Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2019/2020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

banie01 wrote: »
    Has Hummel's move not been confirmed?
    I thought he'd gone back to Dortmund €10million and a pay cut IIRC?

No, apparently deal still to be finalised. But it means Bayern will have a gap to fill.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

So looks like we are going back to Southampton for a left back cover player.

Matt Targett the latest name now linked.

He fits the bill as a player who can play left back/left winger role from the above post by Harry.

I also see we are linked with one of their keepers for our backup too.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭steve_r

Dickerty wrote: »
    This was dispelled yesterday, was the repatriation of an English man who died in France I believe...

https://twitter.com/lauraw97_/status/1140351198933016582?s=20

The lads looking at flight paths are either deluded or chancers.

Re Lovern - both Matip and Gomez have had their injuries in the past. Lovern could easily think that he is capable of getting his place back and that he just needs a good pre-season or one of the boys to be injured. We know he is full of confidence in himself.

I liked his comments after the semi-final - even though he'd lost his place he was still clearly fully supportive of his team-mates which was great to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

I actually like Lovren, I know he's usually always 2 seconds away from a brain fart but no defender is immune to making mistakes, poor Lovren just seems to make them in the big game's, unfortunately for him...

I hope we keep him, especially if it keeps Mo happy, sure how long did Albie Moreno manage to hang on? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

The issue with Lovren is that he has never played more than 6/7 matches in a row since he joined Liverpool without picking up an injury.

Lallana has the same kind of record.

Injuries happen but continuously picking up injuries like he and Lallana do isn't a great sign.

If decent offers come in for both of them it would be hard to turn them down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

So looks like we are going back to Southampton for a left back cover player.

Matt Targett the latest name now linked.

He fits the bill as a player who can play left back/left winger role from the above post by Harry.

Seems like a good move. It's hard cos you have to remember we're signing backup for Robbo - needs to be a player with a specific type of expectation / career trajectory.

Targett would seem to fit the bill:

- 23 years old
    - Attack minded (can play left-wing and got 3 assists and 1 goal in 13 starts last season)
    - Happy to play backup (is currently playing backup for Soton)
    - Knows the league

I don't know an awful lot about him but he spent some time on loan at Fulham when they went up and did very well by all accounts and should have the scope to improve under Klopp.

Feels like he would fit the bill and tick a box that might not feel like a very exciting signing but is pretty crucial to address.

I'm wondering do we need to sign cover at right back too however? For me Gomez is just not suited to play this role (not the way Liverpool play it anyway, maybe as an old school full back). We lose a huge amount of width and potency going forward when Gomez plays RB. Is Hoover maybe ready to make the step up to deputise for TAA next season? Milner is also another option here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Sheyi Ojo (another one of my disappointing project players!) is expected off to Rangers for the season. He really needs to make this loan work he has oodles of innate talent but a bit of the "it'll do (shrugs)" about his work ethic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭steve_r

Agree with Lallana anyway - with Ox back it's hard to see how he gets into a midfield trio with Hendo/Gini/Fab/Milner/Ox/Naby in the mix

It is a bit weird when the backup players are more injury prone than the starters alright.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,786 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Ive said it a few seasons now Lovren is a solid defender when all is going well, once the pressure comes on he is just a total disaster and transforms into possibly the worst player to play for us in years.
    He goes from half decent to shocking bad at the flick of a switch, for that reason i want him out.
    Pretty much any premier league team has a CB of better quality which says it all, he is simply not good enough.

A £40m bid for Fernandes has been lodged is the latest rumour this evening.

Would be a very decent addition to the squad at that price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

Throw up a source there and I'll fire up the bull****-o-meter, good lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Throw up a source there and I'll fire up the bull****-o-meter, good lad.

here you go! :D

https://twitter.com/Verdete1971/status/1140675062015696896

tumblr_pc4z9zEIDY1tvninto1_500.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Fernandes has been linked to us a few transfer windows now, right?

Wouldn't be surprised if agents willingly throw our name out their to drum up their player's reputation and the interest in them.

He said in an interview just before the Nations League when he was linked with a move to City that he would prefer to play for Liverpool over City as he feels Klopp's style of play over Pep's would suit his game better.

speaking to Record, Fernandes has suggested that he would be open to joining the newly crowned Champions of Europe, admitting that he prefers Klopp’s all-action style over Pep Guardiola’s famed possession-based principles.

"Guardiola has made the best of the players in the team, he knew that it was going to be difficult in England and he adapted, it's a City that plays, more or less, in the way of Barcelona,” the Portugal international said

"(But) I like Liverpool a lot more. It's a more direct, more offensive, maybe less organized, but more intense football, when you do not have the ball possession you are more intense."

"In Liverpool they are more individual players, especially in the midfield, usually playing three very aggressive players and recovering the ball, then they have three players at the front who are lethal, when they have the opportunity.”

https://www.hitc.com/en-gb/2019/06/03/do-bruno-fernandes-admits-he-prefers-liverpool-over-manchester-c/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

The issue with Lovren is that he has never played more than 6/7 matches in a row since he joined Liverpool without picking up an injury.

Lallana has the same kind of record.

Injuries happen but continuously picking up injuries like he and Lallana do isn't a great sign.

If decent offers come in for both of them it would be hard to turn them down.

They both remind me of those girls you get with after get out a long term relationship, they help you through a phase , but ultimately are not part of your long term plan.

I wish them the best, but wouldn't be upset to see both move on. Sturridge and Moreno were in the same category.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,427 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Philippe Coutinho looks set to leave Barcelona this summer – but will not move to Manchester United out of respect for his former club Liverpool, Sky Sports News understands.

I'd prefer he didn't join them as he's a good player but if he wanted to show respect he could have done it three years ago rather than feigning a back injury and acting the eejit. Anyway it's just a "SSN understands" story but there's not a lot else happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

Knex. wrote: »
    Fernandes has been linked to us a few transfer windows now, right?

Wouldn't be surprised if agents willingly throw our name out their to drum up their player's reputation and the interest in them.

That's a disgraceful suggestion! They would never do such a thing!

• Subscribers Posts: 32,867 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

gimli2112 wrote: »
    Philippe Coutinho looks set to leave Barcelona this summer – but will not move to Manchester United out of respect for his former club Liverpool, Sky Sports News understands.

I'd prefer he didn't join them as he's a good player but if he wanted to show respect he could have done it three years ago rather than feigning a back injury and acting the eejit. Anyway it's just a "SSN understands" story but there's not a lot else happening.

In other words, Man Utd don't want him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Dcully wrote: »
    Ive said it a few seasons now Lovren is a solid defender when all is going well, once the pressure comes on he is just a total disaster and transforms into possibly the worst player to play for us in years.
    He goes from half decent to shocking bad at the flick of a switch, for that reason i want him out.
    Pretty much any premier league team has a CB of better quality which says it all, he is simply not good enough.

Yes but he’s 4th choice and at this moment of time her probably start for Arsenal and it’d and maybe even Chelsea aswell,
    City have stones and otamendi , I’d have lovers over them , stones loses concentration ms otamendi does be chronically slow at times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

25m for Lovren would have to be accepted.

Get a CB/LB for him. Malang Sarr would be an option. France u21 highly rated can play CB & LB.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

5starpool wrote: »
    In other words, Man Utd don't want him.
    Wouldn't get in the United 11 being a ex Liverpool player. Mata is better than him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,984 ✭✭✭✭8-10

MD1990 wrote: »
    25m for Lovren would have to be accepted

Why? We paid over 20m for him and he's got a couple of years left on his contract.

For me it's the same situation as Sturridge, yeah we could get £20m, but who would we be able to get in for the same money that would be at least as good? A promising youngster can be brought in anyway, but you can't just replace a seasoned international like that.

I'd keep him around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,488 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

25m for Lovren would have to be accepted.

Get a CB/LB for him. Malang Sarr would be an option. France u21 highly rated can play CB & LB.

Pointless to sell him for £25m. We won't be able to replace him with someone better who is willing to be 4th choice for that fee.

If you want to get someone better than Gomez and push him and Matip to 3rd or 4th choice then your talking £60m+.

That money could be spent better on cover for the front three and a back ups for LB and RB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,708 ✭✭✭Talisman

That's a consequence of his physical style of play - in the New Years Day game against Burnley in the 2017/18 season both Klavan and Lovren sustained injuries, they both played on and combined to score the winner in injury time. Both nursed their injury through the rest of the season - Klavan was unable to train and towards the end of the season Lovren was receiving injections in order to play. That shows a tremendous level of commitment to the team from both players.

The issue I'd have with Lovren is that he went to the 2018 World Cup with the injury, aggravated it further and misled the club regarding it - that was reckless behaviour and ultimately cost him his place in the team. Perhaps it's in the club's thinking that at the age of 28/29 Lovren should know better and because his behaviour jeopardised the team he's out if there's an offer from another club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

8-10 wrote: »
    Why? We paid over 20m for him and he's got a couple of years left on his contract.

For me it's the same situation as Sturridge, yeah we could get £20m, but who would we be able to get in for the same money that would be at least as good? A promising youngster can be brought in anyway, but you can't just replace a seasoned international like that.

I'd keep him around
    TitianGerm wrote: »
    Pointless to sell him for £25m. We won't be able to replace him with someone better who is willing to be 4th choice for that fee.

If you want to get someone better than Gomez and push him and Matip to 3rd or 4th choice then your talking £60m+.

That money could be spent better on cover for the front three and a back ups for LB and RB.
    Malang Sarr has 2 years on his contract. Cost about 30m. 40m max.

Big talent & that can push for a starting spot or play LB as well. Covers both positions.

Lovren is dodgy & cannot be trusted. Cost us against City with Aguero's goal.

Nearly cost us against Napoli too.

https://twitter.com/Andrew_Heaton/status/1140939802839343106

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

Malang Sarr has 2 years on his contract. Cost about 30m. 40m max.

Big talent & that can push for a starting spot or play LB as well. Covers both positions.

Lovren is dodgy & cannot be trusted. Cost us against City with Aguero's goal.

Nearly cost us against Napoli too.

https://twitter.com/Andrew_Heaton/status/1140939802839343106

Not sure Lovren should get the total blame for that - three players miss the header before it gets to him: Van Dijk, Matip and Fabinho. You'd expect Lovren to react faster, yes, but in his defence, he has a fraction of a second to do so after the ball sails cleanly over the heads of the rest of our defence.

I am not advocating keeping him, just think that's not entirely his fault.

I'd be surprised if Lovren didn't want to go - if Matip and Gomez are fully established ahead of him now, he's unlikely to be happy (same goes for Mignolet with Alisson - while he's publicly been a very good team player, I presume he's considering his options as his international career is under threat if he stays as a back up) - but finding a replacement player to come in won't necessarily be the easiest thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,696 ✭✭✭✭rob316

If lovren is happy to stay and fight for his place you'd be mad to sell him. Plenty of quality for a 4th choice cb.
    The priority is another quality attacker and cover at full back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

rob316 wrote: »
    If lovren is happy to stay and fight for his place you'd be mad to sell him. Plenty of quality for a 4th choice cb.
    The priority is another quality attacker and cover at full back.

Agreed - not Lovren's biggest fan but he's not the area I'd be focusing on.

If nobody leaves (bar Moreno, Sturridge and some other fringe/young players), I'd be content with cover for both full back positions and someone to play across the front three.

If we do lose the likes of Mignolet or Lovren, they'd need to be replaced though.