Ana Kriegel - Boys A & B found guilty [Mod: Do NOT post identifying information]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Sunflower 27

gozunda wrote: »
    Both boys were seen carry backpacks.

Only Boy A's was found afaik

They other unsounded issue is with Boy b's mobile phones

His father painted a picture of him as not into social media etc and that he had 'lost' two phones that had been bought for him

In light of the thousands of seriously fuked up pornographic images boy A had on his phone - I wonder did boy b's phone disappear deliberatly.

For clarification, I was not saying Boy B didn't have a backpack. Not sure how you read that into it. I think he did and that was identified on CCTV.

The question I was responding to was did Boy B bring the murder gear and my response was it's unlikely he did as he would have had to give it to A without Ana seeing, who would then have to get changed before attacking Ana. It makes no sense. I also think the mask was A's from the previous Halloween.

Also, B is cunning. I think he knew the less he did the better. Yes, he could say he was seen with her, but beyond that there was nothing linking him to her actual attack. He got to see her brutally murdered but could still say he wasn't there as no DNA would link him.

I believe he felt safe in that knowledge. Possibly so did his father and that explains his outburst. I'm sure B was told by his legal team that they had nothing on him directly linking him to the crime. He probably felt he had a good chance of getting off.

Surely the gear was tested for B's DNA as well as A's and Ana's? I didnt read anywhere his DNA was on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

secman wrote: »
    ChuckLarry wrote: »
    I could be wrong but I remember reading somewhere that they were actually given new identities a second time as the first ones had become public knowledge

One is currently in jail again afaik under his new identity, for child porn on his computer, a totally fcked up person by all accounts .
    The other lad afaik has never come to police attention since his release.
    The " other lad " as you call him is still a murdering bastard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Dante7 wrote: »
    Well I now know their names and what they look like, so there is zero chance of my daughter ever dating either of them in the future.

And how do you propose to protect her from them when you’re locked in a jail cell?

Also how can you be sure that the names you’ve been given and pictures you’ve seen are in fact A and B? It’s dangerous to just assume you’ve been told correctly.

Let’s try thinking logically about this and leave the emotion out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Whilst the idea of these boys being protected by anonymity for the rest of their lives does not sit well with me this is just silly reckless irresponsible behavior.

What good will it do except land those sharing the photographs in jail. That’s not going to help anyone least of all Ana and her family.

I get what you're saying but I'm old enough to remember the James Bulger case and now those 2 are adults and Venebles had a partner before he was sent back to prison who had no idea about his past.

Fair enough to grant them anonymity now but once they turn 18 and are adults they should be named so future partners would be aware of their past.

I also see Boy B appealing and possibly winning an appeal.

No forensic evidence linking him to the scene.
    No evidence that he planned this in advance (isn't that the difference murder and manslaughter?)

It also looks like a serious amount of manipulation from Boy A (who absolutely should rot, btw)
    And reading between the lines of the reports it looks like there's a lot of psychological abuse coming from his father ("I tried to make him into a man, but he wasn't interested")

Was there ever a reason as to why they were tried together? I can't see why Boy B's barrister agreed to that.

It's such an absolute horror show though. My heart goes out to Ana and her parents, knowing how she suffered. My baby got extra squeezes over the last few days.

Horrific stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭Dwarf.Shortage

Hoboo wrote: »
    They won't get much with a euro.

More than they'll get with nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭brendanwalsh

Thank everyone of ye who is naming these boys online and posting pics.

The country needs to know and be protected from these animals.

Rip ana, gone too soon from a world too cruel.

screamer wrote: »
    Named and every detail they could scrape up about her fed to the world. She got no privacy, she got no dignity, they took her life, they should get no anonymity, their names should be fed to the world too. Ana’s family had to go through all that because of what they did, I don’t see why their families should be protected either.

I agree they should be named and shamed if ever the law changes in that respect but their families don’t deserve to be treated like they are the guilty ones. They have done nothing wrong as far as we know and I find it highly unlikely they raised their sons to be murderers or psychopaths.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

Please prove that these are the correct boys in the photo. Evidence please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Sunflower 27

In this day and age it's near impossible to stop the spread of photos. There will always be people that will not care about the law and also others that believe strongly enough to take the risk.

I'm sure all the people that went to school with them know, and their families and relatives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

Dante7 wrote: »
    Well I now know their names and what they look like, so there is zero chance of my daughter ever dating either of them in the future.

Honestly... this has to be the dumbest comment I've read today.

A. You think you know what they look like, based on randos on the internet posting it.

B. Would recognize John Venables today? Do you even know who that is? Does your daughter? Will you forever remember these two, from a blurred picture you saw alleging that the subjects of same were the pair in this trial?

C. How are you going to police who your daughter 'dates' when she is an adult? You going to follow her into coppers with a picture of these two as children and compare to whoever she might shift?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,170 ✭✭✭✭Heroditas

I also see Boy B appealing and possibly winning an appeal.

No forensic evidence linking him to the scene.
    No evidence that he planned this in advance (isn't that the difference murder and manslaughter?)

It also looks like a serious amount of manipulation from Boy A (who absolutely should rot, btw)
    And reading between the lines of the reports it looks like there's a lot of psychological abuse coming from his father ("I tried to make him into a man, but he wasn't interested")

Was there ever a reason as to why they were tried together? I can't see why Boy B's barrister agreed to that.

It's such an absolute horror show though. My heart goes out to Ana and her parents, knowing how she suffered. My baby got extra squeezes over the last few days.

Horrific stuff.

Are you privvy to information and evidence that the jury wasn't?
    If not, how can you even begin to suggest what you just wrote?

I get what you're saying but I'm old enough to remember the James Bulger case and now those 2 are adults and Venebles had a partner before he was sent back to prison who had no idea about his past.

Fair enough to grant them anonymity now but once they turn 18 and are adults they should be named so future partners would be aware of their past.

I remember it too and again I do agree they should be named and shamed but it needs to be done properly - a press conference by the Gardai at which their identities are revealed for instance.

Do gooders sharing random names and photos on social media is dangerous and irresponsible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,980 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Lets be honest, the people that are spreading this info (which may be false) are doing so because of revenge fantasies, I don't see how this is healthy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭lbc2019

Am I in the minority thinking its correct A & B are NOT named???

How do you know the names and faces in the photos are in fact A and B?

lbc2019 wrote: »

No there is possible harm cased either way, it's a difficult one to call.

I agree they should be named and shamed if ever the law changes in that respect but their families don’t deserve to be treated like they are the guilty ones. They have done nothing wrong as far as we know and I find it highly unlikely they raised their sons to be murderers or psychopaths.

I mean...

You think there is a possibility that two families who didn't know eachother prior to this, happened to both raise sadistic murderous sons who just also happened to end up in school together?

I get that people are upset but seriously, that's hardly a cause for lobotomizing yourself.

How do you know the names and faces in the photos are in fact A and B?

You don't have to know that to engage in revenge fantasies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭screamer

Ana’s family did nothing wrong either, it hadn’t spared them this nightmare, and all the publicity that they’ve had to endure. I have zero sympathy for their families you know your kids and you know well when they’re lying. After everything they did to Ana, they could at least have had the balls and decency to admit it, and I’m sorry but that’s on their parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Gerianam

tuxy wrote: »
    If I remember he described a stick he picked up in one of the rooms of the abandoned house he wanted to keep as a play sword but left it as it wasn't suitable.

In a different report I heard he was shown a picture of a stick with Ana's blood on it and he acted surprised when he saw it.

I'm not sure if Garda were trying to link boy B to that stick but they didn't have enough evidence. And how it was reported was a bit confusing.

I feel that he mentioned the stick because he knew Gardaí may have found his DNA/fingerprints on it. Too clever but not clever enough.....

Perhaps, but you are not alone. And for the moment at least the law has not taken leave of its senses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

You could be but I agree with you.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Perhaps, but you are not alone. And for the moment at least the law has not taken leave of its senses.

I'd like to see them named on release as adults

You don't have to know that to engage in revenge fantasies.

Exactly and that’s why I completely disagree with naming them on social media.

Revenge helps no one, the Kriegels least of all.

Stheno wrote: »

To what end? And it is a question I grapple with myself at the moment.

What would we (society) be hoping to achieve in doing so?

Gerianam wrote: »
    I feel that he mentioned the stick because he knew Gardaí may have found his DNA/fingerprints on it. Too clever but not clever enough.....

Probably and that was why the prosecution brought it up. It was similar to how he reviled that Boy A had said he was going to kill Ana thinking this would reduce the heat on himself but he only ended up incriminating himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭screamer

Lets be honest, the people that are spreading this info (which may be false) are doing so because of revenge fantasies, I don't see how this is healthy.

No it’s being done because the law is an ass. I don’t have any revenge fantasies but I want to know if there’s a monster in my neighborhood so that I can keep my kids and family well away from them. Self protection it’s the most basic human trait.

screamer wrote: »
    Ana’s family did nothing wrong either, it hadn’t spared them this nightmare, and all the publicity that they’ve had to endure. I have zero sympathy for their families you know your kids and you know well when they’re lying. After everything they did to Ana, they could at least have had the balls and decency to admit it, and I’m sorry but that’s on their parents.

Two wrongs don’t make a right.

As far as we know they came from good families and their parents don’t deserve to be punished for their sons crimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,416 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Stheno wrote: »

Yes me too . Named on release or reaching adulthood