The worst kid's name you've ever heard?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 784 ✭✭✭LaFuton

some people are idiots.
    they attract and breed with other idiots.
    poor idiot children left in the wake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,410 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Blazer wrote: »
    in MacDonald's the other day and this one calling your 3 year old "Alexa"..
    ffs.

What is wrong with Alexa ? The female version of Alexander ? I think its beautiful and used widely in Europe especially Greece

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,963 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    What is wrong with Alexa ? The female version of Alexander ? I think its beautiful and used widely in Europe especially Greece

Yeah, presumably the McDonalds being referred to was in Ireland, not on the way to the Acropolis. The fact a name is popular *somewhere* doesn't stop it bring rare as ****, and thus worthy of light hearted derision on an internet discussion board in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,410 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Yeah, presumably the McDonalds being referred to was in Ireland, not on the way to the Acropolis. The fact a name is popular *somewhere* doesn't stop it bring rare as ****, and thus worthy of light hearted derision on an internet discussion board in Ireland.

So ? Alexa is widely used as is Alex here

Took about 30 seconds in the CSO website to prove that that's not true at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

What is wrong with Alexa

Serious?! Everytime I say it some device wakes up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭handlemaster

Anything with junior in it.

Or generally the JP , PJ , AJ etc

Anything with junior in it.

Or generally the JP , PJ , AJ etc

I used to get called john junior! On campfire lit nights, in the midlands as a toddler. Surrounded by caravans :confused: hang on....

Bobblehats wrote: »
    I used to get called john junior! On campfire lit nights, in the midlands as a toddler. Surrounded by caravans :confused: hang on....

Could have been worse imagine if your first name began with a B

Hate to shatter my illusion but I'm a jonjo

From a great line of jonjo's?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

LaFuton wrote: »
    some people are idiots.
    they attract and breed with other idiots.
    poor idiot children left in the wake.

Go back to what I said about sorting CV's.
    Then you add in Machine Learning, those names are never going to make it to the top of the pile and will be dumped in the bin before they are read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

Oh God ... just saw on Facebook a little boy called Basil, and his sister called Sage! Neither are that awful on their own, but together ... what's next I wonder, are they going to fill an entire spice rack! :D

... what's next I wonder, are they going to fill an entire spice rack! :D

Next child is "Cinnamon"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,064 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Go back to what I said about sorting CV's.
    Then you add in Machine Learning, those names are never going to make it to the top of the pile and will be dumped in the bin before they are read.

What makes you think they'll be looking for jobs in the first place...?

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

What makes you think they'll be looking for jobs in the first place...?

Once SeeTec get their claws into ye..... they will find you a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Oh God ... just saw on Facebook a little boy called Basil, and his sister called Sage! Neither are that awful on their own, but together ... what's next I wonder, are they going to fill an entire spice rack! :D

I know the family.
    Herb and Rosemary are good parents in fairness.
    They've all the thyme in the world for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Heard a man call after his kids today in Rathfarnham 'Gilbert! Alpha!' and I chuckled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭Shady Grady

A kid at my daughter's school and her name is Peace.That is no lie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

I admit that I did consider Pax (Latin for peace) as a second name for my first born as he was born the day the IRA called their ceasefire.

Witchie wrote: »
    I admit that I did consider Pax (Latin for peace) as a second name for my first born as he was born the day the IRA called their ceasefire.

How embarrassing.

I was high on gas and air at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

The brother is Quiet.

"Fer fooks sake, will yiz give me some Peace and Quiet!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,281 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

If you had a daughter, you could have used the Greek for peace, Irene. Even sounds similar to IRA! :pac:

I was high on gas and air at the time.

And your the dad

What's with everyone assuming I'm a bloke? Jeez!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Carrie6OD

Kid in my son’s swimming class called Lollipop. Lolly for short

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,064 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

She'll be popular with the lads when she gets a bit older

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

There was a guy in my class at school First name Billy Second name Birchmans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭happyday

How embarrassing.

I knew a dog called Pax. Just saying...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,172 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

She'll be popular with the lads when she gets a bit older

Wtf was that. ? :)