Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should work pay for my tuxedo ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

thenumber3 wrote: »
    Hi all, thanks for the feedback. Some posters were looking for a bit of context:

Marketing and promotions are not part of my job role
    I do agree however I am probably best to represent the company at these particular awards
    In relation to hiring, there will be at least 5 events to attend so economically this is not viable
    I know how my firm operates and there will be no internal promotion resulting from this
    I don’t see how the amount of my salary matters, I am on a reasonable wage but for me it is the principle of this. Also, I will be effectively working at these events in the evening after my standard working day and while one or two can be enjoyable to attend every so often, from what I’ve been told they can be dull after a while.
    While I am not suggesting he would buy a suit on expenses, my boss if attending would be pretty fast to expense taxis to and from, buying drinks and even the odd hotel stay in the city even though he just lives 5 miles away
    Looking online at photos of past events everyone seems to wear tuxedos, I think wearing even a dark suit wouldn’t look right

I now think you should ponder again about the shop steward scenario and if you don't have a shop steward, start a union.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 thenumber3

I now think you should ponder again about the shop steward scenario and if you don't have a shop steward, start a union.

Right. Okay...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭MAJJ

I suggest you run it by your boss.
    Also, consider the networking potential of these events and also CV items that may make you stand out in your next interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭antix80

Are you for real?

How is this extreme leftist bs helpful to someone who's actually in employment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭The chan chan man

Ive been going to these things for years. Just bought my own and got on with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

antix80 wrote: »
    Are you for real?

How is this extreme leftist bs helpful to someone who's actually in employment?

Do you actually think the poster is employed?

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 thenumber3

Do you actually think the poster is employed?

Seriously? Cop on mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

I don’t see how the amount of my salary matters, I am on a reasonable wage but for me it is the principle of this. Also, I will be effectively working at these events in the evening after my standard working day and while one or two can be enjoyable to attend every so often, from what I’ve been told they can be dull after a while.

Nicely deflected there.

I can only assume your interpretation of "reasonable wage" is modest.

TBH, talk to a good accountant, one that will explain the BIK implications of expensing an expensive suit vs your income tax liability. You never know it might benefit you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭antix80

Doubt there's bik on a rented tux any more than there is on a car rental. An accountant would cost more than tux rental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,489 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

This is all upside. You've been put into a role where you are representing your employer at a high-profile event, which means you are well-regarded. It's in your interests to discharge the role well, so don't ignore the dress code by turning up in a lounge suit.

Evening wear is surprisingly cheap (presumably because it's not constructed to very robust standards). If I were in your position I'd kit my self out to do this, and not make an issue about reimbursement, which will draw the wrong kind of attention to you. If it's a one-off event, rent; if a few events, buy. And I wouldn't assume you'll get no more wear out of it. Who knows? The company may be nominated again next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭GalwayGrrrrrl

I think you should buy your own tux and not say anything to your manager. If you were female and asked to go would you ask your manager for money for a dress? No, you’d buy something or use what’s in wardrobe or borrow from a friend. A tux is something that most business people would have in the wardrobe so it’s time to invest and you’ll have it for life.
    It seems quite petty to be saying that these events are work and you’re doing it on your own time. It’s part of your salaried job so you need to stop thinking about hourly rate and look at the bigger picture. You’re getting a free night out, cost would be at least 100 Euro per ticket so you’ll get more than the cost of the suit in free nights out. Buy a suit, go to event, eat and drink all you can and try to enjoy.
    Btw I thought it was so ridiculous that someone would ask boss to pay for suit that I thought this thread was a hoax from the title.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

the-best-quotes-from-30-rock-will-start-your-weekend-with-a-laugh-37-photos-2.jpg?quality=85&strip=info&w=600

Personally, If i was the OP, I'd Buy a tux. Think of it as an investment in yourself.

You never know who's going to be at these events. It's often a great way to network and if your the best person in the company to represent it, You're in a great position to get the inside track at these things.

Tax wise, I cant see why not you couldn't claim this back as a Deduction, It is something you need for work, Much like a carpenter can claim back some work clothes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭mcko

Tell your boss he needs to pay, you are representing the company, it will be a business expense for them.

. . . Tax wise, I cant see why not you couldn't claim this back as a Deduction, It is something you need for work, Much like a carpenter can claim back some work clothes.
    it's not deductible, any more than a lounge suit for office work is deductible. The fact that you only wear it at work and wouldn't buy it but for work is irrelevant. it would need to be specialised work gear (safety gear, a company-specific uniform, that kind of thing) before it would be tax-deductible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

A company I worked for used to host numerous industry events every year, some black tie and others formal wear. All of us were expected to attend at least some of the events, whatever our role in the company.

To cover the expense, all employees were given what was called a "suit allowance" (although obviously, depending on the event, it may have been a dress or a tux or whatever.) All employees were allowed €300 p.a., with more senior employees being allowed up to €1,000 p.a. (as they were expected to attend more events.) Female employees were also allowed to claim back hair/ makeup expenses for the biggest black tie events of the year.

The way this was administered was we had to submit receipts, and the costs were refunded through monthly payroll. It was a tax deductible bonus, so we didn't get the full amount back, but it was something at least.

So it's not unheard of, and is worth discussing with your boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

While I am not suggesting he would buy a suit on expenses, my boss if attending would be pretty fast to expense taxis to and from, buying drinks and even the odd hotel stay in the city even though he just lives 5 miles away

You are entitled to expense anything that your boss expenses, if you haven’t been doing so up until now that’s completely on you. In fairness the Irish are absolutely terrible at this kind of stuff, especially the younger people. in the US and UK they expense away without thinking twice, they see it as a right and/or entitlement whereas we act like it’s a privilege to spend company money.

I doubt you can expense the suit but if you need taxis and/or a hotel then pay for it, claim it back - your boss won’t say anything. It’s all about consistency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Allinall

An employee can be reimbursed (~ without any tax or BIK implications) for any expense that is incurrred wholly, exclusively and necessarily in the course of their duties.

The first and third criteria are not in question.

If the employee can show that he has no other need for a tux; has never worn one before and doesn't see any situation where he would wear one outside of work, then he would have a strong case to argue with revenue.

The fact that he could use it outside of work is irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,822 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Go to your boss and say you don't have one, and do they think you need to buy one, or is just renting one ok, because you don't want to waste money on something you'll use 5 times and then never again.

That might make them view things from a different perspective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭maestroamado

First of all i think the company should pick up the tab for all expense for this night (ie suit drinks taxis)
    I used attend a few of these every year and what we did we buy our own suit and claim expense each time we attend event and the suit be paid for in few years, we were also reimbursed for reasonable travel drink etc.

I think what i would do in your case i would attend the first one and take the hit for the suit, in my opinion it be difficult to ask straight out if there is not some kindof system in place.
    I am sure you be having a conversation with your boss about the event in the days after, since the topic is being discussed this would be the time to say that while you happy to represent the company there is an expense for you let alone the fact that you are giving your time.
    I think if you approach it in this fashion you will sort it out very quickly with positive results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Allinall

I think if you approach it in this fashion ............

Is there really any need for this?

It's not even Friday. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,062 ✭✭✭blackbox

I would hire one and claim the cost on expenses without a second thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭IAmTheReign

Steve wrote: »
    How much are they paying you? salary?

sure if you are on minimum wage then yeah you have a point. If you are on 150K and get sent to awards then get your own feckin tux..

How much you get paid has nothing to do with it. If my employer ever wants me to do anything away from the office then my employer pays for every expense relating to the trip. The bottom line is if employer expects him to go then the cost of the event should be covered.

... I am not officially involved in marketing or promoting the company
    ... my boss simply doesn't want to go himself
    ... I'd much rather be at home enjoying my spare time.
    There will be a fair few industry events over the next 6 months so hiring would be as expensive I think.
    ... there will be no internal promotion resulting from this
    ... from what I’ve been told they can be dull after a while
    ....my boss if attending would be pretty fast to expense
    ... I think wearing even a dark suit wouldn’t look right

I'd be swerving the event based on what you've said here OP.

At a push I'd agree to go to one to do my fair share, but I definitely wouldnt be letting it cost me an arm and a leg.

Do your job and do it well but set boundaries that you feel comfortable with, whatever they might be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Lackadaisical

Mr.S wrote: »
    If you are regularly representing your company at industry events, dinner with clients etc then it's common practise for your employer to offer a 'clothing allowance'. Eg in our place marketing / sales staff are given a yearly €500 BT voucher to buy clothes with for events or meetings or whatever.

That actually wouldn't go very far in BT. They're ludicrously over priced and you'd probably want more than one suit.

I don't see why any man would want more than one dinner jacket. If the events have dress codes that don't require dinner jackets, and ordinary suits can be worn, then the same suits that you wear to the office will be fine. If you don't wear suits to the office and just need them for the evening functions then, again, one suit is plenty.

Different, perhaps, for women, where there is an expectation that they will not wear the same set of formal wear to every function.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,108 ✭✭✭This is it

Haven't read all the replies but you have a few options.

Go cheap and wear a black suit with a dickie bow. Grab a formal shirt if you want. Confirm with your employer that they'll pay for the bits and pieces. I'd even include dry cleaning your suit after in expenses.

Hire a tux, I did this the last two events I went to. Works out about €120-150 with your own shoes. Hire suits aren't great and the shirts aren't great... Confirm with your employer that they'll pay.

Buy a tux. If you have more than two events this is the route I'd go. Expensive upfront but you'll save in the long run. Again, confirm your employer will pay.

If they're not willing to cough up then don't go, you shouldn't have to fork out for a work event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

I understand it's a tricky position.... but I'm thinking back on one of my previous roles where I was young and quite junior, but still required to go to a couple of ceremonies like this, and I can't imagine the reaction I would have gotten if I'd asked my employer for money for an appropriate dress and a blow dry. I think it's one of those things where either you should pay for it yourself or else tell your boss they will need to send someone else... but it will not reflect well on you.

A good tux doesn't have to set you back €500, there are loads of tips in the thread so far. You won't just get the 5 wears out of it either, I'm sure there will be other occasions in the future where you'll need one.

... I think it's one of those things where either you should pay for it yourself or else tell your boss they will need to send someone else... but it will not reflect well on you....

It's a sad indictment of working culture when people are constantly afraid to say 'no' to overtime (unpaid in this case) or other requests they don't feel comfortable with because of 'how it will reflect on them'.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,373 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Look in charity shops. They very often have tuxes for twenty euro or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭anacc

Renting the suit and expensing the cost is pretty standard.