Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Brego888

Better football players than Dublin. Just didn't have the fitness.

That's just not true. How many Mayo players get into a full-strength Dublin team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,913 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Mr.Maroon wrote: »
    We must have been watching different games today.

You said this Mayo team have a history of it. So I'm sure you can cite loads of examples since 2012 or so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Pineapple1 wrote: »
    If I was either Kerry or Tyrone I wouldnt be too motivated to come out tomorrow.

I am sorry but if a team I supported even for 1 second had that mentality I would tell all of them where to go and get 15 who would actually give a s***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Mr.Maroon wrote: »
    We must have been watching different games today.

I don't recall Tyrone putting it up to Dublin last year.

What baffles me is how Mayo were so lax at the start of the 2nd half. Surely they had to know Dublin would come out as they did. Keegan was pedestrian

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭Pineapple1

I am sorry but if a team I supported even for 1 second had that mentality I would tell all of them where to go and get 15 who would actually give a s***

Good luck with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Mr.Maroon

You said this Mayo team have a history of it. So I'm sure you can cite loads of examples since 2012 or so...
    I don't recall Tyrone putting it up to Dublin last year.

There's no talking to ye in this mood lads.
    My username is probably a trigger.... ;)

There is always next year.

Pineapple1 wrote: »
    Good luck with that.

Well then that the problem and not Dublin and others need to change. That been said the season Dublin lose then the mythos is gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭paddy no 11

Mayo have been a great team since 2012 only team to come close to Dublin

Moran and Boyle just class acts, would go to war with Boyle every day, good luck to them if they do go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭snowgal

:D surely a good joke there?

km79 wrote: »
    That’s the end of the keeper debate anyway
    We won’t see Clarke and his silly kickouts again

I’d imagine a new keeper needed tbh, both pretty bad... same as ourselves.. thought Hennelly might be better, but not at all in the end....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,050 ✭✭✭Seadin

I feel sad for this mayo team. I think since 2012 they left at least 2 all irelands after them. New panel needed now i think. Sad to see the end of andy moran. A class act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

Hahahaha

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,311 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Half time came too soon lads. Unlucky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭Pineapple1

Well then that the problem and not Dublin and others need to change. That been said the season Dublin lose then the mythos is gone

Im not going down that road with you. A pundit has already said as much as I have regarding tomorrows game being a mere formality. So Im hardly the only one who would feel sorry for both teams tomorrow.

beertons wrote: »
    Half time came too soon lads. Unlucky.

Unlucky?? Come on now, they were fairly destroyed in the 2nd half....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

Time to duck out of here till the league
    Keep the fair lads
    KM Iam still waiting on my cans

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,860 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

You guys have given us some great games over the years, and I thought that it was all set up for another nail biting finish there at half time, turns out I was very wrong.

Don't think that anyone could be too shocked I suppose, the amount of injuries that you guys have had would take a toll on any team, including Dublin, and then the frankly ridiculous schedule that your team had to face into post getting knocked out of Connacht couldn't have helped.

I'd be gutted if it ended like this for Andy Moran, has always seemed a gent on and off the field. Parsons coming back on was something that even I cheered, can't believe that he's made it back, I was sure that his career was over.

Hopefully you're back next year, sans injuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭keavebm

They were **** in the second half. Lets say it as it is. First half brilliant. The dubs know how to turn it on. Hopefully kerry get through to final. Tyrone are ****e. Dubs still to win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,050 ✭✭✭Seadin

keavebm wrote: »
    They were **** in the second half. Lets say it as it is. First half brilliant. The dubs know how to turn it on. Hopefully kerry get through to final. Tyrone are ****e. Dubs still to win

The jury is still out on kerry and Tyrone. Neither are good enough to beat the Dubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Carol25

2nd half was hard to watch, had a good view of the Davin stand goal and was very disappointed with the defensive set up in the 2nd half, wide open at the back on multiple occasions and not rectified. Team also looked tired in the 2nd half and 2nd to every ball. Dublin looked like they’d woken up, fresh and like they could play on forever at an incredibly intense level. Players have given so much, it’s a good achievement to have reached a semi this year what with the injuries, etc. But seeing Dublin play as they did, you have to wonder, why bother playing for 2nd place continuously...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭LoughNeagh2017

Mayo were unfortunate hitting their peak at the wrong time, I have a photo of me sitting in the Sam Maguire in 1993 something which modern Mayo children don't which sounds odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

naughto wrote: »
    Time to duck out of here till the league
    Keep the fair lads
    KM Iam still waiting on my cans

Carriage E
    Enjoyable mayhem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭keavebm

Seadin wrote:
    The jury is still out on kerry and Tyrone. Neither are good enough to beat the Dubs.

Rightly said. Dubs have the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

As a Leitrim man would just like to say Mayo put in an immense performance in 1st half today.Stars of Dublin team like Mc Caffrey,Fenton,Kilkenny were marked out of it.However the age old failing Mayo have with taking their chances left a shell shocked Dubs team only a kick of a ball behind at halftime.I was fearful that Mayo might pay for their misses and unfortunately that was how it turned out.
    Was surprised that Mayo didn’t play it ‘negatively’ for first five mins of 2nd half......
    Instead they continued to go man for man and they started to leak scores.
    Very much Dublin’s All Ireland to lose....reckon Kerry will win by 3 or more points tomorrow.
    Again thanks for the titanic effort and entertainment Mayo,could see Higgins,Moran,Boyle and even Lee Keegan retiring after this.

Lee Kegan retiring? Haha

The guys got years and years left ffs. All those Mayo boys who the public are earmarking for retirement could easily go again to be honest and would still serve a purpose. The fact is today has showed they are so far behind Dublin and they will never win an all ireland it’s whether thay they can be bothered.

It’ll always be a black mark on them though.They’ve had their chances and didn’t take them for whatever reason. A sad end, but such is life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

CatInABox wrote: »
    You guys have given us some great games over the years, and I thought that it was all set up for another nail biting finish there at half time, turns out I was very wrong.

Don't think that anyone could be too shocked I suppose, the amount of injuries that you guys have had would take a toll on any team, including Dublin, and then the frankly ridiculous schedule that your team had to face into post getting knocked out of Connacht couldn't have helped.

I'd be gutted if it ended like this for Andy Moran, has always seemed a gent on and off the field. Parsons coming back on was something that even I cheered, can't believe that he's made it back, I was sure that his career was over.

Hopefully you're back next year, sans injuries.

Thanks Cat.
    Would genuinely like to see the Dubs finish it now, regardless of what's happened between Mayo and Dublin over the years. Have never begrudged Dublin tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭conor05

Only a handful of Mayo players would make the Dublin 26 man squad.

Silliest post I’ve seen in a while

conor05 wrote: »
    Only a handful of Mayo players would make the Dublin 26 man squad.

Silliest post I’ve seen in a while

Tyrone sure...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭Blackjack

A game of 2 halves if ever that needed to be trotted out. Fair play to Dublin, they knew how to turn it on in the second half and we had no answers.
    Can’t argue with the result. We were shocking in the second half, we really did miss Jason Doherty today, but can’t realistically believe we would have won even if he was there, the margin might have been less however.

Good to see some gracious posters here, no surprise to see others looking to rub our noses in it either though.

Best of luck to Dublin and the remainder of the counties left. Hard to see any of those that play tomorrow stop the 5 in a row, but the beauty of sport is that you never know.

Back next year to give it another go. Up Mayo.