Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gigs of the year 2019

• Registered Users Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

The Struts (Manchester Academy)

• Registered Users Posts: 642 ✭✭✭creativedrinker

My top 6 would be these but there were a lot to pick from... my poor poor bank account 😋
    Eddie vedder in 3arena
    Liam Gallagher - both nights in 3arena
    Pixies in Olympia
    The Cure in Malahide castle
    Tool @ Download
    Metallica in Lisbon

• Registered Users Posts: 657 ✭✭✭sally cinnamon89

A lot of LG love on boards. I'm surprised because IMO he is utterly awful.

• Registered Users Posts: 567 ✭✭✭fillup

In no particular order except the ways I recalls it ...............

Idles Vicar St and Iveagh Garden - best live band on the go at the mo in my humble opinion - nothing is left behind by those lads
    Bjork - 3arena - tripped out visuals and an immense but intimate sound - simply stunning
    King Kong Company - Button Factory - absolutely ram-jammed bonkers of a night out - I'm getting nothin' of dat
    Massive Attack - 3arena - Mezzanine soundtracking our dystopian times and a visual assault courtesy of Adam Curtis
    Murder Capital - Whelans - catching a band very much on an upward trajectory at such close quarters is always a thing of beauty

And Body and Soul - the whole freekin lot of it... after 10 years it's still hands down the best weekends fun to be had in Ireland

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭LoughNeagh2017

I only attended 4 as I live in rural lands and it is expensive to venture into cities. At least £130 to attend a Dublin concert to be precise unless you sleep at airport which I did recently.

Mike Shinoda - Linkin Park member solo show. I remember he played a song from the 1998 Linkin Park demo album, he didn't plan to play it so he looked at the lyrics on a fans phone, it was a strange thing to see.

Download Festival day ticket - I only went for half the day. I saw Trivium, Mark Hoppus' new band, Die Antwoord and Slipknot. It was ok but I didn't enjoy the outdoor conditions plus i only saw Slipknot from afar which meant I felt detatched from it. I never even saw Craig the sampler.

Lacuna Coil - Terrific performance, one of best concerts I have attended. Next time they tour I will attend several dates in England.

Liam Gallagher - I am only a casual Oasis fan, the music was good but the crowd was brutal, I had a more enjoyable time watching the youtube videos than actually being at the concert.

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭beecee

Janelle Monae (Trinity)
    Hot Chip (Olympia)
    Tame Impala (3Arena)
    Bjork (3Arena)

From festivals: Serpentwithfeet, JMSN, Michael Kiwanuka, Neneh Cherry, Kojaque, The National, so many...

Jungle, Better Oblivion, Saving Grace, Steve Mason, Bell X1 all good gigs too!

• Registered Users Posts: 21,218 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Dont get to many gigs nowadays. Hell think I only went to 3, and if there was more, must be a reason they're not jumping out.

Ghost - 3 arena
    The Darkness - Cyprus Avenue
    Therapy - Cyprus Avenue

• Registered Users Posts: 12,615 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

A lot of LG love on boards. I'm surprised because IMO he is utterly awful.

Indeed but I saw him at Glastonbury and I was fairly pished and with a load of Mancs and it was great fun. For the first 20 mins or so anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭rednik

Greta Van Fleet - Olympia
    Black Star Riders - Academy
    Keane - Olympia
    Tedeschi Trucks Band - Palladium
    Metallica - Munich
    Roger Hodgson - Royal Albert Hall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

The Cure - Malahide Castle
    Liam Gallagher - 3Arena
    Pat McManus Band - Michael Collins Bar.

Forgot Fangclub to come next week. Looking forward to that.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭fafy

Interesting reading , this thread, great variety in tastes.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,965 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Liam Gallagher - I am only a casual Oasis fan, the music was good but the crowd was brutal, I had a more enjoyable time watching the youtube videos than actually being at the concert.

He attracts a certain kind of knob... the sort who go to about two gigs a year, absolutely mashed by the time he comes on, end up smacking into people and wanting to fight you when you object to you and your other half nearly being shouldered onto the floor....

I saw Oasis here back in the day a few times and as good as they were that sort of fan was always a negative to the whole experience.

Strangely saw them in Paris back in ‘02 and the crowd was extremely diverse...old punks, skater kids, middle aged rockers, all enthusiastic, happy and up for it... I like LG but not so much the circus.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,037 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Strumms wrote: »
    He attracts a certain kind of knob... the sort who go to about two gigs a year, absolutely mashed by the time he comes on, end up smacking into people and wanting to fight you when you object to you and your other half nearly being shouldered onto the floor....

I saw Oasis here back in the day a few times and as good as they were that sort of fan was always a negative to the whole experience.

Strangely saw them in Paris back in ‘02 and the crowd was extremely diverse...old punks, skater kids, middle aged rockers, all enthusiastic, happy and up for it... I like LG but not so much the circus.

They amount of coke and other drugs consumed at his shows is high no doubt and quite a lot of lads in tracksuits with those skin head type of haircuts

But I do like his stuff and Oasis. Well worth the money

• Registered Users Posts: 9,732 ✭✭✭hynesie08

Don't forget the piss throwers, there's always piss throwers....

• Registered Users Posts: 593 ✭✭✭dmm82

Groove Armada - Boomtown.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

PTH2009 wrote: »
    So what was/were your Gigs of the year for 2019 ??

Been to many gigs this year with a good few crossed of the bucket list. Top 5 in no particular order

Metallica Slane
    Eddie Vedder 3arena
    Foo Fighters RDS
    Neil Young Nowlan Park (Bob Dylan was himself but decent)
    Liam Gallagher IP park

Honorable mentions to Robert Plant Saving Grace Theate Royal and Volbeat in the Olympia

2020 very quite show far for me

The Happy Monday played a Stormer in vicar st tonight. I'm still off me bleeding tits.. On a more serious note, I'm not racist but.. when I finally go to bed and give Mrs Bailey her morning bone rattle, would I be a complete guttersnipe, close me eyes and pretend I'm nailin Rowetta?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭acquiescefc

The Raconteurs and Yak in Camden ballroom
    Oh Sees in TBMC
    Mclusky in Workmans

• Registered Users Posts: 567 ✭✭✭fillup

The Happy Monday played a Stormer in vicar st tonight. I'm still off me bleeding tits.. On a more serious note, I'm not racist but.. when I finally go to bed and give Mrs Bailey her morning bone rattle, would I be a complete guttersnipe, close me eyes and pretend I'm nailin Rowetta?

Probably not racist but defo TMI and wholly inappropriate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

You and the incel aren’t that type of knob I’m guessing hahaha

• Registered Users Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Dozyart

Metallica - Slane
    Ghost - 3 Arena
    Volbeat - Olympia
    Baroness - Supporting Volbeat

But in terms of a show,brought the daughter TwentyOne Pilots and they just blew me away!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭Wooderson

rednik wrote: »
    Tedeschi Trucks Band - Palladium

Pretty ****e indictment on Irish promoters that these have never played here once.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,844 ✭✭✭RayCon

Opeth - Olympia Dublin
    Opeth - Backstage Werk Munich
    Ghost - 3 Arena Dublin
    Jah Wobble - The Grand Social Dublin
    Viagra Boys - The Grand Social Dublin
    Richard Thompson - Vicar St Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭rednik

Wooderson wrote: »
    Pretty ****e indictment on Irish promoters that these have never played here once.

Agreed, I have travelled to see Kenny Wayne Shepherd as well, don't know why promoters never try to bring them here.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,307 ✭✭✭✭alastair

Bjork - 3 Arena
    Viagra Boys - Grand Social
    Jon Hopkins - broken projector gig - Vicar Street
    Bodega - EP
    Johnny Marr - broken amp gig - EP
    New Order - Trinity
    Kamaal Williams - ATN
    IDLES - Vicar Street
    Yankari - Sugar Club
    Orbital - ATN

• Registered Users Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭purple hands

Public Service Broadcasting in the Olympia for me, perfect combination of powerful audio and visuals

• Registered Users Posts: 46 War ensemble

Steel Panther in Vicar st. Outstanding !

• Registered Users Posts: 1,486 ✭✭✭BadTurtle

Saw very few gigs this year actually looking back.

7 The Murder Capital (ATN)
    6 Massive Attack (3 Arena)
    5 The National (ATN)
    4 Nick Olivieri (Cypress Avenue)
    3 Hot Chip (ATN)
    2 Black Midi (ATN)
    1 The Good the Bad and the Queen (ATN)

• Registered Users Posts: 615 ✭✭✭mirrormatrix

Janelle Monae (TCD) - Best gig of the year by far
    Public Service Broadcasting
    Jesca Hoop (Sound House)
    Deus (Academy)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,197 ✭✭✭maximoose

Idles - Vicar St
    Marc Rebillet - Tivoli
    Cure - Malahide
    Tame Impala - 3arena
    PSB - Olympia

• Registered Users Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭Wooderson

BadTurtle wrote: »
    Saw very few gigs this year actually looking back.

1 The Good the Bad and the Queen (ATN)

Fully agree with you here. Stunning show.