Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jeffrey Epstein arrested on sex trafficking charges

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭Reisers

I'd like to see Prince Andrew get what's coming to him

Odious man but he's prob too well protected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,847 ✭✭✭take everything

NoteAgent wrote: »
    This story was proven to be false. The woman with the winning ticket happened to purchase the ticket using a family trust with the same name as one of Epstein's trusts. I was hoping it was true though.......this whole Epstein story is better than any movie

https://www.inquisitr.com/5576481/jeffrey-epstein-powerball-lottery/
    Not convinced.

Your link references this couple of sentences from a Bloomberg opinion columnist:
    "But the Oklahoma City newspaper, the Oklahoman, did a little more digging and discovered that the anonymous winner worked in a grocery store across the street from the convenience store where the winning ticket was sold. Apparently, she decided to use the same name for her trust as Epstein did for his."

I would not consider this proof of anything. It's extremely light on detail. The ticket is naturally going to trace back to an "anonymous winner". That goes without saying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭NoteAgent

Not convinced.

"But the Oklahoma City newspaper, the Oklahoman, did a little more digging and discovered that the anonymous winner worked in a grocery store across the street from the convenience store where the winning ticket was sold. Apparently, she decided to use the same name for her trust as Epstein did for his."

The ticket is naturally going to trace back to an "anonymous winner".

I'm not sure I understand what you mean.

The local newspaper found out who the winner was and it wasn't Epstein. What more is there to say. Oh wait let me guess, he controls that newspaper as well?

Tony EH wrote: »
    I can't see this incident being down to a simple case of being short staffed. That as an explanation sounds more far fetched than him being killed to silence him. Not only that, Epstein was no ordinary prisoner. He was a sociopathic power monger/broker, who had an enormous depth of dirt on many, many high profile names in a certain strata of society. This isn't just some common or garden high sec prisoner that you can let be on his own and hope all is well.

There doesn't need to be a "big conspiracy". You know, people get "offed" in American prisons all the time and often by the order of outside influences. Stool pigeons and rats have been got at by inmates willing to do the deed, on some vague promise, since prisons were invented.

The guy sharing Epstein's cell was straight out of the TV show "Oz". A bent cop who was on lock down himself, for fear of being got at. There's a picture of the guy floating around and, frankly it's a joke that that was the fella chosen to share the cell.

Hulking-Killer-e1565623039348.png

It's really not that hard to imagine guards looking the other way, while he sorted out Epstein in short order.

Offed by an oversized Right-said Fred.
    Jaysus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,751 ✭✭✭Pa ElGrande

Offed by an oversized Right-said Fred.
    Jaysus.

And his name like Nicholas Tartaglione and facing the death penalty for murder. A name like that suggests someone who would have the contacts with the family to get things done.

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,501 ✭✭✭q85dw7osi4lebg

• Site Banned Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭sk8erboii

https://www.cbsnews.com/amp/news/jeffrey-epstein-death-shrieking-heard-jail-cell-morning-he-died-metropolitan-correctional-center/?fbclid=IwAR1CLNZelRwCdKg_-2lV7r1OsLZy3ssli4s14yITSbUMYk2Y9hkilKdGNJ0

'One of Epstein's guards at the Metropolitan Correctional Center on the night he died was reportedly not a regular corrections officer.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

sk8erboii wrote: »
    https://www.cbsnews.com/amp/news/jeffrey-epstein-death-shrieking-heard-jail-cell-morning-he-died-metropolitan-correctional-center/?fbclid=IwAR1CLNZelRwCdKg_-2lV7r1OsLZy3ssli4s14yITSbUMYk2Y9hkilKdGNJ0

'One of Epstein's guards at the Metropolitan Correctional Center on the night he died was reportedly not a regular corrections officer.'

William Barr's very unhappy about the situation. If anyone has the power to get to the bottom of this it's him!

The account posting the drone footage on youtube is called "Rusty Shackleford" (a conspiracy theory character from Mike Judges King of the Hill cartoon). And when you think the Epstein case could not get any stranger the account has been popularly associated with John McAfee who is in a spot of bother with the taxman among other things.

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

Epsteins body identified by his estranged brother Mark Epstein.
    CBS News has learned that Epstein's estranged brother Mark was called and he identified Epstein's body. The New York City Medical Examiner's office has performed an autopsy, but the results are still pending.

In an interview with our West Palm Beach affiliate WPEC-TV, a former Florida corrections worker said Epstein was "treated like a celebrity" during his 13-month stint in a county jail after he pleaded guilty in 2008 to charges of soliciting a minor for prostitution. She claims his cell was regularly left unlocked and she saw him move freely through the dormitory area — sometimes completely naked — without repercussions.

source

Jeffrey Epstein: two jail guards placed on leave and warden reassigned, DoJ says

The US justice department said on Tuesday that two guards assigned to watch Jeffrey Epstein at the New York jail in which he died have been placed on leave and the warden temporarily reassigned.
    <snip>
    Guards on the unit are now suspected of falsifying log entries to show they were making the checks, according to another person familiar with the investigation.

Surveillance video reviewed after the death showed guards never made some of the checks noted in the log, according to the person, who also wasn’t authorized to disclose information and spoke to the Associated Press Tuesday on condition of anonymity.

source

Jeffrey Epstein was taken off suicide watch at his lawyers’ request
    Millionaire pedophile Jeffrey Epstein, who apparently killed himself while in federal custody in Manhattan, was taken off suicide watch in late July at the request of his attorneys, according to a report.

The disgraced money manager was found unresponsive in his single-inmate cell at the Metropolitan Correctional Center early Saturday and was declared dead at NewYork-Presbyterian Lower Manhattan Hospital.

Epstein had been meeting with his attorneys for up to 12 hours a day before they requested that he be taken off suicide watch, sources familiar with the matter told the Wall Street Journal.

source

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭TomOnBoard

The guard failed to follow the procedure and go check Epstein was ok every 15 minutes. Just so happened- he forgets this task for seven hours? Was he asleep, munching and eating donuts, and where was the second guard during this time?

Securiity Cameras inside the 'Special housing unit recorded nothing? When will people see the footage? The video should be out already. Disappearing tapes you know they killed him then.

Who decided it was ok to take him off suicide watch? Epstein in jail he hardly happy about that. I would be checking the banks accounts of every employee to see if they got a large payment. Psychologist who talked with Epstein has lot to answer for- if he agreed to take him off suicide watch after 14 days.

Who made the decision to have a rookie watch Epstein?It just so happened he was able to hang himself a second time after failing the first attempt allegedly. Personally i think these narratives are coming out now to hide the fact he was allowed to die. There going to blame it on overtime, stress, bad management, and skeptics will sleep easier at night, the case closed.

The 2 "guards" apparently had a 3-hour snooze followed by a falsification of records to sign off on having done their rounds. Epstein is reported as having been found 'cold', likely to have been dead for up to 2 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

Apparently the prison warden who “resigned” has been given a lucrative position in the Clinton foundation ! Suspicious ??? I think the timeline definitely raises some “serious” questions....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Apparently the prison warden who “resigned” has been given a lucrative position in the Clinton foundation ! Suspicious ??? I think the timeline definitely raises some “serious” questions....

Tinfoil hat lizard people

That's the usual attitude isn't it?

The conspiracy from the dark side of the internet is that the warden was an affirmative action hire.

The account posting the drone footage on youtube is called "Rusty Shackleford" (a conspiracy theory character from Mike Judges King of the Hill cartoon). And when you think the Epstein case could not get any stranger the account has been popularly associated with John McAfee who is in a spot of bother with the taxman among other things.

This whole case is weird.
    Maybe a stupid question, but how does one operate a drone on an island like that.

Is the operator resident there.
    Or could it possibly be done remotely.

And footage of FBI guys going about their business. Is that totally ok? Or is the account associated with them in some way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,501 ✭✭✭q85dw7osi4lebg

More footage posted to that youtube account in last few hours. How long before it's all deleted I wonder? Incredible job.

Maybe a stupid question, but how does one operate a drone on an island like that.

And footage of FBI guys going about their business. Is that totally ok? Or is the account associated with them in some way.

The island is located in the US Virgin Islands. A drone like the model being used can be controlled from up to 5 KM away. I don't know about privacy laws in that part of the world. The account has been putting up videos on youtube for weeks

Electronics Were Removed From Epstein’s ‘Pedo Island’ Before FBI Raid

Drone footage of “suicided” sex trafficker Jeffrey Epstein’s ‘Pedo Island’ home shows that potentially crucial electronics equipment was removed from the home before an FBI raid which took place on Monday.

“This video taken on July 15th show what appears to be an Apple computer on the right along with a pair of binoculars and a box of tissues,” writes Chris Menahan. “It looks as though there’s a white wire possibly connected to an external hard drive on the same desk. What looks like a printer can be seen on the far right, deeper in the kitchen. There’s also what looks like a tablet charging on the left.”

source

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,705 ✭✭✭Cheerful Spring2

If anything this raid seems like PR exercise. Took them this long to go there? The FBI and NYPD should have gone to this house months ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,705 ✭✭✭Cheerful Spring2

TomOnBoard wrote: »
    The 2 "guards" apparently had a 3-hour snooze followed by a falsification of records to sign off on having done their rounds. Epstein is reported as having been found 'cold', likely to have been dead for up to 2 hours.

Of course, they will keep pushing the narrative the staff fell asleep, they were stressed, overworked, anything else, can disprove a conspiracy. We have newly created headline tomorrow or next day.

Epstein was a threat to the lot of people. Business leaders, Scientists, Politicians and Famous people were visiting Epstein Island. I not buying yet Republicans and Democrats truly want a open and honest investigation. Epstein intelligence connections and ties to arms dealers in South America and The Middle east, still the official media outlets have yet to touch upon. Epstein decades old network is vast. You don't earn his kind of money from nowhere.

Of course, they will keep pushing the narrative the staff fell asleep, they were stressed, overworked, anything else, can disprove a conspiracy. We have newly created headline tomorrow or next day.

We should never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by ignorance. It looks like the warden was someone who who played the diversity game to get promoted within the system and would not have a grasp as to what was going on, she has been quickly moved sideways now that she has been found out to be operating at a level beyond her competence. The most likely story is that at least one of the men on duty was committing fraud and getting paid overtime while sleeping on the job, the tell is the logs and the screaming when they found Epstein dead in the cell.

Epstein was a threat to the lot of people. Business leaders, Scientists, Politicians and Famous people were visiting Epstein Island. I not buying yet Republicans and Democrats truly want a open and honest investigation. Epstein intelligence connections and ties to arms dealers in South America and The Middle east, still the official media outlets have yet to touch upon. Epstein decades old network is vast. You don't earn his kind of money from nowhere.

Yes. The sexual activity with minors only catches the weakest among his circle who are not the big money players. Some of his financial dealings have a strong whiff of sulphur about them and his use of charity as a tax efficient cover to pay off the girls and ingrate himself in society using money to acquire a patina of virtue.

Epstein's lawyers are signaling his most powerful friends' secrets are safe with him, will that keep them close?
    As his legend grew, many others were fascinated or amused or impressed by Epstein or simply delighted that he wrote checks to their charities. His interest in young women was no secret; Donald Trump famously applauded it in 2002. Vicky Ward, who published a long profile of Epstein in Vanity Fair in 2003, recently revisited transcripts of her interviews: “What is so amazing to me is how his entire social circle knew about this and just blithely overlooked it . . . all mentioned the girls, as an aside.
    <snip>
    It is rumored that Epstein's lawyer has made a proffer to the prosecutors: Epstein will agree to cooperate with the investigation, including giving up the names of individuals that paid for activities with underage girls in exchange for a maximum sentence not to exceed 5 years.

If true, that proffer sounds like good news. Ironic good news: what a friend Jeffrey Epstein turned out to be! Then I grasped the wiggle phrase: “individuals that paid.” That would not be Donald Trump or Bill Clinton or a great many other bold-facers who flew on Epstein’s plane — it was known as the “Lolita Express” — or visited his homes.

If true, another round of great lawyering may mean that no one in New York society will be publicly shamed. Because the friends of Jeffrey Epstein are rich. And the rich are famously cheap. Pay for sex in a friend’s house? They’d never. And their host would never ask. The girls were just a perk.

source

That's why the real cover up story is the finance and that is not really being talked about, because that opens up tax investigations, theft, fraud, drug and weapon smuggling and other financial shenanigans and who load more people go down for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

More footage posted to that youtube account in last few hours. How long before it's all deleted I wonder? Incredible job.

I think there's a chance it will be left up. There's be nothing posted that incriminates any living high profile person.
    If they delete it they risk evoking the Streisand effect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

Let’s not make sh1t up. The truth is interesting enough.

He’s still a threat to those people dead. He’s not a threat to whatever shady operation (organised crime or intelligence) that was bankrolling the whole thing. In other words the politicans were being blackmailed but weren’t the beneficiaries of his demise.

The simpler solutions are the best. And the Clintons had nothing to do with it.

JOHN KIRIAKOU: How a Suicide Watch Really Works
    When the prisoner is released from suicide watch, which usually takes a week or two, one of two things happen: Either the prisoner is returned to his cell, where he normally has between one and five cellmates, or he is sent to solitary confinement, where he can be watched more closely than he could be watched in the general population. In most prisons, solitary confinement is not at all solitary. Solitary confinement is usually grossly overcrowded with two or even three prisoners in each cell built for one. One prisoner is in a bunk and the other one or two sleep on mats on the floor. Depending on the prison, guards patrol the unit every 15 or 30 minutes to make sure than nothing untoward is taking place. And don’t forget that there are security cameras that cover literally every inch of a prison every minute of every day. At least, there are supposed to be.

So how did Epstein kill himself . . .

source

And there is the side show of a fight between two high profile lawyers in the United States.

Dershowitz v. Boies: Jeffrey Epstein case unleashes war between two legal Goliaths
    July 05, 2019
    It’s a high-stakes war between two of the country’s most powerful lawyers. Their feud, simmering for years, involves accusations of extortion, surreptitious recordings, unethical conduct and underage sex trafficking.

Harvard lawyer Alan Dershowitz has filed four bar complaints in three states — all of which have been dismissed — in a quest to disqualify lawyer David Boies and one of his partners who represent a woman accusing Dershowitz of sexually abusing her when she was underage, newly filed court records show.

The pugnacious Dershowitz, 80, and the equally zealous Boies, 78, have been sparring for decades. In recent years, both have suffered damage to their storied legacies, making this latest clash between the two legal titans one of the most important of their half-century careers.

source

Former IRS Agent: Here’s How I’d Investigate Jeffrey Epstein’s Finances
    The investigation into Trump-connected lobbyist Manafort might serve as a blueprint for such an investigation. Obviously, all bank and equity accounts would require subpoenas and spreadsheet analysis. But requests for personal tax returns with an emphasis on Schedule B for analysis would be a mandatory cross-reference. Schedule B on the 1040 form contains the famous three Yes/No questions that Manafort lied about with regard to foreign bank account ownership and activity. FinCEN databases would also need to be queried.

source

The Man Who Could Inherit Jeffrey Epstein’s Millions

We should never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by ignorance.

Do you mean incompetence?

I don’t think incompetence reasonably explains all of what went wrong here. The sum total of all probabilities of all the incompetencies are vanishingly small.

What’s the chance that the shrink was incompetent enough to take him off suicide watch? That the cameras are out. That the warden is incompetent. That one prison guard fails to do his rounds. That another one also fails to do it. (This is bread and butter stuff). That nobody notices them both asleep. (Did they cuddle?).

That equipment to hang someone is left in the cell against procedure. That he could hang himself from the bunk at all being 6ft something. That nobody else heard anything nor called the prison guards.

Corruption is easy to explain.

NoteAgent wrote: »
    I'm not sure I understand what you mean.

The local newspaper found out who the winner was and it wasn't Epstein. What more is there to say. Oh wait let me guess, he controls that newspaper as well?
    When I say that he won the lottery, I do not mean he walked into the lottery office to claim it. Clearly the ticket was not going to trace directly back to Epstein. He was in prison.

The winner was anonymous and the ticket was claimed via a financial planning company called "Zorro Trust".

https://oklahoman.com/article/3288656/trust-keeps-powerball-winner-a-mysterybrspan-classhl2only-lottery-commission-knows-who-is-now-293-millon-richerspan

Epstein had a financial planning company called ... Zorro Trust.

The draw occured the day after he started his prison sentence and was not televised due to a technical glitch.

A second-hand account of an unsourced newspaper article saying little more than "we looked into it and it wasn't him" is not enough to convince me that it's case closed, nothing to see here.

Do you mean incompetence?

I don’t think incompetence reasonably explains all of what went wrong here. The sum total of all probabilities of all the incompetencies are vanishingly small.

What’s the chance that the shrink was incompetent enough to take him off suicide watch? That the cameras are out. That the warden is incompetent. That one prison guard fails to do his rounds. That another one also fails to do it. (This is bread and butter stuff). That nobody notices them both asleep. (Did they cuddle?).

That equipment to hang someone is left in the cell against procedure. That he could hang himself from the bunk at all being 6ft something. That nobody else heard anything nor called the prison guards.

Corruption is easy to explain.

If you look at plan crashes it's often not a single thing that goes wrong but a combination of circumstances (e.g. Air France Flight 447)

A rather telling quote from an ex-prisoner is "I told my parents not to come there. God wasn’t in the building." The prison is over populated and understaffed and there does appears to be be a could not give a sh!t attitude toward fixing it from the top (i.e. politicians) down. We don't know yet is the actual mechanics of how he hung himself because supposedly the bedsheets are not suitable?? I reckon we will eventually get an answer to that. Then there will be the question did he pay someone to let it happen? or did someone approve after presenting him with the alternatives?

If you look at plan crashes it's often not a single thing that goes wrong but a combination of circumstances (e.g. Air France Flight 447)

A rather telling quote from an ex-prisoner is "I told my parents not to come there. God wasn’t in the building." The prison is over populated and understaffed and there does appears to be be a could not give a sh!t attitude toward fixing it from the top (i.e. politicians) down. We don't know yet is the actual mechanics of how he hung himself because supposedly the bedsheets are not suitable?? I reckon we will eventually get an answer to that. Then there will be the question did he pay someone to let it happen? or did someone approve after presenting him with the alternatives?

Yeh, lots of things have to go wrong with plane crashes that aren’t human error (or shot down) which is why they are so rare. Like one in multiple millions of flights rare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,385 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

If anything this raid seems like PR exercise. Took them this long to go there? The FBI and NYPD should have gone to this house months ago.

Was been opposed by Epstein from what In have read now he has died there is no one to stop them