Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Boards Beers - August 30 - EatYard/ the Bernard Shaw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,807 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Nosnon wrote: »
    I can just imagine the looks Perse will get from people when a load of lads walk up to her asking are you the woman off the internet.

As she lures them up a side alley to show them a box of 'kittens'!

To thine own self be true

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,180 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

That's how she got me

Go way, you'd never go into the big scary city :)

Dead ones for added je nais se quois.

But then Sephers will bring them back to life!

Shhhheshhh.. Don't mention dead cats around Seph :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭The Crazy Cat Lady

sadly i won't be making this :(

Ah that's a shame Aspie. Maybe the next one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭The Crazy Cat Lady

Ah that's a shame Aspie. Maybe the next one?

yeah fingers crossed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

What time is this thing kicking off at ? ,starting at I mean :)

cjmc wrote: »
    What time is this thing kicking off at ? ,starting at I mean :)

8pm is a good time. I won't be home until 7 so it will be 8.30 by the time I get in. All going well.
    Next one will definitely be on the northside :p

I get paid on Thursday so i'll have to see how much I have to play with after bills. I've never been to Beatyard, whats the craic with it? Is it a pub or a foodie place?? Seems like an outdoor market on it's website.
    The Big Blue Bus in the back-yard of the Shaw serves pizza (loads of choices). But there's also a doorway into Eatyard next door via the pub, so it might as well be part of the pub. (You're allowed bring your food into the Shaw's outdoor area, it's treated as the same premises)

Drinks and food menu for the Shaw here
    http://thebernardshaw.com/menu/

Eatyard food choices here
    http://thebernardshaw.com/eatyard/

Also it might rain. Not to be negative or anything. I wonder should we book a space inside?

That's a really good idea, and would make things considerably more comfortable -- the place can get really busy.

Maybe a mod can add a poll? And people can say whether they're definites, or probablies, or otherwise. That way we can request to reserve tables.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,180 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Poll added for yis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,465 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

If I didn't live far far away I would probably go, but I do live far far away.

Also it's ok if you are undecided or decide at the last minute :)

Arghus wrote: »
    If I didn't live far far away I would probably go, but I do live far far away.
    I'm a culchie too and only venture into the metropolis a few times a year.
    Maybe Seph or one of the non Dublin people would organise a shindig down the country for the rest of us turf munchers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,465 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Maybe Seph or one of the non Dublin people would organise a shindig down the country for the rest of us turf munchers :)

I'll get my finest string of bailing twine out to help hoist my good trousers up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,082 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Anyone can organise a beers, you don't need a mod to do it for you.

Dial Hard wrote: »

Anyone can organise a beers, you don't need a mod to do it for you.
    I know, I'm just being lazy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Just wondering, what's the age profile of those going ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,342 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

Poll added for yis.

Any Atari jaguar Option? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

I'm up for that.

God I'm not sure. I'm in my thirties and I'm sure there are at least two others in their thirties and one in their forties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,677 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Late 40's fer me, anyways.

Average age last couple of times was 33 - 35.

But everyone there was wiser than their years. Old souls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,677 ✭✭✭Odhinn

How do we identify each other? All be wearing assless leather chaps? Asking somebody in a low voice "are you from that thing on the net" could cause ructions on a number of levels....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,082 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Odhinn wrote: »
    How do we identify each other? All be wearing assless leather chaps? Asking somebody in a low voice "are you from that thing on the net" could cause ructions on a number of levels....

You can always just tell. Plus people calling eachother by their usernames is always a dead giveaway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

And do people go by their usernames when meeting in RL.