Ana Kriegel - Boys A & B found guilty [Mod: Do NOT post identifying information]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭mrjoneill

When he first told his story to the gardai, if he leaves things as is even with CCTV proving him wrong he would not have a conviction for murder now.

The fact the boy kept amending his story and telling new lies as well as some truths, is what has brought about a guilty verdict for murder.

He was not convicted for telling lies but for being part of a plan which he failed to dissuade the jury on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Not that it matters in any case but ,I'm sorry mrjoneill, you havent a clue how the justice system works. Everything you've posted for the last while is completely incorrect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭MeMen2_MoRi_

mrjoneill wrote: »
    Not true he only alienated the jury with his lies even further. The jury believed there was a plan between Boy A and Boy B to lure her to the abandoned house. Boy B played an active part in that by calling to her house to lure her there. The jury believed that this plan was for Boy A to kill Ana or seriously assault her & Boy B was part of this.

Everytime the boy "corrected" a lie, he moved himself ever closer to the murder scene, of course you're aleinating yourself from the jury. The CCTV proves things only so far in his guilt, he did his own hanging, I don't see a jury convicting him any other way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,593 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

And the teachers? And the grandparents? And how wide a net will it take?

Better yet spare the whole lot the trauma and just execute them all on the late late.
    Disgraceful comment. Keyboard warriors and vigilantes demanding the naming are responsible for this nonsense. They would be responsible for even worse if the names were revealed.

Already the family of Boy B have been forced into hiding. Shame on you.

Jesus your taking this worse than Boy B's dad. Did you think they are innocent?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

They should name the boys. Its getting very dangerous out there.

The genie is certainly half out of the bottle.
    (Or still half in if you prefer)

There was mention of a white stick BoyB had at the house. Were his fingerprints recovered from anything there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,716 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

How can they endanger an innocent kid when the scum are detained?

Because some people when they geta mob mentality can do irrational things and think later. What if they do. If they are been detained why do we have know them. By the time they are freed they will look different and have change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭Goose76

Apologies if I’m late but obviously this is a very fast moving thread.

Parents of Boy B gone into hiding apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,980 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

The genie is certainly half out of the bottle.
    (Or still half in if you prefer)

There was mention of a white stick BoyB had at the house. Were his fingerprints recovered from anything there?

It was not found in his home. Boy B talked about a stick he picked up inside one of the rooms of the abandoned building but left it back as it was not suitable to be used as a play sword.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

Everytime the boy "corrected" a lie, he moved himself ever closer to the murder scene, of course you're aleinating yourself from the jury. The CCTV proves things only so far in his guilt, he did his own hanging, I don't see a jury convicting him any other way.

Given the complete lack of forensic evidence connecting him with the killing, I think a manslaughter verdict might have been an alternative. Of course conspiracy complicates matters but it is worthy of note that only Boy A was convicted of sexual assault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭Daisy78

Given the complete lack of forensic evidence connecting him with the killing, I think a manslaughter verdict might have been an alternative. Of course conspiracy complicates matters but it is worthy of note that only Boy A was convicted of sexual assault.

Why on earth are you defending this boy?

Daisy78 wrote: »
    Why on earth are you defending this boy?

It's not defending someone to point out a conviction of murder would have been difficult without them implicating themselves over and over in interviews with the Guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

If Boy B had more involvement while he was there, more than just calling into her and walking her the 3km to the house, then Boy A might be convinced to share any evidence of that, that he may be able to provide.
    For example if Boy B helped plant items in the house or helped with the mask etc.
    If Boy B did have a phone despite claiming it was lost etc.
    Boy A may remember Boy B doing something specific in the house.

pjohnson wrote: »
    Jesus your taking this worse than Boy B's dad. Did you think they are innocent?

No. You seem to be taking it worse than Ana's parents... but that's always the way isn't it? Sad sacks on the internet making out like tough men?

I tell you what, when it comes to taking those innocent children from their parents I'll support it so long as you are the one who has to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

Surely the accomplice can’t be convicted of manslaughter if the charge for the principal is murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Lefty Bicek

No. You seem to be taking it worse than Ana's parents...

Absolutely disgraceful.

Reported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭MeMen2_MoRi_

tuxy wrote: »
    The Guards called him out on his lies when they were sure he was not being truthful, this is when he started to change his story. If he had stopped talking at this stage the Guards would know he was involved but not have enough evidence to convict him. You can be sure their investigate would have taken a very different route at this point and it's impossible to say if they could have accumulated enough evidence to convince a jury.

I think they've put in a huge amount of investigation into this case, what they got was boy A at the scene, boy B with Ana before.

The rest of the dots linking B to the murder scene is his own words. And this "plan" boy A saying to B about wanting to murder Ana came from B in the interviews.

No. You seem to be taking it worse than Ana's parents... but that's always the way isn't it? Sad sacks on the internet making out like tough men?

I tell you what, when it comes to taking those innocent children from their parents I'll support it so long as you are the one who has to do it.
    You're just embarassing. Everyone else is the sad sack sure. The kids (if younger) may currently be innocent but look how the child they "reared" for 13 years turned out?

For the kids own good they'd be better going to an actual home that will actually care for them.

You cry if anyone speaks against your beloved boys parents but then use Ana (the ACTUAL victim) parents. You sap.

Suckit wrote: »
    If Boy B had more involvement while he was there, more than just calling into her and walking her the 3km to the house, then Boy A might be convinced to share any evidence of that, that he may be able to provide.
    For example if Boy B helped plant items in the house or helped with the mask etc.
    If Boy B did have a phone despite claiming it was lost etc.
    Boy A may remember Boy B doing something specific in the house.

Boy A's defence after they knew there was DNA evidence was to not say a single thing and hope the Garda would make a technical error or that the judge would allow the jury to consider manslaughter.
    He had nothing to gain by talking and there was no indication that he would no matter what the status of Boy B's defence was. I don't think shared responsibility will have an impact on his sentence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Jimmy McGill

Absolute idiot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

You're embarassing. Everyone else is the sad sack sure. The kids (if younger) may currently be innocent but look how the child they "reared" for 13 years turned out?

For the kids own good they'd be better going to an actual home that will actually care for them.

That’s rubbish. A bad kid can come from a good home. And vice versa.

You're embarassing. Everyone else is the sad sack sure. The kids (if younger) may currently be innocent but look how the child they "reared" for 13 years turned out?

An absolute disgrace. You should feel ashamed.

I for one am glad that the law, on this question, is firmly on my side.

A parade of hard-lads, and keyboard queens demanding names, photos and the imprisonment of innocent people might satisfy you, it doesn't satisfy me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,409 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

A 12 man jury who heard all evidence thought differently .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,717 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Goose76 wrote: »
    Apologies if I’m late but obviously this is a very fast moving thread.

Parents of Boy B gone into hiding apparently.

Doesn't quite stack up. Why would one family go into hiding and not the other, particularly when the latter is more directly connected with the actual assault?

Also curious that it was reported that it was the legal team for parents of Boy B who sought the further injunctions against publishers. One can only conclude that they have more to lose and the in court behaviour of one parent left a lot to be desired.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭MrFresh

What innocent children?

No. You seem to be taking it worse than Ana's parents...

That's vile commentary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

Like I was saying its very dangerous out there at the moment.

Its far too easy for someone holding a grudge with any teenage male to post "Hey, boy A is this person" and so on.

We already have someone who has been wrongfully identified has one of the two.

By all means make sure their families are safe, relocated, etc, etc but its far too risky leaving both these boys unidentified.

An absolute disgrace. You should feel ashamed.

I for one am glad that the law, on this question, is firmly on my side.

A parade of hard-lads, and keyboard queens demanding names, photos and the imprisonment of innocent people might satisfy you, it doesn't satisfy me.

The law that you are currently arguing against RE Boy B being guilty of murder?

MrFresh wrote: »
    What innocent children?

The other siblings of either Boy A or B whose lives would be even furthered destroyed by being deprived of their parents to satiate a braying internet mob.

Absolutely disgraceful.

Reported.

And that poster has the nerves to cast shame on others for daring to say they believe the killers should be named.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

@jobbridge4life warned for uncivil posting. Keep it civil folks

dudara