Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

First Dates Ireland *read first post*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 872 ✭✭✭martyoo

Loved when your man was telling his date about his video rental business and the lad opposite remembered him from delivering the videos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,836 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Only watching it now that Barry John fella....what a tosser...total tart...and er not that fit..34 he might need to grow up.
    Also why is he walking like he has crapped his pants?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

He really has the "I'm going to leave your dismembered body in the Wicklow mountains" approach perfected
    That twitter post is astounding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,611 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

gmisk wrote: »
    Also why is he walking like he has crapped his pants?!

Probably residual pain from being up his own arse the whole time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,048 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

That was on ok show. The latvian girl was lovely and deserves far better than someone who call your breast's whippies. What an idiot. I find the twins boring. The last couple were certainly the best match and both seemed lovely. That Barry Jon fella I can see being single for a very long time if he keeps going on like that and does not change is atitude to Women. Have some respect you moron.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,195 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

He would have scored her no bother if he hadn't said he cheated on a girlfriend. It's a ****ty thing to do and any girl worth her salt should have enough sense to stay clear.
    He's on also on Tinder I only missed it by a few years but thankfully so as the whole lot of them seem to have the clap or worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Your man Barry John seems a touch psychopathic. Whatever about lads coming on looking to be famous after Love Island didn’t reply to their applications, you get that in spades on this show, but something about his mannerisms is extremely unsettling. Like you can see him immediately pushing boundaries to see what he can/can’t get away with, which is textbook red flag behaviour. It restored my faith in humanity a bit when yer wan saw through him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Still Ill

AMKC wrote: »
    That was on ok show. The latvian girl was lovely and deserves far better than someone who call your breast's whippies. What an idiot. I find the twins boring. The last couple were certainly the best match and both seemed lovely. That Barry Jon fella I can see being single for a very long time if he keeps going on like that and does not change is atitude to Women. Have some respect you moron.

Thought she was a bit of a sap myself. The whole attention seeking flirting with the waitress would be a turn off for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Barry John was a complete d**khead. The other three lads were all nice. I was surprised when Mary said she didn't want to see Sylvester again particularly when she had said earlier that if he asked to see her again she definitely would. I think it was when he was talking about casinos etc, I could see her face change then. Pity though, he seemed like a nice guy. Her sister and the other guy seemed to get on well anyway. He was nice too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

It seems that the attitude to splitting the bill in 2019 is the same as it was in 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,858 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

It seems that the attitude to splitting the bill in 2019 is the same as it was in 2018.

Fair enough the expectation is on the lad to pay, the easiest way to come out good is to say I pay for this one and you get the next one

The "are you sure" response from the lady is expected also, that's fine

There was one before maybe last season who was annoyed when he "let" her pay half, when she "insisted" on paying her half, now that's bs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,662 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 thenumber3

While I’m kinda loath to give this BJ eejit the hits, this has to be heard to be believed.

https://open.spotify.com/show/5xOmCFrsg6mJfXlMniWzJ0?si=_wiH9717TWGeMd0lzWU-kg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,611 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

thenumber3 wrote: »
    While I’m kinda loath to give this BJ eejit the hits, this has to be heard to be believed.

https://open.spotify.com/show/5xOmCFrsg6mJfXlMniWzJ0?si=_wiH9717TWGeMd0lzWU-kg

Sweet jesus. The creepy laugh is the freakiest part.

No doubt a slot on the Late Late Valentines special awaits that disturbing creep
    Barry John.

What the f*ck kind of double barrel name is that anyway? I'd say he uses it just for the innuendo possibilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,263 ✭✭✭joeguevara

No doubt a slot on the Late Late Valentines special awaits that disturbing creep
    Barry John.

What the f*ck kind of double barrel name is that anyway? I'd say he uses it just for the innuendo possibilities.

There was a famous Rugby player whose full name was Barry John. A lot of people were named after him.

joeguevara wrote: »
    There was a famous Rugby player whose full name was Barry John. A lot of people were named after him.

I see!!

Said he was from "South Dublin" too, which I presume is closer to D4 than D24. Maybe its a popular name out his way then. If so, hopefully they're not all as creepy as him :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

Are you not thinking of Willie John (McBride?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,996 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

The Barry John played for Wales

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,263 ✭✭✭joeguevara

No Barry John, the Welsh wizard. A lot of 35-45 year olds, even in Ireland, have his moniker.

Seems even more odd knowing that the John bit came from someone else's surname.

If he was called after Barry White would he go around calling himself Barry White?

I'd just stick to Barry meself.

Suppose it's the least of his problems anyway :pac:

I'd drop the Barry and go with John, much better name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,717 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

What about John Barry?

Baz-Jay?

Definitely dickheadish enough to pull that one off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭shutup

Pod cast is surprisingly funny. He’s much more likeable on it than he was on first dates. Can’t wait for next weeks episode

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Minus the date between the Dickhead and Slovak woman, it was a strong first episode back. BJ's date felt really out of place in that episode considering he was obviously only doing it for the attention it got him, the others seemed genuine enough.

The stonemason guy seemed really sound, hopefully something comes of him and his date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

Sure look, find me a man who doesn't love a BJ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,088 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

shutup wrote: »
    Pod cast is surprisingly funny. He’s much more likeable on it than he was on first dates. Can’t wait for next weeks episode

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,832 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Barry John is either on the sneachta, heavily, or a complete and utter imbecile

I thought the Tommy Bowe lookalike Barry John was a bit slow :o

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,832 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Stonemason guy seems a decent lad.

Was he David, looked a bit like Irish country singer Mike Denver, was expecting a blast of Tommy K

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World