Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Dominance of Dublin GAA *Mod warning post#1*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭shockframe

The whole point of this initial funding was to put GAA in areas in Dublin where it wasn't been played!! Your saying its ok to try and do it in Dublin but not Limerick? How does that make sense?

Dublin is a football county first and foremost. It's not as if the game was/is non existent up there.

There was a study done by an ex limerick Footballer and now schools officer who said that before he got involved that Limerick had no schools football development officer at Second Level. The end result was that almost no one got through secondary school with any Football games or development.

We played Clare in the 2016 Championship with only 1 outfield player between the age of 25-30. That lack of schools activity was no doubt a primary factor in such a situation coming to pass.

You're being fairly naive with the presence of Rugby and Hurling that there wouldnt be any hostility towards a plan of action in Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,944 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

rm75 wrote: »
    Why nots thats exactly what you have been doing the entire thread!
    Kerry have 81 provincial titles dublin have 58. Their dominance of Munster has been near total and for far longer than Dublins of Leinster.

How many counties would you split Kerry into?

Mayo have almost double the number of Connacht titles as Roscommon but over 15 times the number of Sligo so what changes would you make there?

If you were really interested in competitiveness, it would be something like this:

Munster:

Kerry East
    Kerry West
    Cork
    Limerick/Clare
    Tipperary/Waterford

Connacht:

Galway
    Mayo
    Roscommon
    Sligo/Leitrim
    London

Ulster:

Donegal
    Derry/Antrim
    Down/Armagh
    Fermanagh/Tyrone
    Cavan
    Monaghan

Leinster:

Dublin North
    Dublin South
    Kildare
    Laois/Offaly
    Carlow/Kilkenny
    Wexford/Wicklow
    Longford/Westmeath
    Louth/Meath

Not wedded to those particular combinations, and someone may have a better one, but 24 is a nice round number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

blanch152 wrote: »
    If you were really interested in competitiveness, it would be something like this:

Munster:

Kerry East
    Kerry West
    Cork
    Limerick/Clare
    Tipperary/Waterford

Connacht:

Galway
    Mayo
    Roscommon
    Sligo/Leitrim
    London

Ulster:

Donegal
    Derry/Antrim
    Down/Armagh
    Fermanagh/Tyrone
    Cavan
    Monaghan

Leinster:

Dublin North
    Dublin South
    Kildare
    Laois/Offaly
    Carlow/Kilkenny
    Wexford/Wicklow
    Longford/Westmeath
    Louth/Meath

Not wedded to those particular combinations, and someone may have a better one, but 24 is a nice round number.

Westmeath and Laois have the same number of Leinster titles in the last 20 years as Kildare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,944 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Westmeath and Laois have the same number of Leinster titles in the last 20 years as Kildare

Fair enough, but there would have to be an element of looking forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭maestroamado

shockframe wrote: »
    The GAA gets a lot of stick but people fail to realise that it has to cater for quite a lot.

Football, Hurling, ladies games, underage and a lot more besides.

All this in a very small country with a small population trying to juggle a unique case with 2 ultra intense indigenous sports.No other country has 2 native games only played on one island.

The GAA is not perfect but it does quite well for itself considering the constraints.

I be very pro gaa but unfortunately they marketed the game to a wider audiance when only a very small number in either codes were ready and had a realistic chance of fulfilling the dream.
    People use comparasion of other sports which is nonsense as most success in other codes is bought.
    Part of the problem in my opinion is that it is too parochial, Dublin is the capital city but when it comes to gaa they bitch as if they were in rural Ireland.
    Its even noticable on this thread, personally i be concerned where the game going forward as without the marketing/sponcorship money the game would not survive in its present state.
    The revenue has being great for gaa but this could be its undoing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Offaly have twice as many Leinster titles in the past 50 years as Kildare, Westmeath, Laois, Wicklow, Louth, Wexford, Longford, Carlow and Kilkenny combined :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭rm75

Munster:

Kerry East
    Kerry West
    Cork
    Limerick/Clare
    Tipperary/Waterford

Connacht:

Galway
    Mayo
    Roscommon
    Sligo/Leitrim
    London

Ulster:

Donegal
    Derry/Antrim
    Down/Armagh
    Fermanagh/Tyrone
    Cavan
    Monaghan

Leinster:

Dublin North
    Dublin South
    Kildare
    Laois/Offaly
    Carlow/Kilkenny
    Wexford/Wicklow
    Longford/Westmeath
    Louth/Meath

Fair enough, at least that would be an honest approach for this thread to have taken. Kerry are by some distance the most dominant county provincially , focusing on Dublin whilst ignoring that reality comes across as simply anti Dublin bias.

Simply splitting based on population is a a crude method in my opinion as evidenced by the fact that Kerry top the roll of honour. Still you've gone to the trouble of at least focusing on all counties population rather than simply ones so an improvement.

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    Its a fair point -

The other thing is that the debate about 'financial doping' is intrinsically tied into the success of the county team as if that is the be all and end all of GAA in the county, without which the game is stagnant.

To go back to discussion on Meath football earlier - when I was a kid, there was virtually no gaelic football in Ashbourne, and not much more in Ratoath. At the time, Ashbourne was as big as Trim or Kells - one of the largest towns in Meath. Meath were winning all irelands left right and centre, but it had no impact on kids living there beyond watching it on the telly. The local games were soccer, rugby and athletics.

Whereas now - Ashbourne and Ratoath both have really strong clubs, loads of kids are playing - but Meath are nowhere in the senior county championship.....

As a local person I would think having a strong local club is much more important than having a county that is winning regularly.

People gloss over the fact that Dublin's cub scene is pretty competitive.,There has been quite a spread of winners at Senior since St Vincents decline in the early 80s.

Add in the fact that there's clubs in recent years like Oliver Plunketts, St Judes and Castleknock who came close to winning it and this all helps in building a good scene for the county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭elefant

threeball wrote: »
    It also conveniently ignores the fact that Galway has always been effectively two counties under one umbrella. One half played hurling, the other football. So effective playing numbers for football would probably be about 13000 and hurling about 8000. Far below the level implied above and more in line with average playing numbers and zero all Irelands. We've the 3rd most in football and 7th in hurling. Within 5yrs I believe we'll be 4th. For the numbers available we punch well above our weight.

Do you think Cork are going to win 3 football championships in 5 years, or Galway will win 4 hurling championships!

People gloss over the fact that Dublin's cub scene is pretty competitive.,There has been quite a spread of winners at Senior since St Vincents decline in the early 80s.

Add in the fact that there's clubs in recent years like Oliver Plunketts, St Judes and Castleknock who came close to winning it and this all helps in building a good scene for the county.

It's spread, Crokes, Ballyboden and Cuala coming from nowhere.

5 of the starting team are from southside clubs that wouldnt have contributed any players prior to the early 1990's. Rather than looking at financial reasons you'd be better off looking at the impact Crokes wins in the early 1990's had on kids in the area. Given the success of Boden and Cuala that's likely to increase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭maestroamado

Munster:

Kerry East
    Kerry West
    Cork
    Limerick/Clare
    Tipperary/Waterford

Connacht:

Galway
    Mayo
    Roscommon
    Sligo/Leitrim
    London

Ulster:

Donegal
    Derry/Antrim
    Down/Armagh
    Fermanagh/Tyrone
    Cavan
    Monaghan

Leinster:

Dublin North
    Dublin South
    Kildare
    Laois/Offaly
    Carlow/Kilkenny
    Wexford/Wicklow
    Longford/Westmeath
    Louth/Meath

Thats exactly what we have in politics and look at the mess they have made of it.
    Unfortunately i think it may be too late but i hope i am wrong.
    It will be interesting to see what the new (2nd) championship is made of if it happens.
    There are loads of things that can be done but a clear out of current administration system is first thing needs doing in my opinion.
    I caught on to what was happening 10/12 years ago and basically if i said anything i was told i was silly, these very people told me later that my radical views at the time were proven correct...

It's spread, Crokes, Ballyboden and Cuala coming from nowhere.

5 of the starting team are from southside clubs that wouldnt have contributed any players prior to the early 1990's. Rather than looking at financial reasons you'd be better off looking at the impact Crokes wins in the early 1990's had on kids in the area. Given the success of Boden and Cuala that's likely to increase.

The recent record of All Ireland club finals is interesting. Dublin had 4 different clubs in a final from 09-16. Other counties had 1 dominant team and almost nothing else a la Corofin, Crossmaglen, Dr Crokes, Nemo.

Thats a danger in the likes of Brolly making heroes out of the likes of Corofin and their 'style' of play and slagging off Galway. Can say as much of their own county rivals as much as it does them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Wicklow is full of "prods" and they've very few GAA clubs in comparison to the rest of the country for the size and population of the county. Your protestant pals that play in Cavan are in the minority, plus Cavan are also sh*te at both sports so I'm not sure what your point is.

By the way, was that 200 more presbyterian stat a typo? Or an attempt at some kind of meaningful relevant stat in relation to playing numbers? 200 people.

Yes there are lot of protestants historically in likes of Wicklow, but it also has the old garrison town mentality as well.
    Bray a town of over 32,000 has one senior club Bray Emmets.

Arklow with population of around 14,000 has two clubs: Geraldines and Rock.
    Rock only play hurling as far as I know.

Greystones with population of around 18,000 has one club: Eire og.

Tralee with population of around 23,000 has 3 senior clubs: Austin Stacks, Kerins O'Rahillys and John Mitchels.

Castlebar with population of around 12,000 has Mitchels and Breaffy is only just over a mile out the road.

It is just not counties with tradition of some success but the likes of Carlow with population of around 24,000 has 4 clubs: Eire Og, O'Hanrahans, Carlow Town hurling, Graiguecullen (yes I know they compete in Laois but they are as good as Carlow town).

As someone said GAA is strong in pockets of Wicklow, but it is particular to more rural areas.
    And also as someone else said a huge fecking chunk of the population think they are dubs.

The youth soccer clubs all try gravitate towards Dublin leagues and hell it looks like Emmets have been trying to get into Dublin as well.

Pardon the pun, but I think they may have grounds for that as I think their ground is technically in Dublin. :confused:

I don't equate Dublin's success to money all that much. The will to succeed has to be there first and foremost. It's apparent in teams like Kerry, Mayo, Tyrone and the Dubs.

Gavin has said it himself that players like Cluxton go through everything in great detail like the last day and prepared accordingly. That's your base level, build from there.

Financial Doping has become a cliche at this stage. It ignores the culture change set about by Gilroy and Gavin and total buy in from the squad that's really important here.

Ah so not alone have they best volunteers it seems, but not they have the hardest working most dedicated players.

We are all just lazy and that is why everyone else loses to the lads and now lassies from Dublin, right :rolleyes:

PS one could argue "buying into a squad" is probably much easier when you don't have to travel upto 3 hours to and form the squad training a few times a week.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

jmayo wrote: »
    Yes there are lot of protestants historically in likes of Wicklow, but it also has the old garrison town mentality as well.
    Bray a town of over 32,000 has one senior club Bray Emmets.

Arklow with population of around 14,000 has two clubs: Geraldines and Rock.
    Rock only play hurling as far as I know.

Greystones with population of around 18,000 has one club: Eire og.

Tralee with population of around 23,000 has 3 senior clubs: Austin Stacks, Kerins O'Rahillys and John Mitchels.

Castlebar with population of around 12,000 has Mitchels and Breaffy is only just over a mile out the road.

It is just not counties with tradition of some success but the likes of Carlow with population of around 24,000 has 4 clubs: Eire Og, O'Hanrahans, Carlow Town hurling, Graiguecullen (yes I know they compete in Laois but they are as good as Carlow town).

As someone said GAA is strong in pockets of Wicklow, but it is particular to more rural areas.
    And also as someone else said a huge fecking chunk of the population think they are dubs.

The youth soccer clubs all try gravitate towards Dublin leagues and hell it looks like Emmets have been trying to get into Dublin as well.

Pardon the pun, but I think they may have grounds for that as I think their ground is technically in Dublin. :confused:

Ah so not alone have they best volunteers it seems, but not they have the hardest working most dedicated players.

We are all just lazy and that is why everyone else loses to the lads and now lassies from Dublin, right :rolleyes:

PS one could argue "buying into a squad" is probably much easier when you don't have to travel upto 3 hours to and form the squad training a few times a week.

Nobody is saying that or has said that or has even insinuated that.

There is constructive debate, and then there is just arguing for the sake of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

So do we force dublin to train in mullingar? or the players to work in munster? Or accept that some things are just economic and social realities/neccessities of the modern world and nothing can be done about them?
    Some things can just never be equal. There are intrinsic advantages and there always has been in every sport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Gael85 wrote: »
    Tallaght West, Ballyfermot, Walkinstown, Drimnagh, Crumlin, Kingswood and Kilnamanagh wouldn't be strong at underage.

Sure look at my Alma Maters, Liffey Gaels and Good Counsel.

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    Nobody is saying that or has said that or has even insinuated that.

There is constructive debate, and then there is just arguing for the sake of it.

Actually some have said that Dublin's success is down to how great the unpaid volunteers are i.e. meaning the rest of the country's volunteers are shyte. :mad:
    Bridge93 wrote: »
    So do we force dublin to train in mullingar? or the players to work in munster? Or accept that some things are just economic and social realities/neccessities of the modern world and nothing can be done about them?
    Some things can just never be equal. There are intrinsic advantages and there always has been in every sport

But this leads me to point that the inter-county model for top tier football and probably eventually hurling is unsustainable.

Even if you were to remove the in-balance created in development funding, you cannot remove the in-balance in player numbers, rich successful growing clubs, the proximity of players and the sheer financial clout in terms of attracting high level sponsorship.

It is a totally un-level playing field to use a hackneyed expression.

And you can tinker all you want, including splitting Dublin/amalgamating others, but Dublin and other richer areas will always have an advantage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

But this leads me to point that the inter-county model for top tier football and probably eventually hurling is unsustainable.

Even if you were to remove the in-balance created in development funding, you cannot remove the in-balance in player numbers, rich successful growing clubs, the proximity of players and the sheer financial clout in terms of attracting high level sponsorship.

It is a totally un-level playing field to use a hackneyed expression.

And you can tinker all you want, including splitting Dublin/amalgamating others, but Dublin and other richer areas will always have an advantage.

Perhaps. It may well be that modern economic realities and the population shifts theybring, and amateurism sadly just dont work together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭gaffer91

Look, Dublin will have to be split. They have unfair funding, population and de facto home pitch advantages on every other county. These advantages help them to win more games and titles than they otherwise would.

Gormdubhgorm and Gachla have posted some charts showing the explosion in titles won by teams from Dublin since the financial doping in the early 2000s started. It's gone on for so long now the advantages will probably last for decades if concentrated in a single team. A split will help to manage these advantages fairly.

gaffer91 wrote: »
    Look, Dublin will have to be split. They have unfair funding, population and de facto home pitch advantages on every other county. These advantages help them to win more games and titles than they otherwise would.

Gormdubhgorm and Gachla have posted some charts showing the explosion in titles won by teams from Dublin since the financial doping in the early 2000s started. It's gone on for so long now the advantages will probably last for decades if concentrated in a single team. A split will help to manage these advantages fairly.

And Kerry and also Mayo and Galway

Bridge93 wrote: »

Jack Mccaffrey was working on drogheda, O'Gara lives in Wexford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭gaffer91

None of those counties have unfair advantages- Dublin have many e.g funding, population, home advantage for consequential games etc.

Even if Dublin didn't win the next 5 (which they probably will) they should still be split because of their advantages, not just because of the outcomes.

None of those counties have unfair advantages- Dublin have many e.g funding, population, home advantage for consequential games etc.

Even if Dublin didn't win the next 5 (which they probably will) they should still be split because of their advantages, not just because of the outcomes.

So Kerry's 91 provincial titles is due to their natural brilliance while Dublins 58 are down to "cheating" basically!!! ?

Given Kerry apparently dont have an "unfair advantage" what would put the lack of success of Clare down to , Laziness ?

How about Leitrim ? Mayo and Galway according to yourself have no "unfair advantage" so logically Leitrim should be winning as many titles.

Yes Mayo the county that has won two National Leagues in the last 20 years, and last won an All-Ireland in 1951.
    Oh and hasn't won their provincial since 2015.

Or Galway the county that last won the All-Ireland in 2001 and last won the league in 1981.
    Where do you stand up again ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,240 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Excuse me. If you are going to try and warp my username into some kind of support for your arguments. Please do not deliberately misinterpret the sheets I posted which were in response to Gachla's misinformation. Which told an entirely different picture to Gacha's propaganda. It put them under proper scrutiny in the context of Kerry's domination when they had a great team - contrasting Dublin's domination as a great team.

The major place Kerry dropped off from (1981-2000) to (2001 to 2019) (in terms of titles) was in ladies football! Primarily because of the doimance of Cork/Waterford. Also both my Kerry and Dublin football sheets demonstrated that an exceptional crop of u21 footballers were critical to both Kerry's and Dublin's success.
    Furthermore, Dublin severely neglected underage football and did not even enter u21 teams for various period in the past. It has taken Dublin a number of years to recover from those disastrous choices.

I have already commented in detail on them. It now seems to be a misguided, sleeveen
    attempt by you to try and shoehorn my username - as an indication for any support for your clear biases on this subject.

Dublin football GAA 1981 - 2019 (updated) -

yf8UbEE.png

Kerry GAA 1981 - 2019 -

X1uf7YC.png

Also it shows how dominate Kerry have been in the two different periods as I said earlier it shows thier only drop off was in the ladies football.
    If anything the GAA should be thankful of a resurgent Dublin because Kerry would be running away with it most years otherwise.
    Healthy competition is good there will be a great rivalry between the two sides in the next 10 years as Dublin dip and the Kingdom roars.

You will also note at despite a supposed decline in Kerry they still have 6 AI between 2001 and 2019 v 5 between 1981- 2000 that is real dominance. Much more total than anything Dublin has achieved in both periods. Also Dublin have only now got up with Kerry's level of provincial dominance now.
    Kerry are 10 in the first sheet 14 in the second for munsters. Dublin have gone 8 (81-00) 15 (01-19) for leinsters. Dublin also have had no u21 win for two years no minor win for seven years.
    But of course you ignore that fact, it would not suit the narrative that Dublin's domination will go on forever.
    This is team that was taken to a replay three times, and should have lost all three on route to a five in a row.

There are some things money can't buy class, a winning culture, and mental strength.

I have yet to see you mention any of these intangibles - maybe you have not played sport or something I don't know?
    Maybe you are just brainwashed by certain people in the media who deal in shock value rather than facts?
    Maybe you just do not like the Dubs?

But whatever the reason is you are not exploring the issue to its fullest and you are only seeing what you wish to see and make yourself sound silly by trotting out phrases like 'financial doping' and trying to twist others points in line with your own biases.

Also it has been pointed out to you that splits will invariably lead to amalgamations of other counties.
    Would you be ready for that?

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Yes Mayo the county that has won two National Leagues in the last 20 years, and last won an All-Ireland in 1951.
    Oh and hasn't won their provincial since 2015.

Or Galway the county that last won the All-Ireland in 2001 and last won the league in 1981.
    Where do you stand up again ?

Provincial titles
    Galway 48
    Mayo 46
    Sligo 3
    Leitrim 2

Munster
    Kerry 81
    Cork 37

Limerick 1
    Waterford 1

So provincial domination is fine for Munster and Connacht but not Leinster is what you're saying ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,102 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

No one has provided a single piece of evidence of financial doping or explanation of any unfairness carried out by Dublin. If Dublin have not acted unfairly their advantages cannot be unfair.

Not one single piece.
    After all these pages.

A compulsory split aint never gonna happen. Never. There is no legal basis or precedent for such an act in sporting history.

I repeat... Dublin are not engaged in financial doping. People are using jargon phrases with no definition or backup. Dublin are not financially doping. Not 1 cent.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Provincial titles
    Galway 48
    Mayo 46
    Sligo 3
    Leitrim 2

Munster
    Kerry 81
    Cork 37

Limerick 1
    Waterford 1

So provincial domination is fine for Munster and Connacht but not Leinster is what you're saying ?
    In Connacht though at least you have a third county occasionally winning a title

Provincial titles
    Galway 48
    Mayo 46
    Sligo 3
    Leitrim 2

Munster
    Kerry 81
    Cork 37

Limerick 1
    Waterford 1

This dichotomy has always amused me. I think the shock to the system for people is how poorly the formerly traditional counties of Kildare and Meath performed. Not just in leinster but outside Leinster.
    Meath had been a division 2 team for over a decade. Meath had been beaten by
    Westmeath beat Meath in 2015
    Longford beat Meath in 2018
    Wicklow beat Kildare in 2008

What did Kildare and Meath ever do outside leinster in the qualifiers.
    The qualifiers have been a Dub free zone for many years - but yet I can't even think of a Kildare/Meath beating a team in the qualifiers where they were the underdogs except 'Newbridge or nowhere 2018'.
    Where was the improvement?
    That is hardly Dublin's fault.

Offally are not not even a 'dual county' they are just known for golf now.
    Is this Dublin's fault?

It is grand for Kerry to have a stranglehold on thier province. But Dublin how dare they.....
    You can only play what is put in front of you and Dublin are still able to maintain focus/fitness despite being a victim of an outdated provincial system - where formerly well run counties are now just going through the motions.

Weepsie wrote: »
    If population is an issue, splitting Dublin would eventually just lead to 2 excellent teams. Even if split by council you'd have 4-5 that could possibly best most others and just have a load Dublin teams in the semis

I don't believe population is as much as advantage as it is cracked up to be.
    The real adavantage Dublin have is geographical/economical as that is where most of the jobs are.
    In other sports such as soccer there are teams like Iceland/Croatia who punch well above thier population weight in the international arena.

The main problem other county boards have is the parish pump politics, nod and a wink way of running things. Population or not there is never going to be real improvement - when the thing is run by a lad, who knows a fella who knows yer man.