Most miserable and grim towns and villages in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭corks finest

That may well be the case. I’ve often heard people from other counties say some choice things about some of their towns.

Correct I did,passage, Bandon,youghal and more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

County Tipp has an unusual settlement pattern generally speaking, lots of small to mid sized towns within 15-20 mins of each other, it must really stretch local authority resources as they all compete for resources and money. Very hard to develop one without another moaning that they are getting nothing etc. Cahir and Cashel are nice places, Nenagh not too bad either in my experience.

I drive through Tipp Town several times a month and rarely stop for anything more than a fill of diesel because of the traffic. No town can develop in to a quality place to live when you have that volume of traffic day in day out, it’s crazy.

as I posted earlier
    Tipps problem might be that it's too big an area with too small a population and far too many towns of a certain size which are too close to each other. So no one location becomes "the place" and gains enough economic heft to lift itself out of the mire. Only Clonmel comes close at 17,000 and it's probably too close to Waterford to expand industrially while the rest are smaller than Tramore (by way of comparison) which is basically a dormitory town with a big beach.

Tipp really does need splitting back up into ridings, while I can't prove this I suspect that your average county councilor in Clonmel has very little naturally in common with one from Nenagh as an example. It can't help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,264 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

as I posted earlier

Tipp really does need splitting back up into ridings, while I can't prove this I suspect that your average county councilor in Clonmel has very little naturally in common with one from Nenagh as an example. It can't help.
    Hadn’t read the whole thread, but yeah I agree with you. Clonmel is a big town with its own issues, but after that Tipp seems to have lots of towns about the same size in the 4,000 - 6,000 bracket, very hard to administer that and deliver meaningful projects in all of them, resources are probably getting spread too thin. That may be why there are so many issues and a lack of amenities in some of the towns there.

I’ve no doubt your average councillor in Clonmel would get lost on the way to Nenagh. It was crazy to join them up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Reading through the thread , most posts - excluding my own personal dislike for Dromod and Longford - seem to be largely related to feral, drug fueled youths and crime and until a zero tolerance policy and some serious action is taken to deal with these problems nothing will improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Chalk McHugh

Del.Monte wrote: »
    Reading through the thread , most posts - excluding my own personal dislike for Dromod and Longford - seem to be largely related to feral, drug fueled youths and crime and until a zero tolerance policy and some serious action is taken to deal with these problems nothing will improve.

For starters there's hardly any prison spaces. No wonder its a revolving door for so many recidivist, career criminals with hundreds of convictions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭u140acro3xs7dm

It's no different to Dun Laoghaire main street. It's a bit grim but most main streets outside of Grafton Street kind of are too to be honest. I think you're over exaggerating and have a chip on your shoulder. Should I lambast Greystones train station as being full of junkies because one time I saw a deal there?

Have you seen how big Bray is geographically speaking? It's a solid portion of South County Dublin when you pick it up and visualise it...

I think you're stuck in the 90s with your point of view. Do you consider Ashford a **** hole too because it has nothing in it?

As another poster mentioned, it's improving and getting better and better. Dart line, sea, mountains, great brunch spots, really good dinner spots, one of the best Indian restaurants in the country is on that main street you speak of, it's called Pink Salt and I believe has the same owners or relations of Rasam in Glasthule. With the "expensive" Stella Cinema and the new shopping centre coming to the town, I think you'll see that main street continue to improve and transform (once this CoronaVirus decides to go away). I think Bray's biggest problem to people who don't know it is the sheer size of it and the population in the town. The property diversity is huge, as I said from a few hundred thousand euro to a couple of million and beyond. You need to wake up. One of the most expensive schools in the country is also located in Bray which reflects the diversity.

Do you think Ballybrack and Killiney are the same place? What about Whitechurch and Rathfarnham? Clontarf and Raheny? Bray is about the size of many South Dublin suburbs lumped into one. You need to give it a break and appreciate how in most parts, it's now a very desirable place to live with Dart access to the city and surrounded by mountains and sea etc. What do you think of Shankill main street??
    You keep posting about other towns and villages, trying to deflect. You should try get a gig in politics.

Drug dealing on Bray main street is a daily occurrence, not a once off. Its probably stopped now due to the lockdown but I'll surprised if it doesn't return, the junkies haven't given up their gear.

This shopping centre that you keep bringing up has been spoken about for 20 years - I still don't see a shopping centre. Maybe when (or if ) it is completed, it might bring the town up, but right now it's not there.

As for the chip on my shoulder, you are the one the more than once dismissed the neglected, more disadvantaged parts of Bray. You seem to pick and choose the bits you want to see.

St Gerards, while it has a Bray address must be 4 or 5k out of town, and unlike the majority of Bray, is actually in County Dublin. Most students are probably from out of town too.

Ironically I drove through Ashford last year on the way to Glendalough, and that place has gotten run down - it was never more than a village though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,311 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

LillySV wrote: »
    I agree with ye... I’m bein misunderstood ... I’m just stating that rural Ireland is falling apart as a lot of Ireland’s youth have to move to Dublin or abroad to get work ... as a result lots of towns have little or no money been spent there... shops closing up ... no investment going on in the towns ... sad to see

Our govt were all about decentralization of public service years ago for instance and then just gave up on that and a good lot of their organizations still up in Dublin ... no plans or efforts to get more employment down the country

Maybe live in your own towns instead of in a mansion a 20 min drive away?
    Stop blaming Dublin and invest in your own towns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,128 ✭✭✭Homelander

The village of Killimor between Portumna and Loughrea in Galway.

That place always comes to mind when I see threads like this.

A lot of the time people just start listing off places that have bad anti-social issues or whatever, when it should be about dreary towns that wouldn't look out of place in a black and white newsreel from the 1940's.

Killimor is definitely that town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,239 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Maybe live in your own towns instead of in a mansion a 20 min drive away?
    Stop blaming Dublin and invest in your own towns.

Many people don't want to live in a town house, they want the semi d with a front lawn and rear garden or the one off Mac Mansion with SUV airstrip and room for a trampoline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

I find in the last few years lots more clubs and classes, etc have popped up in places. Sometimes they take off but sometimes they are a new buzz thing and the demand may not be their and the people don't really bond that well together and get that community vibe that some people are looking for.

I'm not into GAA now but I know people are who were crap at the game and the clubs seem to keep those who may not be good at the game involved in some way and it sort of builds on that sense of community they've going for them.

Junior B. Not a game but a way of life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Homelander wrote: »
    That place always comes to mind when I see threads like this.

A lot of the time people just start listing off places that have bad anti-social issues or whatever, when it should be about dreary towns that wouldn't look out of place in a black and white newsreel from the 1940's.

Killimor is definitely that town.

They spend time everyday shaving a gap between their eyebrows and seeing how their cousins are getting on

That's a really poor reason to not provide infrastructure imo. Plenty of local crime in Tipp and Waterford afaik anyhow.

This is a growing reason,by people i know about there,by all means bypass the towns etc,but they havnt gaurds to protect local areas,so why make same mistake twice??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭maestroamado

Edgware wrote: »
    They spend time everyday shaving a gap between their eyebrows and seeing how their cousins are getting on

I have in recent years changed my view quite a bit on this one.
    I now think we can mind our own business a bit too much, i would never be in a situation where i was not talking to my neighbors as if this be the way i would move.
    In the last few years i have found myself visiting a family member in inland Spain. They will ask you everything in a shop, ie married age etc...
    Yes they are nosey but they are also interested enough in strangers to inquire about their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 IsosKramer

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    no county relies more on its city or largest town than galway

if you exclude galway city , the county of galway neither has money - real opportunities or charm in terms of its towns

I know what you mean.
    You would have to pity people living in poverty-stricken villages like Oranmore, Co. Galway, compared to those in Co. Limerick.

So poorly connected, unless you count:

The adjacent M6, M7, and M18 motorways.
    The N67 dual carriageway.
    Its 2013-built railway station complete with ample park and ride facilities.

Nowhere to socialise (in normal times) except for a vast array of quality restaurants, coffee shops and foodie bars.

Nowhere to shop except for, oh say, its very own big shiny Tesco etc.

Nowhere to while away a pleasant summer's evening but to take in those views of Galway Bay while walking around Rinville Park.

What these people wouldn't give to be able to swap their expensive houses and buy (possibly three, given the price disparity) a replacement in bustling (maybe
    due to farm machinery rattling boarded up businesses):

Abbeyfeale/good
    Bruff
    Crecora
    Dormcolliher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Scariff - east clare

not so much miserable but strange - as in a strange mix of muck savage culchies and new age hippies living cheek by jowl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭chrissb8

You keep posting about other towns and villages, trying to deflect. You should try get a gig in politics.

Drug dealing on Bray main street is a daily occurrence, not a once off. Its probably stopped now due to the lockdown but I'll surprised if it doesn't return, the junkies haven't given up their gear.

This shopping centre that you keep bringing up has been spoken about for 20 years - I still don't see a shopping centre. Maybe when (or if ) it is completed, it might bring the town up, but right now it's not there.

As for the chip on my shoulder, you are the one the more than once dismissed the neglected, more disadvantaged parts of Bray. You seem to pick and choose the bits you want to see.

St Gerards, while it has a Bray address must be 4 or 5k out of town, and unlike the majority of Bray, is actually in County Dublin. Most students are probably from out of town too.

Ironically I drove through Ashford last year on the way to Glendalough, and that place has gotten run down - it was never more than a village though.

Ahaha, there we are! The actual lack of knowledge about somewhere your criticising is truly beginning to show.

St. Gerards is not 4 or 5km out of the town at all. A new Gaelscoil building was built as well, pres Bray got a new school also so even excluding gerards Bray has some fine modern schools.

The shopping centre which admittedly was a long running joke has broke ground and structures are being put up at present (well, maybe not right now obviously)

Where are these junkies you see? I hear junkie this junkie that but if you're talking about the 3 or 4 who are perpetually outside the church on the main st. then yes we have a problem.

Anyway, you do seem to have a chip on your shoulder as I have met people with the same opinion as you and have some weird can't give it to Bray anti-ideology.

You don't have a clue about the area you're even referring to, you're clueless. Good one :rolleyes: St Gerard's isn't in Bray? I think you're starting to realise how big Bray actually is. Have you actually been to Bray before? Do you have a panic attack when you go to a real town or a city like Dublin? Wow.

And unless you're living on Bray main street, you're spoofing when you say there are deals there every day. There are drug deals in every single suburb and county across this country so don't be so narrow minded and limited in your thinking. As I said, I've seen absolute scrotes dealing in Greystones station before, disperse and then walk around Greystones but do I lambast Greystones for that? Of course not because that's reality and the majority of people living in Greystones are good people. I'd hate to see how you'd cope in Dublin on a Friday night or San Francisco on a normal Tuesday...Do you know how many drugs deals there are in (insert South Dublin suburb here)? Unfortunately, drugs are everywhere. And yes, there are a couple of unfortunate junkies out of the 31,000 people living there but they deserve pity and help (where we can do so) because they're unfortunate people who need it and they exist everywhere.

Bray has the same sort of population as Dun Laoghaire to Dalkey to Cabinteely to Deansgrange and back to Dun Laoghaire with Sallynoggin in the middle, approx 31,000 people. It's important to mention other areas because if you drive through Cabinteely village or Killiney, you're in and out of the location in no time at all! That's why I wanted your opinion on areas like Rathfarnham and Whitechurch, Killiney and Ballybrack, Clontarf and Raheny, Leopardstown and Ballyogan etc because these places are adjacent to each other.

It's worth looking at the people who run businesses in the town too, particularly down the seafront (The Duggans) and also scattered across the town, they're sharp operators who understand how much money can be made and the potential the town has. That's why Stella Cinema are moving in, a pricey cinema that some people in the town will begrudge but most people will welcome it and of course, it's sandwiched beautifully between South Dublin and Greystones so there's lots of disposable income there. That positive change is also why you're getting more people with good jobs and good household incomes looking to move into North Wicklow in general and not just move to another suburb in South Dublin because they crave that diversity on their doorstep that a place like Wicklow can offer.

And as I've mentioned so many times, yes, the main street in Bray is a bit grim and there are a few pockets of disadvantaged areas within the location but give me a main street that isn't grim, that hasn't suffered post recession due to the growth of online shopping or an area that doesn't have a couple of disadvantaged parts?

Dalkey and Greystones have beautiful villages but they're villages, I rarely come into a town where I'm blown away by a town! You get people coming to Bray for a night out from all parts including South Dublin, Greystones, Killiney, Roundwood, Arklow...as I said it's diverse and that should in this day and age be encouraged as it resembles real life. I don't drive through Cabinteely village (which is 30 seconds long) or Blackrock Village (also 30 seconds long) and am blown away.

I'm mentioning the disadvantaged parts of Bray because that's a fact, there's less of them than the "happy" parts and it's important to acknowledge it for a balanced discussion and this is why you partly have varied property prices from a few hundred thousand to a couple of million euro. As I said, a lot of your thinking is from the 90s when Bray was a less desirable place to live, without question but not anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭u140acro3xs7dm

chrissb8 wrote: »
    Ahaha, there we are! The actual lack of knowledge about somewhere your criticising is truly beginning to show.

St. Gerards is not 4 or 5km out of the town at all. A new Gaelscoil building was built as well, pres Bray got a new school also so even excluding gerards Bray has some fine modern schools.

The shopping centre which admittedly was a long running joke has broke ground and structures are being put up at present (well, maybe not right now obviously)

Where are these junkies you see? I hear junkie this junkie that but if you're talking about the 3 or 4 who are perpetually outside the church on the main st. then yes we have a problem.

Anyway, you do seem to have a chip on your shoulder as I have met people with the same opinion as you and have some weird can't give it to Bray anti-ideology.

I went and googled it, from McDonald's to Gerard's is 3km, I was 1km out - apologies.

There's regularly lads selling gear up around the banks near the mermaid centre, I was even asked once if I was looking for some.

Anyway in my 1st reply, I said Bray wasn't the most grim town in Ireland, not even in Wicklow. But you are looking through rose-tinted glasses. I am in Bray pretty often, and at all times of the day, it's not Brayruit, but it is a tired aul town well past it's best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,468 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

You don't have a clue about the area you're even referring to, you're clueless. Good one :rolleyes: St Gerard's isn't in Bray? I think you're starting to realise how big Bray actually is. Have you actually been to Bray before? Do you have a panic attack when you go to a real town or a city like Dublin? Wow.

And unless you're living on Bray main street, you're spoofing when you say there are deals there every day. There are drug deals in every single suburb and county across this country so don't be so narrow minded and limited in your thinking. As I said, I've seen absolute scrotes dealing in Greystones station before, disperse and then walk around Greystones but do I lambast Greystones for that? Of course not because that's reality and the majority of people living in Greystones are good people. I'd hate to see how you'd cope in Dublin on a Friday night or San Francisco on a normal Tuesday...Do you know how many drugs deals there are in (insert South Dublin suburb here)? Unfortunately, drugs are everywhere. And yes, there are a couple of unfortunate junkies out of the 31,000 people living there but they deserve pity and help (where we can do so) because they're unfortunate people who need it and they exist everywhere.

Bray has the same sort of population as Dun Laoghaire to Dalkey to Cabinteely to Deansgrange and back to Dun Laoghaire with Sallynoggin in the middle, approx 31,000 people. It's important to mention other areas because if you drive through Cabinteely village or Killiney, you're in and out of the location in no time at all! That's why I wanted your opinion on areas like Rathfarnham and Whitechurch, Killiney and Ballybrack, Clontarf and Raheny, Leopardstown and Ballyogan etc because these places are adjacent to each other and a bit different to each other at the same time...

It's worth looking at the people who run businesses in the town too, particularly down the seafront (The Duggans) and also scattered across the town, they're sharp operators who understand how much money can be made and the potential the town has. That's why Stella Cinema and the rest (The McKillens property developers) are moving in, a pricey cinema that some people in the town will begrudge but most people will welcome it and of course, it's sandwiched beautifully between South Dublin and Greystones so there's lots of disposable income there. That positive change is also why you're getting more people with good jobs and good household incomes looking to move into North Wicklow in general and not just move to another suburb in South Dublin because they crave that diversity on their doorstep that a place like Wicklow can offer.

And as I've mentioned so many times, yes, the main street in Bray is a bit grim and there are a few pockets of disadvantaged areas within the location but give me a main street that isn't grim, that hasn't suffered post recession due to the growth of online shopping or an area that doesn't have a couple of disadvantaged parts?

Dalkey and Greystones have beautiful villages but they're villages, I rarely come into a town where I'm blown away by a town! You get people coming to Bray for a night out from all parts including South Dublin, Greystones, Killiney, Roundwood, Arklow...as I said it's diverse and that should in this day and age be encouraged as it resembles real life. I don't drive through Cabinteely village (which is 30 seconds long) or Blackrock Village (also 30 seconds long) and am blown away.

I'm mentioning the disadvantaged parts of Bray because that's a fact, there's less of them than the "happy" parts and it's important to acknowledge it for a balanced discussion and this is why you partly have varied property prices from a few hundred thousand to a couple of million euro. As I said, a lot of your thinking is from the 90s when Bray was a less desirable place to visit or live, without question but not anymore which is why it's rammed every single day/weekend. Hopefully that cinema and shopping centre will give people a good reason to actually go to the main street because even now, there's no shortage of footfall.

Bray is far from the worst town in Ireland, it's a grand spot. But people choosing it over south Dublin because they crave diversity? It's not New York mate, they choose it because they can't afford Dalkey, Blackrock etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

There's regularly lads selling gear up around the banks near the mermaid centre, I was even asked once if I was looking for some.

Also outside the Holy Redeemer church, Quinsborough Rd (near the hilariously named 'Boulevard Centre') and outside the Dart Station. It's become more noticeable in recent weeks because there's hardly anyone else around. I suppose it's an 'essential service' of sorts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

Ush1 wrote: »
    Bray is far from the worst town in Ireland, it's a grand spot. But people choosing it over south Dublin because they crave diversity? It's not New York mate, they choose it because they can't afford Dalkey, Blackrock etc...

That reminds me, the Irish Times did a series a few years ago - "Priced out of *nice place*? Try *less nice place* instead". There was a "Priced out of Dalkey? Try Dún Laoghaire" and a "Priced out of Dún Laoghaire? Try Bray". There was no "Priced out of Bray..." option.

Dromod or Longford. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,239 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Del.Monte wrote: »
    Dromod. :D

How many years has it been?
    Let it go.

https://g.co/kgs/8FxyMe

Ush1 wrote: »

South Dublin is a big place. Dalkey and Blackrock are exceptionally expensive places to live for what you get. You need at least 800+K to buy something I'd consider decent in those locations now. And that would be nothing special. It's ten minutes past Cabinteely on the N11, it basically is an extension of Dublin. Believe it or not, some people want a bit more than just an average semi d in some faceless estate in South Dublin which is why people consider Bray, Greystones etc and surrounding areas. There's new builds going for 700K in Bray at the moment and they're way better than what 700K in Blackrock would get you ...Euro for euro , I get it. Wicklow isn't for everyone.

30 years ago, you'd have fields and fields separating Wicklow and Dublin...now you've Shankill literally up the road and houses in between. Over the last ten years, it's changing. But I know people who have rejected new builds and properties they could afford in South Dublin to move further south such as Bray, Kilmac and Greystones and surrounding areas.

Not everyone is happy for a 1,000 square foot box with a north facing garden in some concrete housing estate in Dublin. There's no shame in your statement though.

There's houses in parts of Bray and North Wicklow worth way more than houses in South Dublin. Don't be such a snob. You can buy a semi d in Cabinteely for 500K if you really want a D18 address. Lovely spot but some people want the sea and mountains right on their finger tips. Different strokes for different folks. I wouldn't live in Rathgar if you paid me but it's a dream location for others

By the way, you're wrong, here's an article talking about what you do if you can't afford Bray or Greystones. Wicklow Town.

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/homes-and-property/make-a-move-to-wicklow-town-there-are-lots-of-new-blow-ins-coming-1.4222172

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭shaveAbullock

fryup wrote: »
    Scariff - east clare

not so much miserable but strange - as in a strange mix of muck savage culchies and new age hippies living cheek by jowl

What about the near by village of Mountshannon?

https://www.irishtimes.com/culture/a-village-comes-to-terms-with-its-loss-1.38195

How many years has it been?
    Let it go.

https://g.co/kgs/8FxyMe

22 years and I haven't even started yet. :D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d9uHhLe6WE0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭Salvadoor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

Salvadoor wrote: »

Tralee is grand overall. just one or two sh1tholes even the locals avoid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Panda Killa

paw patrol wrote: »
    Tralee is grand overall. just one or two sh1tholes even the locals avoid.

That video is 5 years old tbf..and since the lockdown it's been noticed that it's actually Killarney is the problem now, huge drug issues and domestic violence calls