Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stephen's day sales at 6am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Teapot22 wrote: »
    Different perspective possibly. I have never been in a shop on St.Stephens Day in my life and not big into shopping anyway. My son got gift vouchers from Santa, he's growing quickly, so hard to buy for without him there.

He saw runners online he thought he could never afford but they were reduced by fifty euro so I said I'd take him shopping today. He was thrilled. He got the last pair in his size, some clothes as well. Changed in the back of the car and off to meet his friends. He hopped out of the car happy as. Times are tight in our house, we're saving for a mortgage, not everyone out today was over indulging. My fourteen year old is thrilled with his new clothes and so happy in himself, that's so lovely to see.

I still hate shopping.

Come back to us in 5 years time when your son is working a part time job.

And growing up as part of life, while realising it’s not perfect? Send in a lorry load of violins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭Millicently

In my experience the young part time students working in retail often don't show up at weekends especially in the run up to Christmas so the full time older staff end up being called into work on what should be their days off. Not all part time young staff but a lot of them. It is good for them to work though and to learn that you have to work to afford the things you want instead of going to the bank of mum and dad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

I looked up one of those Balenciaga jumpers out of curiosity. Had to see what a €1000 euro jumper looked like. They're pretty ugly!

Have you seen their trainers...By jaysus they are ugly and stupid expensive

https://www.brownthomas.com/men/shoes/trainers/?prefn1=brand&prefv1=BALENCIAGA

BIL bought 2 pairs for himself this Xmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,015 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Money can't buy you taste.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Oh dear lord jebus......

I'd feel absolutely hideous wearing those....

Who in their right mind would think spending that is ok...

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »
    Have you seen their trainers...By jaysus they are ugly and stupid expensive

https://www.brownthomas.com/men/shoes/trainers/?prefn1=brand&prefv1=BALENCIAGA

BIL bought 2 pairs for himself this Xmas
    A few years back I saw a woman coming out of BT dressed head to toe in designer gear and my God it was like Edina Monsoon, I knew that what she was wearing cost an absolute fortune but she looked ridiculous.

https://www.google.com/search?q=edina+monsoon&client=firefox-b-d&sxsrf=ACYBGNQNg4uLBwYsPcMUjHK4zEHlB7A5-w:1577442953502&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwj7j5b30NXmAhWPFcAKHbW3DjgQ_AUoAXoECA4QAw&biw=1366&bih=642#imgdii=bcnz0QFwdsXorM:&imgrc=OQBFY8kE_nlKHM:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

fritzelly wrote: »
    Worst still all this crap on sale is stuff they couldn't sell the rest of the year but people see 50% off and think it's a bargain

Best way to get a bargain on Stephen’s day is to stay at home and stop buying rubbish that you don’t really need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

You'd want to be some sad piece of s h it to be asking your employees to be coming in at that hour on Stephens day. I mean you'd understand if it was a Gardai or HSE workers etc... but to sell cheap tat ffs. Shower of miserable twats.

How dare they try to make extra profit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,464 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

My mam works in M&S and they kept her in till 7 at night and on Stephens day kept her in till 8. I couldn't believe it when she told me, It absolutely infuriated the family more than ever strangely enough. They kept staff in to prep for the sales etc and two days before Christmas eve they removed and took down the bulk of xmas decorations and main fixtures leaving the bare minimum, skeleton decorations.

I use to work retail but thankfully it fell on my off days but I always made sure I was on my mangers Xmas hours wish list as they had a first come first served approach when issuing holidays off. I was always the first on the list for that year - my request dated January 1st :D Alot of people were annoyed at this, it wasn't my problem I knew in advance to book :rolleyes:

I feel bad for people down the country tho as they only get a day to sit down let alone relax and then they have to travel on Stephens day early. FFs .

Teapot22 wrote: »
    Different perspective possibly. I have never been in a shop on St.Stephens Day in my life and not big into shopping anyway. My son got gift vouchers from Santa, he's growing quickly, so hard to buy for without him there.

He saw runners online he thought he could never afford but they were reduced by fifty euro so I said I'd take him shopping today. He was thrilled. He got the last pair in his size, some clothes as well. Changed in the back of the car and off to meet his friends. He hopped out of the car happy as. Times are tight in our house, we're saving for a mortgage, not everyone out today was over indulging. My fourteen year old is thrilled with his new clothes and so happy in himself, that's so lovely to see.

I still hate shopping.

Be better to just hold off a day and let others enjoy Christmas too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Seamai wrote: »
    My mother alway's says that something is only a bargain if you actually need it.
    A lot of older people talk that ould ****etalk.

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    Best way to get a bargain on Stephen’s day is to stay at home and stop buying rubbish that you don’t really need.

BORING

Edgware wrote: »
    BORING

Just as boring as throwing it in the bin in a few weeks time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

Well I happen to think that saying rings very true and I'm only in my prime, If you end up buying something purely because it's reduced, chances are it will still be hanging in the back of the wardrobe in 5 years time unworn. What a great bargain that was.

Seamai wrote: »
    Well I happen to think that saying rings very true and I'm only in my prime, If you end up buying something purely because it's reduced, chances are it will still be hanging in the back of the wardrobe in 5 years time unworn. What a great bargain that was.
    Well if you are stupid enough to buy purely because its reduced you deserve to be ripped off

You call it ould ****etalk, they call it a lifetime of experience, you do know that with age comes experience?, bless, you'll be back at school soon enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,864 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Well if you are stupid enough to buy purely because its reduced you deserve to be ripped off

I don't really get this thing at all when people buys clothes and don't wear them.
    Your either and idiot or have money to burn.

I don't really get this thing at all when people buys clothes and don't wear them.
    Your either and idiot or have money to burn.
    Or you could be an idiot and have money to burn

You call it ould ****etalk, they call it a lifetime of experience, you do know that with age comes experience?, bless, you'll be back at school soon enough.
    Obviously talking through your hole runs in your family

Proof positive that you,'ve lost the argument when you get personal with your reply! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,585 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

sticking to the OP , i think its madness people get up so early st stephen's day to que to go shopping , especially with the madness of the weeks before

if people like it and make a tradition out of it fine , but surly it would be better if the events started today rather then yesterday

could be worse ways to spend christmas , down my neck of the woods the 26th is a big hunt day , and also a big coursing day in west clare
    nothing says merry christmas more then chasing and killing wild animals:rolleyes:

Proof positive that you,'ve lost the argument when you get personal with your reply! :rolleyes:
    Who ask you? Does Nurse know you have been at the drugs cabinet?

Grammar dear boy, grammar!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭soiseztomabel

Worked on Stephens day (first Xmas in retail) and was dreading it but it wasn’t as bad as I imagined it to be, aside of a handful of feral arseholes it was grand.

sticking to the OP , i think its madness people get up so early st stephen's day to que to go shopping , especially with the madness of the weeks before

if people like it and make a tradition out of it fine , but surly it would be better if the events started today rather then yesterday

could be worse ways to spend christmas , down my neck of the woods the 26th is a big hunt day , and also a big coursing day in west clare
    nothing says merry christmas more then chasing and killing wild animals:rolleyes:
    The Hunt Sabs are doing their best to disrupt the hunts they always need new members and tip offs about where the hunts are going on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 GeetarPick

I'll never understand why some morons would get up at 6am to buy a load of tat they will probably never use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

What's the deal. Tbh I worked. Stephens day wouldn't annoy me. Xmas Eve would annoy me. A scorcher in the middle of summer would annoy me. I think there's a little bit of what we are expected to think about this type of consumerism. How do you define what someone doesn't even need anyway? Id say most stuff we have we don't need. Maybe they just get a buzz from going into the shops. Too many people enforce their own way of looking at things and assume everyone should be like them.
    The running into Brown Thomas is retarded though and just desperate and cringeworthy.

What's the deal. Tbh I worked. Stephens day wouldn't annoy me. Xmas Eve would annoy me. A scorcher in the middle of summer would annoy me. I think there's a little bit of what we are expected to think about this type of consumerism. How do you define what someone doesn't even need anyway? Id say most stuff we have we don't need. Maybe they just get a buzz from going into the shops. Too many people enforce their own way of looking at things and assume everyone should be like them.
    The running into Brown Thomas is retarded though and just desperate and cringeworthy.
    This! The little voice in your head that says Buy, Buy, Buy that was put there by the marketing campaigns in the run up to the sales, so do people really think that they're going bargain hunting at their own free will or were they "persuaded" to go after being bombarded by adverts.
    Anyway, we're all taught to be good consumers at an early age and are expected to mindlessly buy the newest and shiniest products and simply dump the old ones, even if there is nothing wrong with it.

Here is an example of a pre-school TV programme that instils consumerism into small children.

This! The little voice in your head that says Buy, Buy, Buy that was put there by the marketing campaigns in the run up to the sales, so do people really think that they're going bargain hunting at their own free will or were they "persuaded" to go after being bombarded by adverts.
    Anyway, we're all taught to be good consumers at an early age and are expected to mindlessly buy the newest and shiniest products and simply dump the old ones, even if there is nothing wrong with it.

Here is an example of a pre-school TV programme that instils consumerism into small children.

I think you’ve taken the bolded line completely backwards.