BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day Part 6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,092 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Not a one owner car as claimed either

(Although with a username like “we buy all types of vehicles” is it much of a surprise?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

http://www.adverts.ie/20021679
    Any thoughts on this?
    It seems very cheap n

Seller is "webuyanycar" type - literally!

i.e. it's not a private sale, just a trader shifting on something cheap with no idea of its history. That's why its priced that way.

It could be fine, it depends on what you are looki g for. They are a fine car generally, and for the money it's worth a look if its local to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,575 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Seller is "webuyanycar" type - literally!

i.e. it's not a private sale, just a trader shifting on something cheap with no idea of its history. That's why its priced that way.

It could be fine, it depends on what you are looki g for. They are a fine car generally, and for the money it's worth a look if its local to you.

It's advertised as with a full service history, looks like a bargain.

I'd say there's going to be a lot of the bigger cars with a bit of tax left going for peanuts soon.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,679 ✭✭✭✭wonski

It's advertised as with a full service history, looks like a bargain.

I'd say there's going to be a lot of the bigger cars with a bit of tax left going for peanuts soon.

I will believe that full service history when I see it ;)

As previous poster said eyes wide open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,575 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

wonski wrote: »
    I will believe that full service history when I see it ;)

As previous poster said eyes wide open.

Sound.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭KB22

Any thoughts on this?
    It seems very cheap n

I have a 9-5 with the same engine, great for motorway driving. Urban use you'd need an Arab in the boot ! They are a great car to drive ,engine parts are GM/Opel so much cheaper than BMW or MERC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭1874

Any thoughts on this?
    It seems very cheap n

Very near to NCT, bit too near for my liking, someone in the family had one, nice car, it needed some work they didnt want to pay out for, some problem/part on the steering rack hydraulics leaking, couldnt get an offer on it, was a low mileage diesel, nippy imo compared to my octavia, dont know what the petrol is like, nice inside, but felt cramped, again in comparison to the octavia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,289 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

1874 wrote: »
    Very near to NCT, bit too near for my liking, someone in the family had one, nice car, it needed some work they didnt want to pay out for, some problem/part on the steering rack hydraulics leaking, couldnt get an offer on it, was a low mileage diesel, nippy imo compared to my octavia, dont know what the petrol is like, nice inside, but felt cramped, again in comparison to the octavia.

It has 8 months NCT. how long do you expect in a bangernomics car?

My mistake, I must scanned the end of tax in the advert, I read May on NCT, yep 8 months is grand, a year or more is always good :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Forde3654Eire

Any opinions on a 2005 Toyota Avensis with the 1.8L petrol engine? I'm looking at one with just over 300,000km on it for 550e... assuming the car's been taken care of, would it make a good and sensible purchase for cheap and reliable motoring?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Any opinions on a 2005 Toyota Avensis with the 1.8L petrol engine? I'm looking at one with just over 300,000km on it for 550e... assuming the car's been taken care of, would it make a good and sensible purchase for cheap and reliable motoring?

Cheap and reliable on a 15 year old car....

It won't be cheap but Toyota were obviously reliable enough.

If you want cheap you would want to looking at the Yaris or similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,328 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

You might have oil burning issues but to be honest, for €550 who cares? Just bin it and go again if it won’t pass NCT

Well equipped, comfy enough, very good standard safety for an 05.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭crasy dash

Same as yourself bought a 06 1.6 Avensis with 300k on it for 450 in January while I search for a car.
    Flew threw the nct, there a nice and comfortable yoke reliable as feck as well.

I'd say buy it drive it on and if it goes bang oh well.
    Cheap motoring in reality

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/renault-megane-expression-1-5dci/24481592

OGU5ZWY5NThjMjI1ZWRmOTJhMzJjYzQ2ODVjNzE2OThm8N6JImpTU5CWRpodiogEaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDQyODg5NTV8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

2010 Megane Coupe with NCT all the way until February 2022, and 12 months tax, €1950

This looks very nice. If its not hiding anything sinister its a bargain IMO

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2002-c180-manual34-499-miles-nct-09-20-tax-11-20/24482480

MWFiMDMwODc0ZWUzNTVjYTYyNDliZWU5MjNjNDFiZWJljhtUgtBWRtSj1WUjFHCzaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDQyOTk3Mzh8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

MzkxZDdlMjA1NmU0ODIxZjgzMjI1ZDZhMjI4YzJhNGPwvVnC6W4Co-FHXWpvceNFaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDQyOTk3NDF8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

1 owner 02 C180 with claimed full history and 34k miles, NCT til September and tax til November, €999

These don't have the best of reputations but this looks like a total gem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

1 owner 02 C180 with claimed full history and 34k miles, NCT til September and tax til November, €999

The tax alone probably brings that under 500. Looks fantastic, but pity its manual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭Mad_Mike

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2002-c180-manual34-499-miles-nct-09-20-tax-11-20/24482480

Great find Duke. Certainly can't see that sitting around for too long
    Full set of Bridgestones on it too

I’m tempted myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,643 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Haven't been in here for a while, I look and that W203 is the first car I see. Some find that is!

And I almost forgot how good this thread can be :)

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭CoBo55

MWFiMDMwODc0ZWUzNTVjYTYyNDliZWU5MjNjNDFiZWJljhtUgtBWRtSj1WUjFHCzaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDQyOTk3Mzh8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

MzkxZDdlMjA1NmU0ODIxZjgzMjI1ZDZhMjI4YzJhNGPwvVnC6W4Co-FHXWpvceNFaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDQyOTk3NDF8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

That's feckin gorgeous!!

Merc is unsurprisingly sold now

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/volvo-v70xc-4x4-auto-t-diesel-7-seats-nct-09-20/24488423?campaign=6

ZmIxMzg3YmI1OGFjYmI4ODE5ZDIwNDkxMzBmOTU1NTS356DNSSAAsZiiYeFeSRhqaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDQzNjUyMjN8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

04 7 seater XC70 with NCT til October and brand new Pirelli tyres all round, €1850

Claims of full history. From a seemingly very trustworthy dealer too, I'd definitely take a punt on it

Merc is unsurprisingly sold now

I noticed, I rang to ask about looking at in the morning and he told me someone was to look this evening and check back a few hours later, sick :(

Yeah, with stuff like that you really need to be ready to move straight away. I wouldn't be surprised if it was on the classic section of Donedeal in a few days time for €3k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,856 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Mk3 Avensis:

YWE0OGZiYTc4ZTBiYzJiNGUyY2NlNGYyYzMyNTliMWY2CelMu7xsoDrWHHUSiBxZaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDQzOTM5Mzl8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/stunning-09-toyota-avensis-diesel-nct-amptax/24490878

Short test and paintwork is a bit rough but would certainly tick alot of boxes for bangernomics. Mileage could mean it was a taxi at some point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,289 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/volvo-v70xc-4x4-auto-t-diesel-7-seats-nct-09-20/24488423?campaign=6

04 7 seater XC70 with NCT til October and brand new Pirelli tyres all round, €1850

Claims of full history. From a seemingly very trustworthy dealer too, I'd definitely take a punt on it

why put €1400 of tyres on a bangernomics car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,527 ✭✭✭✭User1998

why put €1400 of tyres on a bangernomics car?

The alloys are also new so he probably just bought a set of alloys that happened to have Pirellis fitted, I doubt he actually spent €1400 on them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,856 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Cheap Megane wagon for someone needing a bit of space:

NCT until October, claimed same owner for the last 7 years and looks tidy:

ZTZhNjI0M2Y3ZWU1NDY3NmRmMWNlMTAzYjE0OGE3ZWFFToFQ2DoboDRzZp3Co05NaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDA3MTI2MjR8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/renault-megane-hatchback-diesel-silver-2009/24058828

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,110 ✭✭✭johndaman66

bazz26 wrote: »
    Mk3 Avensis:

YWE0OGZiYTc4ZTBiYzJiNGUyY2NlNGYyYzMyNTliMWY2CelMu7xsoDrWHHUSiBxZaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDQzOTM5Mzl8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/stunning-09-toyota-avensis-diesel-nct-amptax/24490878

Short test and paintwork is a bit rough but would certainly tick alot of boxes for bangernomics. Mileage could mean it was a taxi at some point.

Seller is mixing up miles and kilometres. Safe to assume there is 201K miles up on it and being a UK import the clock will be in miles. Its probably not absolutely severe either way. My 2011 had 203k KM up on it when I bought it about 10 months ago and that was definitely at the lower end of the of mileage in the median price range at the time for 2010/2011 models.

At this price range scratched paintwork would be the least of my worries and black will show them up badly anyway. Bigger priority would be that the car is mechanically in good shape. What would worry me moreso is that the car is a UK import so a good check underneath for corrosion is a must. Spec is pretty good with it being a TR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,240 ✭✭✭selectamatic

bazz26 wrote: »
    Cheap Megane wagon for someone needing a bit of space:

NCT until October, claimed same owner for the last 7 years and looks tidy:

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/renault-megane-hatchback-diesel-silver-2009/24058828

Same owner since April 14. Looks to be a very genuine car. Great find.