Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stories from the Celtic Tiger Years *Mod Warning in OP PLEASE READ*

• Registered Users Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭tylercheribini

Funny we decided to start building endless shopping centres just as they started becoming largely obsolete in their country of origin.

I gather your e a fan of Dan Bell / Bright Sun Films channels on YouTube

• Registered Users Posts: 6,613 ✭✭✭Glebee

Ush1 wrote: »
    Pretty sure that was Lapellos.......er, apparently.:o

Think your right... Is that place still going??? Left a wad of cash in there one night a long time ago like an fool.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,070 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Oh yeah, Angel's is on Harcourt Street.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭McCrack

It's on Leeson street... er, apparently :o

• Registered Users Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

You kidding? Back in the tiger I wouldn't have stretched me arm out for a measly 200.

Yeah like what sort of pauper would do that.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Oh yeah Lapello's...that is a name I have not heard in years. I was a frequent patron between 2002-2004- usually when after everywhere closed and wanted to carry on. I can't really think why else you would go there- only after 6-7 hours of beering.

You paid €20-€30 for a bottle of the cheapest nasiest plonk and split it between 3-4 of you. Even though you might have been drinking for 6-7 hours at that stage it was so disgusting it still tasted rank.

In fact I tended to come out of the place more sober than going in. Very little was drank in there.

Many a bottle remained unfinihed and ended up in the fridge back home. Promptly down the sink.

Oh yeah Lapello's...that is a name I have not heard in years.

You paid €20-€30 for a bottle of the cheapest nasiest plonk and split it between 3-4 of you.

Even though you might have been drinking for 6-7 hours at that stage it was so disgusting it still tasted rank.

Many a bottle remained unfinihed and ended up in the fridge back home. Promptly down the sink.

I'd say many's the bottle ended up back in Mr Lapello's fridge and was thrown out the next night! It couldn't but have, could drink really have tasted that rank?

Incidentally that is my memory of Leggs, etc too. The drink was utterly ghastly.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

Leggs and Bucks and their manky wine!

• Registered Users Posts: 31 john_fe12020

Leggs are still charging obscene amounts just for a Corona, €7 or €8 just for a bottle of beer the last time I was in there ..and the less said about the wine the better! Although when the platters of food went past you...ooohhh yes!

I'd say many's the bottle ended up back in Mr Lapello's fridge and was thrown out the next night! It couldn't but have, could drink really have tasted that rank?

Incidentally that is my memory of Leggs, etc too. The drink was utterly ghastly.

Oh crap.....it wasnt Lapello's....it was Leggs. That's what I was getting mixed up with Legg's. I was never in Lapello's in the evening.

Lapello's/Leggs/Lapello's....all the same at 3am.

Oh crap.....it wasnt Lapello's....it was Leggs. That's what I was getting mixed up with Legg's. I was never in Lapello's in the evening.

Lapello's/Leggs/Lapello's....all the same at 3am.

Mixing up your leggs and your Lapello's is a very bad mistake to make......going to Leggs expecting Lapello's would be a big disappointment.

Buck Whaley's was the other place - I couldn't think of the name.

Leggs is still going?

Mixing up your leggs and your Lapello's is a very bad mistake to make......going to Leggs expecting Lapello's would be a big disappointment.

Buck Whaley's was the other place - I couldn't think of the name.

Leggs is still going?

No idea TBH. Look's like it though from a poster above. I have not darkened the door of Legg's since the summer of 04.

The Viper Room was another regular place...saw Eamon Dunphy holding court there a few times in flying form. Think it is gone now. Often went to Legg's after the Viper Room for the 2am to 4am slot.

• Registered Users Posts: 31 john_fe12020

Yeah Leggs was still going before March anyway, got dragged in there for the afters of the work christmas party by the younger work crew

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

Leggs is the worst. I'm nearly 30 and went there ro the first time 2 years ago. So bad.

Yeah I nearly got a slap in the head one night in the toilets. I was 24/25 and a bit pissed. Referencing how the place reeked of desparation I just quiped to the random strangers at the sinks:

"Lads, if I am pathetic enough to be still coming to this place in 10-15 years something has gone seriously wrong in my life. Just take me out and shoot me."

Of course the lads who heard me were aged 35 plus still in work suits professional types flashing the cash desparate for love. I got some right bad looks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

What's the story with the "wine bars" staying open later anyway? Are they actually licensed to do so or is it a cosy deal like the way certain nightclubs owned by coppers served later than everyone else for years.

• Registered Users Posts: 43 KissMeArse

Is this the “Stories from Celtic Tiger years”...or d*blin people talking about d*blin things? I also don’t recall signing up to people’s personal blogs. Back to the CT stories please

• Registered Users Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭McCrack

Yeah I nearly got a slap in the head one night in the toilets. I was 24/25 and a bit pissed. Referencing how the place reeked of desparation I just quiped to the random strangers at the sinks:

"Lads, if I am pathetic enough to be still coming to this place in 10-15 years something has gone seriously wrong in my life. Just take me out and shoot me."

Of course the lads who heard me were aged 35 plus still in work suits professional types flashing the cash desparate for love. I got some right bad looks.

Your posts are utter baloney

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    What's the story with the "wine bars" staying open later anyway? Are they actually licensed to do so or is it a cosy deal like the way certain nightclubs owned by coppers served later than everyone else for years.

I think they fall under some licence re serving food.

McCrack wrote: »
    Your posts are utter baloney

I am not entirely sure what you mean. American slang is usually confined to teenspeak in this country.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Remember the Bugatti Veyron that was 'sold' here. It was about £800,000 new, add VRT etc. and it was about €1,300,000 here.

It was on display in Cunningham's in Galway, buyer was a 'local businessman' and so on. Turns out it was never registered here and went back to the UK. Not sure if it went to the buyers home there, but from what I heard Joe Macari sold it in London.

About 5 years ago, though a 1961 Aston Martin was sold to a Limerick man for around €4,000,000, so some people still have their money.

This is it here:

28871969_10155515639068790_6222809782521167872_o.jpg?_nc_cat=111&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=Z09NtYG48z8AX97tbpU&_nc_ht=scontent-dub4-1.xx&oh=7e0e5bce43b0106a853655d63f7a2734&oe=5F358420

• Registered Users Posts: 81,700 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

KevRossi wrote: »
    About 5 years ago, though a 1961 Aston Martin was sold to a Limerick man for around €4,000,000, so some people still have their money.

The number plate ruins it, should have went for a ZV plate when registering, not that it's a car I'd say no to :D

• Registered Users Posts: 19,617 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

I think they fall under some licence re serving food.

yeah the wine bars have some sort of a special license which allows them to serve later. Wine only AFAIK and they have to serve food. There is also such a thing as a theatre license which allows them to serve until something like 3 or 4am. Back in the tiger I remember the Gaiety Theatre used to use it and ran some sort of a nightclub in there till the wee hours.

With the likes of Coppers serving past closing time I think that is Gardai ignoring them serving late on account of who the owner is. He was trying to sell it for 40m recently but any prospective purchaser knows that the nice little arrangement with the Gardai would not necessarily continue and hence the current turnover figures wouldnt be achievable, buyer beware, etc

KissMeArse wrote: »
    Is this the “Stories from Celtic Tiger years”...or d*blin people talking about d*blin things? I also don’t recall signing up to people’s personal blogs. Back to the CT stories please

Well, many of us were young people living in Dublin during the CT years, why wouldn't our stories be based on the fun and craic back then blowing money in wine bars on awful drink?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Muahahaha wrote: »
    yeah the wine bars have some sort of a special license which allows them to serve later. Wine only AFAIK and they have to serve food. There is also such a thing as a theatre license which allows them to serve until something like 3 or 4am. Back in the tiger I remember the Gaiety Theatre used to use it and ran some sort of a nightclub in there till the wee hours.

Spirit FTW. They had those dancers on the podium to get a theatre license.

• Registered Users Posts: 48 Clazbeag

I started at an entrance level job in one of the big accountancy firms and got the last 6 months of dinners and parties before the crash.
    During this my mother was " Get on the property ladder......quick"!!! Was convinced I would miss out. I was 21, had no savings for a deposit and was earning 21k. Thankfully I just assumed they wouldn't have looked at me for a loan so never went looking.
    After the whole things crashed mom " I could see it coming. It could never last. Anyone could tell you that". Somehow her memory of the early exchanges has disappeared!!!!!!!! I wonder if other people had similar experiences?
    Thankfully the whole property thing hadn't entered my head and I was only interested in surviving the day job so I could go out as much as possible :)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,617 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    Spirit FTW. They had those dancers on the podium to get a theatre license.

Were you ever in it and what was it like? And how did they do it, take all the seats out of the theatre to create a dancefloor or something? I never made it myself as nights out were usually on Harcourt St and if we wanted a few beers after that then the Collusus casino. A mate always ordered tea and a toasted ham and cheese sandwich which was free so long as you were on a table gambling. I remember the first time in the casino being pretty pissed looking for the toilets upstairs and by accident I walked into a boardroom with about 20 Chinese lads all sitting around the table playing cards and thousands of euro sitting in the middle. It was a bit like that time Father Ted went into the pub and it was packed with Chinese.

Clazbeag wrote: »
    I started at an entrance level job in one of the big accountancy firms and got the last 6 months of dinners and parties before the crash.
    During this my mother was " Get on the property ladder......quick"!!! Was convinced I would miss out. I was 21, had no savings for a deposit and was earning 21k. Thankfully I just assumed they wouldn't have looked at me for a loan so never went looking.
    After the whole things crashed mom " I could see it coming. It could never last. Anyone could tell you that". Somehow her memory of the early exchanges has disappeared!!!!!!!! I wonder if other people had similar experiences?
    Thankfully the whole property thing hadn't entered my head and I was only interested in surviving the day job so I could go out as much as possible :)

Oh yeah...if you didnt have a few buy to lets you were a right clown. You were positively mad.

I bought a house in 2000 and cleared the mortgage in 2007. At the same time asI was sorting the mortgage I went into the back for a car loan, but I wanted to borrow the sum, and make one payment to clear the loan in 12 months. Got laughed at. Called for the bank manager. Got the loan and an apology from the loan mannnnger through gritted teeth. Good times.