Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Manchester United Teamtalk/Transfer Rumours/Gossip 2019/20

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Rock77

Pheonix10 wrote: »
    EW?

Ed Woodward??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

I’d take Rooney back. Play him at 10 with Lee Cattermole and Leon Britton in behind him to cover. It will be interesting to see if Eddie Howe goes for him though.

Luke Shaw looks a real prospect too - going to be our left back for the next 15 years. Can’t wait to see what sort of player that Lingard boy turns into though, he tore up the Milk Cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,626 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Lord TSC wrote: »
    Sancho, presumably. Halaand too, I'd guess.

Rice, longstaff, haaland, Sancho.

I do reckon there are probably some more senior players, like Maguire is, that the club are looking to sign. It would be insane to think its a youth only approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Scoundrel

No, I didn't fancy him to do a job when he was still a United player, evidenced by his second Everton career and nothing of his MLS exploits would convince me otherwise.

Yeah the MLS is league 1 standard at best Rooney is finished at PL level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,288 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Are we seriously contemplating resigning a 34 year old MLS player and a 34 year old Juve forward ? Think we need to be targeting players with potential and closer to their peak then taking a punt on fellas falling off a cliff in terms of their career..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Rooney is joining Derby in January as a player/coach would any of ye fancy Rooney for the balance of the season ?

Was still doing a job over in MLS last year

Yeah I'd be open to that.

Strumms wrote: »
    Are we seriously contemplating resigning a 34 year old MLS player and a 34 year old Juve forward ? Think we need to be targeting players with potential and closer to their peak then taking a punt on fellas falling off a cliff in terms of their career..

No, we are obviously not - given the 34 year old MLS player is very obviously contracted to do something else, so there is zero chance we (or the club) or contemplating it.

Mandzukic is a different matter, would be a hugely risky move by the club if they were going for him over another target, even a short term one. Not played 90mins since April. Seems the club had at least some interest in him, as a backup player anyway, in the summer but we've obviously no idea if that has continued to the point of signing him in January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,112 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I have no idea what plan Mandzukic or any equivalent fits into?

In the summer, sure, there were top 4 ambitions and a reliable back up striker was a definite requirement. Now? With the season already torpedoed? The damage is done so what would be the point?

If ever they were going to go all in on youth it might as well be now since they have already taken the hit. Any player they buy in January should be with the medium to long term in mind because the short term is already irrelevant.

I have no idea what plan Mandzukic or any equivalent fits into?

In the summer, sure, there were top 4 ambitions and a reliable back up striker was a definite requirement. Now? With the season already torpedoed? The damage is done so what would be the point?

If ever they were going to go all in on youth it might as well be now since they have already taken the hit. Any player they buy in January should be with the medium to long term in mind because the short term is already irrelevant.

It is unlikely the club are of the opinion the season is already finished and should be forgotten about. CL football would be difficult but not impossible via the league.

CL football could still be won via winning the Europa League.

The club would probably still consider it important to at least be in the Europa League next season so winning the FA Cup or finishing top 6/7 is still required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,112 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

It is unlikely the club are of the opinion the season is already finished and should be forgotten about. CL football would be difficult but not impossible via the league.

CL football could still be won via winning the Europa League.

The club would probably still consider it important to at least be in the Europa League next season so winning the FA Cup or finishing top 6/7 is still required.

They probably do think all that, and it illustrates how jumbled up their thinking and decision making processes are, so reactive all the time, constantly a day late and a dollar short.

I don't know that I would prefer the club to be working on the assumption this season is finished. In November. While still in 3 Cups. 9 points off 4th.

A signing of someone like Mandzukic (in theory) could be medium/long term in mind.

1. We need to improve our prospects in this season.
    2. We can't get our ideal targets in Jan (lets say Sancho and Haaland, for eg).
    3. We sign a short term contract with an older player who can and will play as a backup option without blocking the possibility of signing the priority targets in the summer.

Daily Mail reporting Pochetino on the verge of leaving Spurs. Would be surprised, but also interested to see if United bite the bullet on Ole and go for Poch while he is free. Or will Bayern snap him up.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,985 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Daily Mail reporting Pochetino on the verge of leaving Spurs. Would be surprised, but also interested to see if United bite the bullet on Ole and go for Poch while he is free. Or will Bayern snap him up.

I don't think the club will sack Ole at the moment, on a decent run of form.

But I do think it's going to put Ole into a bad spot, because I think the specter of Poch will be hanging over him, just like when Jose's was over Van Gaal.

There's a lot of fans who do not believe Ole is up for the job, but it's not like there's a tonne of alternatives that are out of work. If someone at Poch's level is freely available, it's going to up the calls for him to be brought in asap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Lord TSC wrote: »
    I don't think the club will sack Ole at the moment, on a decent run of form.

But I do think it's going to put Ole into a bad spot, because I think the specter of Poch will be hanging over him, just like when Jose's was over Van Gaal.

There's a lot of fans who do not believe Ole is up for the job, but it's not like there's a tonne of alternatives that are out of work. If someone at Poch's level is freely available, it's going to up the calls for him to be brought in asap.

Agreed.

If Poch is available the club has to seriously consider him. If the club truly has committed to a football strategy then like every other half decent run club, a new manager that is on board with that structure shouldn’t be a problem. Poch has form at growing spurs with next to nothing to spend, its an unbelievable achievement and deserves respect with serious consideration. I’d argue he’s gotten spurs as high as possible under the financial constraints and a step up to a club that can grant him more funds is exactly a challange he deserves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

Drumpot wrote: »
    Agreed.

If Poch is available the club has to seriously consider him. If the club truly has committed to a football strategy then like every other half decent run club, a new manager that is on board with that structure shouldn’t be a problem. Poch has form at growing spurs with next to nothing to spend, its an unbelievable achievement and deserves respect with serious consideration. I’d argue he’s gotten spurs as high as possible under the financial constraints and a step up to a club that can grant him more funds is exactly a challange he deserves.

Poch is currently running spurs into the ground. Pep could be available shortly. I’d hang on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭davemckenna25

BDI wrote: »
    Poch is currently running spurs into the ground. Pep could be available shortly. I’d hang on.

:D:D:D:D
    Keep them coming... man you are good craic...:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

Potch has left Spurs

Do we go for him? Big decision for Woodward

Poch sacked by Tottenham, breaking news now on Talksport

Poch gone... Bloody hell. New job at OT tomorrow, please.

Rossi IRL wrote: »
    Potch has left Spurs

Do we go for him? Big decision for Woodward

We should do, he's proven himself previous to this season and there is zero evidence ole will get the job done.

No chance of it though.

Have to admire spurs taking decisive action and not accepting being rubbish.

Get it done, Woodie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,049 ✭✭✭✭adox

We could get Poch for nothing.

Who would have seen that? Utd should move for him of course but I doubt they will.

What an opportunity that has fallen into the clubs lap.

Jose to Tottenham?

zorro2566 wrote: »
    Jose to Tottenham?

Possibly. Think that team is well set up for him.

adox wrote: »
    We could get Poch for nothing.

Who would have seen that? Utd should move for him of course but I doubt they will.

What an opportunity that has fallen into the clubs lap.

i just can't see a world in which United do anything about it - I don't think United have the courage or inclination to call time on the Ole experiment.

Ole will limp along to the end of the season at least, and Poch will have a new job before then.

THough I could see Poch taking time off til the summer, and seeing what happens at Madrid - Bayern could nab him before then maybe. Not sure what other clubs would be going for him.

i just can't see a world in which United do anything about it - I don't think United have the courage or inclination to call time on the Ole experiment.

Ole will limp along to the end of the season at least, and Poch will have a new job before then.

THough I could see Poch taking time off til the summer, and seeing what happens at Madrid - Bayern could nab him before then maybe. Not sure what other clubs would be going for him.

Yep I don’t expect Utd to move at all.

The dreamer in me hopes this is all a pre arranged process and Utd will announce Oles sacking soon and Poch in but the realist in me knows it won’t happen. The board have proven time and time again over the last seven years that they can’t make decisive or big decisions.

Possibly. Think that team is well set up for him.

New stadium and they need to win something! Guaranteed with Jose despite the type of football he plays!

Yep I don’t expect Utd to move at all.

The dreamer in me hopes this is all a pre arranged process and Utd will announce Oles sacking soon and Poch in but the realist in me knows it won’t happen. The board have proven time and time again over the last seven years that they can’t make decisive or big decisions.

Move Phelan and Ole into DoF/Sporting Director/Recruitment roles - as I think they have a good idea of what United should be, and bring Poch in as manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,348 ✭✭✭limnam

zorro2566 wrote: »
    despite the type of football he plays!

Which type is that?

The Chelsea type?

Madrid type?

Inter type?

Porto Type?

They were all very different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Poch is gone. Apparently it’s official, got text from a spurs friend. See it’s also on sky.