Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kildare farmer objects to €8bn Intel investment...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,529 ✭✭✭Topgear on Dave

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    Apple left, who cares? If companies had their way Ireland would be one big data centre....

Look at Facebook, big monster of a yoke and f**k all jobs when finished and ruined the countryside

Why is everyone so quick to bend over backwards for these companies who don’t give a care long term about anyone?

Thousands employed and the government make buckets of cash from these companies.

The educations system, health etc etc all have to be paid for. Ask the nurses if they will take an "I owe you" next time they go on strike.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,546 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Corporate bullying, nothing more or less. To try to skew peoples attention towards one man exercising his rights in order to disguise the blatant greed of multinationals, facilitated by the self promoting snakes in the IDA.

The ONLY reason these corporations are willing to set up here is to avail of the low corporate tax rate. Corporations do not run on patriotism, if they did they would set up in the good ol' US of A. They are cajoled into setting up stall here in the misguided hope that once they are here they will stay. Lets be very clear, once their profit margins sink, they are gone.

Personally, I don't believe we need that crap here. Raise the corporate tax rate, provide a level playing field and see who stays,

• Registered Users Posts: 304 ✭✭HopsAndJumps

Corporate bullying, nothing more or less. To try to skew peoples attention towards one man exercising his rights in order to disguise the blatant greed of multinationals, facilitated by the self promoting snakes in the IDA.

The ONLY reason these corporations are willing to set up here is to avail of the low corporate tax rate. Corporations do not run on patriotism, if they did they would set up in the good ol' US of A. They are cajoled into setting up stall here in the misguided hope that once they are here they will stay. Lets be very clear, once their profit margins sink, they are gone.

Personally, I don't believe we need that crap here. Raise the corporate tax rate, provide a level playing field and see who stays,

And lets all return to the dole queues of the 80's and early 90's?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,497 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

provide a level playing field and see who stays,

No one will stay - what are you going to do then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Thousands employed and the government make buckets of cash from these companies.

The educations system, health etc etc all have to be paid for. Ask the nurses if they will take an "I owe you" next time they go on strike.

All these companies are getting huge grants and paying very little tax which we turn a blind eye to......if they paid proper tax we would be loaded

• Registered Users Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

threeball wrote: »
    Like I said, if he was left alone day one there wouldn't be an objection. Any grudge he bares is totally understandable. I'd like to see your reaction if they tried to CPO your family home so they could set up a supervalu. You are standing in the way of jobs aren't you.

No it isn't. The common good must be considered and win out.

As long as he is compensated fairly then there is no issue as far as I'm concerned. Id have no problem with my property being CPO'd

All these companies are getting huge grants and paying very little tax which we turn a blind eye to......if they paid proper tax we would be loaded

Again - when they all leave abruptly and there is no tax - what are you going to do?

Not to mention the 100's of thousands left unemployed.

Who will pay? Oh, sorry we won't be able to pay so it's the IMF.

Only we used our quota in the crisis so I guess it's third world.

And lets all return to the dole queues of the 80's and early 90's?

Perspective please, these corporations are not the godsent saving grace you seem to think they are. These are not the only employers here. We need to focus on backing the small start ups more, encourage the self employed, nurture the SME's. That's where the future of Ireland is, in the small local businesses with a vested interest in the local areas they are set up in.

Not a multinational corporation who couldn't care whether it was set up in Sandymount or Sahara once its investors get their shovels of cash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Again - when they all leave abruptly and there is no tax - what are you going to do?

Not to mention the 100's of thousands left unemployed.

Who will pay? Oh, sorry we won't be able to pay so it's the IMF.

Only we used our quota in the crisis so I guess it's third world.

Don’t be so dramatic

All I’m saying is we don’t have to bend over backwards to every whim they have

Don’t be so dramatic

All I’m saying is we don’t have to bend over backwards to every whim they have

Deciding to invest billions of dollars in building a new plant in not a whim.

Perspective please, these corporations are not the godsent saving grace you seem to think they are. These are not the only employers here. We need to focus on backing the small start ups more, encourage the self employed, nurture the SME's. That's where the future of Ireland is, in the small local businesses with a vested interest in the local areas they are set up in.

Not a multinational corporation who couldn't care whether it was set up in Sandymount or Sahara once its investors get their shovels of cash.

They are the most important employers here.

Increase tax they go. Simple as that. You think they are in Ireland for the weather?

You may hate them but they provide huge number of high quality jobs and wages.

You want to return Ireland to the developing world?

Use your head.

No one will stay - what are you going to do then?

Then good riddance! if the only reason they are staying is corporate greed then go.

Did you enjoy the 2008-2012 recession?

There are far more people in this country who would rather not go through something similar again, and that's exactly what would happen if the MNCs walked.

Morality.

And you are prepared for the consequences?

Like not being able to eat?

Actually they are the godsend for Ireland. Before dell left, Intel + Dell, just those two companies were 4% of GDP. That's not taking into account all the pharma we have in this country. without multinationals we would have the economy and standard of living of Portugal

We should be relying on ourselves in the manor you said but that not the way it is here unfortunately.

If we didn't have the low corporation tax we wouldn't have all these companies. Former Intel ceo and board member said recently that there were 5 reasons that they moved to Ireland. There is only one of those reasons left. Corporation tax.

Actually they are the godsend for Ireland. Before dell left, Intel + Dell, just those two companies were 4% of GDP. That's not taking into account all the pharma we have in this country. without multinationals we would have the economy and standard of living of Portugal

We should be relying on ourselves in the manor you said but that not the way it is here unfortunately.

If we didn't have the low corporation tax we wouldn't have all these companies. Former Intel ceo and board member said recently that there were 5 reasons that they moved to Ireland. There is only one of those reasons left. Corporation tax.

These posters want fairness with other countries.

lol.

Let them starve then because it's all gone if they got their way.

Did you enjoy the 2008-2012 recession?

There are day more people in this country who would rather not go through something similar again, and that's exactly what would happen if the MNCs walked.

That's very dramatic and very silly to have allowed so many eggs in one basket, isn't it time for the government to wean itself off, to stop suckling from the corporate tit, to stand up and look after the small enterprises here which in turn will keep the schools, shops, garda stations, pubs and post offices of our country from shutting down.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Former Intel ceo and board member said recently that there were 5 reasons that they moved to Ireland. There is only one of those reasons left. Corporation tax.

Intel only came here to do 2 things, drink some beer and kick some ass. Looks like we're almost outta beer.

G'man Tommy.

Intel only came here to do 2 things, drink some beer and kick some ass. Looks like we're almost outta beer.

G'man Tommy.

alright alright alrighhhhht!

These posters want fairness with other countries.

lol.

Let them starve then because it's all gone if they got their way.

You'd like to think that these people would learn the error of their ways of the policies they promote led to disaster. Unfortunately, it's more likely to lead them to double down and blame someone else rather than accepting the consequences of their policies.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

No it isn't. The common good must be considered and win out.

As long as he is compensated fairly then there is no issue as far as I'm concerned. Id have no problem with my property being CPO'd

All that shows is that your property plays a very minor role in who you are whereas his property is literally an extension of himself. Watching the programme last night, what good would the whole of Co Meath be to him or 10 million in the bank. He has no need of riches but would be lost, finished without his place. It is literally priceless to him. Intel were just unfortunate to have as a neighbour someone who couldn't be bought. I wouldn't blame him for having a sour taste in his mouth after all the days and nights he must have spend worrying and fretting away that his farm would be taken from him and in such an underhand way.

That's very dramatic and very silly to have allowed so many eggs in one basket, isn't it time for the government to wean itself off, to stop suckling from the corporate tit, to stand up and look after the small enterprises here which in turn will keep the schools, shops, garda stations, pubs and post offices of our country from shutting down.

You didn't answer the question, did you enjoy the recession? How about your family and friends? Did they take pay cuts or lose their jobs?

Let's be clear it's great to see you want that again for them. Perhaps you should tell them.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

There's only limited demands for Bridie's scones and Maggies novelty tea cosies.
    We need jobs and the multi nationals provide them

You didn't answer the question, did you enjoy the recession? How about your family and friends? Did they take pay cuts or lose their jobs?

Let's be clear it's great to see you want that again for them. Perhaps you should tell them.

Surely a question like that is rhetorical? Everyone in the country took cuts! Your facetious parting shot shows at least you are beginning to absorb what I'm saying and it's not sitting easy with you.

Like most of this thread, you are directing towards the wrong focus, I urge you to direct your vitriol towards the Corporations and their facilitators, I'm just a very small local employer.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 47 ShlugEireann

His simple objection is delaying a project that will go to Israel and cost us jobs.

No bull**** planning there.

Apple did it - they bailed out and said "fcuk this" (rightfully) - they went to Denmark. A warning.

Don't be stupid. These companies will pull the plug.

They don't have to be here and if dealing with delinquent planning they won't be here.

How many jobs does the area need? Our unemployment figures can't get any lower. In fact, more jobs just increases wages for professionals while minimum wage workers don't get that rise so the wealth inequality increases.

And is it really good to have such a single mammoth employer? If Intel left tomorrow (which could easily happen) the whole area would collapse.

Edgware wrote: »
    There's only limited demands for Bridie's scones and Maggies novelty tea cosies.
    We need jobs and the multi nationals provide them

That's right, scones and tea cosies are all this country is capable of creating or producing on our own... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 18,485 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

How many jobs does the area need? Our unemployment figures can't get any lower. In fact, more jobs just increases wages for professionals while minimum wage workers don't get that rise so the wealth inequality increases.

And is it really good to have such a single mammoth employer? If Intel left tomorrow (which could easily happen) the whole area would collapse.

Honestly I’d worry more about financial and software companies “walking away tomorrow” as they have no hard fixed infrastructure.

Intel on he other hand will literally burry billions of € into the ground and site delicate expensive equipment that takes months to install and commission, these facilities need to be worked to recoup the massive investment involved. It’s not something they would walk away from overnight, even to decommission, pack and ship out their old equipment takes months to years, not overnight.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

I don't think it would be in any danger of collapse. It is so close to Dublin, effectively a Dublin suburb with excellent transport links, it would attract other businesses or be very suitable for houses for the Dublin market.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 47 ShlugEireann

I do find it strange how they would CPO a mans land for some jobs that would struggle to be filled and would need foreigners to be brought in, which would add more strain to public services like roads and transport, housing yet the NIMBYs constantly win.

The NIMBYs blocking Bus Connects are going to win.

The NIMBYs blocking the Metro initial plans are going to win.

The NIMBYs objecting to high rise in Dublin are going to win.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,485 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

That's right, scones and tea cosies are all this country is capable of creating or producing on our own... :rolleyes:

We have a huge Agri food sector under pressure at the moment, it employs 10% of people in Ireland and under a poor government it’s been ran into the ground. This isn’t scones and teacosies,