Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Limerick GAA Discussion Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭lim4ev

Think the tj post is a sarcastic one as in he's their main player and does all the scoring etc etc I think that was put to bed v cork. Sat is a 50 50 game cos it's the cats they're so cute and always stay in the game they're so hard to beat everytime they'll just go and go till the end.

I do think we can win this though but expect a huge battle. Same team as munster final named as expected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,143 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

LMK wrote: »
    He's the best out there but even so he'll have to go some to beat us on his own :)
    lim4ev wrote: »
    Think the tj post is a sarcastic one as in he's their main player and does all the scoring etc etc I think that was put to bed v cork. Sat is a 50 50 game cos it's the cats they're so cute and always stay in the game they're so hard to beat everytime they'll just go and go till the end.

I do think we can win this though but expect a huge battle. Same team as munster final named as expected

It is a tongue in cheek one lads. Im glad yee could get it as supporters from other counties got really upset about it !

Should be a great game on Sat evening, and we are probably going with hope more than expectation, as yee are the best team in the country by a long distance.

If we can stay close to yee til half time, it could be close, but if we don't... it could be like Nowlan Pk in the league.
    Anyway, lets hope we get a humdinger, and the best team will win.

KK Abú :)
    247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

greenspurs wrote: »
    Should be a great game on Sat evening, and we are probably going with hope more than expectation, as yee are the best team in the country by a long distance.

If we can stay close to yee til half time, it could be close, but if we don't... it could be like Nowlan Pk in the league.
    Anyway, lets hope we get a humdinger, and the best team will win.

KK Abú :)

Good morning Brian.....;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,143 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

washman3 wrote: »
    Good morning Brian.....;);)

Savage intensity …. ;):p

Rumbled !!!! :eek:
    247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭Vinnie222

What was management doing leaving D Hannon on for so long . It was clear that something serious was wrong .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭paddy no 11

Yeah nash changed the game

The last 12 minutes we were so naive, gave away about 7 sidelines allowed kk to slow the game down totally we need to open it up

Darragh sidelines when had the ball were a disaster picked out Padraig Walsh and the keeper and then the one at the end.......summed our day up

We simply haven't worked on our weaknesses and it cost us........but massive effort from all involved good luck to them for the future

All Ireland and league champions be strong next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Battled hard. Never gave up. Too many awful awful wides - some off them were criminal. 16 wides, always up against it doing that. Over complicated things a few times and it cost us. Just didn't take the breaks that came our way - Dowling's goal was brilliant. The way KK set up, we had to stop them scoring a goal so Fennelly's goal was a sucker punch in ways

Flat start killed us but we didn't fold and the team deserve huge credit for that.

Just couldn't get back level with them. KK fought like their lives depended on it. Fair play to them.

Don't know if this team will bounce back next year. A few changes needed in the starting team.

Graeme mulcahy is an absolute warrior - when a game needed to be grabbed by the scruff of the neck he kept us in the game. Nash hurled a world of ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭BloodyBill

Yeah nash changed the game

The last 12 minutes we were so naive, gave away about 7 sidelines allowed kk to slow the game down totally we need to open it up

Darragh sidelines when had the ball were a disaster picked out Padraig Walsh and the keeper and then the one at the end.......summed our day up

We simply haven't worked on our weaknesses and it cost us........but massive effort from all involved good luck to them for the future

All Ireland and league champions be strong next year

Totally agree. The weaknesses of sidelines and wides never improved. They worked like dogs in the second half but the wides burst the balloon time and time again. What's the problem with them..why do they hit so many compared to Kilkenny and indeed everyone else they play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭BloodyBill

Browney7 wrote: »
    Battled hard. Never gave up. Too many awful awful wides - some off them were criminal. 16 wides, always up against it doing that. Over complicated things a few times and it cost us. Just didn't take the breaks that came our way - Dowling's goal was brilliant. The way KK set up, we had to stop them scoring a goal so Fennelly's goal was a sucker punch in ways

Flat start killed us but we didn't fold and the team deserve huge credit for that.

Just couldn't get back level with them. KK fought like their lives depended on it. Fair play to them.

Don't know if this team will bounce back next year. A few changes needed in the starting team.

Graeme mulcahy is an absolute warrior - when a game needed to be grabbed by the scruff of the neck he kept us in the game. Nash hurled a world of ball.

Did anyone note how Cody still hauled a guy off who wasnt performing even though his team were hurling well and a few scores up. Limerick for all the talk of the panel left the substitutions too late.. They actually arent ruthless enough . Why was Hegarty and Morrissey left on so long..and a few more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,606 ✭✭✭High bike

BloodyBill wrote: »
    Did anyone note how Cody still hauled a guy off who wasnt performing even though his team were hurling well and a few scores up. Limerick for all the talk of the panel left the substitutions too late.. They actually arent ruthless enough . Why was Hegarty and Morrissey left on so long..and a few more.
    They weren't the only culprits Casey Mulcahy and Gillane had very bad wides too, the month off really told in the first 15 minutes when KK were really at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 sandy lane

Limk far too casual early on. Shoot on sight might work in Texas but KK forwards gave object lesson in "economical scores". KK minors showed same earlier. Well done Brian Cody who made early changes , ruthless as ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,474 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

hard luck today lads , it was an excellent game probably the game of the year , but in truth its no consolation for limerick supporters

while tonight and next week will be tough to take lets face it ye have put down some nights out since last august , i was in newcastle west on a freezin october night when john kiely was finishing his speech in the square and on his way to sean finn country with the liam mccarthy in his hands ,

it was a hard 45 years in the making and every now and then hunger has a thirst , while 15 wides and line balls that should have been 65s will raise there heads in many conversations over the next 6 months across the county , limerick are probably still the team to beat in munster and wont be that far away over the next 3 or 4 years

3 years ago if lmerick won the league a munster and a narrow all ireland semi final defeat would have been seen as a serious year , to say tonight is a disappointment shows how far ye have come ....every cloud as they say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭kala85

A very tough physical game. Declan Hannon tackled very intensely at the start of the game.

Limericks downfall started with cody combatting limerick puck outs by dropping back Walter walsh. They did the same against cork and it worked, but I thought limerick would be better than cork in this regard. Walter was all over the place and very hard to mark.

Dowlings goal one of the best i have ever seen. Top class.

Mulcahy nearly dragged limerick back into it on his own. But limerick only had one man inside on his own for most of the game in gillanne.

Should have brought in subs earlier. Hegarty poor. Should Declan hannon have been subbed earlier??

Why wasn't Seamus Flanagan given a run? Go long with Flanagan against kilkenny full back line. Look at the way wexford won the breaks against kilkenny on the long puck outs into the kilkenny full back line.

Did Limerick peak too early in the league and run out of steam.. They looked flat today particularly one of the morriseys.

kala85 wrote: »
    A very tough physical game. Declan Hannon tackled very intensely at the start of the game.

Limericks downfall started with cody combatting limerick puck outs by dropping back Walter walsh. They did the same against cork and it worked, but I thought limerick would be better than cork in this regard. Walter was all over the place and very hard to mark.

Dowlings goal one of the best i have ever seen. Top class.

Mulcahy nearly dragged limerick back into it on his own. But limerick only had one man inside on his own for most of the game in gillanne.

Should have brought in subs earlier. Hegarty poor. Should Declan hannon have been subbed earlier??

Why wasn't Seamus Flanagan given a run? Go long with Flanagan against kilkenny full back line. Look at the way wexford won the breaks against kilkenny on the long puck outs into the kilkenny full back line.

Did Limerick peak too early in the league and run out of steam.. They looked flat today particularly one of the morriseys.

i did think there seemed a bit of panic on the line , the camera showed several conversations between kiely and kinnerk at times in the second half , the two are noted for there preparation they did look a little out of ideas at times , to me that just comes from pressure

up to now limerick were the best team in the country , but lynch ,morrissey hegerty and hayes were all below par today there were several changes he could have made

this result will stand to limerick long term , only galway who were seeded in the all ireland semi finals in the 1980s are the last team outside of the big 3 to go back to back , for the clares the limericks the offalys ect... it rarely ever happens

where ye are at the moment is a far better position then most to challenge for next year already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭kala85

i did think there seemed a bit of panic on the line , the camera showed several conversations between kiely and kinnerk at times in the second half , the two are noted for there preparation they did look a little out of ideas at times , to me that just comes from pressure

up to now limerick were the best team in the country , but lynch ,morrissey hegerty and hayes were all below par today there were several changes he could have made

this result will stand to limerick long term , only galway who were seeded in the all ireland semi finals in the 1980s are the last team outside of the big 3 to go back to back , for the clares the limericks the offalys ect... it rarely ever happens

where ye are at the moment is a far better position then most to challenge for next year already

It seems to be a lot more difficult to go back to back with the current round Robin championships format

too many games , end of story , i imagine it will get less and less under the current system , limerick will be fine though over the next 5 years ye still have a serious setup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,561 ✭✭✭MfMan

sandy lane wrote: »
    Limk far too casual early on. Shoot on sight might work in Texas but KK forwards gave object lesson in "economical scores". KK minors showed same earlier. Well done Brian Cody who made early changes , ruthless as ever!

It was actually the last minute of the first half when he hooked Leahy, really one minute earlier than when Hannon was subbed. He also left Richie Hogan on way longer than he would have once upon a time.

That must be the really disappointing thing for Limerick, that KK were so much more than the sum of their parts. For as good as some thought TJ Reid was, I don't think he scored from play. Big Walter was a nuisance, but really no more. Hogan, as above, was very poor by his standards. Paul Murphy has had a very poor c'ship, ditto Joey Holden. So hard now to maintain hunger and standards throughout the campaign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭Grats

MfMan wrote: »
    It was actually the last minute of the first half when he hooked Leahy, really one minute earlier than when Hannon was subbed. He also left Richie Hogan on way longer than he would have once upon a time.

That must be the really disappointing thing for Limerick, that KK were so much more than the sum of their parts. For as good as some thought TJ Reid was, I don't think he scored from play. Big Walter was a nuisance, but really no more. Hogan, as above, was very poor by his standards. Paul Murphy has had a very poor c'ship, ditto Joey Holden. So hard now to maintain hunger and standards throughout the campaign.

The mistake is often made in awarding MOTM to the highest scorer, ignoring work rate. You clearly make the same mistake. TJ Reid was super and was recognised to be so by observant and shrewd followers of hurling.

Is this not just the second year of this format! Other than Kilkenny no team has managed back to back since Cork in 2004/5. But soon to be blaming the format.

We done an awful lot wrong yesterday and definitely have let one slip, kk had a bit of hardwired know how to get past our failings

For next year I'd abandon the system of pulling forwards deep we simply didn't give kk backs enough problems yesterday

My half back line next year would be nash hayes +1 of the current 3, that's enough pace to cope.

Half forwards of hegarty, Morrissey and Flanagan with dowling inside but swapping with Flanagan

Gives us more goal threat

Something like that, main issue is to strengthen half back line and get another natural forward in half forwards

We done an awful lot wrong yesterday and definitely have let one slip, kk had a bit of hardwired know how to get past our failings

For next year I'd abandon the system of pulling forwards deep we simply didn't give kk backs enough problems yesterday

My half back line next year would be nash hayes +1 of the current 3, that's enough pace to cope.

Half forwards of hegarty, Morrissey and Flanagan with dowling inside but swapping with Flanagan

Gives us more goal threat

Something like that, main issue is to strengthen half back line and get another natural forward in half forwards

Main feck up yesterday was leaving D Hannon on when something was seriously wrong . When had a mountain to climb after 15 mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,561 ✭✭✭MfMan

Grats wrote: »
    The mistake is often made in awarding MOTM to the highest scorer, ignoring work rate. You clearly make the same mistake. TJ Reid was super and was recognised to be so by observant and shrewd followers of hurling.

Not necessarily. Not denying Reid was effective, especially in the opening stages, but his influence declined as the game went on as LK bottled him up a lot and forced him to turnover. Mullen did real damage up front for KK, aided by P Walsh and Lawson.

MfMan wrote: »
    Not necessarily. Not denying Reid was effective, especially in the opening stages, but his influence declined as the game went on as LK bottled him up a lot and forced him to turnover. Mullen did real damage up front for KK, aided by P Walsh and Lawson.

His influence declined in the last 10 minutes after running himself into the ground, as did Fennelly who scored 1.3. Limerick went at TJ knowing they had to, often two or three around him. He still managed to win the ball and was fouled often. He has had a brilliant year, leading from the front, playing a captains role.

On a side note, very few talking about about a one man team now. Hold TJ, and the game is won!!!!

Vinnie222 wrote: »
    Main feck up yesterday was leaving D Hannon on when something was seriously wrong . When had a mountain to climb after 15 mins

I don't disagree with that but we lost 3 championship games and we aren't getting the most out of the team we need to improve for next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Greensoup

You’re not winning with 15 wides against Kilkenny, simple. Lot of the wides were at times we had gotten on top and they killed us. Regards the sideline at end the linesman either didn’t see deflection in front of his eyes meaning he shouldn’t be left near a match again or he saw it and said nothing which is worse. Well done to kk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,606 ✭✭✭High bike

Greensoup wrote: »
    You’re not winning with 15 wides against Kilkenny, simple. Lot of the wides were at times we had gotten on top and they killed us. Regards the sideline at end the linesman either didn’t see deflection in front of his eyes meaning he shouldn’t be left near a match again or he saw it and said nothing which is worse. Well done to kk.
    you hit the nail on the head there you won't win any match scoring 17 pts and hitting 15 wides

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 sandy lane

John Kiely is a fine man and great ambassador for Lmk but some times seems indecisive and slow to make necessary changes when players are not going well. Yesterday was a case in point with Brian Cody making first substitute at 34 minutes and his team ahead. Valuable lesson for team and management which should stand to Limk as team evolves in years ahead.

That substitute at 34 min was due to a injury . Tj
    Reid stated so but saying that Hannon should not have been left on

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,026 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

He's brought this team to an All Ireland Championship, a League title, a Munster Championship win, and another All-Ireland semi-final in the space of 12 months. I wouldn't start doubting him at this stage.

He's brought this team to an All Ireland Championship, a League title, a Munster Championship win, and another All-Ireland semi-formal in the space of 12 months. I wouldn't start doubting him at this stage.

Indecisive isn't the right word he backs fellas to come good and sometimes players do turn it around after poor start. Cody is a despot

Quoted wrong person there apologies insect