Caroline Flack found dead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,769 ✭✭✭Tork

If this article from the Metro is true (https://metro.co.uk/2019/12/23/caroline-flack-hit-boyfriend-lamp-lewis-burton-tells-police-tried-kill-11952182/amp/), the CPS was right to proceed with charges. They're not the bad guy here, no matter what the fans say now. The abuse Lewis Burton is getting online now is sickening and I hope he is being protected. He was right to pick up the phone and dial 999 when he was attacked. As is any person who is being assaulted. His behaviour afterwards is typical of a lot of victims of domestic violence - I think that point has been missed by some. He tried to stop the charges being pressed and to pretend everything was OK.

To make the point for those who don't get it, I know someone who used to work as a bouncer in a nightclub. One night, a man beat his OH so badly in the club, she ended up in A&E. She was willing to press charges on the night but the next day she had changed her mind and it was all a misunderstanding. The incident with the lamp might not be as stark as this but it is continuing the pattern. Unless Caroline Flack was getting proper help for her violent tendencies, Lewis was likely to get a few more shlaps. Her relationship with her ex seems to have been more of the same too. At least he got away https://www.mirror.co.uk/3am/celebrity-news/caroline-flacks-ex-andrew-brady-21151062

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,202 ✭✭✭✭anewme

This is all irrelevant...the point here is that these celebs KNOW they are beholden to the media and sign up for it.

It's not irrelevant. The media twist things to suit themselves and play God with people.

Someone did a comparison between how they pitched Kate Middleton vs. Meghan Markle. They have completely tried to trash Meghan. Piers Morgan has bullied her relentlessly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,016 ✭✭✭✭volchitsa

Yes, essentially.

And not only that but you would have people hound you and harass you for not doing enough about child sexual abuse, and they’d have your full details too.

So that’s why your whole removal of anonymity thing wouldn’t make a difference - the victims who would want to protect their identity couldn’t, and everyone would be at the mercy of the online mob.

Nobody would share your altruism, basically.

Nah, you're moving the goalposts here again, you told me it was up to me to do something personally before I suggested anonymity - not becausee I think it's a sufficient solution on its own, but just to show the sort of thing that could be done but that an individual can't do.

IOW to show that it's not up to an individual to take action about everything they might wish to comment on here.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

Tork wrote: »
    If this article from the Metro is true (https://metro.co.uk/2019/12/23/caroline-flack-hit-boyfriend-lamp-lewis-burton-tells-police-tried-kill-11952182/amp/), the CPS was right to proceed with charges. They're not the bad guy here, no matter what the fans say now. The abuse Lewis Burton is getting online now is sickening and I hope he is being protected. He was right to pick up the phone and dial 999 when he was attacked. As is any person who is being assaulted. His behaviour afterwards is typical of a lot of victims of domestic violence - I think that point has been missed by some. He tried to stop the charges being pressed and to pretend everything was OK.

To make the point for those who don't get it, I know someone who used to work as a bouncer in a nightclub. One night, a man beat his OH so badly in the club, she ended up in A&E. She was willing to press charges on the night but the next day she had changed her mind and it was all a misunderstanding. The incident with the lamp might not be as stark as this but it is continuing the pattern. Unless Caroline Flack was getting proper help for her violent tendencies, Lewis was likely to get a few more shlaps. Her relationship with her ex seems to have been more of the same too. At least he got away https://www.mirror.co.uk/3am/celebrity-news/caroline-flacks-ex-andrew-brady-21151062

I read the Metro link and it says he was hit with a lamp. But further down it quotes an instagram post from him which says she didnt hit him with a lamp.

His instagram post yesterday says he'll get to the bottom of it by asking the questions she couldnt.

What does that all mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,306 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

volchitsa wrote: »
    Nah, you're moving the goalposts here again, you told me it was up to me to do something personally before I suggested anonymity - not becausee I think it's a sufficient solution on its own, but just to show the sort of thing that could be done but that an individual can't do.

IOW to show that it's not up to an individual to take action about everything they might wish to comment on here.

Yeah, I asked you what you were going to do about it, and pointed out that in reality you were going to do nothing.

You’re calling on something to be done about a problem that you have identified, and I asked you what do you intend to do about circumstances where you don’t see there’s a problem, but another person does? Again, you’re not going to do anything.

My point is that it’s absolutely up to individuals to take responsibility for their own attitudes and behaviours towards others and to be conscious of the effects of their actions on others. You didn’t see any issue with the way Graham Linehan carries on, but you don’t like the way he’s being attacked on social media. Other people feel differently. Of course people are inclined to take it personally when they feel their identity is being attacked.

Victims of domestic abuse are known to lie afterwards in order to stop the train of events their initial complaint triggered. No more than the woman in the nightclub who had the crap beaten out of her (with witnesses).

This isn’t just to do though with protecting the abuser, more often it’s simply to protect themselves from any further humiliation.

I read the Metro link and it says he was hit with a lamp. But further down it quotes an instagram post from him which says she didnt hit him with a lamp.

His instagram post yesterday says he'll get to the bottom of it by asking the questions she couldnt.

What does that all mean?

He’s waiting for the highest bidder among the tabloids for exclusive rights to “his side” of the story...

This isn’t just to do though with protecting the abuser, more often it’s simply to protect themselves from any further humiliation.

True. That "lamp" Valentine's card in The Sun trivialised the assault too. Piss off Caroline and she'll beat you over the head with a lamp. Ha ha ha.

Yeah I’m honestly not getting what that “artist” thought he was at with a Valentines card making light of the whole thing. It’s no wonder he shut down his social media accounts, he knew the backlash would come hard when people didn’t find it as funny as he did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭marieholmfan

banie01 wrote: »
    But as far as Piers is concerned...
    They're brown, and a bit uppity so it's ok.

Just to be clear, he is a gigantic wanker and funnily enough one of the creators and enablers of tabloid culture.
    From his involvement in the S*n early in his career thru to phone hacking.
    He is a dick!
    total rubbish Piers Morgan fought for the rights of Iraqis tortured by the British .

He is a hero.

Your wicked comments could drive him to suicide!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,940 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

I find it amazing that the CPS and the prosecutors of her case are getting blamed for this. I mean are the CPS and the police meant to not try cases that they investigate if the evidence rises to the level ? I know people online are talking about respecting people and that's grand but they need to mean it. This trial by social media and cancelculture and guilty until proven innocent needs to ****ing stop. I'd also not be gutted if love Island went the way of Jeremy Kyle and "reality" TV went away because it's not helpful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

anewme wrote: »
    It's not irrelevant. The media twist things to suit themselves and play God with people.

Someone did a comparison between how they pitched Kate Middleton vs. Meghan Markle. They have completely tried to trash Meghan. Piers Morgan has bullied her relentlessly.

And just for arguments sake, what if piers morgan were to then take his own life on the back of the abuse he takes? Where does that stop?
    It is a complex set of issues. Do the press have a place in society? Yes. Is morgan correct in what he has said re markle? To a certain extent, yes, I would say so. Do the media overdo it? Most of the time yes.
    Ask yourself why do they do that though? Because people love reading it. That is the thing with media, they are giving the people what they want.

The same ones that are crowing about the girl on social media now, read every article about her. Many threw a few tweets and memes in the direction of the topic also. In reality, they dont have a leg to stand on. They just seem to want to latch on to the winning side of the argument. What is being said seems to be secondary

Famous folk who are now falling over each other to write the best tribute and be the most upset about it, were nowhere to be found when she actually needed help.

In reality, if any of the above had any bit of awareness, they would have shut up on social media.

Media, be it social or print, is a dark place at present. People's wage is tied to how many clicks their articles get. It becomes about titillation and trickery at that point.
    While social media is overrun with the same kind of pack mentality that makes grown men think football violence is ok. It is a slippery slope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭Millicently

But no one is a saint. Everyone makes mistakes. In this case even the victim in question didn't want it going any further.
    Maybe I feel for her because I put myself in her shoes and wonder what made her do what she done to him. There was rumours of cheating on his behalf. I remember myself when I woke up during the night and found out my abusive ex was cheating I picked up the first think I could find (a book I think) a threw it. Obviously different cases but no one only me knows what happened there and no one only Caroline knows what happened in her case. However, the constant scrutiny and humiliation she must of felt was not fair.
    I actually haven't been able to sleep tonight thinking of her. The whole cancel culture thing that goes on disgusts me.
    So you are saying that if he cheated on her it's fine for her to assault him while he slept? If someone cheats then you leave them, you don't pick up a lamp and smash it on their head while they sleep. There is no justifying what she did. Of course he didn't want to press charges, most victims don't which is why there have been changes to the law over the years because of pressure put on victims not to press charges. This isn't an isolated incident for her, she's got form for it.

total rubbish Piers Morgan fought for the rights of Iraqis tortured by the British .

He is a hero.

Your wicked comments could drive him to suicide!

It was pretty funny and hopefully he will get some work out of it.

Ayyyye :rolleyes:

Whilst I agree that the media are generally lying sneaky vermin, I can't find any tangible evidence of how they hounded her. They reported the assault story, then showed a few pics of her flying away on a needed holiday. They do this with every single celeb so don't see how it is 'hounding her to her grave.

If anything her family seem to blame the CPS not the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Hego Damask

Jaysus lovely lookin dolly bird, what the hell would she be wantin to kill herself for!!??

Tragic

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,015 ✭✭✭Feisar

ted1 wrote: »
    Makes you realise that Harry Susessx and his wife did the correct thing getting away from them.

Was only saying the same to my wife last night when this news broke

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Seems the spotlight has fallen on Lewis now. Do people ever learn? He's in a vulnerable position too. I hope everyone respects his privacy and leaves him alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I see David Walliams is being abused now for a joke he made about her while presenting the NTA’s. Abuse from people who clearly don’t get the irony of what they’re pontificating. One person told him he has blood on his hands? Sorry but something about this whole situation just isn’t sitting right with me. It is entirely possible to be sad that she took her life, while still seeing the situation for what it was. Right now the internet is awash with self serving idiots using this girl’s death for their own gain, it’s unsettling. If she was being trolled and abused of course that is appalling, but from my eyes a lot of the criticism Caroline received was born out of the reports of what happened that night. A lot of people seem to be forgetting that very pertinent point.

I see a lot of people posting a quote of Caroline’s which reads “in a world where you can anything, be kind”. This is true of course but it’s like people now want carte Blanche to be able to do what they want and not be challenged on it? Yes of course be kind but also be inquisitive, be critical and be curious. This is not a black and white situation and people are treating it as such. It’s incredibly sad and tragic and overall it’s just a shame she didn’t see this time in her life through, because she would have recovered from it. You are more than the terrible time you are going through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,795 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

What did David walliams say

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

I see David Walliams is being abused now for a joke he made about her while presenting the NTA’s. Abuse from people who clearly don’t get the irony of what they’re pontificating. One person told him he has blood on his hands? Sorry but something about this whole situation just isn’t sitting right with me. It is entirely possible to be sad that she took her life, while still seeing the situation for what it was. Right now the internet is awash with self serving idiots using this girl’s death for their own gain, it’s unsettling. If she was being trolled and abused of course that is appalling, but from my eyes a lot of the criticism Caroline received was born out of the reports of what happened that night. A lot of people seem to be forgetting that very pertinent point.

I see a lot of people posting a quote of Caroline’s which reads “in a world where you can anything, be kind”. This is true of course but it’s like people now want carte Blanche to be able to do what they want and not be challenged on it? Yes of course be kind but also be inquisitive, be critical and be curious. This is not a black and white situation and people are treating it as such. It’s incredibly sad and tragic and overall it’s just a shame she didn’t see this time in her life through, because she would have recovered from it. You are more than the terrible time you are going through.

David Walliams joke was a cheap unnecessary shot.

Not at all suggesting he has blood on his hands, but when I heard the news yesterday David Walliams and his joke came into my head straight away.

The crew from The Masked Singer were on the stage, with the contestant dressed as Hedgehog. Walliams said re Hedgehog, something like...good to see Caroline Flack back on tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,202 ✭✭✭✭anewme

He was hosting the NTA awards and someone was dressed up as the Hedgehog off the masked singer and he said something like " great to see Caroline Flack back on TV"

Not at all suggesting he has blood on his hands, but when I heard the news yesterday David Walliams and his joke came into my head straight away.

Ah here it was only a joke. I am sure he wouldn't have done it if he thought it would contribute to death.

As for being kind, does that include whacking someone over the head with a lamp while they sleep? And having a track record of doing the same thing in a previous relationship?

anewme wrote: »
    He was hosting the NTA awards and someone was dressed up as the Hedgehog off the masked singer and he said something like " great to see Caroline Flack back on TV"

That is very harmless in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I didn’t even hear the joke but cheap shot or not, he had no part at all in what happened to her. He had the misfortune of being the barer of an unfunny joke that wouldn’t age well. It’s not fair that he’s now receiving abuse and vilification from the very mob who are criticising Caroline’s vilification.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

So she ‘allegedly’ attacked her b/f in his sleep with a lamp, the photos of the ‘alleged’ crime scene were horrific. The cops on the scene said that the crime scene was horrific, they also said that the guy had received a significant head injury.

She could have killed him.

Yet you have some posters victim blaming suggesting that he was asking for it, and others calling her ‘flawed’. ‘Flawed’, ffs.

No doubt it’s the same crowd that would be screaming #ibelieveher.

She courted the media to the last, they built her up and kept her in the spotlight. When she ‘allegedly’ attacked her b/f, they turned on her. She was the author of her own misfortune.

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Like Paddy Jackson she should be considered innocent until proven guilty.

Should have been, wasn’t.

Even after he was found innocent you had the #ibelieveher crowd not accept the decision of the courts. He was hounded of Ireland, and his career almost ruined.

She admitted attacking him on the night, he made the 999 call and said that she attacked him. There was nobody else in the room.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Should have been, wasn’t.

Even after he was found innocent you had the #ibelieveher crowd not accept the decision of the courts. He was hounded of Ireland, and his career almost ruined.

She admitted attacking him on the night, he made the 999 call and said that she attacked him. There was nobody else in the room.

Unless you subscribe to the theory that he's a psychopath who was abusing her and made it all up.