Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Weekend On One With Brendan O'Connor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,275 ✭✭✭Mav11

riclad wrote: »
    i think hes a very good presenter, its nice to have a presenter who is not from dublin, like 90 per cent of the presenters on rte radio.
    he has an easy going personality which reflects where he comes from.
    he does not pick out the topics for the show .
    Maybe once a month they could have a female presenter just as a change of pace.
    i,d prefer a presenter to be honest and sincere than one who pretends to be interested in everything .
    And he has a sense of humour unlike some rte presenters who sound like they are they are mainly concerned with sounding serious and important .

Not sure the 90% figure is accurate. Off the top of my head Claire Byrne is from Laois, Ray Darcy from Kildare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,052 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Taoiseach coming across well on RTÉ in fairness

Why on earth did it take the Taoiseach driving to Clonakilty to announce 150 jobs to 20 people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Infoanon

Not being able to leave your county is a lockdown.

I think the people of Wuhan would strongly disagree with you.

MM doing a good interview - night and day compared to Tuesday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,414 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Taoiseach coming across well on RTÉ in fairness

Better than the last few appearances on TV, I think radio suits him better.

Mav11 wrote: »
    Not sure the 90% figure is accurate. Off the top of my head Claire Byrne is from Laois, Ray Darcy from Kildare.

And how could I forget John Creedon?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,945 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

ax530 wrote: »
    I find this easier to most of the interview with politicians which have been almost attacking or trying to catch out. The presenter following a line not letting conversation evolve
    Brendan giving Micheal time to talk

Two Cork bye's Mia @ Cha

Why on earth did it take the Taoiseach driving to Clonakilty to announce 150 jobs to 20 people?

All about politics, appeals to the Cork base.

Two Cork bye's Mia @ Cha

It was Cha & Miah, not Miah & Cha:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭john123470

M Martin always sounds like a bloke being
    confronted for selling a dodgy car.
    And he's very possibly in for a hiding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭Pelvis Parsley

When MM comes across well, he comes across very well-and he was always at his best on radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Will Yam

ax530 wrote: »
    I find this easier to most of the interview with politicians which have been almost attacking or trying to catch out. The presenter following a line not letting conversation evolve
    Brendan giving Micheal time to talk

Too many of them see it as a badge of honour to catch out a politician, and badger them. They forget that the audience sometimes wants to hear what the interviewee has to say, not the interviewer.

There are some egregious characters at this. Robert Downes for one, Aine Lawlor for 2, and over on Newsrant, “Doctor “ Ciara Kelly should really just interview herself.

Finished, overall I thought a good, human interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Will Yam

Finished, overall I thought a good, human interview.

I didn’t hear it - I must do so on playback.

I’m not a political fan of M Martin, but I’m glad he did well as it reduces the amount of negativity in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,414 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

We should put in the same restrictions of travel to this country as Cyprus have in that you need to have been tested negative for the virus within 72 hours of arriving in to this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

Very soft interview with Michael Martin.

Did they say Denise Welch on next? This Denise Welch

Can imagine RTE giving her a platform to question Government policy on COVID?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Cyprus , a 'glorious' coming together of turkish and greek cultures , lol , this travel guy is a spoofer .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,833 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Very soft interview with Michael Martin.

Did they say Denise Welch on next? This Denise Welch

Can imagine RTE giving her a platform to question Government policy on COVID?

Martin didn’t even really condemn that incident with Leo..line he was afraid to call it a scum act..

Yep...about as trashy a guest you could find..

She’ll either be talking gick about Covid, or about masturbating during lockdown..

Mike Murphy, way too smart for my liking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,833 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I’m sure the cost won’t hurt you too much, Mick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Mike sould be compulsorily cocooned and gagged as well .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Cole

Former property developer and broadcaster Mike Murphy has to cancel a holiday to Italy...first world problems again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,053 ✭✭✭Shelga

My heart bleeds for Mike Murphy having to cancel his Italian holiday. Anyone who books a holiday abroad has to be prepared for the fact that it might have to be cancelled last minute. I wouldn’t contemplate going abroad this year anyway, it’s not worth the risk.

He’s some eejit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,143 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Give the two old geezers a chance.:)

The life experience of these two men has given them a wealth of stories worth listening to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭EmptyTree

That joke was so good he had to say it twice. Good man Brennan, the only person laughing at that one is yourself :rolleyes:

I think it goes back to the 60's and 70's when you had to be a pompous git to get a job in RTE. He's still a pompous git.

More boring book talk just in case ppl are having withdrawal symptoms from tubridy

Mike Murphy, way too smart for my liking.

He’d eat himself if he was made of chocolate

Absolutely loves himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Cole

elperello wrote: »
    Give the two old geezers a chance.:)

The life experience of these two men has given them a wealth of stories worth listening to.

I like Mike Murphy but his comment at the beginning about his holiday just shows the different perspectives on what is hardship during Covid times...just a bit irritating to listen to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭EmptyTree

Dunno, I don't mind Mike. But these posts did make me laugh
    Oops69 wrote: »
    Mike sould be compulsorily cocooned and gagged as well .
    He’d eat himself if he was made of chocolate