Caroline Flack found dead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

I read a link stating this is the third suicide connected with the show...don't know how true it is.

Two previous contestants have died by suicide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,267 ✭✭✭Sandor Clegane

I personally never watched it, I only know it's a dating show of some sort, is it particularly degrading, toxic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,368 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

I personally never watched it, I only know it's a dating show of some sort, is it particularly degrading, toxic?

From what I know they take some emotionally fragile women who are trying to looking like the ''model'' on the front of Cosmopolitan Magazine and put them with a group of men who are absolute players, then they stand back and watch the obvious drama take place, and then the show stirs the pot to make it even worse at every opportunity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

She also led a very similar lifestyle to the 45yo Tara Palmer-Tomkinson, string of celeb boyfriends (and royal connections).
    Both had nervous/wired energy and even voilent outbursts. Perhaps, also some white powder habits.

The big question would be if they both choose to step out of the limelight, and become
    e.g. anonymous self-sufficent rural smallholders, raising a family, with not a smartphone in sight,
    would they both be:

i) Satisfied, or more satisfied?
    ii) Alive, and well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,060 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Rest in Peace Caroline.

She had an extremely busy television and radio career and had to always put the best foot forward for the public.
    Privately she seems to have had a very strange life. Her relationship with Harry Styles with him 17 and she 31 being one.
    And now this with her last boyfriend and her 40 and he 27. She had preferences.

Poor woman. Your health is your wealth.
    And being alone is not the worst thing to happen anyone. It's actually a blessing for most.
    May you find peace and contentment at last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭DavidLyons_

She also led a very similar lifestyle to the 45yo Tara Palmer-Tomkinson, string of celeb boyfriends (and royal connections).
    Both had nervous/wired energy and even voilent outbursts. Perhaps, also some white powder habits.

The big question would be if they both choose to step out of the limelight, and become
    e.g. anonymous self-sufficent rural smallholders, raising a family, with not a smartphone in sight,
    would they both be:

i) Satisfied, or more satisfied?
    ii) Alive, and well?

It’s always tragic that a person (no matter their questionable character) should take their own life.

Would it be too much to hope that such events be a catalyst for people to reject the current proclivity for the vacuous, vapid, inane sh1te they are drawn too and lose the propensity to witch-hunt online anything that they think gives them some sort of online leverage on folk?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

It’s always tragic that a person (no matter their questionable character) should take their own life.

Would it be too much to hope that such events be a catalyst for people to reject the current proclivity for the vacuous, vapid, inane sh1te they are drawn to and lose the propensity to witch-hunt online anything that they think gives them some sort of online leverage on folk?

They seem to get stuck on Maslow's 3rd step, (need for social approval) without making the next two steps. Possibly there is some parental or family responsibility here if they're locked in some insecure cycle.

Saying that it can be very difficult for immature teenagers with peer-pressure and the process of self-discovery. Even then you can meet teenagers with a maturity beyond many adults.

But any worldly 40/45yr - they should really be well on the way to self-actualisation, questioning the meaning of life: with millions in the bank, and endless possibilities these two examples had the opportunity to do absoloutley anything, anywhere, at anytime yet choose this, impossible to comprehend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Very sad outcome I hope she rests in peace. And with any luck, this current toxic and extremely damaging trend of having to be loved and validated by innumerable strangers on the internet will start to move aside in favour of more authentic, face to face friendships or even conversations with other human beings. Putting your life out there on social media always shows the darker side of human nature, and is absolutely no good for mental health. Now the likes of narcissists like Vogue Williams and the Kardashians love this kind of life, its in their blood, so any attention, positive or negative, gives them a reason to live.

Poor Caroline probably didn't prepare for any negative side to her fame. Who on earth knows another persons heart. Sad news, condolences for the family. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I think the lady herself said it best: "in a world where you can be anything, be kind"

RIP Caroline

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,167 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Its all from the Daily Mail, the Mirror and The Sun.
    Doesn't mean its not true. I didn't hear of her taking a defamation or whatever it is case against the ex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,202 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I believe the media has a role to play here. They play God with the way they pitch things.

I really hope someone is looking after Lewis and keeping him safe too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,991 ✭✭✭mikeym

R.I.P Caroline Flack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

Love Island is supposed to be on vm1 now but it's not, was it pulled?

Update: I googled yea it's cancelled tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,289 ✭✭✭jackboy

How does this programme actually provide a causation for the suicides?

Above all shows it emphasizes how people’s worth depends on appearances only. Any physical or mental flaw means that you are a worthless human being. It’s too high a bar for many people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Ant McPartland - although a different crime- seems to have got a lot of support.

Ant McParland was done for drink driving. Went to court, found guilty, put off the roads, apologised for his actions, went to rehab, tried to go clean. All the while he was stood down from any TV work. All played out in the media too. What extra support did he get?
    He didn't batter his partner over the head with a lamp as she slept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

whats this?

Apparantly, David Walliams made a joke at her expense whilst hosting the recent National Television Awards which the attending crowd didn't take too kindly to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,167 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Being physically abusive to a partner is not a flaw.

I doubt many here would not be so sympathetic if it was a family member that was getting the cr*p beaten out of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,371 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Flacks management criticising her trial for show

http://news.sky.com/story/caroline-flacks-management-criticise-show-trial-of-vulnerable-star-11935319

By all accounts she was a bit of a bunny boiler in private. It's not often a guy rings the police about the police because he is being attacked by his partner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Italix

What she did was horrendous and she certainly deserved to be punished for it.
    Utterly tragic she took her live, rest in peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 ollym1

It’s very sad that a 40 year old has lost their life, however I disagree with people on here (and in their droves on Twitter) blaming the press for “bullying” her. She did something horrific, and it was widely reported. It wasn’t a “minor indiscretion”; she viciously attacked her partner. It’s a huge shame that she couldn’t see any other way out but I disagree that the press should be blamed.

And as much as I hate to say it, I do think if genders were reversed the reaction would be different.

That's rubbish: Ant Mc Partlin was charged with drunk driving after being involved in a collision with a mini with a 4 year old child inside it along with hitting another car as well.
    He went to rehab, won best presenter that year (even though he hadn't presented) and was allowed to do his job again once the circus died down. So don't give me that bull about inequality to men.

Go back over the articles in the Daily Mail for example since before she even had this incident with the lamp and each one goes into her entire history of dating younger guys.
    Theres famous men all over the industry dating women who could be their grand children and they never get grief in the media.

When she did get into trouble the papers went to town on her. Her death is the result of bullying by the media. All the comments sections in the DM are geared towards whatever the papers want you to believe, the comments are filtered.
    Today in the DM every comment is saying nothing but praise about her, before that it was nothing but hate.

razorblunt wrote: »
    She was shockingly bad at that, I think that might have been where her career started to take a dip.
    She was bag of nerves on that, they made the mess up with the verdict one week and she got worse as it went on.

She was shocking really, is this why she hasn't been out of work since hosting it?
    She was very talented, she won Strictly Come Dancing as a non professional dancer and she also worked on the West End in Chicago. She was extremely talented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭alroley

homingbird wrote: »
    Love Island has no future now thank god for that i cant see how they can continue after this.

She wasn't even part of it anymore. Is every business closed down when a former employee passes away?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

Nerdlingr wrote: »
    Ant McParland was done for drink driving. Went to court, found guilty, put off the roads, apologised for his actions, went to rehab, tried to go clean. All the while he was stood down from any TV work. All played out in the media too. What extra support did he get?

I didnt say he got extra support? I replied to a post that asked if it were a man in Caroline Flack's shoes would he have got the support she did. I said Ant McParland although the crimes were different, seemed to have got a lot of support.

• Site Banned Posts: 221 ✭✭SAM SO NITE

My thoughts

I remember her from when she was giving young Harry Styles a jangle. Fair play to him I thought at the time.

Im male and now 36 years old so she fell off my radar post x-factor fame (I only caught glimpses of that show if mammy or the then missus was watching it).

We live in an age of cutting down tall poppies and we love a witch hunt. I suppose it makes some people feel better about themselves if they see others get their comeuppance. Heck the Germans even have a word for it "schadenfreude".

The allegations against her were serious and if true deserved robust sanction , and I do agree with the contention that if the same was levelled against a man they would not get the same posthumous sympathy.

The media certainly do have a role to play......why are the sun now deleting "nasty" articles about her. Look on twitter to see people calling the tabloids out on it. If the media had nothing to hide they would leave their "reportage" there on their website for all to see.

I do think in spite of what some posters have said , that NOW IS the time to talk about media biases, gender biases and any/all perceived inadequacies or slights that we feel this tragic incident evokes. Because its topical and emotive now....you have to strike while the tragic iron is hot. I see a change.org petition against the tabloids is already in full swing my own opinion withstanding.

Accused rapers such as Paddy Jackson and accused assaulters such as Caroline should be innocent until proven guilty and should have anonymity until found guilty also.

And sure haven't we forgotten about Kobe already because we have already moved on to the next thing.

We need to get out more, hike , walk, play sport, read , engage with people. Michael D said it on Tommy Tiernan the other night " we need to touch each other more". We are empty vessels who worship these vacuous walking dollar signs.

Ricky Gervais character in extras lampooned this whole phenomenon ten+ years ago. Its getting worse . There are a generation of now voting age who have never lived in an era sans social media ,smart phones and reality tv.

At least I am lucky enough to remember what it used to be like.

3 deaths related to a ****ing reality show. Get a grip people.

A tragic event , lessons to be learned both by the 4th estate and to varying extents ourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Italix wrote: »
    What she did was horrendous and she certainly deserved to be punished for it.
    Utterly tragic she took her live, rest in peace.

She fcuked up. Got in a bit of a barney. Clocked yer man with a lamp. Not good but she was hardly a serial killer.

She would have been punished and then would have been able to move on and resurrect her career and her personal life. There was no need for her to go and do what she did.

Pity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,804 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

I see the s*n 'newspaper' had attacked her in an article yesterday.

Something to do with her not supporting some mental health campaign they were promoting apparently. What hypocrisy.

Those odious b@stards have an awful lot to answer for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

Nerdlingr wrote: »

He was a hair from killing multiple people, he crashed into two cars drink driving and it would be head on if the other driver didn't react in time.
    He deserved the book thrown at him and so did Flack, up to and including jail time. Not to be mocked, followed or bullied though. I don't remember his tabloid headlines, were they as toxic as Flack's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,202 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I watched the Michael Barrymore documentary during the week and the most shocking aspect was the media pitch.

When they wanted Barrymore to be hated, they turned that switch and when they wanted sympathy for him, they turned that switch.

Their behaviour during that case was despicable.

Nowhere, were they interested in the truth.

It's the same here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,478 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

A tragic event , lessons to be learned both by the 4th estate and to varying extents ourselves.

a nice thought, but it's not going to happen. the world will keep turning as it is, everything changes but everything remains the same

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 ollym1

My thoughts

I remember her from when she was giving young Harry Styles a jangle. Fair play to him I thought at the time.

Im male and now 36 years old so she fell off my radar post x-factor fame (I only caught glimpses of that show if mammy or the then missus was watching it).

We live in an age of cutting down tall poppies and we love a witch hunt. I suppose it makes some people feel better about themselves if they see others get their comeuppance. Heck the Germans even have a word for it "schadenfreude".

The allegations against her were serious and if true deserved robust sanction , and I do agree with the contention that if the same was levelled against a man they would not get the same posthumous sympathy.

The media certainly do have a role to play......why are the sun now deleting "nasty" articles about her. Look on twitter to see people calling the tabloids out on it. If the media had nothing to hide they would leave their "reportage" there on their website for all to see.

I do think in spite of what some posters have said , that NOW IS the time to talk about media biases, gender biases and any/all perceived inadequacies or slights that we feel this tragic incident evokes. Because its topical and emotive now....you have to strike while the tragic iron is hot. I see a change.org petition against the tabloids is already in full swing my own opinion withstanding.

Accused rapers such as Paddy Jackson and accused assaulters such as Caroline should be innocent until proven guilty and should have anonymity until found guilty also.

And sure haven't we forgotten about Kobe already because we have already moved on to the next thing.

We need to get out more, hike , walk, play sport, read , engage with people. Michael D said it on Tommy Tiernan the other night " we need to touch each other more". We are empty vessels who worship these vacuous walking dollar signs.

Ricky Gervais character in extras lampooned this whole phenomenon ten+ years ago. Its getting worse . There are a generation of now voting age who have never lived in an era sans social media ,smart phones and reality tv.

At least I am lucky enough to remember what it used to be like.

3 deaths related to a ****ing reality show. Get a grip people.

I disagree with you about the inequality to men as I posted above about Ant Mc Partlin getting off scot free in his job for something just as serious.

Agreed about the media though, it needs some regulations put down and a complete overhaul in its opinion of women. The way they have bullied Megan Markle out of the country is disgraceful, blaming her for the actions of her 35 year old husband and anything else that's gone wrong for the royals in the past few years.
    I don't actually know how she hasn't had a breakdown.