Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

First Dates Ireland *read first post*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

I thought dad was way too full on, talking about getting married on a first date would make most women run for their lives I reckon!
    He was a character and 70% in a good way, 30% in an OTT way.
    The daughter thought she was way too good for yer man, she could have been a bit nicer to him. There is often a reason some people are single sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,803 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

The dad was good craic but yeah a bit full on.
    The daughter...had no notion of that guy...wouldn't put them together in a million years. She should have went first at the end...like she said she would...not nice.
    Liam and Lyndsey...she seemed a tad full of herself but warmed to her and he seemed like a decent sort...he was a bit overawed by how pretty she was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,258 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Watched it.

Obviously from tipp where I’m from. Honestly so badly matched. I don’t think it was her fault. He was grand but not most peoples type and it’s unfair if she didn’t find him attractive. I will have to watch it again so will withhold my opinion.

I’ll be back later. Up tipp and gwan the premier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭nomdeboardie

What a tool.

"I'll answer first because I wouldn't want him to say yes and for me to say no then."

As soon as he walks in.

"You go first" x 5 times
    And, if I recall correctly, she had a gold-plated 'easy let down' reason to say no, in that he wanted children and she didn't want more. Instead of mentioning it she goes the full 'I don't find you physically attractive' spiel, not just 'no spark'!

(Of course I don't know if at least some of the interactions/participants aren't scripted /wannabe actors...?)

Also wonder did they not fill in questionnaires re important stuff like future sprogging expectations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭nomdeboardie

"If you want to be part of the next series go to coco..."covid-19 anseo agaibh - ye might have to wait a while...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,578 ✭✭✭KevRossi

I think we're being a bit unfair on her (Tipp girl). She didn't find him attractive, it's difficult to sit through a date when you know there's no way out and I think she was nice to him, hard to say when it's all edited out. It's why I always pick a coffee or pint for a first date; you can drink them down and be gone if needed. I thought she was nice to him, but she should have been more insistent at the end about going first and she should have let him down a bit better.

Her father was fairly full on, but was funny, and his date liked him, pity it didn't seem to work out.

Happy that Lynsey saw there's more to men than just looking to 'tame the bad boys', her facial reaction to her date saying 'it's too late for me to have kids' is priceless, it has the full "BINGO!!!" look to it. They were actually well matched and are less than 30 mins from each other, hope it works out for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,082 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

KevRossi wrote: »
    I think we're being a bit unfair on her (Tipp girl). She didn't find him attractive, it's difficult to sit through a date when you know there's no way out and I think she was nice to him, hard to say when it's all edited out. It's why I always pick a coffee or pint for a first date; you can drink them down and be gone if needed. I thought she was nice to him, but she should have been more insistent at the end about going first and she should have let him down a bit better.

Her father was fairly full on, but was funny, and his date liked him, pity it didn't seem to work out.

Happy that Lynsey saw there's more to men than just looking to 'tame the bad boys', her facial reaction to her date saying 'it's too late for me to have kids' is priceless, it has the full "BINGO!!!" look to it. They were actually well matched and are less than 30 mins from each other, hope it works out for them.

I thought he was only 32? strange thing for a 32 year old to say, especially a man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

pgj2015 wrote: »
    I thought he was only 32? strange thing for a 32 year old to say, especially a man.

She said she couldn’t have any more kids, she was gorgeous, he said what he had to say to get over the line and will worry about the rest later. This is a Coppers Gold Card holder you’re talking about come on. :pac:

I bet any money they got those Coppers gold cards on the way in. Cheapest advertisement ever to their target audience. No way would 2 people from the midlands both have them when neither lived in Dublin, it would be just too coincidental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,536 ✭✭✭✭L-M

I bet any money they got those Coppers gold cards on the way in. Cheapest advertisement ever to their target audience. No way would 2 people from the midlands both have them when neither lived in Dublin, it would be just too coincidental.

I don’t think Coppers needs any advertising to their key demographic to be fair

L-M wrote: »
    I don’t think Coppers needs any advertising to their key demographic to be fair

Maybe so.

But yet, for the price of 2 cards, they could get effectively free advertisement to another few hundred thousand people. Do you think they needed to when they got Brian Cullen to say "see you all in Coppers"? It was rammed every night of the week back then too! :)

Whether or not they need to is not the point in my view, I think these places still love to advertise. But I wouldn't claim to be an expert in marketing either!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,128 ✭✭✭job seeker

Before every episode, it shows clips of the show, I hate when that woman is in the bathroom and says “watch this space b****, caw caw!” Wtf is that about? I cringe every time!! :D

job seeker wrote: »
    Before every episode, it shows clips of the show, I hate when that woman is in the bathroom and says “watch this space b****, caw caw!” Wtf is that about? I cringe every time!! :D

Yeah we cringe at her too, was she even on the show after? I don't remember seeing her.

Strange behaviour.. I can't recall seeing her either.. As her catch phrase is something that has become in bedded in my head..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MuffinTop86

I thought the dad seemed like a lecherous yoke at times. Laura looked disappointed from the beginning and in fairness, the clothes on your man, the weird accent and the ear hair wasn’t very attractive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,735 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

job seeker wrote: »
    Strange behaviour.. I can't recall seeing her either.. As her catch phrase is something that has become in bedded in my head..

I'd say a good percentage of them don't make the TV.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭tuisginideach

The other coupleas that you see in the background during the meals - are they all 'candidates' too or are they 'real' customers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

The other coupleas that you see in the background during the meals - are they all 'candidates' too or are they 'real' customers?

They have background daters too, I know a few people who did that. So everyone we’d see on camera would be on a date, they basically close off the majority of the Gibson bar/restaurant while it’s being taped. That’s how you get the randoms who you see say one funny thing, or chat to featured daters in the toilets, but never get properly focused on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

I thought the dad seemed like a lecherous yoke at times. Laura looked disappointed from the beginning and in fairness, the clothes on your man, the weird accent and the ear hair wasn’t very attractive

He looked way better in the interview done before the filming

I'd say a good percentage of them don't make the TV.

Maybe it's for the best! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Only watchin the episode now- Lynsey is possibly one of the most beautiful Irish women that I have seen.

She is an absolute stunner, a complete natural beauty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭amor3

Is there anywhere that does a proper update on the couples??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭MarkY91

Only watchin the episode now- Lynsey is possibly one of the most beautiful Irish women that I have seen.

She is an absolute stunner, a complete natural beauty

Thought the same myself. Very rare to see an Irish woman be an actual legit stunner.

I am never watching again now that they put the sign on the door. Seeing people struggling with the door was always great craic.
    They definitely briefed them on this this series though, there was far less chaos this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 whatsthecraic?

MarkY91 wrote: »
    Thought the same myself. Very rare to see an Irish woman be an actual legit stunner.

:eek: You must be some 'legit stunner' yourself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,258 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Loved the recap episode. My favourite by far is the army guy with the hilarious laugh. His date was lovely too and no sad backstories.

Second favourite was the taxidermist tattooed couple. She was just so cool and really liked him apart from his ghost story. It’s class that two people are so closely matched. I know some would be put off by her face tattoos but just seemed right.

The elderly couple who loved music especially Shane mcgowan were lovely. It’s so nice that people can find someone at any age.

Love the barman. He comes out with some cracking one liners. My favourite is merlin from the U.K. series but he does make it his own.

Barry John is so much better in his podcasts. The guy with the Aston Martin leg tried too hard and I think if he calmed down would be much better.

Great series but a lot of the backstories were too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭OUTDOORLASS

Hi Guys. Just looking at d guide... says a new season of FirstDates starting tonight at 10 ?? Anybody else spot that or am I misreading....

Probably be over zoom..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,803 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

It's gotta be a repeat right? No way would they put a new series out so late?

It says it's a new series, S5 Ep1...10.20pm.