinking theres something to it

Mf310 wrote: »
    Just came across this thread while searching zerograzing, not sure how I completely missed it in September, a lot of knowledge in it. Done a nice bit of zerograzing this year from the contractor , stocked on milking platform here at 3.5/HA and will be at 4/HA next year. The Cost of getting zero grazing done by contractor has drove me to the decision of buying something myself next year or changing system to multicut silage as MJ says. 75€ inc vat per load came just under €4000, for 50 loads of grass I felt it was steep and would make a fair repayment on a zerograzer or as Im doing so few loads even a good second hand at 15000€ would be value. Ive also buffer fed throughout the year with high dmd quality bales and felt cows performed better on it and it definitely helped keep yields up rather than drawing wet loads of grass in August/September.
    My only thing against the multi cut silage system is residuals in paddocks , id be thinking it would be impossible to get cows to graze out paddocks when id be buffer feeding with the quality silage? Would be interested to hear about your system MJ and Jaymla would I be right in saying your both heavily stocked?

I can never understand farmers facination with another man making a margin. The 75/load includes diseal and labour. Assuming the contractor is vat rated, there is about 9 euro in vat one the 75 euro. I am assuming there is 1.5 hours work to the contractor, most tractor drivers if fulltime with a contractor are on 15/ hour. Add on holiday pay and employer PRSI it's at least a 20/hour cost. So vat and labour is making up over half the cost.

This idea that 4k a s serious money towards machinery is not really looking at the picture long term. Usually lads underestimate the price of what they are buying. A contractor machine is bigger and his tractor is bigger and faster, as well maintenance is his specialty. If something happens to the machine you will struggle to fix it fast enough to keep you grass drawn to the cows..

But looking at it logically the machine will probably cost you more than 15K, even without interest it will be 4 years net before running costs before pay back. The machine you buy will be smaller than a contractor machine and will require 7-8 loads where he is doing 5 runs. If you require 50 loads done by him it will be 75 by your machine maybe more. You are looking at adding up to one hundred hours onto your workload every year. By the time diesel and tractor as well as machinery wear and tear is allowed for you are looking at a 6 year pay back. Valuing your time at 10 euro per hour pushes payback out to 10 years. I am not sure if I work a a thousand hours for 10 euro an hour to own a bit of scrap at the end of ten years

You planning to up your stocking levels if the business cannot stand the cost of paying contracting where it makes sense forget about expansion. Zero grazing will be on the shoulders of the year mostly in spring you be under pressure. WTF would you, there is too many idiots in the game as it is why join them. Lads pouring ration down cattle's gullet's all winter to give Larry beef with no margin.

Remember it a long way to 70 years of age and you could be farming that long

Slava Ukrainii