Caroline Flack found dead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Only found out who she was after she died but I read a couple of times that she'd reached out for help but was told by the person she reached out to that she was draining.
    This hit a cord with me because when I was at a low point, I did everything youre supposed to do. Reached out to friends and family who turned their backs, most of them treated me like id killed their dog or something for asking for help, it was horrible. Went to counselors who couldn't offer any help but suggesting mindfulness and breathing, rang the help lines only for the volunteer to repeat all my sentences back to me as to show they were 'listening' I would have gotten more helpful responses from my cat.
    Theres so much in the media telling people with bad mental health to talk to someone but what happens when theres no one willing to listen? Theyre left feeling more alone and isolated and ashamed of themselves for being openly vulnerable and reaching out.
    We could all be a little more kinder and helpful to each other, people are so quick to pick other people apart over unimportant 'flaws' and the level of hate directed towards people they dont like is over the top.
    Some of the most seemingly nicest people can treat other people terribly. If you see it happening, don't involve yourself in the bullying and bitching and maybe even be the bigger person and stand up for people who are been bullied and excluded. It happens in all walks of life.
    Your words and actions can easily save or end someones life.

Hope you are doing ok now. I really liked caroline and am still shocked at her death. At least she is at peace now I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,305 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

It is this simple

If your girlfriend hops a lamp off your head while you sleep you are being abused.
    If call the cops because you feel threatened to the point where you call the cops, you are being abused.
    An abused individual is always vulnerable in and out of that relationship and we know men are far less likely to report abuse.

This incident and the reaction to her tragic death just goes to show how far away we are from accepting that women, just like men, are capable of horrific behaviour in relationships.

The well funded "Industry", that is funded to help people who are abused are clearly not fit for purpose and I'd go so far to say they should be ashamed of themselves.

What we’re really far away from, is saying it’s ok for you to promote an agenda by putting words in a guy’s mouth to support your own viewpoint, completely disregarding his opinion as though he’s somehow incapable of understanding that he’s “a victim”.

Maybe in this instance you could just take his word for it, and provide support to the next person who wants it instead? The ex-boyfriend “reached out” to her current boyfriend on social media, and the boyfriend told him mind his own business. Sometimes people just don’t want “help”, and don’t see themselves as victims.

Was it a healthy relationship? No, seems to have been toxic af, but there really were a pair of them in it, and neither viewed themselves as a victim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

We teach children to be nice and include everyone yet adults are grown up bullies pushing each other to suicide.
    The children who are tormenting other children right now on social media didn't lick it off the stones. There is constant nastiness from adults to adults on social media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Raconteuse wrote: »
    Your comment is what's astounding. You are completely disregarding that she smashed her boyfriend over the head so hard that a police officer said the scene looked like attempted murder. That's the scale it was - police were called.

Is it sociopathic to disregard such an attack?

Who's disregarding the attack? Not me. I'm just not basing my entire opinion of her around it, which is what you're doing. I'm not ignoring the flux of personal anecdotes that people have shared about her, anecdotes which paint a far different picture than the one you're trying to paint, one of which brought a tear to my eye. Was it kind to hit her boyfriend in the head with a lamp? No. Does that make her inherently unkind as a human being? Obviously not. Is she a hypocrite for posting a meme about kindness on Instagram? Again, a big fat f*cking NO. It's such a mean thing to deduce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭the.red.baron

You make a living in the public eye you better be ready for the attention it brings

You crack someone over the head you gotta deal with the consequences

She worked on a show that literally drove people to suicide

Hammer89 wrote: »
    Who's disregarding the attack? Not me. I'm just not basing my entire opinion of her around it, which is what you're doing.
    Well then you didn't read my posts. I don't find it fair when people accuse people of things they haven't done, yet then preach about being nice.

I have said that it's still sad when a 40-year-old kills themselves, that it's unimaginable for her parents; that no matter what, she was a daughter.

I have said that she obviously had mental health issues and even though I don't think the media killed her, they fuelled the fire and many people on social and traditional media can be just vile.

I have criticised jeering at her death here, and the race to go on about how women have it so much better by the usual battle of the sexes crowd (and for that I also got accused of shyte that I didn't say, plus insulted).

But I really don't agree with downplaying the serious assault she inflicted on her partner. Her tragic death shouldn't cause sidelining of it, especially when there are now maniacs blaming him for her death. It's an horrendous time for that man. And it is true that it wouldn't be forgotten about if she were a man and he a woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Lots of hypocrisy on show on Twitter at the moment

https://twitter.com/Chris_Warrior/status/1228782105452257280

Great post and hints at a societal problem we have, we either regulate the internet allot more or we don't give individuals on it as much of a platform.

I'd say governments will go with the former.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭Jenna James

Only found out who she was after she died but I read a couple of times that she'd reached out for help but was told by the person she reached out to that she was draining.
    This hit a cord with me because when I was at a low point, I did everything youre supposed to do. Reached out to friends and family who turned their backs, most of them treated me like id killed their dog or something for asking for help, it was horrible. Went to counselors who couldn't offer any help but suggesting mindfulness and breathing, rang the help lines only for the volunteer to repeat all my sentences back to me as to show they were 'listening' I would have gotten more helpful responses from my cat.
    Theres so much in the media telling people with bad mental health to talk to someone but what happens when theres no one willing to listen? Theyre left feeling more alone and isolated and ashamed of themselves for being openly vulnerable and reaching out.
    We could all be a little more kinder and helpful to each other, people are so quick to pick other people apart over unimportant 'flaws' and the level of hate directed towards people they dont like is over the top.
    Some of the most seemingly nicest people can treat other people terribly. If you see it happening, don't involve yourself in the bullying and bitching and maybe even be the bigger person and stand up for people who are been bullied and excluded. It happens in all walks of life.
    Your words and actions can easily save or end someones life.

You’ve articulated so well exactly how I’ve been feeling about this. I’m at that low point and no one wants to listen. You even made me laugh with your comment about the cat 🙂

I’m not going into blame games here because I’ve no right to comment but I’m desperately upset at this death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 819 ✭✭✭EDit

Genuine question...would it substantially impact a celebrity’s career if they just shut down twitter and Instagram, etc? Maybe I’m showing my age, but surely if you just stayed away from those environments then you can’t be impacted by them... or are they forced into being visible on social media by their management teams?

EDit wrote: »
    Genuine question...would it substantially impact a celebrity’s career if they just shut down twitter and Instagram, etc? Maybe I’m showing my age, but surely if you just stayed away from those environments then you can’t be impacted by them... or are they forced into being visible on social media by their management teams?
    Most people grit their teeth and put up with it, as the social media channels are powerful promotional tools.

They're not good for people with fragile mental health though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Your comment is what's astounding. You are completely disregarding that she smashed her boyfriend over the head so hard that a police officer said the scene looked like attempted murder. That's the scale it was - police were called.

Is it sociopathic to disregard such an attack?

Just to put this into context (those pictures of the bedroom seem to have coloured people's views), Caroline had lacerations to her wrist, which her boyfriend claims was where all (or most of) the blood came from.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-7844537/Caroline-Flacks-stained-sheets-soaked-blood-not-Lewis-Burtons.html

As there was no trial, no evidence presented and no verdict, I think it's important not to paint someone as definitely guilty of something when they have not had their day in court to give their side.

Couples have arguments, people do things in the heat of the moment they wish they could take back. Her boyfriend seems to have forgiven her, yet there is an insistence that she continue to be vilified, even after her death. It's over. She's over. I don't see how raking up the incident which no doubt was a contributing factor in her decision to kill herself helps in any way. I doubt it defined her as a person. Indeed, it would be an awful shame if our final eulogy consisted only of the one worst mistake we ever made during an entire lifetime.

Just to put this into context (those pictures of the bedroom seem to have coloured people's views), Caroline had lacerations to her wrist, which her boyfriend claims was where all (or most of) the blood came from.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-7844537/Caroline-Flacks-stained-sheets-soaked-blood-not-Lewis-Burtons.html

As there was no trial, no evidence presented and no verdict, I think it's important not to paint someone as definitely guilty of something when they have not had their day in court to give their side.

Couples have arguments, people do things in the heat of the moment they wish they could take back. Her boyfriend seems to have forgiven her, yet there is an insistence that she continue to be vilified, even after her death. It's over. She's over. I don't see how raking up the incident which no doubt was a contributing factor in her decision to kill herself helps in any way. I doubt it defined her as a person. Indeed, it would be an awful shame if our final eulogy was the worst mistake we ever made during an entire lifetime.
    Not entirely in disagreement with you but "people do things in the heat of the moment they wish they could take back" is not something I think is appropriate to apply to partner on partner violence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Philip Kind Smokehouse

EDit wrote: »

pr/management teams want them to push whatever they're promoting, whether its music/dvd/movies/products etc and they advise them to have a human touch per se rather than say a generic "buy/watch/listen to x"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭jackboy

If this is true she was self harming before the arrest, getting fired and all the social media stuff. This would point to mental health issues rather than something external causing her issues.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

You’ve articulated so well exactly how I’ve been feeling about this. I’m at that low point and no one wants to listen. You even made me laugh with your comment about the cat ��

I’m not going into blame games here because I’ve no right to comment but I’m desperately upset at this death.

Keep trying. You can be sure there are people who support you and who care about you. I hope you find your way back from it all.

Not entirely in disagreement with you but "people do things in the heat of the moment they wish they could take back" is not something I think is appropriate to apply to partner on partner violence.

Her boyfriend forgave her and she killed herself anyway, possibly out of shame and humiliation as well as a deep depression. Is it not time to ease off on the judgement a bit?

What else should her penance be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭screamer

Any death by suicide is tragic and my sympathies are with her family as she knows no more.

In this case, regardless of what we think of her death, we must also remember the charges laid against her. Guilty or innocent, we will never know but one thing is for sure, no one male or female, celebrity or ordinary should be above the law.

In an unkind world, don’t wish for kindness, be stronger people, and don’t let the bastards break you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭holyhead

First off its sad when a person loses their life. Only heard of her through newspapers. Pleasant looking woman. Never watched Love Island.
    As sad as her passing is it needs to be remembered she was facing a charge of assaulting her boyfriend in quite a violent manner.

There is definitely a societal double standard when it comes to relationship violence. Stan Collymore struck Ulrika Jonsson back in 1998 and has never been allowed to forget it. Clearly he shouldn't have struck her. Nor should Caroline Flack have physically attacked her boyfriend. Her tragic passing doesn't negate the fact that she was violent towards her partner.

Women friends on Facebook are posting RIP Caroline etc and how we must be kind to people with mental health issues. Not one mention about how she was violent towards her boyfriend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,305 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Her boyfriend forgave her and she killed herself anyway, possibly out of shame and humiliation as well as a deep depression. Is it not time to ease off on the judgement a bit?

What else should her penance be?

To be henceforth brought up as an example of a counter-argument in the gender wars along with the Jackson 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,368 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

silver2020 wrote: »
    Large retailers have the power to bring the tabloids to book.

If Tesco, Sainsbury & Asda decided to suspend sales of The Sun or The Mail for a period of 3 months, you'd find that they would very quickly change their ways.

Retailers made a lot on Newspapers, they don't sell them as a favour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭Ladybird18

Just curious why are Paddy Jackson and Caroline Flack being equated?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 362 ✭✭Die Hard 2019

Ladybird18 wrote: »

Both treated badly by the media. Paddy had a threesome and was advised of rape and Caroline had some light lamp play and was accused of assault. I suppose people feel that what happens in the bedroom is private.

Because the "If it were a man" crowd are out in force. Ironically, the detractors of those who were judging Paddy Jackson before, during and after his trial are quite happy to judge this lady in the same manner, even though she never had a chance to present her defence in court as Jackson did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭Ladybird18

Because the "If it were a man" crowd are out in force. Ironically, the detractors of those who were judging Paddy Jackson before, during and after his trial are quite happy to judge this lady in the same manner, even though she never had a chance to present her defence in court as Jackson did.

Yeah and despite what the courts decided my opinion on Paddy Jackson differs.
    Its just why accusations of rape and domestic violence were interlinked I suppose I found bewildering.
    And also how they were linked. Like one ended in suicide. Why link the two cases?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Vivienne23

I was shocked to hear of Caroline’s death , it has crossed my mind a few times throughout the day always thought she was bubbly and fun and came across well

I suppose the more I thought about her situation in life I can see why she did what she did , everything must have seemed so f**ked up to her , the world against you in reality and in your head , And being honest if I was put in her shoes and go through what she went through including the lamp incident I’d probably do the same thing , we all make mistakes but we don’t have to live through them publicly the celebrity life must be horrific

Humans are a fragile being even if we pretend not to be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,089 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Yeah and despite what the courts decided my opinion on Paddy Jackson differs.
    Its just why accusations of rape and domestic violence were interlinked I suppose I found bewildering.
    And also how they were linked. Like one ended in suicide. Why link the two cases?

I think its more the trial by media aspect, that in Flack's case didn't get as far as court proceedings. And the social media abuse they suffered, not to mention the effect it had on their respective careers. Jackson won't ever get work in Ireland again for example. Flack left on her own accord, albeit pressurised to do so more than likely.

Commonalities can be made to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,940 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

I know Laura Whitmore said something on her radio show on the BBC today and I’d heard a clip of it so I’m listening to her full remarks at the moment and fair play to her. I know we’ve been saying about words and actions a lot but fair play to her for saying what she said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

This will probably be an unpopular opinion, but frankly she reminds me of that asshole who murdered Clodagh Hawe and her children.

I honestly think that she killed herself because she couldn't handle the fact that she knew what the outcome of the trial would be. Police who attended the alleged assault of her boyfriend said that the place looked like a horror movie with the blood. Caroline flipped over a table and had to be physically restrained by police. Police bodycam footage was to be used at the trial. She knew what it would show, and I think she knew that she would go down for it and couldn't cope. The CPS doesn't proceed with prosecutions against the wishes of the victim unless they have enough evidence to be confident of a conviction. Her ex boyfriend has said that she was abusive in their relationship also.

'She seemed like a lovely, warm, bubbly person'. Yes, that may be what she seemed like, but it appears that in actuality she was the type of person who would try to cave in someone's head with a lamp while they slept.

'You can't judge her by one event'. Sorry, but when someone tries to cave in someone's head with a lamp while they sleep, I feel pretty justified in judging them. Something similar actually happened to a friend of mine in college; she was asleep in bed when her boyfriend came home after a night out with a group of friends. One of the girls went into the bedroom and, for whatever reason, punched the sleeping woman in the face and broke her nose. You know what happened the assaulter after that? I have no idea, because after she was reported to the Gardai we never went near her again because she was the type of psycho who would attack someone in their sleep.

Maybe Caroline Flack had mental issues, but it's not like she couldn't afford help if she wanted it. I'm sorry for her family that they have lost their daughter, but I find it very hard to have any sympathy for the woman herself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 567 ✭✭✭tillyfilly

kylith wrote: »
    This will probably be an unpopular opinion, but frankly she reminds me of that asshole who murdered Clodagh Hawe and her children.

I honestly think that she killed herself because she couldn't handle the fact that she knew what the outcome of the trial would be. Police who attended the alleged assault of her boyfriend said that the place looked like a horror movie with the blood. Caroline flipped over a table and had to be physically restrained by police. Police bodycam footage was to be used at the trial. She knew what it would show, and I think she knew that she would go down for it and couldn't cope. The CPS doesn't proceed with prosecutions against the wishes of the victim unless they have enough evidence to be confident of a conviction. Her ex boyfriend has said that she was abusive in their relationship also.

'She seemed like a lovely, warm, bubbly person'. Yes, that may be what she seemed like, but it appears that in actuality she was the type of person who would try to cave in someone's head with a lamp while they slept.

'You can't judge her by one event'. Sorry, but when someone tries to cave in someone's head with a lamp while they sleep, I feel pretty justified in judging them. Something similar actually happened to a friend of mine in college; she was asleep in bed when her boyfriend came home after a night out with a group of friends. One of the girls went into the bedroom and, for whatever reason, punched the sleeping woman in the face and broke her nose. You know what happened the assaulter after that? I have no idea, because after she was reported to the Gardai we never went near her again because she was the type of psycho who would attack someone in their sleep.

Maybe Caroline Flack had mental issues, but it's not like she couldn't afford help if she wanted it. I'm sorry for her family that they have lost their daughter, but I find it very hard to have any sympathy for the woman herself.
    Yes i think she killed herself to get revenge on the CPS, she presumed people would be making all kinds of tributes to her, whereas if she waited until she was convicted the tributes would be a lot less, it's a sign of her illness

kylith wrote: »

Oh FFS.