Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

Jasus your a hard man to please. It was as comfortable a win as your likely to see against Galway. It was like the Mayo of old.The late goal put a gloss on the scoreline.Coen has been some find, along with Mcdonagh and Carr. Killarney will be hopping next weekend.

If I had my way every game against them would be a repeat of 2013 in Salthill.

Just thought we made hard work of the second half considering the position we'd got ourselves into and the weaknesses we'd exposed in the first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Euphoriasean

km79 wrote: »
    I can confirm trying to get out na pairaisgh is proving quite difficult !

If it make you feel any better I'm already at home and after the feed. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

If it make you feel any better I'm already at home and after the feed. :D

I’m still in a field of cars
    One of 3 fields
    All feeding out to the same point

Never again
    Unless I’m a passenger Cos there is a fine pub inside :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

Good win but disappointed with that second half. Considering Liam Silke was like an extra man for us and the Galway keeper looked like some randomer they'd picked up on the side of the road on the way down we really should have been more comfortable there.

You want to stop by Corofin on the way home and pick that goalie up on the side of the road he'll show you a few All Ireland medals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

You want to stop by Corofin on the way home and pick that goalie up on the side of the road he'll show you a few All Ireland medals.

Now now. Have you Happyilylost or not?

Great win for Mayo. some class scores and a lot to build on for next week. happy with that.

Now now. Have you Happyilylost or not?

No issue with the result. Mayo far better and deserved to win by more. But our goalie wasn't found on the side of any road. And he has the medals to show for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

I’m still in a field of cars
    One of 3 fields
    All feeding out to the same point

Never again
    Unless I’m a passenger Cos there is a fine pub inside :(

Its not even funny now
    There is no exit system whatsoever
    Some lad has just crashed into another as well and the guards are here now

Plenty of All Ireland medals among that Mayo team today as well. And a place in this year's Super 8s to go with them. We'll leave the randomer on the side of the road to drop simple catches and send kickouts straight over the sideline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Euphoriasean

Its not even funny now

Jasus your still not out, the brothers in tuam.

Its not even funny now

Reasonable chance they'll make things worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,152 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Its not even funny now

Might be time to start tinkering with your FPL squad for GW1 ;-)

Enjoyed the game overall but mother of God we make things hard for ourselves.

That James Carr goal is probably the best I've seen live tbh. He was knackered in the second half but was still beating his man easily.

Galway are a team of giants...Cooke was impressive in the first half and Walsh is a class act but the rest of them seem fairly limited technically.

Anyway, glad we're through - that was my young fellas 3rd Mayo game and we've won them all so looks like I'll be dragging him down to Killarney next weekend :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭MattressRick

Barlett wrote: »
    Mayo moved up a level today & the same flat Galway from the Connaught final appeared . Good to win anyway , it was coming sooner or later & in truth they were outplayed in most positions. The three point win flattered them , heard a few saying they can take a lot from that but no more so than our losses by ‘only’ three/ one point in previous outings against them , a loss is a loss .

Definitely not the same Galway in second half when the game looked over. Never gave up, unlike the Connacht final, so you're wrong there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭MattressRick

Plenty of All Ireland medals among that Mayo team today as well. And a place in this year's Super 8s to go with them. We'll leave the randomer on the side of the road to drop simple catches and send kickouts straight over the sideline.

Like Rob hennelly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

Gloating after a win is not cool.

Not gloating at all. Just replying to the poster who brought up the Galway keeper's All Ireland medals as a defence of his poor performance this evening.

What comment did you make before that? Keeper found on the side of the road? Do the other one.

Yes, that's how poor I thought he was tonight and his early mistakes had a huge bearing on the game. Why he was brought in at the last minute I have no idea, one for Kevin Walsh to answer I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭eastmayo

Still in limerick...great mayo gang still here..bring on Kerry.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Great win and heart shown. Top performances all over the field.
    Coen again was top class up front.
    Aos, boyler, Higgins etc etc.
    Great goal for Carr after that run.
    Strange game with the soft goal at the end putting a nicer slant on it for Galway. But the run of wins over us is well buried now.
    Shocking display of ill discipline shown by them, could have seen a few more blacks or reds but our lads held their heads.

Onwards to Kerry now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,554 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

CUT THE CRAP , WARNINGS NOW BANS NEXT!!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

It's a bit rich of a mayo supporter to take the piss about goalkeeping blunders.

In fairness he is only highlighting that tonight keep messed up after replacing Lavelle who seems no worse than this lad.

Abd we know about our keeper's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Barlett

Definitely not the same Galway in second half when the game looked over. Never gave up, unlike the Connacht final, so you're wrong there.

Thought it was a poor performance overall from Galway but we’ll agree to disagree

yop wrote: »
    In fairness he is only highlighting that tonight keep messed up after replacing Lavelle who seems no worse than this lad.

Abd we know about our keeper's.

The Galway boys are very sensitive tonight.

Anyway, Kerry next. If those lads are stuck in that field in Limerick much longer they might be as well turning straight for Killarney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Condenser

Barlett wrote: »
    Thought it was a poor performance overall from Galway but we’ll agree to disagree

That doesn't auger well for you in that case. You won by 3 points in a game where you got a fortuitous goal and a penalty was missed. If Galway were poor and you scraped by them then you were slightly better than poor. Hardly a ringing endorsement to reach a semi final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭RobbieRuns

Galway were very very poor. Have been all season. No cohesion in that team at all and not a great style of football.

Well done to Mayo, enjoy the win, but when you get such big leads in games, you have to push on. Not great when average teams like Galway and Armagh come back at ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

yop wrote:
    Shocking display of ill discipline shown by them, could have seen a few more blacks or reds but our lads held their heads.

TBH Yop I thought a number of the Mayo lads were lucky today too.
    I though the foul for the penno was a red card, I thought AOS had a deliberate leg trip that he dressed up as something else and COC was lucky not to get another yellow, the ref bottled it imo.

However overall I do agree with you, we were watching it on TV and it came up more than once about all the frees Galway contested that were moved forward. I don't think mayo did that once in the first half.
    Galway lost it a bit at the end. At the start of the second half Mayo lads dished out a lot of cynical fouls, but then Galway took over.

There were so many inconsistencies in the game today.

All the top teams do this, Mayo did it better today. That's my version of a complement BTW.

On the plus side I think that best thing from today from a Mayo perspective is that COC is back and it makes a huge difference on the scoreboard.

COC is a very good footballer. Savvy and smart as well.

Just my opinion but if he actually cut out the diving, always looking for frees and the niggling crap that he goes on with..... he could actually be a great of the game. Shame really

RobbieRuns wrote: »
    COC is a very good footballer. Savvy and smart as well.

Just my opinion but if he actually cut out the diving, always looking for frees and the niggling crap that he goes on with..... he could actually be a great of the game. Shame really

To be fair to him he gets an awful lot of abuse from opponents in games, he'll always be a target because he is so important to Mayo. If he's found a way to work it to his advantage even a little bit then fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,460 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Like Rob hennelly?

Was he playing this evening?

To be fair to him he gets an awful lot of abuse from opponents in games, he'll always be a target because he is so important to Mayo. If he's found a way to work it to his advantage even a little bit then fair play to him.

That’s fair enough and I understand your comment, but at least you confirm that he works the referees and winds opposing players up. It’s a shame for me because he is so talented. It goes against what I believe sport is all about. I understand that it is win at all costs and by any means necessary to some.