BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day Part 6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Yeah, with stuff like that you really need to be ready to move straight away. I wouldn't be surprised if it was on the classic section of Donedeal in a few days time for €3k.

Hi Duke, tried replying to you but your mail box is full;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭flexcon

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/saab-9-3-2007-aero-estate-2-0-turbo-nct-01-21/24460858

MDU2NjkwMDUxMWEyNjQxOTQ2MTFmNzlhYTZhYTI4NTHnVobfcouFL8vSQECIURMdaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDQwNjI2NTl8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

2.0t 9-3 Aera estate, NCT til January 2021, €1950

These aren't usually my thing, but this looks class. Again, was 1 owner until last week

going to have a look at this. Can anyone here tell me is this engine affected by that sludge build up issue? I have tried seraching if I can get the correct engine code but no luck.It's the 2litre turbo is all I can find

Also any other saab owners -advice welcome. I wouldnt mind something like this for the next few months of fun around ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

flexcon wrote: »
    going to have a look at this. Can anyone here tell me is this engine affected by that sludge build up issue? I have tried seraching if I can get the correct engine code but no luck.It's the 2litre turbo is all I can find

Also any other saab owners -advice welcome. I wouldnt mind something like this for the next few months of fun around ireland.

I think it was resolved by 2005, so that car is probably not effected by the sludge issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭legomanx51v

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/24489619

Thoughts on this? Very cheap for an 07? Mileage could be high.. or are they built for that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,575 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/24489619

Thoughts on this? Very cheap for an 07? Mileage could be high.. or are they built for that?

They are a fine car, but it's 13 years old, high miles, with no tax, far from cheap.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭rino87

I don't know much about the dealer apart from having seen a good few Saab's in his yard the last two years or so that I've been driving past, so maybe he has an eye for a good one (ive never had a close look at any of his).

That engine has been known to burn a bit of oil but nothing wild. I have a TTiD myself so don't know much more about the 2.0t engine but I have heard they are solid.

That said shouldn't the Aero be a 2.0T with full pressure turbo, and not a 2.0t, there is a difference, so be sure that it's not just an Aero badge!! A proper Aero would be great fun for the summer.

Check the front carpets for any damp as the seal around the cabin filter can fail, or the drain holes under scuttle can block up. Also if the seal for the cabin filter has gone water will get into the blower motor so give that a good spin to check if it's noisy/working.

Check the central locking both on the remote and from inside the car, check that all the door handles open without much effort as a rod inside the door card can slip, make sure heated seats work, rear wiper motor is another known issue...
    The above are all easy fixes and certainly not deal breakers but can be used as a bargaining chip.

Go lock to lock with the steering a few times if you can and try listen/feel for anything unusual, steering racks can go on these, not such a cheap fix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,328 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

DDF18215-26-FA-42-F6-87-A6-C6-B8-D7-F0399-D.jpg

colm_mcm wrote: »
    DDF18215-26-FA-42-F6-87-A6-C6-B8-D7-F0399-D.jpg

Unreal. Thank you for that. Looks legit so far!

RINO87 wrote: »
    I don't know much about the dealer apart from having seen a good few Saab's in his yard the last two years or so that I've been driving past, so maybe he has an eye for a good one (ive never had a close look at any of his).

That engine has been known to burn a bit of oil but nothing wild. I have a TTiD myself so don't know much more about the 2.0t engine but I have heard they are solid.

That said shouldn't the Aero be a 2.0T with full pressure turbo, and not a 2.0t, there is a difference, so be sure that it's not just an Aero badge!! A proper Aero would be great fun for the summer.

Check the front carpets for any damp as the seal around the cabin filter can fail, or the drain holes under scuttle can block up. Also if the seal for the cabin filter has gone water will get into the blower motor so give that a good spin to check if it's noisy/working.

Check the central locking both on the remote and from inside the car, check that all the door handles open without much effort as a rod inside the door card can slip, make sure heated seats work, rear wiper motor is another known issue...
    The above are all easy fixes and certainly not deal breakers but can be used as a bargaining chip.

Go lock to lock with the steering a few times if you can and try listen/feel for anything unusual, steering racks can go on these, not such a cheap fix.

Thank you very much for this! I appreciate it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 312 ✭✭73bc61lyohr0mu

Had a 06 93 Aero myself. 2.0 Turbo b207r engine. 210bhp. My favourite car that I've ever owned. Timing chain so no issues with that. As someone pointed out earlier the sludge issue was resolved. I had very few issues with mine in the 2 years I owned it.

Thanks for that.

Am I right in thinking parts shouldn’t be too bad considering is basically a Vectra?

Thanks for that.

Am I right in thinking parts shouldn’t be too bad considering is basically a Vectra?

Lots of bits on the drive train will be GM, but Interior bits, body and anything engine related will be SAAB specific.

Still not too expensive, but ignition parts for my 2001 9-3 were pricey iirc.Not sure if it's still the case, I'm sure there are generics out by now

Lots of bits on the drive train will be GM, but Interior bits, body and anything engine related will be SAAB specific.

Still not too expensive, but ignition parts for my 2001 9-3 were pricey iirc.Not sure if it's still the case, I'm sure there are generics out by now

Yep a lot of people shy away from Saab as they worry about parts availability.(which makes Saab's incredibly cheap at the moment) It's not really a problem, there's a few guys around the country that break only Saab's and have lots of quality parts. Lots and lots available in UK too...
    If you're on Facebook check out Saab owners of Ireland. Top lads there.

Yep a lot of people shy away from Saab as they worry about parts availability.(which makes Saab's incredibly cheap at the moment) It's not really a problem, there's a few guys around the country that break only Saab's and have lots of quality parts. Lots and lots available in UK too...
    If you're on Facebook check out Saab owners of Ireland. Top lads there.

Just back from viewing the car
    Mechanical seems great. No knocks or grinding sounds Clutch and gearbox are smooth

Few faults
    Either buckled alloy or discs and callipers. Very bad vibration at motorway speed. Also brakes are very on off at low speed thanks to alloy issue
    Heated seats not working
    Brightness control for instrument cluster not working

Other than that all good.

EDIT: ended up taking my offer later. A very happy Saab owner! Can’t wait to take it out over the Kerry hills!

Mechanical seems great. No knocks or grinding sounds Clutch and gearbox are smooth

Few faults
    Either buckled alloy or discs and callipers. Very bad vibration at motorway speed. Also brakes are very on off at low speed thanks to alloy issue
    Heated seats not working

EDIT: ended up taking my offer later. A very happy Saab owner! Can’t wait to take it out over the Kerry hills!

Nice one - best if luck with it. Before you spend money on brakes, get the tyres checked and balanced. When I bought our Giulietta it had an awful vibration at 65mph. Turned out to be a huge blob of instant tyre repair goo.

Few faults
    Heated seats not working

Nice one. Hope you mentioned all of those faults and were able to negotiate a good deal.
    Well worth joining those Facebook groups (there's two) the lads there will see you straight.

Nice one. Hope you mentioned all of those faults and were able to negotiate a good deal.
    Well worth joining those Facebook groups (there's two) the lads there will see you straight.

Did well with it. Got a few hundred off the price.

In reality it will probably need new discs at the back but other than that good to go. I’m pretty happy if it stays reliable as it seems so far.

Joining them as I type. Thanks again to duke Smiley. I wouldn’t have gone to grab this without the post!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sexual Chocolate

ZWRjNzY4NWY5ZjQ2MjBlMmNmMTQ4MDFlNDk5Mjg5OWFVu3cB_89-ThPHpi5QFmXJaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDQ1ODM4Njd8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2009-renault-megane-1-6-petrol/24508807

Another Megane but this time 2009 1.6 petrol with low miles and NCT till 21/01/21 according to nct website. I actually think for 1950 it's decent enough, especially for someone who doesn't want the headache of a diesel.

MDY0ZDE4ZDdjNjRmMzk2ZWRjOTNhMzlmMjNkZjY5MWOgMsmhqf4ZnMqjvOzlT2pzaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDQ1ODM3MDJ8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2007-bmw-520d-nct-tax/24508793

07 520d
    Tax till July
    NCT till October
    Only 240k kms
    Older M47 so no chain to worry about.
    My only grip it's a manual which I'd find real wierd on a 5 series diesel.

€1650

OTVhNDU0MmIwYTRlZjI2YzNmY2NkZjY4ODNiZjk5ODFBYVXbCCyJFLnsVzw3TIBZaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDQ1NjU3NTF8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/renault-megane-1-5dci-09/24507199

Another 09 Megane
    213k km
    Nct till November
    Only thing I'll say is the sellers other ads have a few crashed cars so I'd be looking at it with eyes wide open.

€1400

MzBjMGU1MDViYTkyMTI4M2M0NzMxZjA4YWFhYjk1ODeXQDGE1erg3Ef1R9rlcr2raHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDQ1NTMwMzJ8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2007-honda-civic-1-8i-se-executive-5dr-nct01-21/24422379

07 Civic 5 door
    178k kms
    A months tax left
    Nct till next Janurary

€1800

Besides the firm suspension I loved mine in the short time I had it and even feel they are worth the little extra in money over a focus or golf etc.

I always regret not holding out for another one at the time I bought the S40 though I probably wouldn't have the 320d if I did get one.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,092 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2007-peugeot-207-1-6-gt-turbo-nctd-3-21/24508581

NDllY2MxMjllY2YxN2Y1NDMzNGYwZDlhNjJkYjlmMzXEb6I_9boj5QjyH0APe8jBaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDQ1ODE1ODB8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

You can be lucky owner #12 on this 207 GT

12 months test, 1.6 turbo, €1650. I would!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,855 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,811 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/alfa-brera-2-2-jts-2007/24457830

ODk4NDgyOWY1ZDAzNzNlYTcyYzNhOWY0ZTllZTE5NmE_5LCYuBOdBKHOSlZTawxGaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDQwMzc4NTl8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

2.2 Brera with a risky 3 months test, and tax til May - €1500

Details are scant, cool car for the money if it checks out okay

Looks like this is being flipped for a few bob more, €2,250 to be exact.
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2007-alfa-brera-nctd-6-20-taxed-5-20-low-miles/24479269

MDY0ZDE4ZDdjNjRmMzk2ZWRjOTNhMzlmMjNkZjY5MWOgMsmhqf4ZnMqjvOzlT2pzaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDQ1ODM3MDJ8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

07 520d
    Tax till July
    NCT till October
    Only 240k kms
    Older M47 so no chain to worry about.
    My only grip it's a manual which I'd find real wierd on a 5 series diesel.

€1650

That 5er is gone already, gives me hope for my one!

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Looks like this is being flipped for a few bob more, €2,250 to be exact.
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2007-alfa-brera-nctd-6-20-taxed-5-20-low-miles/24479269

Fair play, that's some level of optimism! It's odd that someone billing themselves as a trade supplier would be that over the top on price for such a niche car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

In the Brera sellers other ads. This looks like a good deal for €1650. Warm hatch, still a modern looking yoke, big wheels and pan roof make it look cool.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2007-peugeot-207-1-6-gt-turbo-nctd-3-21/24508581

In the Brera sellers other ads. This looks like a good deal for €1650. Warm hatch, still a modern looking yoke, big wheels and pan roof make it look cool.

Duke posted that further up the page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭almostover

Nice E Class with a long test. Would have to get a few hundred off to cover the cost of an alloy refurb though. Lacquer is peeling badly on them

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mercedes-benz-e-class-/24515224

Low mileage, long test, premium tyres, leather seats and estate boot. Eyes wide open though as it could be too good to be true.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mercedes-benz-c-class-2004/24467234

These coupes are lovely but saucy for tax!

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/peugeot-406-coupe/24346583

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭jharr100

almostover wrote: »
    Nice E Class with a long test. Would have to get a few hundred off to cover the cost of an alloy refurb though. Lacquer is peeling badly on them

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mercedes-benz-e-class-/24515224

Low mileage, long test, premium tyres, leather seats and estate boot. Eyes wide open though as it could be too good to be true.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mercedes-benz-c-class-2004/24467234

These coupes are lovely but saucy for tax!

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/peugeot-406-coupe/24346583

The C class going from miles to kms in the NCT printout is a concern, fine looking car though, and the E class looks clean too, pity the alloys corrode like that in them.