Boardsies Greatest One Hit Wonder Song - Live Thread

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 58,288 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Kolido wrote:
    The New Radicals - You Get What You Give

Better song. I do like How Bizarre though.

Kolido wrote:
    Wheatus - Teenage Dirtbag

This is miles better than Charles and Eddy. Just miles. Do the right thing peeps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Ectoplasm

New Radicals coz it reminds me of being in college and being pretty much totally irresponsible

Weetus for similar reasons and also coz I feckin hate the other song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,699 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

R 3 Match 9 - OMC - How Bizarre. I enjoy this song, has nostalgic value for me, plus, I dislike the other one, mostly because of the video I think.

R 3 Match 10 - Charles and Eddy - Would I Lie To You. I nominated them, gotta stick with them. Am worried for them in this match up however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Ectoplasm

Ectoplasm wrote: »
    New Radicals coz it reminds me of being in college and being pretty much totally irresponsible

Weetus for similar reasons and also coz I feckin hate the other song.

Wow. Interesting autocorrect there. Is a weetus a think. Meant Wheatus anyway.

Also fair play Kolido, playing a blinder with this one.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

You Get What You Give, because How Bizarre needs to die.

Would I Lie To You is a better song of the two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,067 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Wheatus, because the other three are cat.

#9 - How Bizarre. Have recently come to appreciate this song a lot more than before, it's better than I thought it was.

#10 - Would I Lie To You. Both good songs but went with the one that's a bit easier on the ear: yer man from Wheatus's voice is a bit grating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,815 ✭✭✭Pretzill

How Bizarre - (lesser of two evils for me)

&

Teenage Dirtbag it's a cracking track

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,453 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

New Radicals, they should have one dance left ;)

Wheatus, just a quality tune

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,404 ✭✭✭✭sKeith

how bizare with the first matchup... my preference..

from the 2nd matchup it hasd to be would i lie to you. the other one gets annoying too quick, can still listen to would i lie to you.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

New Radicals: You Get What You Give.

Wheatus: Teenage Dirtbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,874 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

New radicals in the first

I hated Charles and Eddy when it came out but it’s grown on me over the years

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,411 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Match 9

How Bizarre, just because I dislike it less.

Match 10

Teenage Dirtbag, definitely a contender for overall winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

The new radicals and Wheatus get what you give and advance.

OMC - How Bizarre 4 7 The New Radicals - You Get What You Give
    Wheatus - Teenage Dirtbag 7 4 Charles and Eddy - Would I Lie To You

R 3 Match 11

Blue Oyster Cult-Don't Fear The Reaper

Vs

Boy Meets Girl - Waiting For A Star To Fall

R 3 Match 12

Tom Robinson Band - 2‐4‐6‐8 Motorway

Vs

The Buzzcocks - Ever Fallen in Love

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 58,288 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Kolido wrote:
    Blue Oyster Cult-Don't Fear The Reaper

I feel bad voting against Waiting for a Star to Fall as I love it but Don't Fear THE Reaper is one of my fave tracks going.

How did I not nominate it myself. Stupid Necro!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,453 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Don't Fear The Reaper, one of my mum's favourite songs!

Ever Fallen In Love, short, sharp burst of brilliance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,067 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Don't Fear the Reaper and Buzzcocks, please.

2-4-6-8 Motorway for starters, as it's great and is the last of my nominations.

Will need to think about the other one as I like both.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,411 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Match 11

Don't Fear the Reaper - we all need more cowbell.

Match 12

Ever Fallen in Love - punk perfection

#11 - Don't Fear the Reaper

#12 - Ever Fallen In Love....

Just the better of the two on offer in each case, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,699 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

R 3 Match 11 - Blue Oyster Cult-Don't Fear The Reaper. Toss of a coin decision.

R 3 Match 12 - The Buzzcocks - Ever Fallen in Love. Easy choice for me.

Okay, Don't Fear The Reaper is a better song, plus Waiting For A Star's lead singer reminds me too much of Michael Bolton, so no thanks.

Dont fear the reaper. : great song.
    ever fallen in love : great catchy tune

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,514 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Waiting for a Star to Fall as its probably as cheesy as a song can get

Ever Fallen in Love - both good songs, but I like this better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Don't Fear The Reaper - tough choice, but this is another favourite of mine.

Ever Fallen In Love - absolute classic. Again not an easy choice, but this is the better of the two.

BOC and the Buzzcocks are into the last 16

Blue Oyster Cult-Don't Fear The Reaper 7 Boy Meets Girl - Waiting For A Star To Fall
    Tom Robinson Band - 2‐4‐6‐8 Motorway 1 7 The Buzzcocks - Ever Fallen in Love

R 3 Match 13

Glorious - Andreas Johnson

Vs

Chumbawamba - Tubthumping

R 3 Match 14

Peter Sarsted - Where do you go to, my lovely

Vs

Dee-Lite-Groove Is In The Heart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,514 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Glorious as its a banging tune, like both though