Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it time to say sorry to travellers and give them a few quid for past wrongs?

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    0.6% of the population yet they are 22% of the prison population.

Yeah, the State is the problem.

I thought they were 22% of the population the way people go on about them..

• Registered Users Posts: 8,321 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Give me strength.

Statements like those are only going to further alienate them from society.

This is the fault of lefty loons who have infiltrated every minority group they can get their hands on.

I'm sure your typical boardsie sees what's going on but I don't think wider society does.

I don't think I'm going to vote for any politician ever again until I see one that exposes and retaliates against the loons.

I bet you that if you were to ask a sample of travelers what they think of the statements a lot of them would agree it's total boll*x, if they were being honest, but they wouldn't say no to the few extra quid : )

• Registered Users Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

Not a chance in hell, the question i would have is a misogynistic culture built upon violence and thuggery something we want to keep in place?

The traveller's really need to start focusing on sharing the wonderful culture they say they have and working along side the society of settled people.

Also if societally we have to pay "reperations" we should also tally up the cost of all the crime the bring to our good nation and basically take the difference off of any payments they think they are owed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭pinkyeye

But they are travellers and their grandparents were knackers and respected for that job. The new breed though they need a new name as their neither travelling or any good at metal work.
    Someone needs to reign in the thieving it's way out of control, guards are a joke to them.

What?? Look back at the tweets and you will quite obviously see that her reference to that horrible word was not a reference to travellers of old.

What the thieving and the guards have to do with that I have no idea. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭nkl12xtw5goz70

"More than half of Travellers who drop out of second level have done so by the age of 15. The number of Traveller children who go onto third level represents just 1pc of the Traveller community."

This is supposed to be something the state has done to Travellers? :confused:

Travellers have traditionally taken their children out of school during adolescence so they don't develop relationships outside the Traveller community. Early school-leaving is closely connected to the Traveller tradition of consanguineous marriage. Admittedly, Irish state agencies have been unconscionably lax in enforcing the legal obligation of Traveller parents to send their children to school at least until age 16 — but to claim that the problem originates with the state is simply wrong.

Travellers don't want third-level education. Imagine that most Traveller children were going on to third-level education and becoming doctors, nurses, teachers, and engineers. Would they be happy to come back to the halting site, marry their cousins, and pop out numerous children as tradition dictates? Not at all — they would meet other partners through university, work, etc., and quickly integrate into the settled middle class. Third-level education would destroy Traveller culture in short order, and Travellers know that, so they reject it.

The majority of Travellers' woes are self-inflicted. Their "traditions" of early school-leaving, early consanguineous marriage, large families (half of Traveller women have five or more children), nomadic drifting, etc., do them no favours in the modern world. So we owe them no "reparations."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Cradle to grave welfare, I think we are already giving them a more than generous helping hand.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭LoughNeagh2017

I know what it is like to be treated as a 3rd class citizen due to being an Aspergers loner man so I don't go out of my way to hate them. Something I am curious about though is why they all have Cavan accents even if they were born and bred in Derry.

• Registered Users Posts: 975 ✭✭✭decky1

Maybe some money should be give to those who were 'Adopted' over the years, who had no chance to know their parents, just left in some home or wherever because the church deemed it wrong to have a baby out of marriage. Happy were those who were chosen by good people who cared for them and gave them a start in life but what about those who were left ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭nkl12xtw5goz70

The country is €200 billion in debt, and we can't afford to be doling out "reparations" to everyone with a grievance.

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭Rx713B

They contribute nothing to society , they will rob you blind , they are horrific to animals , they go on as if they are broke yet floating around in a brand new ford focus . Am I tarring them all with the same brush...absolutely . There is not one decent one of them and if they seem decent to you there either robbing you or about too.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,176 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

What about that fuckin' gate I bought in 2004 that was full of sand??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    0.6% of the population yet they are 22% of the prison population.

Yeah, the State is the problem.

The poor too, rag on the poor. There's plenty of them in prison, oh and immigrants...see a pattern here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

Cradle to grave welfare, I think we are already giving them a more than generous helping hand.

When we recieve our reparations from the Brits for centuries of colonisation, it is only fair we give 0.6% to the travelling community.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Can't see the reparations kite ever getting off the ground. I think it is one of those times when the occasion brought out a whole lot of heightened emotions. The problem is for every tale of discrimination there are equally stories of poor Traveller behaviour. I see education as an easier one to focus on, and a long term benefit in anyone's life. The rest is a lot more challenging especially in shifting attitudes on both sides.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

It's bollo. They choose, (culture aside. Nobody forces me to do a jig), choose to live that lifestyle. Everyone should be treated equally. If you want to play outside of societies rules, take the consequences. We all need an address to function, so unless you're on the Fine Gael sponsored homeless scheme, you've no excuse or reason to have several rotating addresses.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

So, there will be ordinary dole payments of 200 euros and then traveller dole payments of what 300 / 400 euro per week.

Is there how it'll work ???

• Registered Users Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭endacl

JRant wrote: »
    Enda opened up that can of worms unfortunately.

Oi!!! :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 363 ✭✭Pronto63

This photographer has a talent. Some wonderful images here.
    How come no images of them at work?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

The speakers from the Travelling community outlined the teaching of the impact their community has had on such areas in Irish culture as traditional music, economics and early recycling as an area where Traveller number retention in schools could be improved.

Are they really suggesting that the way to encourage Traveller kids to stay in school is to tailor the syllabus to include praising them? Should we also have special classes on how fab people from Leitrim are?

You could potentially include references to the traditional music contributions in Leaving Cert music classes, but it might at most be a chapter within the "Irish music" section - would the hopes of a mention one week out of two years be sufficient to keep someone in school.

The early recycling could possibly be brought in under history or civics, but again, they'd be passing mentions in the midst of everything else that students are expected to learn.

As for economics - I'd love to know how that works myself. How can a family with a nett income of €12 - €20,000 a year afford a new €40,000 car every year?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Feisar

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,661 ✭✭✭corks finest

actually they get it at 16 where everyone else is told they cannot get it at 18 and get off you ass and get a job!! By some miracle of science one of them and makes it to university, and they finish it is always something like minority studies or social science. Its never anything real like Engineering, Nursing, Law or Science. .... and when they are done ..... its back to the dole/Dochas/minding the childers.

Don't forget the plamas some come up with reference illiteracy,can't work boss - can't read the safety signs etc etc,sick of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

Pronto63 wrote: »

He's good, but not that good.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,821 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

Pronto63 wrote: »

One of the women getting ready for the wedding seems to be wearing what looks like a nurses/care assistant's tunic. The closest suggestion of work I could find...

• Registered Users Posts: 15,918 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

blackcard wrote: »
    Reparations can work both ways

Will they bring back all the power tools, lead and copper cylinders?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

So it's everyone elses fault that they only go to school the odd day and then drop out at 15.

I suppose it's other peoples fault as well that they have halting sites looking like a bomb was dropped on it with all the rubbish that the council has to clean up for them.

And getting 300 k houses and won't move into them because unless land is bought for their horses or else wrecking the house and expecting it to be fixed then ASAP.

Finally when they say the 'State' should pay they really mean those of us who pay for everything and get nothing.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Elemonator wrote: »
    How is it in any way racist? They aren't a different race. They are a subset of white Irish.

on one hand I didn't like them getting their 'free pass race card' to use whenever caught out , on the other hand, I do enjoy that the government recognised that theres a genetic difference between travellers and irish people.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Rx713B wrote: »
    They contribute nothing to society , they will rob you blind , they are horrific to animals , they go on as if they are broke yet floating around in a brand new ford focus . Am I tarring them all with the same brush...absolutely . There is not one decent one of them and if they seem decent to you there either robbing you or about too.

Not true in my experience over the years. I have had great kindness from some travellers. More in some cases than from other folk. Even a house when I was at risk of being homeless; at a reasonable rent.

Maybe define " contribute to society" as that seems a meaningless cliché/ accusation.

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭Pmacv1

Graces7 wrote: »
    Not true in my experience over the years. I have had great kindness from some travellers. More in some cases than from other folk. Even a house when I was at risk of being homeless; at a reasonable rent.

Maybe define " contribute to society" as that seems a meaningless cliché/ accusation.

How about not being a net-loss for society?