Ana Kriegel - Boys A & B found guilty [Mod: Do NOT post identifying information]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,129 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Davidahig wrote: »
    Some of these hearings run into the night. Could they not keep it going? They have the reports!

Brexit is unprecedented and complex as well so it looks like both cases will have extensions.

The judge isn’t going to rush his decision because the public want information quickly. He’ll do it when he has decided it’s the right time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

maybe the judge has to read over the reports throughly before sentancing them? idk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,503 ✭✭✭Be right back

I hope whatever sentence they get, won't be backdated to when they were first found guilty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,073 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

That poor mother and father, God love them. I hope they find peace in life in some shape or form.

No need to comment on the boys everyone else has said it already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Just like when the House of Commons decides it's the right time for the UK to leave the EU:rolleyes:.

It's just putting Ana's family through more stress by prolonging it.

Easy know it's mid term. Today was the sentence hearing, it was always unlikely that the sentence would not be handed down today, this gives the judge a chance to ponder over the Victim Impact Statement and other reports. These two are in custody anyway so you'll excuse the judge for not rushing the decision to satisfy your voyeuristic needs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Sentencing next Tuesday.

Could they not have gotten it over and done with today?

It's like the UK trying to leave the EU.

What the hell has brexit got to do with this case and with this thread? Every single post you made in here is a reference to brexit. What is your obsession with brexit? Actually, don't bother answering, I don't give a damn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,409 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Let’s hope that wanker of a father of Boy B keeps his ****ing mouth shut this time.

If not, throw him in jail for contempt.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-50210221?intlink_from_url=https://www.bbc.com/news/world&link_location=live-reporting-story

The grandfather of Boy A said his family offered "sincerest regret and remorse" to the Kriégel family.

He described Mrs Kriégel's statement as eloquent and passionate.

He said Boy A "was and is a loving, caring and kind child" and that there "will be a great gap in all our (family) lives" depending on the sentence.

He said he hoped in the future to have a positive relationship with his grandson.

A lawyer for Boy B told the sentence hearing that his client disputed the jury's verdict.

'Remorse' for 'inactivity'
    He said the boy and his father had fallen out over what happened and that explained the father's absence at the hearing.

He said the boy was not a risk for re-offending and was being treated for occasional suicidal tendencies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭KaneToad

I hope whatever sentence they get, won't be backdated to when they were first found guilty.

That would be a little unfair, no? Don't want to give them any avenue for legal challenge...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Hal3000

Thoie wrote: »
    From the Irish Times:

"today’s hearing will include a summary of the evidence by a garda detective inspector and a statement by Ana’s parents and is likely to take a full day."

There’s a petition to get Nolan out. https://www.change.org/p/minister-for-justice-judge-martin-nolan-resignation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-50210221?intlink_from_url=https://www.bbc.com/news/world&link_location=live-reporting-story

The grandfather of Boy A said his family offered "sincerest regret and remorse" to the Kriégel family.

He described Mrs Kriégel's statement as eloquent and passionate.

He said Boy A "was and is a loving, caring and kind child" and that there "will be a great gap in all our (family) lives" depending on the sentence.

He said he hoped in the future to have a positive relationship with his grandson.

A lawyer for Boy B told the sentence hearing that his client disputed the jury's verdict.

'Remorse' for 'inactivity'
    He said the boy and his father had fallen out over what happened and that explained the father's absence at the hearing.

He said the boy was not a risk for re-offending and was being treated for occasional suicidal tendencies.

No sympathy. Not one ounce. Throw away the key.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Intersting that the little ****e A - despite having been found guilty maintains that he "puts forward an alternative explanation" for the forensics found at the scene.

I'm sure he does. Still blaming everyone but himself for his actions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭KWAG2019

Hoboo wrote: »
    We all know the story. I'm not reading emotion, you brought emotion into it. By recounting the story your attempt to stir emotion is a defensive reaction, to deflect from debate in which you have little other fact to offer......to highlight you doing so is not "fear", it's someone calling you out, and you don't seem to like it.

It was explained in black and white in the report and these laymen couldn't comprehend it. Yet you expect they would have the ability to apply common sense if part of a jury.

Correct. I should have said 'or rather apply'. Thanks for that.

You can beg as much as you like, you'll still be wrong. I'll repeat what you actually said...

The random jury system is in place to ensure democracy prevails, the role of the jury is as you stated above. A subtle but poorly executed attempt to yet again deflect your inaccuracies.

I'm now done, too emotional, confused and devoid of fact for me.

An interesting misrepresentation of the facts. Not unexpected at this stage. I wish you well.

All throughout the trial I got the feeling that B was the Mastermind .He was the master puppeteer and shows not one single iota of remorse or shame .That is truly worrying in my eyes .

gozunda wrote: »
    Intersting that the little ****e A - despite having been found guilty maintains that he "puts forward an alternative explanation" for the forensics found at the scene.

I'm sure he does. Still blaming everyone but himself for his actions.

Does he know that he will be released at some stage for murder and given new ID but if he admits to sexual assault he will be put on the register ? Sly ****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

According to the Independent Newspaper "Boy B's lawyer Damien Colgan SC said that his client was not accepting the verdict of the jury... Mr Colgan also said Boy B's father was not in court, saying there had been a falling out between the pair, over what his father perceived as his son's failure to act on the day"

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/boy-found-guilty-of-murdering-ana-kriegel-appears-to-have-accepted-that-he-caused-her-death-court-told-38641837.html

Does he get to promote the fact that he does not accept the verdict of the jury - seriously?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,980 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

It's called a comparison.

Boy A said that he could give an explanation for his semen being found on Ana's top.

Now, I'm no doctor but as far as I'm aware there is only one way semen can leave the body. Did he have a container of semen that spilled or something?

This case continues to reminds me of the James Bulger case. The more violent of the boys who actually carried out the worst of the acts may never be heard of again but I can see boy B coming to the attention of the justice system again in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Hal3000 wrote: »

Let's hope the powers that be take notice of this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭KWAG2019

No sympathy. Not one ounce. Throw away the key.

It's a well crafted statement. It offers sympathy and remorse and ticks a box for those who feel that counts. It praises Ana's mother's statement and seems empathetic and ticks that box for those who feel that counts. It describes the experience of a child within a grandparent/son relationship context and suggests a different narrative about him for those who feel that counts. By pointing to the gap in his family's life with the boy imprisoned it seeks to suggest an equivalence with the victim's family for those who feel that counts. And it suggests that he will be there in the future to nurture a relationship. (I don't need to add for those...)
    A well crafted statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Thank heavens that nolan is not the judge in this case.

Yes, people are getting so tired of the judicial system in this country.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,692 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

Geraldine Kriegel sets it out so vividly. The composure and patience she and her husband have shown have really been inspirational stuff. She had her say today and it painted their suffering and Ana's suffering so clearly.

At what point did she know she was going to die.

Herself and her husband being left to suffer while Ana was missing, all the while someone knew exactly where she was.

The horrendous violation Ana endured.

Being left there to rot for 3 days.

So much of it all has become about Boy A and Boy B. But Ana has been put back to the forefront along with what she suffered and what her family are suffering.

Boy A finally admits he has a part in killing her... I'm sure that's in his own best interests. Certainly not out of any remorse. It's a shame himself and his buddy still can't put the picture together for Ana's family.

But I suppose it doesn't change their situation and everyone knows the Boys murderers anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,394 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Maybe the grandfather is being sincere ?

Does not bring the girl back I know.

That’s a stupid theory: he has already convicted of both.

No need to be rude , the boy may not be aware of all aspects of the law .He is 15 and not a lawyer he is a boy trying to wriggle out of his guilt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭omega man

ebbsy wrote: »
    Maybe the grandfather is being sincere ?

Does not bring the girl back I know.

He said boy A is (still) a loving and caring boy! A good actor more like it. Grandad should keep his mouth shut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,647 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

As much as I hate Boy A for what he did to Ana I detest the other lad, Boy A even more.
    He came across as a right little smart Alec manipulator and kept putting Ana down even after her death. I will always believe, until convinced otherwise, that he was the planner in chief.

I think he still can’t believe he was convicted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,248 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

As much as I hate Boy A for what he did to Ana I detest the other lad, Boy A even more.
    He came across as a right little smart Alec manipulator and kept putting Ana down even after her death. I will always believe, until convinced otherwise, that he was the planner in chief.

you really really hate boy A !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,647 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

2smiggy wrote: »
    you really really hate boy A !!

I hate all murderers and the harm they cause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,989 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

YOu have no feelings for B so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭xalot

xalot wrote: »

Awful. And what’s going to be even worse is the pathetic sentence they’ll most likely get.