Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

I don't know where we're going, but I know where I am (part 9)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Tech Desk. Working on old home movies. Most of it was transferred to a digital format years ago. Thankfully. Enjoying a beer while I work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Just been fed, last meal until the end of my shift. Not sure if the local take away are allowed do deliveries, but I'm torn because I'm completely isolating from people and wouldn't be 100% comfortable with a take away.. I think I might have some porridge in my locker, that'll do me.

Missing my family, my daughter didn't know I was on a 24 hour shift and I haven't seen my son in over 3 weeks, but the sun is about to set on another day so we get another day closer to the end of this madness.

I wish I could play a guitar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I will. Thanks, my antiquated canine friend :D

NewRed2 wrote: »
    ... it was US who caused it to start with.
    It all stemmed from animals being treated like crap by humans and that's the lesson we should all learn from this imo, even if it originated in China it's still relevant to all societies, as Ghandi once said judge not a society by the way they treat their people but the way they treat their animals.
    This will pass eventually and the effects will linger for a long time but the lesson about mis-treating animals should stick with us all.
    If we have no respect for nature then this is what happens. And could happen again.

I couldn't agree more NewRed2. And animals will die now suffering and in fear to find us therapies and a vaccine. They will be tortured so we can be saved. When we are thanking the wonderful and incredible people risking and sacrificing themselves for the greater good of us all, it would do no harm to acknowledge those poor lab animals too, from the tiny mice to the dogs and monkeys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

Hello Wherers!

Olddog ... do you eat duck eggs? (Dippy & Dilly are great at laying)

Spent the afternoon in my beautiful garden. I'm definitely getting a hammock for the Summer. The gardener who comes once a month won't be happy ... he's always trying to get me involved in helping in the garden and I don't think that this is what he was envisaging! Plan for the evening is watching All the Bright Places ... a friend recommended it and said the lead is like me in my teenage years (hmmmm .... that always worries me!)

Wishing all a lovely evening!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 61,764 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Bleepin glitch :mad:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,169 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Deskside shaking, the abuse my poor mother was getting from that pathetic excuse of a so called brother of mine got so bad this evening I had to call the guards, they have better things to be doing but I had no choice, unfortunately they wouldn't take him away and only had a word with him but I'm happy they came all the same, I should have done it a long time ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭Poochie05

Hugs Seph :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,446 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

I'm sorry you're going through that, Seph. I have more than one sibling who can cause that kind of misery so you have my utmost sympathy. Well done calling the gards. I hope they softened his cough for him

Hugs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭0lddog

honeybear wrote: »
    Hello Wherers!

Olddog ... do you eat duck eggs? (Dippy & Dilly are great at laying)

Spent the afternoon in my beautiful garden. I'm definitely getting a hammock for the Summer. The gardener who comes once a month won't be happy ... he's always trying to get me involved in helping in the garden and I don't think that this is what he was envisaging! Plan for the evening is watching All the Bright Places ... a friend recommended it and said the lead is like me in my teenage years (hmmmm .... that always worries me!)

Wishing all a lovely evening!

Whats the point of having a gardner if one cant tell him what to do from the comfort of your own hammock ? :D

Been awhile since the ducks. My recollection is that their eggs were great for baking. Probably a bit big for eating - but needs must etc etc. :)

Anyone else find it hard to buy eggs in supermarkets ?

Sorry to hear that Seph. Fair play calling the guards. Very hard to do but for sure the right thing x

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 61,764 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Seph mon, big hugs bro, pm if you want anytime, on duty tonight too if you can't sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭supermouse

Hugs to you Seph, coffee flavoured hugs x

Ah that's tough seph, sorry.
    Did they tell your mother about the orders she can get? To keep her safe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Wayne Jarvis

Sorry Seph, that's not what anyone needs, at this time or ever. I have spoken before about my own príck of a brother, you have my sympathies and if you ever want to talk or rant about it fire a PM my way, I will understand what you're going through. Just know everyone on this thread is here for you as always.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Crikey Seph - sorry to read it. Well done though.

Bawling after reading an account from a separated parent of missing her young children. :(

Spare a thought for those separated fathers (and in this case, mother - it's less common but is a reality for women separated from women).

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 21,568 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Big booby hug, Sephers. I hope things quieten down.

I am once again tableside with a beer, trying to decide what to have for dinner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,193 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

My face is sore from smiling. No more video calls for me.
    Might start writing letters instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,946 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Hugs Seph , good on you for making that call x

Making salad sandwiches here , exciting evening .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,735 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Seph, that was very brave. Fair play and good work.
    At least his card is marked now with the guards if you need to call again.
    You're a good son to your parents.
    Mind yourself.

As for me I'm just back from the hairdresser, got a lovely new cut. Then met a few girlfriends for lunch and a browse around the shops. Had a great day.
    Oh wait.. That was just a dream last night wasn't it? :(

To thine own self be true

Ah Seph,so sorry you had to do that but definitely the right thing to do,your mam is lucky to have you..mind her and yourself. x

*Pushes plate towards Seph*

As promised. Wish I could give you a slice for real as a small cheer me up. :(
    Butterscotch looks yellow in the pic cause of the weird light in here but it's a normal colour in real life honest!

Eating my slice now in honour of my grans big birthday. She had a lovely day in the home, they sent us pictures and videos. Her hair was done, nails were done and they all sang Happy birthday and she was delighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,061 ✭✭✭gifted

Man hug going your way Seph.....life is tough enough nowadays without that ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,061 ✭✭✭gifted

I mopped the floor earlier on in the kitchen......Christ this virus better feck right off, developing terrible housy habits ......next thing will be the bed sheets and it's not even December lol lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭Shady Grady

gifted wrote: »
    I mopped the floor earlier on in the kitchen......Christ this virus better feck right off, developing terrible housy habits ......next thing will be the bed sheets and it's not even December lol lol

It is hell becoming domesticated isn't it?

Listening to Jenny Greene with a cup-a-soup, glamorous, i know :rolleyes:

Totally irrelevant but she's so pretty imo. She reminds me of Sarah Michelle Geller.

I'm lying on my sofa saying to myself "is my breathing off? Does my chest feel weird?!" ...cue semi panic attack leading to breathing being off... "I knew it, my breathings off".
    Calm down Buile, you do not have coronavirus!!!!

Buile i get myself freaked by that and chest pains a lot (chest pains are anxiety, so get worse with more thinking) I've decided i'll stay with temperature as a symptom to try and assuage my fears :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭Shady Grady

NewRed2 wrote: »
    It sucks! I've started going to the toilet indoors and at one stage I found myself in the garden looking at all the things that need doing but I didn't do any of them.
    Now I'm annoyed with myself for not doing them. It's all psychological. You can view this as a normal Saturday within reason if you want but for me I woke up riddled with anxiety about whats gonna happen.

One of the people I admire most in life is a woman I work with and she had/has cancer and I asked her once how she deals with it and she tipped the side of her head at the temple area and said to me "It's about your mindset, it can batter you physically but its all about not letting your own brain defeat you".
    I thought it was a great statement. Tht's what we do now, we get outside our thoughts, we keep busy, we dont let our own thoughts drag us down.
    Jaysus, sorry Grady, I've no idea why I quoted your post now :pac:

It's good to just let it out.I don't mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

((Hugs)) to you Seph

Couchside watching The Voice and chatting with my favourite man :) He's one in a million and I'm a very happy Auto :)