Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unpopular Opinions - OP Updated with Threadban List 4/5/21

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Stick to your “scat thread”, E. Your “pop psychology” has the stench of absolute “scutter”.

You seem a bit angsty, Rodders. All ok?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

You seem a bit angsty, Rodders. All ok?

Thanks J, all good. Had a good dump earlier. Just a bit “sick” of the virtue signalling by E.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Thanks J, all good. Had a good dump earlier. Just a bit “sick” of the virtue signalling by E.

Not sure that suggesting that lads watching too much of that awful gonzo porn would end up useless balls of impotent rage is virtue signalling, dude. I’d say a lot of them are lost causes at this stage. Absolutely ruined from years of compulsive porn viewing, and now lashing out against women, minorities, people with different views to them. Anger is often an internal emotion externalised.

His rant is basically saying that anyone who opposes BLM must be into inter-racial / gonzo porn. If he had left out the BLM crap then your point about it not being virtual signalling would have merit, but he didn’t, so I can’t agree it wasn’t virtual signalling.

Regarding ‘lashing out against ... people with different views to them’, I’d argue he did that in his post. Should I conclude that he has been watching too much inter-racial and gonzo pornography?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,380 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Haircuts are easy. I dunno why I bothered ever going to the barbers waste of money.
    I didn't even cut me ears off 15€ clippers from China job done.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

His rant is basically saying that anyone who opposes BLM must be into inter-racial / gonzo porn. If he had left out the BLM crap then your point about it not being virtual signalling would have merit, but he didn’t, so I can’t agree it wasn’t virtual signalling.

Regarding ‘lashing out against ... people with different views to them’, I’d argue he did that in his post. Should I conclude that he has been watching too much inter-racial and gonzo pornography?

I am afraid to google what gonzo is. Because as far as I know he was one of the Muppets. Will it be another childhood memory ruined?

I wouldn’t be the “expert”, unlike say E, but my limited understanding is that it is is a “style” of shooting as opposed to a “fetish” like munting or felching. Derived from “gonzo journalism”.

Haircuts are easy. I dunno why I bothered ever going to the barbers waste of money.

Agreed, although I made sure to avoid a crappy China job, got an inexpensive branded one manufactured elsewhere. Can’t be rewarding China for giving the world COVID-19.

• Registered Users Posts: 55,049 ✭✭✭✭walshb

A lot of people who “support” GAA do so to be seen to be Irish..

Agreed, although I made sure to avoid a crappy China job, got an inexpensive branded one manufactured elsewhere. Can’t be rewarding China for giving the world COVID-19.

Feck it I didn't think of that angle! I am always doing ebay shopping postage free from China.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Joe Columbo

walshb wrote: »
    A lot of people who “support” GAA do soto be seen to be Irish..

No they don't.

Why would they need to be seen to be Irish when they already are.

No they don't.

Why would they need to be seen to be Irish when they already are.

Sorry, I meant more do to be seen to be supportive of such an Irish thing..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Feck it I didn't think of that angle! I am always doing ebay shopping postage free from China.

I doubt they're the same person thh. China has well over a billion people.
    Unlikely that Mr Jiang posting you your usb plug from Shenzhen is going home to a feed of bats.

Sorry, I meant more do to be seen to be supportive of such an Irish thing..

You're not going to bother traveling around the country going to matches and all the cost it entails just be seen as being patriotic, nobody would bother getting involved with their cub just for appearances sake either due to the effort involved.

You might get a few posers getting a free premium level ticket for a match in Croke Park and tagging along but anyone who has any other involvement in the GAA does it out of genuine interest.

A lot of people who “support” GAA do soto be seen to be Irish..

The sunshine summer supporter ones maybe - after the English soccer is over. The fellas who get rained on during the league or freezing thier bits off in less than half empty stadiums have just no sense!

You're not going to bother traveling around the country going to matches and all the cost it entails just be seen as being patriotic, nobody would bother getting involved with their cub just for appearances sake either due to the effort involved.

You might get a few posers getting a free premium level ticket for a match in Croke Park and tagging along but anyone who has any other involvement in the GAA does it out of genuine interest.

Ok.

I never said all. I said a lot of people..

I know there are people who support and actually like and love GAA..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭2u2me

Wrong thread buddy.

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    I doubt they're the same person thh. China has well over a billion people.
    Unlikely that Mr Jiang posting you your usb plug from Shenzhen is going home to a feed of bats.

Feed of bats! :D Just after reading that other post about people trying to seem Irish - re the GAA. You don't have that issue with an expression like that!

Them USB plugs are great value and handy. I should have got more of them.

Yeah, just doing my bit. :)

It can be a pain, you search for an item on Amazon and half the results are from China when you check the address.

Ok.

I never said all. I said a lot of people..

I know there are people who support and actually like and love GAA..

Their very much in the minority though, it's no different than any other in that way.And generally non fans will tag along to GAA matches for the piss up involved rather than trying to appear more irish.

2u2me wrote: »
    Wrong thread buddy.

Feck it. Second time I did that. Just realised it might be a popular opinion.
    Really slow on the uptake again - last time was only figuring out that Joe Rogan's comedy is brutal. Only to be told everyone says that!

OK unpopular opinion:

Em... people with 'popular' unpopular opinions, should be given a three strike rule on this thread

Their very much in the minority though, it's no different than any other in that way.And generally non fans will tag along to GAA matches for the piss up involved rather than trying to appear more irish.

I think it has more fake supporters than any other sport in Ireland. So, maybe a minority, but a considerable minority..

Everyone and their granny is “supporting” it at times. That is why to me it’s obviously fake support for many..

It’s kind of like. “Sure, come on. We have to!”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

I think it has more fake supporters than any other sport in Ireland. So, maybe a minority, but a considerable minority..

Everyone and their granny is “supporting” it at times. That is why to me it’s obviously fake support for many..

It’s kind of like. “Sure, come on. We have to!”

I'd say it depends where you are. The dominant sport in any place will have the most fake supporters swept up in it. I can see how down the country it would be GAA.

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    I'd say it depends where you are. The dominant sport in any place will have the most fake supporters swept up in it. I can see how down the country it would be GAA.

More rampant in non GAA county, Dublin than anywhere I reckon!!

People making any auld statement on mental health and getting fawned over in the media.

https://www.rte.ie/entertainment/2020/0620/1148609-keith-walsh-makes-powerful-mental-health-appeal/

"We have time now to start thinking about who we are, and where we're at."

Says yer man in the article Keith Walsh.
    But what does that even mean?
    It could mean anything!
    Would ya go away out of that is my reaction!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

People making any auld statement on mental health and getting fawned over in the media.

https://www.rte.ie/entertainment/2020/0620/1148609-keith-walsh-makes-powerful-mental-health-appeal/

"We have time now to start thinking about who we are, and where we're at."

Says yer man in the article Keith Walsh.
    But what does that even mean?
    It could mean anything!
    Would ya go away out of that is my reaction!

They'll all be born again christians in ten years time...wait and see!!!

Jayus, it winds me up no one ever says seek medical advice and professional help.
    It is all generalities and meaningless soundbites.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

Children should be pushed to learn more during the day at school but should not get homework.

I worked in a system like this in the Middle East and was amazed by how much more advanced the material they cover at age 7 (and in a second language is).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

KiKi III wrote: »
    Children should be pushed to learn more during the day at school but should not get homework.

I worked in a system like this in the Middle East and was amazed by how much more advanced the material they cover at age 7 (and in a second language is).

You're dead right. Kids are in school six or seven hours a day and for some reason they're also expected to work for another hour or two at home when they should be playing, practicing personal hobbies, reading etc.

The only reason that children are given homework is to force them to conform to subservience to authority by being made to think teachers can control what to do with their spare time outside of the classroom.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,116 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

A lot of people who “support” GAA do so to be seen to be Irish..

And a lot more people who "support" rugby do so to be seen to be above working class.

In fact, during this hiatus on sport, I haven't heard one person say how much they are missing the rugby. Not one. Which goes to show how much of a bandwagon a sport it is.