Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do you handle getting Fired?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭Shady Grady

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Hey Shady, I did not mean to cause you any offense, quite sincerely.

Did you not get any welder groupies hanging around the bar on a Friday evening, looking to pull a well paid New York welder?

Was there not a union … down the docks, for the working man?

Not really, only groupies were the ones who wanted men in uniform, police/firefighters.

We were in a union, but didn't chase after the hookers at the docks and corners, if that is what your asking.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,100 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

To believe you were fired five times I'd first have to believe you were hired five times.

He even managed to get fired from Dunnes.

To thine own self be true

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Not really, only groupies were the ones who wanted men in uniform, police/firefighters.

We were in a union, but didn't chase after the hookers at the docks and corners, if that is what your asking.

It must have been difficult times Shady. Losing all the best skirt to the cops and " firemen". Eugh, I feel soiled just reading it, how awful.

What were the going rates with the dockside hookers back in the 70's and 80's, as in comparison to your weekly take home? Where they skanky?

It must have been difficult times Shady. Losing all the best skirt to the cops and " firemen". Eugh, I feel soiled just reading it, how awful.

What were the going rates with the dockside hookers back in the 70's and 80's, as in comparison to your weekly take home? Where they skanky?

You read me wrong, I didn't go for the dock fodder. I went to the jazz clubs were you found the sensual ones. Full of love and warmth. Don't have that today and it's a shame.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 350 ✭✭Biodegradable

He even managed to get fired from Dunnes.
    What do you mean 'even'? Dunnes are known fro treated their staff like sh1t.

You read me wrong, I didn't go for the dock fodder. I went to the jazz clubs were you found the sensual ones. Full of love and warmth. Don't have that today and it's a shame.

I like your style Shady. I can imagine you swooning through the smoke filled rooms, searching out the best talent Manhattan could provide. Did you live all your life in Harlem?

I believe that there was a massive heroin epidemic in the Harlem Jazz scene of the 60's and 70's, did you ever come across it or see anyone hitting the needle, down by the docks like?

I like your style Shady. I can imagine you swooning through the smoke filled rooms, searching out the best talent Manhattan could provide. Did you live all your life in Harlem?

I believe that there was a massive heroin epidemic in the Harlem Jazz scene of the 60's and 70's, did you ever come across it or see anyone hitting the needle, down by the docks like?

Your not wrong my brother, they were good times. But we tended chasing the dragon instead of injecting the docks were only good for two things, being robbed or a STD.The jazz clubs was where the joys came from.

What do you mean 'even'? Dunnes are known fro treated their staff like sh1t.

Bollickings from management are part of the job. Give me a bollicking or a ticking off any day. It is when the company designs a strategy to remove you from the workforce you need to start worrying. I worked for Dunnes when I was a teenager. You got bollickings, I even got a warning once, but supermarkets don't fire staff unless they are acting the maggot altogether.

Your not wrong my brother, they were good times. But we tended chasing the dragon instead of injecting the docks were only good for two things, being robbed or a STD.The jazz clubs was where the joys came from.

Shady, you are stone cold dude. Wow.

Do you miss your life as a welder down on the New York docks? Do you ever take a nostalgic trip back there, maybe score some gear and the chase the dragon for the day?

What was the pussy like down in the jazz clubs? Were the lights blinding your eyes or were they dimmed? Were the rooms smoky and drizzling with the blues of
    Dizzy Gillespie?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 350 ✭✭Biodegradable

Bollickings from management are part of the job. Give me a bollicking or a ticking off any day. It is when the company designs a strategy to remove you from the workforce you need to start worrying. I worked for Dunnes when I was a teenager. You got bollickings, I even got a warning once, but supermarkets don't fire staff unless they are acting the maggot altogether.
    It was a manager I didn't get along with.

One night we were facing off when the store was closed. Seeing as it was closed I thought it would be okay if I brought around my water bottle while on the shop floor. At the end of the night this manager said to me, in front of the other lads, "what's the one difference between you and all of these guys?" I answered with "you're trying to say I shouldn't have my water bottle with me?" which he didn't like.

Shady, you are stone cold dude. Wow.

Do you miss your life as a welder down on the New York docks? Do you ever take a nostalgic trip back there, maybe score some gear and the chase the dragon for the day?

What was the pussy like down in the jazz clubs? Were the lights blinding your eyes or were they dimmed? Were the rooms smoky and drizzling with the blues of
    Dizzy Gillespie?

It would blow your mind. I still miss those days. Smokey filled rooms, women in their full natural beauty. It's shame those days are gone.

It was a manager I didn't get along with.

One night we were facing off when the store was closed. Seeing as it was closed I thought it would be okay if I brought around my water bottle while on the shop floor. At the end of the night this manager said to me, in front of the other lads, "what's the one difference between you and all of these guys?" I answered with "you're trying to say I shouldn't have my water bottle with me?" which he didn't like.

Total insubordination Bio. You simply can't be giving middle management any lip, it means you're not a team player. You weren't getting paid to hang around drinking water. I know, I know, it seems very harsh. I wasn't even there and I know your manger was a wanker. Thing is, all managers in Dunnes are, that is their job . That is why they all sit together in the same corner of the canteen every day, laughing at their shight jokes and bitching about the long termers who don't let them push them around.

Your manager was picking on you to gain brevity with your workmates. He was using you as an example of how he treats people who get on the wrong side of him. That is how **** do. Particularly the type of **** who manage staff in supermarkets.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,053 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Adyx wrote: »
    Is being let go due to the place closing down the same as being fired? Everywhere I've worked has closed down, but I've never been fired.

No.

And people need to learn the difference. Getting fired is a result of something YOU do. Being let go (made redundant) is a result of something the company does.

They are absolutely not the same.

Can't believe this has to be explained though. :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

Tony EH wrote: »
    No.

And people need to learn the difference. Getting fired is a result of something YOU do. Being let go (made redundant) is a result of something the company does.

They are absolutely not the same.

Can't believe this has to be explained though. :confused:

I wasn't looking for an explanation (condescending or otherwise) but thanks. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,053 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Adyx wrote: »
    I wasn't looking for an explanation (condescending or otherwise) but thanks. :)

It wasn't necessarily to you. :D There appears to be a general air or confusion going on in this thread as to what these terms mean.

• Registered Users Posts: 728 ✭✭✭20Wheel

I'll have to skip the backstory as I'm on a touchscreen device, but in reference to getting fired I'm at the tail end of a project to protect myself for future income/work.
    A significant amount of cash has been set aside, and plans made for references.
    Now everyone's circumstances will vary, but Im doing agency work and as such I'm clocking up good karma every day that the agency make commission off me. I'm thinking to get good reputation with a few agencies, and buffer this with other references.
    Upon completion I'll be pretty ****ing Teflon when it comes to any firing. Any bull**** the employer is the disposable one.

So, how do you deal with getting fired? You preempt it.

Putin is a dictator. Putin should face justice at the Hague. All good Russians should work to depose Putin. Russias war in Ukraine is illegal and morally wrong.

20Wheel wrote: »
    I'll have to skip the backstory as I'm on a touchscreen device, but in reference to getting fired I'm at the tail end of a project to protect myself for future income/work.
    A significant amount of cash has been set aside, and plans made for references.
    Now everyone's circumstances will vary, but Im doing agency work and as such I'm clocking up good karma every day that the agency make commission off me. I'm thinking to get good reputation with a few agencies, and buffer this with other references.
    Upon completion I'll be pretty ****ing Teflon when it comes to any firing. Any bull**** the employer is the disposable one.

So, how do you deal with getting fired? You preempt it.

The answer is c , get a proper keyboard.

• Registered Users Posts: 728 ✭✭✭20Wheel

The answer is c , get a proper keyboard.

Yeah I'll just stop in to pc world now.

Putin is a dictator. Putin should face justice at the Hague. All good Russians should work to depose Putin. Russias war in Ukraine is illegal and morally wrong.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

You get used to it after awhile . But waiting in the canon the first few times is a bit nerve racking .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

blinding wrote: »
    You get used to it after awhile . But waiting in the canon the first few times is a bit nerve racking .

It's hard to find people of the right calibre for the job.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

I always make sure an employer knows that if dey can't handle me at my worst dey don't deserve me at me best xxx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Johnny Sausage

Lucyfur wrote: »
    I always make sure an employer knows that if dey can't handle me at my worst dey don't deserve me at me best xxx

live laugh luv hun

snakes on dis

I'd have thought being fired would have been more synonymous with firing a rocket or a gun... as in we're firing him away from us, and nothing to do with actual fire! I wonder why that term was the one that got on in the states?!

This was hundreds of years before guns :) and the English language got a bit of a hold in the states in the 18th century and earlier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭HorrorScope

Only got (nearly) fired once and that was from a call centre. An old bastard rang up and called me every name under the sun because his daughters phone wasn’t working. “You’ll fix this now you ****ing phone monkey or so help me god I’ll come down there to you in person” etc etc. I told him very calmly that I was 10 minutes from his address and if he really wanted to act the hard bollix, I’d call around and he could repeat what he had just said to my fist.

Que panicked call back asking the manager if he needed to ring the gardai and was I still in the building :D before they even had the chance to fire me, I went up to hr, threw the swipe card at them and walked out. Was back in another job less than a week later.

I don’t deal with the public anymore thank **** because 99% of them are cowardly ****ing morons hiding behind a phone.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,959 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

It's hard to find people of the right calibre for the job.

True.

Even harder in 2019 in Ireland to find the right caliber of employer though.

Strumms wrote: »
    True.

Even harder in 2019 in Ireland to find the right caliber of employer though.

abf635ff2ae728430faf77a03114db76.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 21,522 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Gave my two weeks notice at my last place of employment. The company was taking it's last swish round the ****ter (as far as I was concerned).

The woman who was recently named our Director (without any previous managerial experience) lost the head when I told her. I looked at her as one would when dealing with someone completely out of their element.

I never look back and I couldn't be happier.

If I was in her or the companies position, I'd be delighted you were leaving.

Calling a female superior 'babe', winking at them, laughing manically in their face, suggesting they are a b*tch, telling them they were in over their f*cking head, the one sided interpretation of everything listed above, all indicates to me a personality I'd rather have nowhere near my work environment.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,269 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

If I was in her or the companies position, I'd be delighted you were leaving.

Calling a female superior 'babe', winking at them, laughing manically in their face, suggesting they are a b*tch, telling them they were in over their f*cking head, the one sided interpretation of everything listed above, all indicates to me a personality I'd rather have nowhere near my work environment.

Did you actually believe any of that tripe?

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

People never get fired for not working hard enough. They get fired because they are unpopular with senior management and they are just a number, we all are.
    You're very cynical altogether. I've encountered plenty of the dilbert-style ineffective middle managers in my time, but none with the stereotypical ridiculousness of a Friends character.

My general experience is that if someone is continually running into issues with "fitting in" or popularity, then it's less about office games and politics, and more about that person having a shi1tty personality.

People never get fired for keeping their head down and not getting involved in office socialising.

I agree though that people are rarely, if ever, fired for not working hard enough. They're usually laid off instead.

The only firing I've ever seen was during probation. The same guy was fired from two different companies during probation, I just happened to be working in both companies when he was :D

I've seen more people not get fired for major things than actually get fired, in my time. In a college part time job, two guys had a full-on brawl on the office floor in the middle of the day and had to be dragged off eachother. Neither got fired.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,522 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Did you actually believe any of that tripe?

Unfortunately, yes.

Some borderline pyschos out there.

Maybe it's a film plot or draft screenplay.