The 148th Open at Royal Portrush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭badabing106

Ole ole - ole ole! ole- ole ole!
    Ole ole - ole ole! - ole ole!

Ole ole - ole ole! ole - ole ole!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

I’d like a par here now Shane please. Just to steady our nerves!!!

Birdie would do too :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭lbc2019

6 and 3 lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭tobsey

sky88 wrote: »
    I’m happy cause it’s shane but I do hate when majors are sown up on Saturday

This wasn’t sown up at all. With the conditions today anything could have happened. Lowry could have had the round that Rose or Holmes had today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,939 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Shane’s caddy has been excellent. Great job. Love the talk between them.

• Administrators Posts: 55,850 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

That 16th hole is crazy difficult. Bad contact or wrong direction and you can forget about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,845 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I've never trusted a result since VDV...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,939 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

tobsey wrote: »
    This wasn’t sown up at all. With the conditions today anything could have happened. Lowry could have had the round that Rose or Holmes had today.

Not really. They had to try to make up ground and take risks. Shane just had to play conservatively. The conditions actually helped him imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭Petyr Baelish

Lowry's Wikipedia entry has already been edited to say he has won

We’ll have a few bars of the Offaly Rover in a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,282 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

Home and hosed now, delighted for Shane. Could double the last two and still win.

10 Irish major wins in 12 years after 60 years without a win. An incredible period for Irish golf and hopefully more to come from Shane and Rory, maybe Paul Dunne as well.

Hope the two lads go to Tokyo next year and go for gold there as well. With most of the Americans excluded it's a real possibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭take everything

Brilliant stuff from Shane.
    Looks like a done deal now.
    Played great.

Why are we singing in Spanish?

Are you serious?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Leave it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭tobsey

Because it’s easy to learn the words. And it’s great craic when you’re in the middle of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

Although I'm delighted for Lowry its a poor round from Fleetwood really. Couldn't put on any pressure despite Lowry being over par for most of the round, not once did Lowry's lead ever look threatened.

Are you serious?

No but it’s a bit silly imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,858 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

They're gonna be ole ole-ing as he walks up 18 aren't they? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭lbc2019

Nobody will be working in Offaly tomorrow- but given our unemployment rate thats only a few off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,122 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Shane’s caddy has been excellent. Great job. Love the talk between them.

Like 2 pals out for a stroll. At one stage he said something along the lines of

"Are you ready to take the shot then"?

"Yeah"

"Well off you go"

Must put him at ease that he's so relaxed in his company under this pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭brendanwalsh

Well done Shane.
    My prediction came true.
    Tullamore court and the palace nightclub will be absolutely rocking tonight!! Yeehaw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,518 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

This has turned into a beautiful to watch procession...a bit like yesterday... except yesterday's birdies are today's pars!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,783 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Those on course reporters are coming out with some brilliant saying today.

I’m not sure Iv seen Koepka hole a putt this week!! Wonder did he use his caddies local knowledge!!

No but it’s a bit silly imo.

You sound like great craic...

Although I'm delighted for Lowry its a poor round from Fleetwood really. Couldn't put on any pressure despite Lowry being over par for most of the round, not once did Lowry's lead ever look threatened.

Start cost him. Great chances on 1,2 and 4 and didn’t take them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭simongurnick

I know it wasnt the low score of yesterday but considering the conditions, pressure and context this has been a quality round from Shane. Fair play big fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭take everything

Can't be easy controlling the nerves winning your first major.
    But I think he's done a great job.
    And has to be a huge confidence boost or any golfer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Caught on at the Soccer World Cup in 1990,now it is sung at nearly every sport that Irish people are involved in.