If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Boards Draft 2020 - Current Premier League - Signup Thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,770 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

I am easy either way but it says below that they do not still need to be active but must have played a game after 1st Jan 2010 (eliminates Ronaldo which can only be a good thing).
    Jaysus, thanks for keeping track of things Bounty. I've been meaning to do it but haven't had the time.

As for the bit in bold, yes, they just need to have played a game since the 1st Jan 2010. They do not need to be active now, they can be completely retired from football.

Eg. Player makes debut in 1998, plays on the 1st Jan 2010 and retires after the game - they are included.

I am easy either way but it says below that they do not still need to be active but must have played a game after 1st Jan 2010 (eliminates Ronaldo which can only be a good thing).

Ah I missed that post, tough keeping up while banned haha.

Yeah fair enough really. Is it their peak in the 10s we should be aiming for or overall in the league, even if it's before then?

Not sure but we should decide soon, for example if someone picked Giggs would he be judged on his 2010 until retirement form or when he was a nippy winger earlier in his career? I would say their form in the 2010's would make the most sense.

I would be happier with form in 2010s I think looking through the options as I could see a huge drop after first 3 or so names going off the other system. Like there's PL GOATs in there who would be as unfair as Ronaldo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

Yeah form in the 2010s for me as well. Otherwise the rule makes no sense other than to block Ronaldo and it actually opens up a way to let probably the first pick in the all time drafts back in.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 23,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Seems pretty clear to me
    Jaysus, thanks for keeping track of things Bounty. I've been meaning to do it but haven't had the time.

As for the bit in bold, yes, they just need to have played a game since the 1st Jan 2010. They do not need to be active now, they can be completely retired from football.

Eg. Player makes debut in 1998, plays on the 1st Jan 2010 and retires after the game - they are included.

How exactly would the example player be judged on the 2010s?

according to the bellow quote they wouldn't be.
    I agree on both points. Last ten years gives a greater pool and is more of a special round I think. For the sake of convenience it'll be 'a game from 1/Jan/2010 onward'.

Yes, it would be based on their entire performances in the Premier League only.

I'll wait and see if there are any major objections before a final decision.

Seems to be a bit of a legends round but with a cut off date so that some like Ronaldo / Keane are not included which is fair enough by me as excluding those players makes it more in line with the advantage players gained by being at the top of the draw early on.

I have no problem with the round either way

If you are worried that people at the top of the draw in this round will take the top names remember many of them might have already picked players in the positions you want a legend in and you might still get one of the real elite by sheer luck even though you got a great first rd draw.

Another scenario could be that players could be forced to pick a certain position as the standard left from non legend picks in that round might have fallen a lot. For instance I think most of the really good CFs are already gone so even if there are argueably better legends in other positions some may let them slip by so as to fulfill their need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭wrestlemaniac

Seems pretty clear to me

How exactly would the example player be judged on the 2010s?

according to the bellow quote they wouldn't be.

Seems to be a bit of a legends round but with a cut off date so that some like Ronaldo / Keane are not included which is fair enough by me as excluding those players makes it more in line with the advantage players gained by being at the top of the draw early on.

I have no problem with the round either way

If you are worried that people at the top of the draw in this round will take the top names remember many of them might have already picked players in the positions you want a legend in and you might still get one of the real elite by sheer luck even though you got a great first rd draw.

Another scenario could be that players could be forced to pick a certain position as the standard left from non legend picks in that round might have fallen a lot. For instance I think most of the really good CFs are already gone so even if there are argueably better legends in other positions some may let them slip by so as to fulfill their need.

I think form from their overall time spent in Premier league should be the way we go.

I think it's only fair the reverse order get some bit of advantage. Also its a special round for a reason, leave it open ended, it's far more interesting.

This from someone smack bang in the middle of the order.

I think form from their overall time spent in Premier league should be the way we go.

I think it's only fair the reverse order get some bit of advantage. Also its a special round for a reason, leave it open ended, it's far more interesting.

This from someone smack bang in the middle of the order.

Number 1 in the draft got the best player in the league in their opinion right now whereas number 1 in the special round is going to get the best PL player ever. Might as well open it up further if going that route as the rule was only changed to accommodate Ronaldo?

Liam O wrote: »
    Number 1 in the draft got the best player in the league in their opinion right now whereas number 1 in the special round is going to get the best PL player ever. Might as well open it up further if going that route as the rule was only changed to accommodate Ronaldo?

But Ronaldo can't be included because he didn't play in the 10's in the premier league.

Im talking about players who played in the 10's but to include their form overall before the 10's not just the 10's onwards.

Here's one at random, Carlos Tevez. Played in Premier league in the 10's but I would argue his form before the 10's should be included as well ie. his time at West Ham and Man Utd.

Zabaleta is a great pick, was going to go for him this round but Walker fits the system I'm going for slightly better.

Agreed, I was wondering did people forget about him or something considering he hasn't been picked already, was planning on going for him myself.

Despite my dislike for the man, Pogba is good value at this point.

Having a thought here about the bonus round. Would it be maybe a good idea to have a 2nd one immediately after where only form in the 10s count for a player? Would increase the quality of the draft and the people picking in the first round would still get an advantage as they would likely get the best ones anyways. Just a thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,567 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Agreed, I was wondering did people forget about him or something considering he hasn't been picked already, was planning on going for him myself.

Completely forget he still played in the PL myself. I’m really happy with Pereira but honestly I’d have gone for Zabaleta in that round if I remembered he was available. :o

Having a thought here about the bonus round. Would it be maybe a good idea to have a 2nd one immediately after where only form in the 10s count for a player? Would increase the quality of the draft and the people picking in the first round would still get an advantage as they would likely get the best ones anyways. Just a thought.

I would not be adverse to this as I am not sure what the standard of players left in the final round as is would be like so an extra round with another tier of players available would obviously help especially if people are worried that a legends round would imbalance things a bit.

I agree that Zabaleta is a good get at this point. I think you lads are on the ball and there are a few players everyone was hoping would be forgotten about but nope! Like himself and Fernandinho for example

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

To give everybody a bit of a laugh. I totally misjudged this at first.

Genuinely thought it was pick 1 player and you make a debate about him etc.

So my first pick was James Milner and was going to take about his tea making skills and banter.

Now all of a sudden he's my captain and penalty taker.

So my first pick was James Milner and was going to take about his tea making skills and banter.

Could have been a lot worse! Maybe not a first pick but he's a good pick none the less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,567 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

That’s the theme for the next draft sorted anyway. :pac:

Not a bad idea at all.

Round 6: any (ex) player who played Premier league in the 10's - form before then counts.

Round 7 any (ex) player who played Premier league in the 10's - form only after 10's counts.

Be good to sort it before round 5 kicks off soon.

I'm easy on what we do for the special rounds. As ye can probably tell, I had nothing really organised for this draft, just wanted to try kickstart one. When I've ran them before I've ruled with an iron fist, but this one is much more democratic.

Had a bit of time on my hands, so here is the up to date draft so far.

Redzerdrog: Salah, Wijnaldum, Henderson, Coleman, Stones
    Ferris Bueller: Aguero, Vertonghen, Alli, Mata, Moutinho
    IncognitoMan: Van Dijk, B. Silva, Ndidi, Gundogan
    Dr.kenneth: De Bruyne, Fabinho, Alderweireld, Pogba
    LiamO: Mane, Firminho,Maguire, Zabaleta
    H2D: Robertson, Sane, Neves, Matip
    Mr.NiceGuy: Kante, Jimenez, Azpilicueta, Doherty
    wrestlemaniac: Sanchez, Vardy, Cahill, Walker
    daithi1989: TAA, Rashford, Alisson, Baines
    BountyHunter: Kane, Laporte, Ozil, Jorginho
    martyos: D. Silva, Fernandinho, Lacazette, R. Perreira
    brianregan: Aubameyang, B. Fernandes, Kovacic, Zaha
    Shanotheslayer: Milner, Mahrez, Richarlison, De Gea
    GlaDos: Sterling, Son, Matic, Gomez

I think we'll have to stick with just round 6 as the special round. There seems to be enough confusion with that already.

How many people are following this thread to know we'd have added a second special round?

Round five is already underway.

I think we'll have to stick with just round 6 as the special round. There seems to be enough confusion with that already.

How many people are following this thread to know we'd have added a second special round?

Round five is already underway.

I agree now that round 5 has started it's a bit late in the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,868 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Surprised to see so many Liverpool players going so early in this. I had quite a few CB's in my list ahead of Matip/Gomez. And a few of the midfielders went much earlier than I thought with other options available. Either a lot of recency bias or Liverpool fans I guess! (not a dig just my opinion on them!)

I was surprised at Matip and Gomez alright but ultimately it is a current PL draft and nobody is going to be unaffected by what they've seen recently.

My pick there of Oxlade Chamberlain was tough, there was a player I was 90% on picking but realised that he only had about 30 PL starts. While I think he'll be highly regarded, that is something that would be easy to argue down, whereas with AOC I can point to 2 or 3 seasons worth of very good displays overall, injuries withstanding.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,255 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Liverpool and City are by far the best at teams in the league atm. Liverpool in particular have had a fantastic defence. Hardly surprising tbf.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

How do you post pictures to go with the write ups? And how do you get that team line up graphic Bounty Hunter has been using?

how do you get that team line up graphic Bounty Hunter has been using?

https://this11.com/#!/editor/

When your team is done just click 'Export image' and copy from the 'Forum' bit (you only need the ... part from the second line).

Hello 2D beat me to it but yeah that site is simple to use and ideal for this game

Thought about Evans and his Leicester CB partner who I dare not try to spell who both went this round. I'd guess Evans peak is actually now or at least his time at Leicester. Really has done well since leaving United.

Perfect, thanks lads

Zabaleta was a great pick. I nearly went for him meself but CB was a more pressing concern.

If I had access Dr. Kenneth's secret centre back list I might have gone for him.