Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Good news everyone! The Boards.ie Subscription service is live. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Irishman set to be deported from the US

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

By deporting him you also punish his wife, children, and stepchild. His wife will be forced to choose between separating his children from their father by staying in the US, or separating her other child from their father by moving to Ireland—not to mention the loss of their wider family network, jobs, etc. What good is achieved by strictly enforcing this law, when it causes so much harm to other blameless parties?

He knew that and that is his responsibility and his fault and no one else's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭LazySamaritan

How is it "scamming" the system?

It is undoubtedly trying to bypass or avoid the system, but I can't see what the "scam" is.

I don't understand why people get so righteous and bitter about people like your man. What is missing from their own lives that the feel the need to vent so much? Is there some kind of self-delusion that only for their own strict abidance of every single rule and law that they'd have been billionaires over in the US?

Yeah your man broke the law. I'd doubt that he went over there with all this planned out. I'd say he just stupidly overstayed at the beginning without realizing the consequences. Once you are one second over, that's it. From what is reported, he tried to be up front and get regularized a good few years ago.

Balancing the benefit of deporting him against the damage to 4 US citizens (his wife and 2 kids and the step kid) it would seem that the damage outweighs the benefit. Why not just fine him or apply some other penalty rather than deportation?

What “damage” to his wife and kids? Moving to Ireland? Yes that would be hell.

By deporting him you also punish his wife, children, and stepchild. His wife will be forced to choose between separating his children from their father by staying in the US, or separating her other child from their father by moving to Ireland—not to mention the loss of their wider family network, jobs, etc. What good is achieved by strictly enforcing this law, when it causes so much harm to other blameless parties?

She knew the risks when the guy couldn’t get to stay legally and should have considered her child and the father back then.

How come it so long for the law to catch up to him? When he made his applications and failed shouldn’t they have known he was still in the country? And when he started working why did it raise no alarms that he had no social security number - or did he have a fake?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

What “damage” to his wife and kids? Moving to Ireland? Yes that would be hell.

While I don't really have much particular sympathy for him. It does negatively hit the family, the wife and kids are not likely to move here since she has a child from a previous marriage.
    She knew the risks when the guy couldn’t get to stay legally and should have considered her child and the father back then.

How come it so long for the law to catch up to him? When he made his applications and failed shouldn’t they have known he was still in the country? And when he started working why did it raise no alarms that he had no social security number - or did he have a fake?

From what I gather, authorities were aware of his status. Had a legitimate social security number,paid tax etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,367 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

This one is very simple.

Their country, their rules. He's there illegally.. Send him home.

Makes no difference that he has a family, or that he's Irish - especially this last part. He should have considered that beforehand, or maybe it was a deliberate attempt to game their immigration laws by muddying the water.

The same principle applies here with illegal economic migrants and no one (rightly) seems to have an issue with that.

All this thread shows is how many people in this country still look for "cute hoor" loopholes to get away with stuff and the hypocrisy involved. That is far more concerning and exactly why this country is riddled with waste and corruption at all levels. It's why politicians get away with outrageous antics without penalty - too many people would be at exactly the same if they had the balls/neck and opportunity.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 90 ✭✭rireland

Shameful carry on by this guy. He overstays his visa and gets a bird knocked up. Very very irresponsible what he has brought upon the kids and wife.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 90 ✭✭rireland

Those problems you listed are caused by this selfish guy who broke the law.

By not deporting him, you're basically giving people a way to scam the system. Wanna live in America but don't want to do it legally? Just knock up a woman with kids already and you'll be guaranteed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,886 ✭✭✭✭Bob24

rireland wrote: »
    Shameful carry on by this guy. He overstays his visa and gets a bird knocked up. Very very irresponsible what he has brought upon the kids and wife.

From what I gather of the story, his wife was well aware of his situation early in the game and especially when the 2 new kids came into the picture. So she is equally responsible for the current situation her family is in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,112 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

What is he only an illegal economic migrant?
    Tried acting the cute hoor but sooner or later it was going to catch up with him. He sowed the seed of his own downfall himself.

Back in the day people would take their medicine and get on with it. Now they have to bawl and cry to every media outlet that will run the story. It's sickening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭Cryptopagan

Bob24 wrote: »
    From what I gather of the story, his wife was well aware of his situation early in the game and especially when the 2 new kids came into the picture. So she is equally responsible for the current situation her family is in.

You should never fall in love with anyone until they have gotten their papers sorted. You’re all a bunch of lickspittles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,575 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

What's most sickening is it made the main story on the main news of our national broadcaster.

He's a chancer, he got caught.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

How is it "scamming" the system?

It is undoubtedly trying to bypass or avoid the system, but I can't see what the "scam" is.

I don't understand why people get so righteous and bitter about people like your man. What is missing from their own lives that the feel the need to vent so much? Is there some kind of self-delusion that only for their own strict abidance of every single rule and law that they'd have been billionaires over in the US?

Yeah your man broke the law. I'd doubt that he went over there with all this planned out. I'd say he just stupidly overstayed at the beginning without realizing the consequences. Once you are one second over, that's it. From what is reported, he tried to be up front and get regularized a good few years ago.

Balancing the benefit of deporting him against the damage to 4 US citizens (his wife and 2 kids and the step kid) it would seem that the damage outweighs the benefit. Why not just fine him or apply some other penalty rather than deportation?

You don’t get it at all.
    The penalty in the US where he lives for his crime is deportation.
    Not a fine, not a slap on the wrist, not bail to appear at a later date pending a probation report, not a 18 month suspended sentence despite having 145 previous convictions, not community service, not probation, not convicted and released with leave to appeal.
    That is the way law breakers are dealt here in Ireland.
    It’s not they way they deal with them in the US.
    Expecting the US authorities to deal with Irish people in a different way, more leniently, just because they’re Irish isn’t just embarrassing, it’s actually racist.
    I’m annoyed with the carry on of these people because it’s just mortifying.

You should never fall in love with anyone until they have gotten their papers sorted. You’re all a bunch of lickspittles.

Love knows no bounds, she can move too.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,586 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

What's most sickening is it made the main story on the main news of our national broadcaster.

He's a chancer, he got caught.

Did they call him 'illegal' at any point?

Or was he another 'undocumented'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

The law is not causing any harm here. Keith Byrne's actions are the only thing causing any pain to his family etc.

Love knows no bounds, she can move too.

How many times does it need to be pointed out she has a kid from a previous relationship which creates a dilemma?

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/family-of-corkman-facing-deportation-say-minor-drug-charge-shouldnt-force-him-out-of-us-937782.html

Basically they now want the Government to change the law of the land for this painter even though they acknowledge it'll do him no good.

"It's a reasonable thing to ask".

You couldn't make this stuff up.

I read somewhere that he met her in his last week of his fraudulent visa waiver. Hardly in deep after a week. He knew what he was at.

Yes we all need to be really ashamed.
    Break any law you don’t like or don’t approve of and then cry and cry and cry like a baby to the media to save your skin when it all blows up in your face.
    That’s the really brave, strong fearless response to make.

How many times does it need to be pointed out she has a kid from a previous relationship which creates a dilemma?

About the same amount of times it needs to be pointed out that's her problem.

Who cares?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Not sure why you're having a go at other posters for refusing to embrace your view of the world. Home is where you make it. The option on the table for him is to leave and try again in five years. In the meantime they can come here. The only challenge is the legal issue with the stepson but that too could be overcome.

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/family-of-corkman-facing-deportation-say-minor-drug-charge-shouldnt-force-him-out-of-us-937782.html

Basically they now want the Government to change the law of the land for this painter even though they acknowledge it'll do him no good.

"It's a reasonable thing to ask".

You couldn't make this stuff up.

They really are deluded.

is_that_so wrote: »
    Not sure why you're having a go at other posters for refusing to embrace your view of the world. Home is where you make it. The option on the table for him is to leave and try again in five years. In the meantime they can come here. The only challenge is the legal issue with the stepson but that too could be overcome.

“The only challenge” is not the legal one; it’s separating that child from their father.

About the same amount of times it needs to be pointed out that's her problem.

Who cares?

Plenty of people

.....a dilemma he knew would arise if he was ever caught, a dilemma he and she and the child’s father have to deal with now as the adults who created the problem in the first place.
    It’s nobodies fault or business except theirs.
    Using the “dilemma” as an excuse to avoid the consequences is just embarrassing, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,586 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I doubt the authorities in the US will care much.

Plenty of people

That’s good that lots of people care.
    It’s totally irrelevant though and the fact that lots of people feel bad for this guy will not affect the outcome of this story in anyway, apart from the fact that they will have a nice bit of extra money to pay for rent and utilities here while they get sorted with employment and public services.
    That’s very generous of the public and shows how kind hearted people are.
    Most returning emigrants really struggle for a while.

batgoat wrote: »
    While I don't really have much particular sympathy for him. It does negatively hit the family, the wife and kids are not likely to move here since she has a child from a previous marriage.

From what I gather, authorities were aware of his status. Had a legitimate social security number,paid tax etc.

The woman should have had a bit of cop on.

He had a social security number, etc ?

That sounds documented to me. :p

Do is there that many known illegals in the US that it took this long to get to him on the list or is it just standard civil service type bureaucracy?

splinter65 wrote: »
    That’s good that lots of people care.
    It’s totally irrelevant though and the fact that lots of people feel bad for this guy will not affect the outcome of this

Never suggested it would. I was asked ‘who cares’ and answered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

“The only challenge” is not the legal one; it’s separating that child from their father.
    This happens all the time and really is not as tragic as you imagine. The family of a friend was in this situation recently and even after the father consented it was a 9 month legal process.