Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How long after having a second pint would it take you to recover

• 08-07-2020 2:46pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭

If you were say six feet tall and slightly overweight and had two beers, how long would it be until your body had processed the alcohol? Big massive pint glasses full of beer now, and not just one of them, a second one also!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭gifted

If you were say six feet tall and slightly overweight and had two beers, how long would it be until your body had processed the alcohol? Big massive pint glasses full of beer now, and not just one of them, a second one also!

A good drive usually does the trick....

Recover? You've barely got warmed up. Never heard of a "big massive" pint glass full of beer larger than a pint.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭xabi

The guide is roughly 2 hours per pint.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,926 ✭✭✭D3V!L

With a "substantial meal" in you then it would be grand. I hear it can stave off Covid-19 so it'll probably be ok for you to drive.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,176 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I'm not in the habit of drinking beer with meals, but if I had two pints of Carlsberg with a good dinner, I probably wouldn't be over the limit by the time I'd finished and was ready to leave. But then I'm a big fucker with a shnout on me for porter like a sow. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 14,554 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Best not to play Russian Roulette if you were thinking of driving.

Many variables ie. state of health, metabolism etc.

If you are driving don't drink any beer.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,892 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

jimgoose wrote: »
    I'm not in the habit of drinking beer with meals, but if I had two pints of Carlsberg with a good dinner, I probably wouldn't be over the limit by the time I'd finished and was ready to leave. But then I'm a big fucker with a shnout on me for porter like a sow. :D

So why are you drinking Carlsberg?

By "porter" I mean ale/beer/pilsner/lager.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Feisar

D3V!L wrote: »
    With a "substantial meal" in you then it would be grand. I hear it can stave off Covid-19 so it'll probably be ok for you to drive.

The notion that eating will sober one up is a fallacy. It slows down the alcohol so it stays in ones system longer. Drinking coffee is another one, speeds up blood flow so will only act to get one drunker or more drunk is it?

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Beer is all those things, porter isn't.

dan1895 wrote: »
    Beer is all those things, porter isn't.

The word "porter" is in fairly common use around here to refer to pints in general. And why am I arguing about this, for the luvva Jaysis?? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

The word "porter" is in fairly common use around here to refer to pints in general. And why am I arguing about this, for the luvva Jaysis?? :pac:

I don't even know why I commented to be honest . Jaysus I'd love a pint or ten right about now though.

Might never get back..

• Registered Users Posts: 18,518 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

xabi wrote: »

From the time you start your first pint.

So the larger tankards which holds about two pints? I'd guess I'd be recovered by the time I come back from the toilets. (I'm 6'3 and skinny, so I imagine a heavier person could do better than me.]

Beer is pretty low on the scale for drunkenness, since you can piss most of it away. Now, beer and spirits, that's an entirely different situation.

edit: didn't realise this was about being tested for alcohol, re driving or similar.

• Registered Users Posts: 415 ✭✭chosen1

I've got a home breathalyser and I've noticed that how alcohol effects me is very inconsistent.

Breathalised myself after 4 pints once and was still under the old limit of 80mg (is 50mg now for most drivers). These were drawn out and had a meal beforehand.

Another occasion, felt myself tipsy after one drink and sure enough was over the limit. No idea why, so very risky to assume you're safe to drive with only one drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭lickalot

xabi wrote: »

BS, if I had 12 pints between 8PM and 3AM I wouldn't be fine to drink till 8PM the next day?

Nonsense

• Registered Users Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭xabi

lickalot wrote: »
    BS, if I had 12 pints between 8PM and 3AM I wouldn't be fine to drink till 8PM the next day?

Nonsense

It would be more like 3AM the next day, like I said, it's a guideline.

• Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭RandRuns

Nonsense

If I had 12 pints between 8pm and 3am I wouldn't be fit to get out of bed until 8pm the next day, but maybe I'm a lightweight.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

If you drive home really, really fast it should reduce the time on the road and therefore the risk of an accident.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,262 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Recover from what?

If you are referring to driving, then just don't have any. Or get a bus/train/taxi home.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭seagull

Nonsense

Actually, that would be about right for the average person. 2 units per pint, and the typical metabolism breaks down one unit per hour. So 12 pints take about 24 hours to be processed.

I don't know about anyone else, but I find it scary the number of people who have no idea how long it takes for alcohol to be processed by the body, and go out for a night drinking planning to drive the next morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,666 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

I find about 4-6 pints to be good for the nerves before a drive.
    Too much or too little is not good.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

ELM327 wrote: »
    I find about 4-6 pints to be good for the nerves before a drive.
    Too much or too little is not good.

If you were after watching a tense All Ireland that ended in a draw what way would you be?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Back when I was a skiver of a lad, I remember drinking 3 pints and then went to a film. After the film I was stopped and breathalyzed on the way home, probably around 3 hours after I finished the last pint. Was absolutely bricking it but the guards breathalyzer showed Zero. 20 something metabolism is some job.

Agricola wrote: »
    Back when I was a skiver of a lad, I remember drinking 3 pints and then went to a film. After the film I was stopped and breathalyzed on the way home, probably around 3 hours after I finished the last pint. Was absolutely bricking it but the guards breathalyzer showed Zero. 20 something metabolism is some job.

My father was some sort of alien as well, he had the metabolism of a top-fuel dragster until he was quite old. :pac:

How I would recover would depend on what kind of license I had.

I might regularise an ould drink and drive, though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

I'm actually on a pretty controversial medication called Antabuse, the sole purpose of which is to make you extremely ill (potentially life-threatening) if you consume any alcohol. So two pints could probably land me in the hospital. :o

I drank on it a few years ago, I didn't die (obviously) but did end up very sick in hospital, could have had a heart attack. Zero fun. Do not recommend!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

But porter is stout....Guinness, Beamish, Murphy

They are all beer. Stout, ale and lager are all kinds of beer.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

I'm actually on a pretty controversial medication called Antabuse, the sole purpose of which is to make you extremely ill (potentially life-threatening) if you consume any alcohol. So two pints could probably land me in the hospital. :o

I drank on it a few years ago, I didn't die (obviously) but did end up very sick in hospital, could have had a heart attack. Zero fun. Do not recommend!

Is the medication to treat alcoholics?

Sounds pretty dangerous.

I often thought that 1% beer would be better for alcoholics. You would need to drink 5 pints of it to get the effects of one regular pint. So 15 pints would just be the equivalent of a 6pack. You'd be full to overflowing on the low-grade beer and wouldn't want anymore but you've very little alcohol in the system....but maybe enough to satisfy the cravings rather than codding yourself with zero-alcohol beer.