Ana Kriegel - Boys A & B found guilty [Mod: Do NOT post identifying information]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

Hal3000 wrote: »
    Hopefully someone politician or party lobby for a new law against bullying. Name it after Ana. We need to send a strong message to the vermin that think they can get away with bullying.

Great, a generation of kids with criminal records. That's just what's needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭MissShihTzu

The level of shock I feel about this case, I can only liken to that of poor James Bulger. The children involved are beyond wicked. Just how depraved are they and at such a young age. I read one of the boys had a large amount of porn on his phone. How on earth did the parents not notice any strange behaviour? How come they don't know what their kids were doing and what's on their phones?

I'm beyond shocked and saddened by this, and actually feel quite depressed. What the **** have we come to??

with kids like that who gives a ****

Then don't make statements that the parents lied when you can't back it up.

And we really don't know what the parents are like. I know the parents of a double murderer. Loving and lovely people. And when I worked as a lawyer I represented a lot of unloveable people. Many with very decent parents. That may not be the case with the parents of these two lads but we have no idea so speculation and condemnation isn't wise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,671 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

screamer wrote: »
    It doesn’t matter, under 18 and **** all will be done.

Of course they are more than likely underage.
    I had forgotten the obvious.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

petrolcan wrote: »

ITT: All kids engage in violent bullying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

dd973 wrote: »
    There's always been a viciousness in this country towards people deemed different or not fitting in, it hasn't gone away with the disappearance of the industrial schools, magdalen launderies, the lessening of the Church's role in the state or with all the apparent hippy-dippy liberal identity politics that are commoditised to the core.

It's something that's all pervasive and not hard to find if you keep your eyes and ears open, it's directed towards people whom are deemed not Irish enough, LGBT people and those rumoured to be LGBT, Travellers or anybody who 'looks like a Traveller', any male who's not a swaggering pseudo-alpha gob****e, working class people labelled as 'knackers', anybody who basically doesn't fit in with 'Brand Ireland'. It's still a small country with minds to match.

As Paul Calf so succinctly put it, bag of sh1te.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,980 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Well obviously someone was going to take this high profile case. Winning when the odds are stacked against you could do wonders for a career.

Patrick Gageby SC is already a highly regarded defence Barrister that specialises in high profile cases. (many of them for murder)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Sunflower 27

The level of shock I feel about this case, I can only liken to that of poor James Bulger. The children involved are beyond wicked. Just how depraved are they and at such a young age. I read one of the boys had a large amount of porn on his phone. How on earth did the parents not notice any strange behaviour? How come they don't know what their kids were doing and what's on their phones?

I'm beyond shocked and saddened by this, and actually feel quite depressed. What the **** have we come to??

I suppose working parents, busy lives. Most parents aren't going to think they are raising potential murderers.

Kids spend a lot of time on their phones these days. That would hardly been seen as strange or deviant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭screamer

ITT: All kids engage in violent bullying.

Maybe a generation of law abiding, tolerant citizens because they don’t want criminal convictions following them around. Try to see the positives in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Sunflower 27

tuxy wrote: »
    Patrick Gageby SC is already a highly regarded defence Barrister that specialises in high profile cases. (many of them for murder)

Then he probably believed he had a decent chance of getting Boy A off. And knew what that would mean for his career.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

dd973 wrote: »
    There's always been a viciousness in this country towards people deemed different or not fitting in, it hasn't gone away with the disappearance of the industrial schools, magdalen launderies, the lessening of the Church's role in the state or with all the apparent hippy-dippy liberal identity politics that are commoditised to the core.

It's something that's all pervasive and not hard to find if you keep your eyes and ears open, it's directed towards people whom are deemed not Irish enough, LGBT people and those rumoured to be LGBT, Travellers or anybody who 'looks like a Traveller', any male who's not a swaggering pseudo-alpha gob****e, working class people labelled as 'knackers', anybody who basically doesn't fit in with 'Brand Ireland'. It's still a small country with minds to match.
    It's found everywhere. And news to me that working class people (i.e. those who work - where the term comes from) get referred to as knackers.

Ffs show some class given the topic - it's hardly the thread for you to bang an "It's Ireland's fault" drum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,423 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

All the kids who isolated her at school and their parents need to have a hard look at themselves too.

Poor girl. I am a bit upset to read it all ....i don't want to know the details to be honest.

Maybe a generation of law abiding, tolerant citizens because they don’t want criminal convictions following them around. Try to see the positives in it.

Oh I think it's a good idea, I was taking issue with the "a generation of kids" comment which implied that a majority of kids engage in violent bullying. Such a law would only screw up the lives of budding scumbags, cry me a river as far as I'm concerned. Somebody who has the instinct to engage in acts of violence for no reason other than some sadistic joy they get out of it is not someone, regardless of their age, that I'll lose any sleep over having their lives ruined by a criminal conviction. F*ck 'em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,671 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

fritzelly wrote: »
    They've killed someone and all the rest - I don't think you can get more messed up than that

They can I just watched a thing about Jon Venables on the back of this case.
    He was named along with Robert Thompson for the Murder of Jamie Bulger.

Anyway when Venebles was released 8 years later he taught to lie by police, so he would not mess up his new identity/backstory.
    They even scaled down the surveillance on him.
    But he went of the rails and started looking at loads of child porn.
    He got another two years for that.
    Apparently he was going mad because his excuse was that he was afraid he would be found out.
    But cracked and told a friend his identity.

Which is why I think it important that boy A and boy B remain - boy A and boy B in this case.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

The Irish times said the interviews were conducted to the letter of the law.

Accomplice to murder is the same as murder as far as I can ascertain in Irish and common law. An accomplice is present at the scene of the crime. An accessory isn’t.

Funny enough the fact the shrink thought the boy had PTSD depends on him being there for the murder.

I believe they were too. The Gardai will have been uber-wary about getting anything wrong. Won't stop the defence lawyers on appeal from disputing it though. Particularly with the psychiatric evidence of PTSD meaning Boy B may not have been of a fit mind to answer questions. He was there from the assault going by his interview with the doctor but whether he stayed for the murder is unclear.

Easy for us all to say we'd have intervened. As a 13 year old I was pretty scared of some guys my age and older. I'd hate though to think I wouldn't try to stop a murder.

Once expelled, other schools can refuse to take them in, therefore they’d not get their education and I’m sure some rights of the bully would be infringed. But forget the victim, their rights are trumped by the rights of the bully..... isn’t that how Ireland works across the board.....

Complain on boards, that'll fix everything :rollseyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,458 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

n97 mini wrote: »
    bubblypop wrote: »
    And that fact that he called for her & was seen with her.

Which he told gardai.
    He had to tell the guards! Ana's Dad answered the door to him and watched them walk off in the direction of the park! That's why the guards called to his house on the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,542 ✭✭✭Dante7

I have read elsewhere similarities about the case in the Isle of Bute where the murderer who was a minor was named by direction of the Judge. Another difference in that case is that his mother turned her son in to the police. Unlike Boy B's father who roared abuse at the Gardai. What a cnut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,928 ✭✭✭take everything

Just read the Irish Times piece there.
    Maybe it's par for the course, but Gageby, the defence barrister doesn't come out of that looking like a nice guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I just finished reading the Irish Times article. The description of the murder scene really made me feel ill. What an absolutely horrible end to a life. She was only 14.

Well done to the jury for listening to and evaluating all that evidence. They had a hard job but it does appear that they fulfilled their brief admirably.

When the dust settles on this case, and emotions are calmer, there will be questions on the nature of bullying, and the influences of pornography and the internet/social media on the defendants. On how a teenager can be dehumanised to the point where she is sexually assaulted and murdered.

But for now, I think it’s best to remember Ana as she was at her best.

dave1982 wrote: »
    Boys pics floating round whatsapp.. Delighted ****ers being exposed

What if it's the wrong boys? Vigilante alert.

Boy B's family sound like out and out scumbags. It wouldn't surprise me in the least if his dad was "known to the Gardaí" or whatever euphemism is currently preferred to describe people who can't go more than a few days without doing something scummy to other people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,702 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

They can I just watched a thing about Jon Venables on the back of this case.
    He was named along with Robert Thompson for the Murder of Jamie Bulger.

Anyway when Venebles was released 8 years later he taught to lie by police, so he would not mess up his new identity/backstory.
    But he went of the rails and started looking at loads of child porn.
    He got another two years for that.

He lived in N.Ireland under a new name but dirtied his copybook by downloading child porn. He’s out again but has moved elsewhere.

he was there so **** him

Not a great legal argument.

**** em all parents should be done too , for bringing these ***** into th eworld

Let's all hope your child never puts a foot wrong.

sad ****in sacks defending this ****e

Too many unsafe convictions in this country and the UK. Boy B looks to me like yet another one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

Seathrun66 wrote: »
    Not a great legal argument.

It is actually. If he was there. If he brought Anna. If he had reason to believe she would have been killed and If he didn’t stop the murder then he’s an accomplice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Hal3000

Is there some kind of app that can monitor activity and report it back to another phone? Wouldn't this be ideal for monitoring a teenagers phone searches and activity? I know it might sound a tad extreme, but when I was growing up I didn't have unfettered access to such gruesome material. This thing about handing a teenager a phone without any controls is just madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,215 ✭✭✭spaceHopper

copeyhagen wrote: »
    no, the parents knew they were guilty and allowed the bad legal advice to them both of pleading not guilty

The sentence for murder is life no matter what, you can't be given a lighter sentence for pleading guilty - so they had nothing to gain by doing so. The prosecution had to prove she didn't consent to sex with boy A and that they planned to kill her, they this wasn't something gone wrong and man-slaughter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Hal3000

petrolcan wrote: »

Here we go... That took longer than expected. Won't somebody please think of the bullies. Fu*k the bullies. This type of response is the problem.