Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

km79 wrote: »
    naughto wrote: »
    Drake is not an option has being found out to many times[/quote

Apparently he is a good option corner back .......

He was excellent in FBD games early on imo but he was dropped. I though he had found a place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

Harrison well able for Farragher. I wonder will Coen be held in reserve for the inevitable Comer entrance? Can Higgins tie up Ian Burke? I don’t think Plunkett starts. Vaughan has to IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

Harrison well able for Farragher. I wonder will Coen be held in reserve for the inevitable Comer entrance? Can Higgins tie up Ian Burke? I don’t think Plunkett starts. Vaughan has to IMO

Vaughan isnt fit
    Cillian isn't fit
    Aido may not be fully fit
    Dohery may not be fit

It is a real balancing act between all the lads who are half fit!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭freddie_

Has anyone any idea what stand the season tickets get you into?

freddie_ wrote: »
    Has anyone any idea what stand the season tickets get you into?

Mackey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

jr86 wrote: »
    Yeah Harrison is not a natural full back

He's one of the best corner backs in the country but is inexplicably being played out of position

It'd be lovely to have tried someone like ger mcdonagh in the league. Or go with the guy who was outstanding in the position in the under 21 win 2016 - like Galway did a year later - but frankly there'll be snow in limerick tonight before Eoin O'Donoghue starts under this manager

Winter is coming,perhaps we should play the game in Kings Landing.:D

Vaughan isnt fit
    Cillian isn't fit
    Aido may not be fully fit
    Dohery may not be fit

It is a real balancing act between all the lads who are half fit!!!!!

If you are on the bench and play against Armagh you are good to go the following week surely. Aido was precautionary think there has been a bit of an over-reaction to that in the national media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭freddie_

Eoin O’D obviously isn’t going great in training. Horan has rewarded plenty of new players with game time this year so he isn’t afraid to Drop Some of the older crew.
    Horan isn’t not going to play Eoin for the fun of it if he is flying in training. We are all basing his claim for a starting place based on last years performances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

If you are on the bench and play against Armagh you are good to go the following week surely. Aido was precautionary think there has been a bit of an over-reaction to that in the national media.

You'll never have everyone fully fit anyway at the best of times. It's just about how efficient these players can be on the day

I certainly think Vaughan can play a role today regardless. He's big and strong, will win ball and always pops up with a score or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,908 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

You'll never have everyone fully fit anyway at the best of times. It's just about how efficient these players can be on the day

I certainly think Vaughan can play a role today regardless. He's big and strong, will win ball and always pops up with a score or two.

or a red/black card...

freddie_ wrote: »
    Eoin O’D obviously isn’t going great in training. Horan has rewarded plenty of new players with game time this year so he isn’t afraid to Drop Some of the older crew.
    Horan isn’t not going to play Eoin for the fun of it if he is flying in training. We are all basing his claim for a starting place based on last years performances.

That's not how it works though - every manager will have their favourites and will always inexplicably leave out a player or two that no-one else would. It's human nature

Not saying that's the case with EOD but it would be a bit naive to think Horan may not be susceptible to it also.

In any case to be frank about it team selections (well more in game decisions) probably cost him an all Ireland in his first tenure. But these things happen

or a red/black card...

Think that's a bit harsh, he's obviously not proud of what happened in 2017 and it'll always stick with him, but all in all I think he's been the most underrated player of this generation.

I'll never warm to his decision to transfer club but on the pitch for mayo I'm a huge fan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,908 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Think that's a bit harsh, he's obviously not proud of what happened in 2017 and it'll always stick with him, but all in all I think he's been the most underrated player of this generation.

Sorry yes just throwing in a glib comment, his overall disciplinary record is okay. Although I would be concerned about somebody throwing a wobbly in a tense game this evening, it's happened a few times over this team's history...

Yeah very true

Leeroy in the 26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Barlett

Well now, interesting - could see him starting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Leeroy in the 26

Same as Carr and SOS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

Boland and Mikey Murray gone completely.

Strong bench
    Very strong
    Keegan on it as expected

Boland prob unlucky. I would have him ahead of Regan. Loftus too but for frees

Lads what's the forecast for this evening?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Silent night

seligehgit wrote: »
    Lads what's the forecast for this evening?

Mayo by 3 ðŸ˜

Mayo by 3 /QUOTE]

Weather forecast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭Pineapple1

RedDevil55 wrote:
    Boland and Mikey Murray gone completely.

What??

Pineapple1 wrote: »
    What??

They're obviously not in the match day squad.

Very harsh on Boland

Mikey Murray is not ready for this summer
    Credit to Horan for trying him
    And credit to him for recognizing this too

Boland is unlucky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Euphoriasean

I parked there for limerick game last year and was grand
    But we are all coming the one direction today
    How many will travel from Galway is another story. The fact Irish rail didn’t even put on a train home suggests not many !

If ye can get parking on the old cratloe Rd close to LIT or one of the estate around there you could skip all the traffic around coonagh on the way there and back . Taking the old cratloe road to Cratloe Cross you can hop on the n18 from there. Short walk to gaelic grounds also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭jammer84

Very damp and miserable down here at the moment, just a few k's outside the city now. Hopefully it brightens up a little

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,460 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

naughto wrote:
    Drake is not an option has being found out to many times

Being used out of position is not being found out. He plays corner back/man marker for Ballaghdereen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Silent night

seligehgit wrote: »
    Mayo by 3 /QUOTE]

Weather forecast.

I knew but sorry couldn't resist 😆