Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Good news everyone! The Boards.ie Subscription service is live. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Irishman set to be deported from the US

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

They've released him pending his court appearance. He's more than likely been told to get his affairs in order in those 30 days.

Australia do the same thing they give you Bridging visa E to get your affairs in order but with with 8511 and 8512 conditions.

8511 -Show Ticket
    8512- Leave by specified date

As above you have to abide by 8511 show your ticket you are leaving, by 8512 Specified date.

The alternative is escorted home in handcuffs. This usually saves the cost of deportation as most people take the Bridging visa to get out of detention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,337 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

He's going to get another hearing which we know how it's gonna go.

He's going to be allowed stay due to the irish lobbying. You can be sure they're all in the background supporting Byrne in this case.

The media has a lot to answer for, making out he's the victim in this.

There is still a lot of waffle being spouted on here about your man and his case.

Lobbying won't allow him to stay. Lobbying may however allow his case to be heard earlier. That is not the same thing. In theory the system is supposed to work and he should have a hearing anyway. The authorities tend to allow things to drag out because it can be simply a means of denying a hearing to a person - i.e. gives the person the choice to get deported or to wait in jail for months to be given a hearing. It is an understandable practice in many ways - if you give everyone an instant hearing before deportation then everyone will use it - this way if a person is a no-hoper case they might as well accept deportation rather than jail for 6 months plus deportation. The downside of that approach is that the person with a genuine chance to stay also gets stuck for 6 months too.

There'll be a lot of egg on bitter faces on here if it turns out he is allowed to stay................people who were righteously adamant that your man "knew what would happen" blah blah etc. As I said earlier, I reckon there is still a chance he will be allowed to stay. And no- not because it was reported on TV3. It's not guaranteed or even very likely, but there is still a decent chance.

mandrake04 wrote: »
    Australia do the same thing they give you Bridging visa E to get your affairs in order but with with 8511 and 8512 conditions.

8511 -Show Ticket
    8512- Leave by specified date

As above you have to abide by 8511 show your ticket you are leaving, by 8512 Specified date.

The alternative is escorted home in handcuffs. This usually saves the cost of deportation as most people take the Bridging visa to get out of detention.

He will use his 30 days to try to get a hearing. If he gets that hearing, a judge may grant more time for a further hearing and he won't be out in the 30 days.

However they can in theory re-arrest him and lock him up at any stage, even in those 30 days although they would need some kind of semi-tangible excuse for doing so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

He will use his 30 days to try to get a hearing. If he gets that hearing, a judge may grant more time for a further hearing and he won't be out in the 30 days.

However they can in theory re-arrest him and lock him up at any stage, even in those 30 days although they would need some kind of semi-tangible excuse for doing so.

He has a hearing date in 30 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,575 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

He has a hearing date in 30 days.

Donald Trump (of all posters) waffling about posters having egg on their face whilst at the same time displaying his total lack of knowledge on the very topic under discussion.

Is this the real Donald Trump posting here on Boards.ie by any chance?

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

Donald Trump (of all posters) waffling about posters having egg on their face whilst at the same time displaying his total lack of knowledge on the very topic under discussion.

Is this the real Donald Trump posting here on Boards.ie by any chance?

Would you one of the genii on here proclaiming that your man should have known all that would transpire when he went to the US in 2007, shite'ing on here as if they knew what they are talking about and yet still not having a notion as of July 26th 2019 how the story will play out?

Even google translate can’t figure that mess out.

Ah sure look, if you have to go to google translate for simple words then I can't really help you.

I think you might have been one of the people saying that Keith Byrne should have known about all the consequences of his overstaying back in 2007.
    He knew in foresight.

As of today, nobody can say with certainty what will happen. You can take a guess and that guess could turn out to be correct, but you cannot know with certainty now. I'm not saying the fella will or will not be deported. Both outcomes are possible. Others appear to be certain that deportation is the only outcome. It isn't. No point with getting annoyed with me for simply pointing that out.

In a post above you state he has a hearing scheduled for 30 days. Do you have a source for that? The only source I saw was on RTE where is said that his lawyers said that they would try to file within a different district while he was out.

The US immigration will be waiting on his passport to come back. I am sure that the Embassy and also passport processing back in Dublin might be helpfully slow with getting it back to him. I had a passport renewed from abroad back in the day. They warned that it could take a few weeks, although it actually ended up being much quicker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,453 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

How much money is RTE spending backing this man?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,441 ✭✭✭Cork Trucker

How much money is RTE spending backing this man?

The licence fee will cover it :pac:

GDY151

The licence fee will cover it :pac:

If he was from some scanger area of Dublin there would be fook all coverage of him.

Fermoy isn't a great place either, not the worst of places in Cork but far from the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭holyhead

In theory this should be an open and shut case.

1. Man lies on ESTA application
    2. Man travels to the US with no intention of returning home unlike most visitors.
    3. Man enters the US with the intention of living there knowing he has a criminal record.
    4. Man enters the US knowing a criminal record will see him live there under the constant threat of being deported.
    5. Man marries US citizen but still has a criminal record so threat of deportation remains. (kind of reckless)
    6. Man faces deportation and employs every avenue known to man to stop said expulsion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,980 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

holyhead wrote: »

1. Man travels to the US with no intention of returning home unlike most visitors.
    2. Man enters the US with the intention of living there knowing he has a criminal record.
    3. Man enters the US knowing a criminal record will see him live there under the constant threat of being deported.
    4. Man marries US citizen but still has a criminal record so threat of deportation remains. (kind of reckless)
    5. Man faces deportation and employs every avenue known to man to stop said expulsion.

0. Man Lies on ESTA application

GDY151

1. Man travels to the US with no intention of returning home unlike most visitors.
    2. Man enters the US with the intention of living there knowing he has a criminal record.
    3. Man enters the US knowing a criminal record will see him live there under the constant threat of being deported.
    4. Man marries US citizen but still has a criminal record so threat of deportation remains. (kind of reckless)
    5. Man faces deportation and employs every avenue known to man to stop said expulsion.

Yes but RTE snowflakeland think he will be allowed stay because he has 1051 likes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭holyhead

If you enter a country you do so under the understanding that you will abide by their rules and regulations. If you flout the aforementioned then you must leave the country. I really don't understand what all the hullabaloo is about. He should be deported. I'll be amazed if he is allowed to stay. Once he committed to marrying a US citizen he should only have done so on the understanding she would come to Ireland if/when he was deported. You can't/shouldn't construct a narrative (i.e. marriage and child) knowing full well you face deportation and think the said narrative will save your skin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,225 ✭✭✭✭cena

Where is his Irish accent in the rte video?

cena wrote: »
    Where is his Irish accent in the rte video?

Probably faking a yankee accent to try and fit in? i know of a guy who did it, sounded like a right clown. I'm aware of people in foreign countries for 30/40/50 years, the accents rarely if ever change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭Car99

Why is this on the news ? Do the general public need to know about this. His case is hardly unique. Who does he know to get this much publicity?

He's lucky he got caught while Trump is president and not Obama . Only for the anti Trump media bias this wouldn't make news anywhere.

I wish him and his family the best all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

1. Man lies on ESTA application
    2. Man travels to the US with no intention of returning home unlike most visitors.
    3. Man enters the US with the intention of living there knowing he has a criminal record.
    4. Man enters the US knowing a criminal record will see him live there under the constant threat of being deported.
    5. Man marries US citizen but still has a criminal record so threat of deportation remains. (kind of reckless)
    6. Man faces deportation and employs every avenue known to man to stop said expulsion.

It's another hamfisted attempt to take a pop at Trump by our hyper-leftist media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,825 ✭✭✭✭rob316

You'd imagine he'll still have to leave. It would take a pretty monumental new precedent set to let him stay. US bend for him it'll be open season on their immigration policy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Are we sure this guy was squeaky clean in the USA?
    Immigration tend to turn a blind eye to illegal Irish unless they become 'undesirables'.

He’ll be home soon and people can complain about how bold President Trump is.

Any sympathy i had is gone out the window after watching the video in full. "this is where i belong" no it isn't he tried to pull a stunt that would have worked had his wife come here with similar convictions. His kids are unfortunate to be caught up in this, they are being used as pawns in his game of chess with the I.C.E. At this stage i say deport him or else give other people around the globe with similar circumstances the same chance in America. Sick of reading it now, why haven't RTE gone to Fermoy and asked the general public what they think on camera? honestly because the majority either don't give a fcuk or they'd rather see him deported, we can't have one rule for everyone else and another for Keith Byrne.

GDY151

Car99 wrote: »
    Why is this on the news ? Do the general public need to know about this. His case is hardly unique. Who does he know to get this much publicity?

He's lucky he got caught while Trump is president and not Obama . Only for the anti Trump media bias this wouldn't make news anywhere.

I wish him and his family the best all the same.

Guessing it's some connected RTE person looking out for their mate/family member at the expense of the tv licence that you could go to prison for not having.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Mark25

Any sympathy i had is gone out the window after watching the video in full. "this is where i belong" no it isn't he tried to pull a stunt that would have worked had his wife come here with similar convictions. His kids are unfortunate to be caught up in this, they are being used as pawns in his game of chess with the I.C.E. At this stage i say deport him or else give other people around the globe with similar circumstances the same chance in America. Sick of reading it now, why haven't RTE gone to Fermoy and asked the general public what they think on camera? honestly because the majority either don't give a fcuk or they'd rather see him deported, we can't have one rule for everyone else and another for Keith Byrne.

You know I pretty much agree with this and I do feel sorry for the kids and the family but he took a risk, like I did and fair play but if you get caught you pay the price. I got deported and wasn't happy but I knew that was what could happen.

If he is hoping to stay I don't know if being so high profile is goingto help. He might think it helps get support over here but it is the American system he is up against and I don't think being so high profile and trying to stay with (minor) drug convictions because he married an American will be a message they want to have out there.

Like the poster above I was wondering if anything else happened over there. I only got "picked up" because I was arrested and I only heard of one other guy getting deported and that was after he was arrested too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭hermano

On one hand he says he doesn't want to leave his life in the states and then complains he hasn't seen his parents in 12 years. Really don't why this story is still getting coverage. Open and shut case as said before.

GDY151

He’ll be home soon and people can complain about how bold President Trump is.

RTE will meet him at Dublin Airport and ask him whoy he didn't have the full documentation so to speak. Any word or illegal immigrant will be replaced with him being a poor undocumented so to speak.

Rte won’t ask him any such thing. They’ll portray him as a victim of Trumps policies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭MattressRick

I've heard two interviews and the self entitlement and arrogance from this guy is staggering. He overstayed his visa yet says he didn't break any laws over there. If he hasn't seen his parents in years it's all of his own doing. I hope he gets ****ed out on his arse.