PDC World Darts Championship 2019/20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭boomdocker

Some nonsense from Price.
    No rules about handshakes ffs
    No rules either about players talking to each other during the match - if what Wright said about the wind up nonsense before the game is true, I say fair play to him for giving Price a friendly reminder after the first set!
    An awful twat

It's weird with MvG , cruises to final playing way below his standard, that throw at D12 against Labanauskas...
    As a previous poster says maybe it's just like Taylor at his pomp in early 2000's where his B game is just way better than the majority of players A game

Hopefully snakey will give him a game , but he'll have to play out of his skin and hope MvG doesn't

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Riquelme

klose wrote: »
    Everytime I watch Lewis I think he's moments away from a heart attack, he looks like he lives an extremely unhealthy lifestyle.

Lewis always looks like a lad who could do with a good wash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

Wilfuler. wrote: »
    I'd put money on mvg odds on

Wright is unwinnable imo

Ah listen to be honest I'm only looking at the odds and pointing them out, I very rarely bet on anything.

But I think while MVG has the class and record to fully justify his favouritism, I think Wright is very capable of beating Mighty Mike, who said last night that Peter would not beat him this week.

I think this is silly carry on from MVG, he more or less said the same in the Grandslam before playing Price and paid the price (pardon the pun).

I love MVG, I think when he's on form he's the best I've ever seen, but his consentration can be a problem. He seems to almost slip in and out of interest these days and for me, if he does that tomorrow it will cost him.

But of course if he hits form and maintains it, then it's only a matter of what scoreline he wins by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭Wilfuler.

Price isn't built for the darts , wrong physique

Mvg dull fukker does nothing for the game

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,411 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Price isn't built for the darts , wrong physique

Mvg dull fukker does nothing for the game

I can only assume your on a wind up. Any more posts like this and you'll be taking a break from the forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭coolshannagh28

Hearn has obviously introduced needle to spice things up but not everyone can handle it and MVG could be a prime target for Wright after last nights success , another factor is the heat onstage which definitely does not suit the bigger lads who appear to wilt in it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

Hearn has obviously introduced needle to spice things up but not everyone can handle it and MVG could be a prime target for Wright after last nights success , another factor is the heat onstage which definitely does not suit the bigger lads who appear to wilt in it .

The heat has been an issue before but it really seems to be hotter this year, thought durrant was going to go topless the other day, strings vests next year 😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭koppy

Did they say what mvg was talking to the ref about at the end of set 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭leggo

I think all it shows is Price's relative inexperience on the big stage. Even Fallon Sherrock had better composure when it came to hitting setbacks. He got wound up and it threw his game off completely, to the point that by the end he'd completely quit. He even had 2 darts for the set in the final set that would've brought him to 5-4 and left him right in it, but he barely bothered. The chap's head was gone and he's just shown the entire darting world the way to beat him is through a few basic mind games. You'd never see that from a Taylor or MVG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

Wonder what he meant by "cant imagine if they drug tested me" and the cocaine sniffing emoji ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

It has just been a procession for MVG, he's not even celebrating after matches.

It hasn't been a great watch this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Riquelme

US2 wrote: »
    Wonder what he meant by "cant imagine if they drug tested me" and the cocaine sniffing emoji ??

That's more of an angry face/head full of steam emoji.

If I had to guess I'd say he's saying he would have decked the drug testers if they called on him to be tested, especially after that horrid display of darts as well as being in a foul mood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,796 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

It has just been a procession for MVG, he's not even celebrating after matches.

It hasn't been a great watch this year.

Sadly I think the occasion will get to Wright and MvG will win, probably with his B game. Avg's seem to have been way down this year, but that's just my thoughts, not checked.

The thing with darts is it pays to do a bit of a wind up depending on the opponent or a bit of nonsense on the oche or the celebrations

Wasn't all the best players notorious for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭boomdocker

The thing with darts is it pays to do a bit of a wind up depending on the opponent or a bit of nonsense on the oche or the celebrations

Wasn't all the best players notorious for it

Peter Manley v Lewis one year at the world's?
    Didn't Lewis walk off at one stage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Carpentry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,647 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Well not a full stop anyway.

"Looking forward to 2020"

Price is one of these people who changes in competition, doesn't work for him though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,024 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

How did that WhatsApp message get made public I wonder? Surely the lads didn’t upload it themselves

NDWC wrote: »
    How did that WhatsApp message get made public I wonder? Surely the lads didn’t upload it themselves

Price put it up on Instagram

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,223 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

My take on mvg.

He was desperate to get to.no 1, desperate to be world champion, desperate to topple Taylor, desperate to be the best..hes done all of it in 5 years, he's only 30 ffs, I'd say he looks around and says to himself .. "who can beat me if I play 80%?" ..feck all could,he badly needs a genuine challenger ..not a mouthpiece challenger, someone as good or better than him..

He's hasn't been superstar mvg for about 2 years,where anything was possible..it was exciting watching him for that reason..now it's just get the job done mvg.. he's bored imo.

My take on mvg.

He was desperate to get to.no 1, desperate to be world champion, desperate to topple Taylor, desperate to be the best..hes done all of it in 5 years, he's only 30 ffs, I'd say he looks around and says to himself .. "who can beat me if I play 80%?" ..feck all could,he badly needs a genuine challenger ..not a mouthpiece challenger, someone as good or better than him..

He's hasn't been superstar mvg for about 2 years,where anything was possible..it was exciting watching him for that reason..now it's just get the job done mvg.. he's bored imo.

Hes always said for years hes target is to win more worlds than barney, nothing else matters. Dont think the hunger is gone hes strolled to the final, what more does he do?

Taylor had many years when people were having this same discussion. Cant be on it all the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭koppy

My take on mvg.

Agree totally. Turn up at 80% and he wins. No one pushing him. I taught Rob cross ws going to be the one and maybe he will be in th next fe years.. Be good for the game in general to have someone

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Justin Credible Darts

a great and interesting interview with Barry Hearn

speaks about fallon, world series, the bdo, pl etc

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wzdgi0uUFio&feature=emb_logo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,717 ✭✭✭bassy

Anyone gonna have some of the 5/2 on wright to win world's ?.

bassy wrote: »
    Anyone gonna have some of the 5/2 on wright to win world's ?.

Got him to win and hit more 180s at 4/1. I dont actually think he will win it but makes it a bit more interesting hopefully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,717 ✭✭✭bassy

Got him to win and hit more 180s at 4/1. I dont actually think he will win it but makes it a bit more interesting hopefully

its hes best chance I think of winning it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,345 ✭✭✭prunudo

I really need to assess my knowledge of the meaning of emojis!

prunudo wrote: »
    I really need to assess my knowledge of the meaning of emojis!

Haha I've only ever seen that emoji when referencing coke snorting .