Do you know anyone with a criminal record?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I know a few who got records from when they were younger.
    One of them (real sound lad) was screwed over - he was goaded into a scrap and then the Gardai were called on him.
    His case was reported in the local papers too. His case was given a bad write up, making him look like a complete thug.
    Still annoys me when I think of it.

It's common in autism. They're accused of one-sided discussions.

I have it and in real life, a conversation between myself and another person might play out like it does on here.

So it makes absolutely no sense wherever you are :D

Yes. > 1. Not very close with any of them day to day, that's not to say I sneer at them. I don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Frankx

I'm on the spectrum myself

Autistic people communicate more telepathically

We recognise emotions but don't process them the same as others

Frankx wrote: »
    Autistic people communicate more telepathically

I'm in thrall to boardsies who stick to the facts.

I'll tell you this, you do know someone. You just don't know that they have a record.

Friends, family, schoolmates and especially neighbors. You just don't know what's in people's closets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 58,686 ✭✭✭✭Necro

Mod:

A number of posts deleted and cards handed out. Stay on topic or don't post in this thread. Friendly warning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭mick087

There would be few people on this site that would have a criminal record. My guess is most here would be on a decent wage.If someone on a decent wage did commit a crime then they would be able to afford a decent solicitor legal team.
    Most convictions are successful against people on a low wage or unemployed. They would not be able to afford a decent solicitor legal team.
    I have found people from all walks of life break the law as much as each other but convictions are not so easy when they have a good legal.team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭trashcan

Wibbs wrote: »
    I know a lad who has The Chicken Song on vinyl.

Beat me to the gag, damn you:P

One of my best friend's has a record the length of his arm, he's a good guy under it all but was a silly fecker when he was younger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭Randy Archer

mick087 wrote: »
    There would be few people on this site that would have a criminal record. My guess is most here would be on a decent wage.If someone on a decent wage did commit a crime then they would be able to afford a decent solicitor legal team.
    Most convictions are successful against people on a low wage or unemployed. They would not be able to afford a decent solicitor legal team.
    I have found people from all walks of life break the law as much as each other but convictions are not so easy when they have a good legal.team.

If people are charged with crimes that will or could lead to jail, they will be entitled to legal aid, if they don’t have funds to pay for their legal team

You suggesting that lawyers practice their skills differently when representing well off people than they do with people on legal aid ? Rather serious claim , go prove it

Most convictions happen because they were caught red handed or have no defence

Spare us the class warrior horse crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

God, so many. That's why I get from being to rehab so many times. Mostly just theft and drug dealing etc, but a couple of high profile murderers too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Mark25

I would say more people than you think have criminal records especially from when they were young.

Did all sorts of stupid things when I was younger and got into plenty of trouble ending up in prison here twice. Nobody else in my family had a criminal record- my brother was arrested once but that was it.

Most of my friends from when I was younger have records some bad and some minor. But obviously i have been around 100s with records.

Grown up a bit now and gave been pretty much out of trouble since getting out last time.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Bobtheman

What is legal isnt always right and what is wrong isn't always illegal. Thus an entire class of people drove the nation into bankruptcy and then went off into retirement. Should there be laws dealing with this? Of course but instead we spent God knows how much chasing drug addicts and shoplifters through the courts.
    We can't have those people stealing now can we? Where is my sherry?

Some of the most respected legal minds in the country are legal aid.

Cahir O'Higgins, Bambury, staines, finnucane to name a few in Dublin. Buttimar in cork would get very high profile cases privately for to his record and abilities but takes legal aid too.

Michael Hanahoe, probable one of the highest and most respected legal minds in the country is almost exclusively legal aid by choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,284 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I think most people would have went to school with somebody who had a few brushes with law.
    Most stuff I'd know of is drug procession, selling, burglary, assault, armed robbery,driving offences.
    A mixture of character most of them were generally always in trouble in school tough.
    However none of them were bullies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

I used to work with a close associate of Larry Dunne.

Good laugh to have a few pints with but you really wouldn't want to get the wrong side of him.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/130m-drugs-haul-suspect-returns-to-face-new-charges-26195869.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,278 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

You suggesting that lawyers practice their skills differently when representing well off people than they do with people on legal aid ? Rather serious claim , go prove it
    Michael Hanrahan, probable one of the highest and most respected legal minds in the country is almost exclusively legal aid by choice.

Ah look, would you go on out of it. Only look at the defences offered in some cases where it would be plain to see that the accused would be on legal aid. You'd hear things like Mr X has suffered additions issues and appeals for leniency while he gets his affairs in order or some defence shpiel about a chaotic lifestyle and writing a letter of apology. A level of defence that anyone with a brain cell could muster.

And i suspect that the reason Hanrahan and so on go for legal aid cases is because they are handy, clear cut petty crime and assault cases where the accused is a gobshíte who obviously did whatever it was, no-body really gives a crap about the outcome, and most importantly, the Dept of Justice will pay up on the legal aid no questions asked - unlike a private client where you might have to go chasing them to pay the legal bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,107 ✭✭✭✭johnnyryan89

I'd say the average boardsies would be hard pressed to know anyone with a record or anyone who has been to prison. The average middle class person isn't the one usually committing crimes.

But still, know any family, friends, coworkers who did stupid **** and were hit with the full force of the law?

Went to school with a few lads that have been in and out of prison for drug dealing and armed robbery. There's two lads then that are locked up for murder.

If people are charged with crimes that will or could lead to jail, they will be entitled to legal aid, if they don’t have funds to pay for their legal team

Most convictions happen because they were caught red handed or have no defence

Spare us the class warrior horse crap

Yes correct anyone who cannot afford legal help then can apply for legal aid.

I am not suggesting nothing.

Im stating the rich and powerful will always be able to put up better defence with there expensive legal team for a crime than that of someone on a low wage or unemployed.

Ah look, would you go on out of it. Only look at the defences offered in some cases where it would be plain to see that the accused would be on legal aid. You'd hear things like Mr X has suffered additions issues and appeals for leniency while he gets his affairs in order or some defence shpiel about a chaotic lifestyle and writing a letter of apology. A level of defence that anyone with a brain cell could muster.

And i suspect that the reason Hanrahan and so on go for legal aid cases is because they are handy, clear cut cases where the accused is a gobshíte who obviously did whatever it was, and more importantly, the Dept of Justice will pay up on the legal aid no questions asked - unlike a private client where you might have to go chasing them to pay the legal bill.

Do you actually know anything about these people or just blame them because their client was caught red handed and had a million convictions already?

Who do you think is a quality operator from experience?

Im stating the rich and powerful will always be able to put up better defence with there expensive legal team for a crime than that of someone on a low wage or unemployed.

Opposite can be true. When the state is paying there's no issue with the cost or the numbers. Additional solicitor, barrister? No problem.

Chasing a private client who went to jail for years? Not such a straight forward affair.

Again, who are these legal eagles winning cases left right and center privately?

I would also point out that a prominent solicitor currently before the courts himself is using a legal aid colleague.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭bodyguard1

I'd say the average boardsies would be hard pressed to know anyone with a record or anyone who has been to prison. The average middle class person isn't the one usually committing crimes.

But still, know any family, friends, coworkers who did stupid **** and were hit with the full force of the law?

Everyone in prison

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭stevek93

Had a neighbour that had a weekend binge up on Charles Haughey's private yacht apparently in the 90s he got 3 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

No. Don't know anyone and I don't want to.
    ignorance is bliss imo.

Some of the most respected legal minds in the country are legal aid.

Cahir O'Higgins, Bambury, staines, finnucane to name a few in Dublin. Buttimar in cork would get very high profile cases privately for to his record and abilities but takes legal aid too.

Michael Hanahoe, probable one of the highest and most respected legal minds in the country is almost exclusively legal aid by choice.

Of course you are going to get some outstanding people in legal aid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I know a few people alright who have criminal records or are doing time for various reasons.

Most of them are alright, some I have great time for, and some I have no time for at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,278 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

Just look at how many convictions there are and the type of defence arguments for general scumbaggery assault involving addicts and low lifes who spend their lives in and out of prison.

Then look at the defences put forward by the defence teams for the likes of the rich boys in the Club Anabel case. A gang of posh rich boys literally kicked the absolute head off of that poor young fella while he lay unconscious and defenceless in front of a crowd of about 50 onlooking witnesses and they more or less got away with it after making different appeals.

If you swapped the posh boys for 4 strung out Anto, Deco, Johno types with 50 previous convictions, do you think they would have gotten off as handy?

They kicked and stomped an 18 year old boy to death got away with no more than a slap on the wrist because of their privileged status, wealth, and no doubt somewhere along the line there were connections, probably indirect, with people in the legal and judicial sphere who probably aided and advised behind the scenes to help get them off the hook.

Your average street addict or "aww, i dunno why i dunnit" type low life simply isn't going to have the same high profile influential connections who can discreetly aid their cause from behind the scenes by having a word with their barrister friend who knows a judge who played rugby with them years ago type scenarios and getting their opinion on it that gets fed back to the defence team in a sort of "right, this is what you are gonna get the defence barrister to say" type thing.

If you have money and connections to powerful people. You can have a much better chance of wriggling your way out of a bad situation.

Ah, but you see, you are saying something and you don’t realise it. You are talking nonsense

Anto the scumbag criminal, whose on legal aid, will have access the the same barristers and solicitors who specialise in criminal law , as those rich folk up for a crime

You have issues with the quality of service of the solicitor or barrister in a case, you can report it to their respective professional bodies and to the legal aid board

For many many many criminal law specialists, legal aid clients are their core work

Are the rich and powerful getting charged with petty assault ps and theft ? Drug offences ? How many times was the rich and powerful before a court for other offences ?

Of course you are going to get some outstanding people in legal aid.

The vast majority of criminal law socialists are on the legal aid panel. Name solicitors and barristers Who specialise In Criminal law That are not on the legal aid panel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Just look at how many convictions there are and the type of defence arguments for general scumbaggery assault involving addicts and low lifes who spend their lives in and out of prison.

Then look at the defences put forward by the defence teams for the likes of the rich boys in the Club Anabel case. A gang of posh rich boys literally kicked the absolute head off of that poor young fella while he lay unconscious and defenceless in front of a crowd of about 50 onlooking witnesses and they more or less got away with it after making different appeals.

If you swapped the posh boys for 4 strung out Anto, Deco, Johno types with 50 previous convictions, do you think they would have gotten off as handy?

people from working class backgrounds with a long list of convictions get soft sentences regularly. there are threads on here constantly complaining about it.