Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk, Gossip, Rumours 2020/2021

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

Salah gets some fierce criticism on here compared to some of the other lads. Mane can do no wrong in some peoples eyes, both have been brilliant for us. Salah's first season was out of this world and he's been judged harshly because of it.
    Even Keita who still needs to prove himself and is injured most of the time gets an easier time on here than Salah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,402 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I'll always be upset that this goal from that season doesn't get more recognition, and it's entirely because the game ended 2-2 thanks to Spurs getting 2 fraudulent penalties in the last 5 minutes.

giphy.gif

Really is a great goal. People go on about him not being as good as that season but it would have been impossible for him to maintain that level. Almost everything he tried and every little bounce of the ball that year went his way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,399 ✭✭✭dogbert27

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Really is a great goal. People go on about him not being as good as that season but it would have been impossible for him to maintain that level. Almost everything he tried and every little bounce of the ball that year went his way.

I think other teams and journalists to be at level the same as Chelsea and he had more space that season.

Last 2 seasons he's been man marked more and doubled up on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

I actually like this advertisement for us with Nike....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,950 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Turtyturd wrote: »

I was there for that and the roof came off the place, Absolutely it would be remembered as one of the great Premier leauge goals if it wasn't for a dodgy peno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,950 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Not looking good on Giní is it, Surely they would have the contract sorted at this stage or in the next couple of weeks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,634 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Maybe a cheeky bid for South African midfielder Ger Anium , could see him blossoming into something special within a year or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,426 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

I got caught up in some pretty unsavory thrash talking on COD this weekend, hope it wasn't the lads.

It will be interesting to see what happens with contract renewals. In terms of wages some of what our players are on is criminal compared to others:

Allison is on 90,000 compared to 375,000 for DDG

Robertson is on 50,000 compared to 150,000 for Luke Shaw

Gini is on 75,000 compared to 290,000 for Paul Pogba

Mane is on 100,000 compared to 200,000 for Rashford

TAA is on 40,000 and Gomez 28,000.

I see United are now offering Sancho 340,000 a week for a player who has had a good season but not won anything.

I think players agents will be knocking on Edwards door looking for new contracts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,816 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Well time to buy Benrahma I guess

Hasn't done much in this game.

Didn't know Sergio Canos was playing for Brentford!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,613 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

This is interesting.

The first sign of any sort of reliable transfer info by a journalist with links to Liverpool.

https://twitter.com/MelissaReddy_/status/1290759596953526274?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

dogbert27 wrote: »
    It will be interesting to see what happens with contract renewals. In terms of wages some of what our players are on is criminal compared to others:

I see United are now offering Sancho 340,000 a week for a player who has had a good season but not won anything.

I think players agents will be knocking on Edwards door looking for new contracts.

Don't forget about Alexis Sanchez who United are still desperate to get off the books. De Gea could be potentially worse. United overpay their players massively and have done so for a long time now - personally, if I was a United fan, I would be disgusted at the amount of money a lot of these mediocre players have been getting for the last few years while the club was going through complete turmoil and not challenging for anything. I think it's safe to say Liverpool players are far happier where they are despite the lower wages ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,542 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Sancho will earn more per year than Robertson will in five

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,159 ✭✭✭Damien360

I remember reading that LFC base pay is low but we pay very healthy win bonuses, goal bonuses, performance bonuses etc. The final tally comes closer to Utd payments. Not quite Sanchez lunacy. I'm sure winning PL came with good payment to players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭mosstin

Fitz* wrote: »
    This is interesting.

The first sign of any sort of reliable transfer info by a journalist with links to Liverpool.

https://twitter.com/MelissaReddy_/status/1290759596953526274?s=19

Seems to be happening alright. Liked him though it was hard to judge given how poor Norwich were, especially at the back. No surprise, given that we're linked with him, but he looked good going forward. Could be another gem and addresses an area where we're understaffed. Decent price too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Hasn't done much in this game.

Didn't know Sergio Canos was playing for Brentford!

Tut tut. Was loaned there, did quite well but they didn't sign him. Sold to Norwich for 2.5m and picked up the following winter for about the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

mosstin wrote: »
    Seems to be happening alright. Liked him though it was hard to judge given how poor Norwich were, especially at the back. No surprise, given that we're linked with him, but he looked good going forward. Could be another gem and addresses an area where we're understaffed. Decent price too.

They are all over this one lads, all the usual suspects now reporting it, seems it could be done already, interesting one, and will keep the Robbo lad on his toes, we need proper backup for him as is....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Hull were terrible when they went down, Larouci (one year left) to Norwich in part payment seems to be the angle.

It's quite rare for Melissa Reddy to actually put out a name for a potential transfer there. The others followed suit quickly. So there must have been a briefing of sorts. Maybe this is actually close to being done. I'd say it's done once Joyce gets on board and says it. The Liverpool journos keep quiet until things are fairly in the bag the last few years so actually saying a name would suggest it is in development at least.

Norwich are interested in Larouci too, who won't be signing a new contract at Liverpool. This transfer actually could be Robertson part 2, when Kevin Stewart moving to Hull City at the same time as Robertson left, and for similar money at the time. Obviously it wouldn't be the same money this time but the situation with relegation etc are similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,628 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Would be grand and happy with Jamal Lewis. Obviously not close to as good as Robbo, but a proper left footed left back who is happy to bomb up the wing. Should slot right in when Robbo needs a rest. Still only 22 as well.

Elsewhere, with Brentford staying in the championship, would love us to send Brewster their way to replace whichever of their front 3 leaves. That's the sort of team and system he needs to be playing in, and adapting to, to make the step up to Liverpool. Reckon he'd have to be much more involved in the attacking interplay there, would hopefully improve his biggest weakness. In an ideal world, they lose Watkins but keep the other two, and Brewster slots in between them. Though looks unlikely enough they'll hang onto Benrahma.

Brentford would be an interesting location alright for Brewster but I just had a look there and they don't seem to loan players and instead tend to take on players themselves to develop and sell on more than develop other players. Maybe they can break their rule. I read, I think in the Athletic, that they actually scrapped their academy as it was costing too much to run from U6 to U18 and getting very little returns, so instead have a B team made up of youngsters who get released from other academies and try develop them at Brentford.

There are a quite a few players who have developed at Brentford before moving on to clubs in the PL. I didn't know about a few of these until the last 10 minutes!

Andre Gray
    Tarkowski
    Scott Hogan
    Jota
    Konsa
    Mepham
    Jack o connell
    John Egan
    Maupay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Pretty happy if Lewis is signed a player I have named a few times that would be a good signing from the relegated teams.

Joyce is saying the move is now down too if Lewis will be happy as a squad player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭Enzokk

Gotta love silly season, who's sources is wrong here?

https://twitter.com/cfbayern/status/1290735729404936194?s=20

https://twitter.com/David_Ornstein/status/1290739724731199490?s=20

Just to highlight that journalists aren't always right and will be used by clubs/agents for their own purposes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Damien360 wrote: »
    I remember reading that LFC base pay is low but we pay very healthy win bonuses, goal bonuses, performance bonuses etc. The final tally comes closer to Utd payments. Not quite Sanchez lunacy. I'm sure winning PL came with good payment to players.

Would explain Salah's sometimes crinimal refusal to pass the ball. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,426 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

seen it reported that Utd are looking to pay 20 year old Sancho £340K a week, for 5 years. This is why it's so difficult compete with the likes of Chelsea, Utd and City for new signings.

gimli2112 wrote: »
    seen it reported that Utd are looking to pay 20 year old Sancho £340K a week, for 5 years. This is why it's so difficult compete with the likes of Chelsea, Utd and City for new signings.

Throwing money at players hasn't worked out well for Utd recently. Fine for City as they have Pep.

Spending big not a guarantee of success.

Solsksaer staying is a massive boost to rivals imo, as I don't believe he's good enough for a title challenge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,402 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

gimli2112 wrote: »

But they’re going to pay it £120k weekly instalments over 15 years.....so great deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,655 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Jamal Lewis is exactly what we needed as cover at full back. Great pick.

On Utd's spending on Sancho, it is what it is really. I'm not worried. Their attack is already fine. Their issues are elsewhere.

On our spending, I don't know what people want. Our first 11 is, IMO, the best in the League. Who out of Alisson, Trent, Robbo, Gomez, VVD, Fabinho, Hendo, Gini, Salah, Mane and Firmino are you dropping for a big name signing? I'm not dropping anybody.

It's not being frugal. It's being realistic about our needs. Lewis at full back and Sarr (if the link is at all real) are exactly the kinds of signings I expect. I'd be shocked if a Thiago type comes in without someone leaving.

We also can't have it every way! We can't sign more superstars and still expect the likes of Elliott, Jones, Williams and even Hoever to start flourishing; which we all want to see. There are a lot of games, granted, but there are still only so many to go around.